2015 Alfa Romeo Spider to use a turbo 1.4 with 170 hp

Alfa_Romeo-2uettottanta_Concept_2010_1600x1200_wallpaper_02

New details of the next Alfa Romeo Spider have emerged, adding to the considerable excitement circling around the brand’s latest rear-wheel drive-only rebirth. Autocar UK reports that the modern roadster (yet to be unveiled; 2010 Pininfarina 2uettottanta concept shown above) will use a turbocharged MultiAir 1.4 litre engine with upwards of 170 hp.

The new Spider will not have the 4C sports car’s exotic and expensive all-carbonfibre construction, employing a more conventional body structure co-developed alongside Mazda’s next MX-5. Generous use of high-strength steel will keep the weight down to within the region of 1,000-1,100 kg, compared to the 4C’s featherweight 895 kg.

No body panels will be shared between the Spider and MX-5, though plenty of underbody structures will be identical to keep costs down. Each will have its own unique styling and driving characteristics, with the latter underlined by their differing choice of engines – the Mazda will likely stick to a lighter naturally aspirated SkyActiv motor.

It’s said that the two models will only share about 40% of parts (all internal of course), which is significantly lower than typical joint-platform projects where figures upwards of 60% is not uncommon. That’s good to hear, as an Italian roadster with a Japanese feel wouldn’t be ideal, nor is a Japanese one with a heavy Italian flavour.

It’s still early days, but you can expect the next Mazda MX-5 to be unveiled in early 2015, with the Alfa Romeo Spider following suit closer to the year’s end.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• MycarMylife on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:09 am

I want one !! but change the MY local agent first , it sucks.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:34 am

Mazda rocks but not alfa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Joe Radzif on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:53 am

simple yet elegant…
    why Proton cannot think of this…

• carguy2000 on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:08 pm

they said malaysian salary are high, why cant you hire guys Peter Schreyer instead

• kadajawi on Jul 31, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Schreyer wants to be boss. If he says they’ll do something, they will. You think they’d let him in Malaysia? There’s always someone who would meddle with his decisions.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Schreyer would not want to manage such a retarded company, more so working for one

• if this level of car porn is translated into human porn, even the japanese wont be able to handle it

• Skypirate on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Seriously Alfa? Dual clutch in the spider? This car only needs a manual transmission, that’s the only transmission it needs. And 168hp? Even the GT86/BRZ twins are giving out 200hp, and a 2.5L Mazda’s Skyactiv is pumping out 185hp.

• mirror mirror on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I think we like it not merely because of its looks. As you know, beauty is only skin deep, we love certain cars or brands because of its inner beauty as well.

• mirror mirror on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Let me add a little more, a car with inner beauty is the type of cars that people keep for decades and will turn into a classic one day. In the case of Alfa cars, it is the inner beauty of the car which turns the owners into some sort of Italian artist or playboy the moment they step into it and turn the ignition. Never mind lah, once in a while we need to be a bit poetic, otherwise life can be very boring.

• Drrif on Jul 31, 2013 at 6:26 pm

I used to have a brand new Alfa many years ago, handling and looks were amazing – but reliability was a key issue – it was a brand new car but the engine would randomly cut out in 1st gear. It was OK to re-start in traffic, but kinda tough when going round in a circular car park exit. Try doing that with no power steering or brakes!

I am sure Alfas are better now, right? anyone?

• CuriousJack on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:27 am

wow. very nice!

I hope this is in Malaysia when i have the capability to afford it. haha