Ford Ranger 3.2L XLT now in Malaysia – RM99,888

ranger-3.2-main

There’s a new Ranger in town. This is the Ford Ranger Double Cab 4×4 3.2L XLT Hi-Rider, to give it its full name. Essentially, this is a Ranger T6 with a 3.2 litre five-cylinder turbodiesel, as per the Wildtrak, but without the Wildtrak’s extra exterior/interior equipment that makes it so striking.

The 3.2 litre Duratorq TDCI five-pot, which has Variable Geometry Turbo, makes 200 PS and 470 Nm of torque. Only available with a six-speed manual and 4WD, Ford says that fuel consumption can go as low as 8.9 litres per 100 km. Usual Hi-Rider Ranger qualities apply – 800 mm wading depth, best-in-class payload of 1,227 kg and 3,350 kg towing capability.

Standard kit includes Bluetooth with voice control, electronic shift-on-the-fly (2WD to 4WD at speeds of up to 120 km/h), USB/iPod/iPhone connectivity, auto wipers, 4.2-inch colour display, cruise control and an electrochromatic rear view mirror.

ranger-3.2-dash

Safety wise, this truck comes with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and dual airbags. The Wildtrak adds on two more airbags and ESP.

Basically the spec sheet mimics the 2.2 XLT rather than the Wildtrak, but the 3.2 rides on 17 inch wheels, one inch larger than those on the 2.2. There’s also an exclusive new colour for the 3.2 XLT, True Red, in addition to Metropolitan Grey, Highlight Silver and Cool White.

At RM99,888. the new variant slots in between the RM95,888 2.2 XLT automatic and the RM116,888 3.2L Wildtrak. The 2.2 XLT manual is priced at RM89,888. There’s also a lower powered Ranger 2.2 XL Manual that goes for RM79,888. Read our review of the Ford Ranger T6 here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hondasalesman on Aug 01, 2013 at 6:35 pm

This is what you call value for money, good job.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Did the other way round. Should have selected 4 airbags + ESP and omitted the rest.

• last time i went to ford their rep told me got air bag on the side also…near the seatbelt area…so that’s mean 4 air bag…i have to double check on that…the wildtrak got extra 2 on the back of the driver seat and front passenger seat for the back passenger so for wildtrak total air bag is 6…also not sure.

• Richard on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:06 pm

wow, A very good deal indeed. Is not for the Malaysia road tax this pick up would sell like hot cake.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:41 pm

It will be selling hot in East Malaysia due to 50% (Sarawak) and 70% (Sabah) off from respective full road tax rate as the vehicle has diesel engine and 4WD.

• “Only available with a six-speed manual…..” Sorry to be sentimental, but the beauty of just those words.
    Kinda bummer that 2 airbags and ESP has to go, Honestly they’ve should have ditch the Bluetooth and Voice comm instead. But seeing that this is a Ford, should be able to get away with it.

• Wow, this is the most powerful manual pick-up truck in the market. 470 Nm of torque going through the rear wheels is going to be quite handful but should be fun in the right hands.

• Alahai on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Please keep the price below 100K in Sarawak. The manual 2.2 XLT currently rm95k compare to rm89k in peninsular..

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Then what happen to WildTrak? Deleted from the Ranger lineup?

• Safety 1st. on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:20 pm

2 airbags still get bells and whistles from PT readers? If others sure kena hentam till kao kao. Malaysia really Brandcist lah, see brand do things one.

• Apalalu on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:36 pm

No auto air cond?

• lonelyobserve on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:12 pm

The XLT grade for Ranger 3.2 is similar to Ford Ranger XLT variant in UK where it will not have dual zone auto air-con. To have dual zone air-con, Limited grade (in UK) will have dual zone air-con.

• damn….exactly what i wanted but dun hv manual for wildtrak when i bought 2.2MT :(

• vigo3.0 on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:09 pm

rm99,888 without insurance?? So if in sarawak wud b rm106k, same price wif vigo 3.0 at. This t6 3.2 mt is the most powerfull double cab in msia market. I wud say vigo 3.0 is 2nd, triton vgt 3rd n navara 4th. Why?? Me n my 2 frens, 1 drive navara vgt n 1 drive triton vgt, we race till 180kmh, triton vgt n navara vgt fast on pick up 0-100, me like 2 cars at d back, but when up to 110kmh vigo 3.0 smoke both nav n triton n getting further n further, when reach 180kmh i see triton n nav like 5 tiang behind. Navara goes 3rd, triton smoke nav 1 tiang. We race 2 round, both round same result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Biscuit on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:07 pm

The moral of the story?

….. buy pickup trucks for racing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
      • PickUp on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I think you should tells all Thailandnese not to buy pick up truck for racing.. boycott the pickup gt race in thailand. And then ban all unichip, ecu-shop, alpha tech chip in malaysia 1st, then u can teach them about your quality moral study not to modify their pickup truck n racing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Biscuit on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Thailandnese??? …..mind your language Sir!…Thailand citizen (people) is called Thai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Well,better go fr a sports car indeed..
        I hv bn lived in country side of northern sarawak and went throughout off road condition since then…Ermm,FYI…Toyota Hilux is still the best and proven off road 4WD..the so called underpower engine is just good enough for offroader..
        Navara gear no. 6 will only being use whenever exceed the speed limit on highway..4WD is not build for speed..haha
        to be mention,this is 4WD segment and normally get to use gear 1,2,3 n 4 in offroad condition..
        True 4WDoers knows wat this car used for..

• not everyone la buy 4wd double cab for offroad. A lot business people use it for carrying staff, stocks, constructions staff, n wut so ever that can be carry by double cab around town/city, since its a multipurpose 4wd double cab, so not necessarily just for offroad. 5 speed gearbox enough already.

• Different truck, different gear ratio and power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • uh seriously? Drive until 180? Won’t feel like want to flip over ka? You not driving sedan leh. No wonder Sarawak so many reckless pickup drivers -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
      • Sub_Dude on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Hai im from Sabah. Yes i agree that vigo 3.0 can reach 180kmh easily as we did that before too but, but only on straight long highway. We not that crazy to use that speed for cornering of course. LOL. :) And no its doesnt feels like wanna flip, but 1 wrong swing will end up flipping for sure, even sedan would flip. :)
        I heard navara can goes 200kmh but very slowly up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • RangerHood on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Huwaaahhhh seriously?!!!? Not bad for hilux can go 180kmh. Not fair larrr u compare navara with that lux 3.0. Navara ony 2.5cc but tuned high hp wit vg turbo but torque is flat ony the time top speed. Tats y kalah kena tu lux lor. Lux 3.0 higher capasity but 161hp compare navara 174hp long distance of coz lux makan bohh.. My pren drive triton 3.2 oso can smoke navara leng2. U compare navara wit triton vg turbo fair larr and compare ur lux 3.0 wit triton 3.2 n ranger 3.2 can larrr. peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • RM104+++ including insurance in sabah & sarawak. Not bad for 3.2mt.

• Lancermania on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Navara vgt??
      u sure u nt dreaming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • try_ton on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:12 pm

If u from somewhere in sarawak, come to miri every weekend n go to old lutong air strip, u will see stock vigo 3.0 smoke stock navara vgt on top speed. Yes navara only wins vigo on pick up but lose to vigo 3.0 top speed. Only those unichipped and ecushop chipped navara can wins vigo 3.0 from pick up to top speed. Come and see yourself.

• flx_se on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Yerp its surely 100% true. Navara vgt only fast on pick up 0-100km/h. Top speed not so good. Hilux 3.0 and triton 3.2 a lot lot faster when it goes up to 100km/h++, navara bye-bye. Unless u install unichip on navara then can beat hilux 3.0 and triton 3.2 top speed.

• looks like the rumored auto gearbox shortage
    affecting both 2.2 and 3.2 models have not been
    sorted out yet.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:15 pm

One of the SDA people told me different story. Now Ranger 2.2 XLT auto have shorter waiting list (6 months) than 2.2 XLT manual (9 months). Not sure is it true or not.

• calcutta on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:41 pm

no esp….

i prefer wildtrak kits and esp on ranger 2.2, and manual,thank you!

• Sweeet lord have mercy……

Should I cancel my 2.2XLT auto booking?

• Netsoft on Aug 02, 2013 at 6:08 am

470Nm and 6 speed manual is full of awesomeness. But the road tax and insurance for every year (without NCB) can kill lol

• lonelyobserve on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:50 am

Indeed annual insurance is killing us but road tax is different depending on areas.

In Peninsular Malaysia it will cost RM1956.60.
      In Sarawak it will cost RM570.30.
      In Sabah it will cost RM342.20
      (price lists can be downloaded from ford.net.my)

• _xXx_ on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:02 am

need to hunt for diesel everyday after buying this hehe…

• ahmadjohnson on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:28 am

Finally! Top spec is manual transmission

• Joewe on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:21 pm

I already contact salesman ford..sabah branch… 3.2l …rm100,188 include insurance n roadtax…

• Prakash on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Ya Right…..Roadtax will be a killer for this 3.2 in Peninsular Msia….It will be a slow mover…trust me…ask the gov abolish this shitty tax firstlah…….fed up……

• lonelyobserve on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Pickup truck is considered as commercial vehicle and there are no duties imposed except 10% sales tax. No excise duty imposed for all commercial vehicle but 30% import duty will be imposed if the commercial vehicle is imported from countries other than ASEAN countries.

If the pricing still not justifiable, ask those car dealers not to include high tech stuff like voice command, bluetooth connection, multifunction button on steering wheels, which are not necessity for all drivers (similar to XL grade).

• If you have max ncd 55% just deduct from there of 3.2 roadtax larhh…1950 x 55%.okey.

• Along on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Toyota Hilux will suffer stiff competition in Sabah and Sarawak… People in Sabah and Sarawak are really demanding Toyota Hilux 3.0 manual transmission… With Ranger 3.2 manual, easily knock off Toyota Hilux 3.0 Automatic…

Toyota Hilux 3.0 Manual transmission is very common in Thailand and worldwide… Not available in Malaysia (only 3.0 automatic)… If Hilux 3.0 Manual available in Malaysia, People in Sabah and Sarawak will buy at first place…

• Along on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:26 pm

On my personal opinion… ESP is not needed for me since electronics is troublesome when entering deep jungle in Sabah and Sarawak… If electronics too much, deep rural area in Sabah and Sarawak mechanics could not repair cars because of complicated electronics… But for Peninsular which mainly highway use and easily to approach service centre, ESP is may be needed…

My Hilux 2.8 SR is electronic free although I lived in Selangor… I love it because it is fully mechanical and easy to repair… No ECU and no complicated electronics… I can drive without ESP…

For me, ability to repair is number one condition for me to own… I’ve owned BMW E39 528i with complicated electronics… I’m not happy with it because every time ABS and ASC light lit up, gearbox is interfere with ABS and ASC causing the car cannot move to shift gear…

• Calcutta on Aug 05, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Yea,ppl have to die on the highway just because ESP is troublesome for you in the jungle
      ESP is very helpful for unbalance car especially pick up than tends to slide easily in wet condition,we don’t need it most the time except the one time that it save our life
      If you don’t like it,switch it off and let it save other life

• This is 4WD for sure..bring it to offroad and hilux will beat others brand that so called “Powerfull” but not reliable as hilux..
    wat for powerfull??? kalau cepat rosak..buekkk…
    intention is,more power,more gear for good SALES…hahaa..then better buy sedan car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Powerfull!!! and fuel thirsty..Diesel is running out…haha..

• engineblock on Aug 12, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Finally the real monster is here…money all that matters..diesel hopefully it wont be fuel thirsty machine..anyway thumb up very useful manual for pick up truck..

• Tenon head hunter on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Had this issue for Sabah that if you are in the “club”
    ie own a new Ranger you might be lucky in 1 year or so…? to purchase the 3.2 variant, now driving the XLT on the 19 degree Kenmunis Range in 3/4th gear holding 2200RPM was very pleasing and yes it was actually passing alot of Toyota’s without trying.
    Well done Ford it’s a nice bit of gear. I have a new Toyota also but I think the ford actually pulls the corners better and with the chain drive gearbox alot lest tran noise. Just my piece.

• the steering bit heavy on the ford even with it power steering and for me that’s good coz it’s feel spot on when you make a turn,that’s why it is good in the corners and plus with the big engine…the down side for me is the engine a bit loud that all…

• I quiet like this T6 actually. But 1 thing, I am really affraid of ford’s quality. Not to talk bad but honestly the previous models of 2.5xlt suffers gearbox problems a lot. Even the older WL engine really nonstop coming of problem for my friend’s van. The gearbox & chassis as well. 1 by 1 problems coming. 6 years spent over RM10k to maintain it.

• hi Danny, I am actually looking for wildtrak, i am so into it. However, there are all out of stock and put me to waiting list at least 12 months. May i know, what actually was happening in Malaysia market?
    I am so glad XLT has release 3.2, but unfortunately it is only MANUAL!! Will XLT release 3.2 for AUTOMATIC?

please comment or email to [email protected]

many thanks

• Got mine 3 weeks ago.

It’s a beast. With a rocket booster strapped on it. Car feel steady even when going 140kph, around 160kph will start feeling afraid though). No other cars would dare to mess with the Ranger 3.2xlt.

Currently my FC is average around 8.9-9.2l/100km, which is amazing for a 3.2 engine. (traffic jam ada, slow+easy leisure driving ada and 170-180kph sprint pun ada)

• klangfolks on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:43 pm

hi alex,….perhaps you can help me clear the air with this one ya. last week, i went to a Ford Dealer in Klang to make an app for test drive the ranger and kuga. after few minutes chit chat with the sales person, i am getting excited with what he told me except one thing that borders me so much,……he told me the all new Ford Vehicles will comes with mileage between 70-100km.

i was stunt and confuse if he is talking about a test car but he said no,….its a new car and its normal to have that mileage on the clock for a new Ford. i asked why,…he reply,…because the car from port klang have to be inspect by PUSPAKOM in Shah Alam, went to DRB, then to Klang dealer, so below 100km is normal and nothing to be concern.

i have 4 cars in my garage, bought it all new and none of it clock more than 5km mileage the first time i start the engine. please respond,….thank you very much. have a nice day.

• junwilliams on May 30, 2014 at 9:34 am

hi guys.. i was googling truck infor and found this page..
    i’m actually looking for a truck.. but have no idea which to buy.. reading you guys conversation sound like ford.. at the moment i have test drive navara, not bad feels good.. i’m considering service & maintainance in long run.. also like to hear from you guys who own a truck..
    is for daily driving to work and town use..
    please advice.. many thanks..

william the KL guy

• Chev colorado is now pulling my attention out 2.8 colorado make u melted as well.