Government to replace Proton Perdana Executive and Inspira official cars with Honda Accord 2.4 and 2.0

accord-exterior

It has been confirmed that the Proton Perdana Executive and Proton Inspira in the official Government vehicle fleet is to be replaced by the Honda Accord (likely to be the current model and not the upcoming ninth-gen version). The move to replace the fleet was announced by the Ministry of Finance in a memo dated July 29, addressed to all relevant government agencies.

UPDATE: The Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana Replacement Model (PRM) has been spotted on the road, see all the spyshots here.

The Perdana Executive, which is allocated for use by the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Parliament, judges, members of the administration and selected Grade A civil servants, will be replaced by the 2.4 litre variant of the Accord.

Meanwhile, the Inspira, allocated to selected Grade B and C category civil servants – or the equivalent – is to be replaced by the Accord 2.0. The model replacement programme has also been extended to all federal statutory bodies as well as local councils.

The memo adds that the replacement will be carried out in stages, with that of the Perdana Executive taking place first. Priority will be given to officials who have not been supplied with an official car or those whose lease of an existing official vehicle has ended.

The Accord 2.0 replacement programme will likewise do the same in the case of the Inspira, replacing them as the lease on individual cars run out. In November last year, there was a similar announcement that official Waja vehicles were to be replaced by the Preve 1.6 CVT Premium, effective Aug 1, 2012.

In October 2012, Proton and Honda inked an agreement to explore collaboration opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, platform and facilities’ sharing. We wonder if there’s any progress on that front.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• …which means it wont be rebadged as Proton like previous rumours..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Better than PKR, waste all our taxpayer’s money on mercedes

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 574 Thumb down 586
      • WHICH PKR state bought Merc!!!???? Get your facts right!!!! When PR bought Camry, all BN crooks screamed like mad but NOW!!!! HYPOCRITES!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 634 Thumb down 311
        • cuz honda malaysia owned by DRB Hicom.. and toyota is not.. simple logic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 68
          • Just me on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Are you sure drb hicom owned Honda malaysia? I thought they assemble car for honda malaysia only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 27
          • Hei, there are so many toyota and nissan used by gorv. Dept for decades! What’s wrong giving a try to use honda cars which is 1st time I supposed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 16
          • Meowmi on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:31 pm

???? cannot brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Ubah Bird on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:59 am

Ini kalilah???
            – Lain kali lah
            Hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 53
          • alldisc on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:04 am

yes, honda malaysia is wholly owned by DRB group. but UMW is also indirectly owned by the govt as well. 65% shares of UMW is combined owned by EPF and PNB, as to stated in the given link.

so, its nothing surprising at all to whatever happening all this while.

http://www.umw.com.my/Download%20Documents/Investors/Corporate%20Presentation/Corporate%20Presentation.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
          • Panana on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:56 pm

no you r wrong, Honda Japan owned 51% share in Honda Malaysia, DRB only less than 30%. So DRB not wholly owned Honda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
        • ahboy on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Penang, and recently after GE13. You can find the info online. Mercedez E-Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 61
          • Homey on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:21 am

Pls share the link if is true , thx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
          • Meowmi on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:47 am

Just google. Its even in New York Times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 20
          • e-class your head on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:54 am

Yes, Lim Guan Eng is using a Mercedes-Benz with number plate PG1.

But it’s not an E-Class. It’s a very old S-Class, only costs RM50k now!

http://uppercaise.wordpress.com/2012/06/17/mca-talks-cock-about-pg1-number-plate/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 28
          • Notice how the stupid PKR Ubah Bird people will simply accuse and shoot first? Where is your prove? Simply say….. Sigh, lain kali la bro

Also, LGE stated that all people with ministerial positions must declare their assets. Khalid of Selangor said no. PKR transparent and no corruption? Phuuuiiii!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 83
          • Meowmi on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:09 am

Old S-class no warranty, later the maintenance fee gonna be higher than a new car since no warranty. Its for show la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 26
          • MycarMylife on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:20 am

The Penang officials deserved the Mercs for their great performance and the rest of the other states should be given Vivas or Sagas at best.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 47
          • Meowmi on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:04 am

So you mean states like Kelantan and Terengganu, the MB should just take motorbike or just simply walk?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 10
          • DontTrustPoliticians on Aug 10, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Hei, DOnt trust any politicians la, be it PRs or BNs. Dont be naive that they are clean if they declare their assets too. They can always put the assets and FD under wife’s name and family’s name, and they dont declare that.
            Be very objective in politics.

• DontTrustPoliticians on Aug 10, 2013 at 12:43 pm

My close friend also told me that somebody wife in melaka holds few shoplots, always come back from penang to collect rents, (which is not in the published list). Trust it or not, ask the Malaccan who live close to them.

• hello on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Previous kedah MB bought S-classes. MB Kelantan is running a few fleet of Mercs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 16
      • pontoon on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:04 pm

yg beli merc terengganu la biol! double standard punye msian gov! perak under PR beli camry tak patriotik…terengganu under BN beli merc haram sekor x bising

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 22
      • Nabemu on Aug 03, 2013 at 5:54 am

Which PKR state spend on Mercedes for official car???. Please, correct you statement. The fact is Terengganu’s MB Mat Said, replace all Proton Perdana to Mercedes due to high maintenance cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Don't undertstand on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:55 pm

How come government forced us all to buy local cars through high duties and taxes but they themselves now spend the rakyat money to sit in other (better?) brands?

Why can’t government officials sit in Perodua Myvi Extreme Special Edition or Proton Preve?

Malu sit in local car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 593 Thumb down 30
      • RakyatDidahulukan on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:36 am

Inilah yang dinamakan Cekik Darah Siang Hari..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 267 Thumb down 81
      • ayamxxx on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:43 am

lain kali jgn vote BN, they love spend rakyat money like hell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 152
        • The fact is majority of Malaysians, the right-thinking Malaysians, the far-sighted Malaysians, voted for opposition. Sadly, gerrymandering distorted the outcome of election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • layman on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

hey guys,,allow to share.first im iINI KALILAH people..what can i understand..These guys,who have grade A,B and C,its mean they are JUSA A,B and C..
        they are very professional who had work with Gov mostly over 30 years..they are almost all 50+ years old mind freak..first, inspira is very sporty and looks tedious for old man to drive,i know some of them buy own car because feel shy to use younger car.
        Second,this guys,they only paid 15-25K permonth in gov, mostly work as Senior consultant in gov hospital, some head of state jabatan2,like.These guys,,they simply can get salary 200 to 400K permonth without SWEAT in any private hospital or company,they are very2 highly demand overseas!..The only reason they stay in GOV because they work for US! for PEOPLE!…what i know, SPA,JPA, w many other gov body try to value them with suggesting better car for them,in 2005, they suggest PASSAT, they also suggest C-MERCS,.but u know our GOV value politicians more than them!,money always go to their pocket more. ,These old-nearly retired guys,THEY are OUR COUNTRY BRAIN!,not simply talking Shit like other politicians..please value them more..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • orang asing on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:06 pm

waste Rakyat tax payer money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 47
    • Haiz pretty sad to see the Mitsubishi and Honda destroy by this :'(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Kereta Man on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:39 am

looks like some crony is making a lot of money..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
  • jolly_idiot on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:10 pm

So long proton. Even the ah jib gor now don’t want to support dr. M.

They now support rafidah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:54 pm

Stock clearance before newer generation comes?
      But at RM240k tender price? (Predicted from past experience where one single screw-driver was bought at something like RM5oooK, true?).
      Don’t get me wrong, I support BN to use Hondas (Japanese Volvo?) if they want Japanese cars, better than use Merc/BMWs ya. But the Accord must be of the new generation, not the soon-to-be-expired basi one. Stock clearance must be at 30% discount price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 31
      • Tender price for federal govt official vehicle usually cheap bcoz they buy on the based price, no import tax, no excise, no sales tax, no port duty, no excise duty etc..
        That’s why they can buy EvoX just around 140K instead paying normal price of 320K.

Based on audit negara, Usually songlap happen when govt “service” their car, not when they buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 1
        • ajo haters on Aug 04, 2013 at 11:11 pm

they must service the accord at spanco. and the price is including maintenance service for 5 yrs. good deal maaaa.

• Why would they want to replace the Inspira? That car is rather new.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 272 Thumb down 7
    • Yar lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Ah Beng on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:39 am

Simple: Inspira sucks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 35
      • ricer on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:13 am

proly like this. before this proton has perdana which is in D segment and waja in C segment. inspira should replace waja instead of perdana. proton doesn’t have any D replacement for the moment so have to find other makes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
      • mivec engine and lotus handling also sucks kah? I paid 79K for mine. never regret buying inspira……not one bit……….superb handling! The hell with 238 dislike……..I know it is worth the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • James on Aug 18, 2013 at 3:13 pm

i don’t think those “Proton tune” and Mivec but with Diffrence ECU can match with the real Lancers

• It’s not because of Inspira sucks. But inspira is a sporty car based on the Lancer. It suits better for a police mpv. They need a car which has the so called exclusive looks for officers, not sporty car. Perdana has served them very well but it is now quite an old model. With Proton-Honda agreement, they might agreed on this Honda Accord use as govt car. Inspira is actually a good car.

Nevertheless, to save money, they should all stick with the 2.0 Accord. What for 2.4L? Drive in traffic jam, even with outriders, it’s a slow trip everywhere in Klang Valley.

Or perhaps, just stick with Proton Saga. Ada berani ka Malaysia.

Or even better, naik kapcai @ small cc bikes. And with the probable ban of tinted helmet visor, let them experience what the rakyat going through for all this time. Still have the balls to proposed ban on tinted helmet visors. Crazy ministers.

• inspaliah on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Haha still wana ask. Sure the car sucks la. Copykat punya kete. Langsung taklak face when driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:13 pm

So in the end, this is the results of partnership.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • 4-insure on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:22 pm

The government officials are lucky enough to have a Honda Accord 2.4 or 2.0 as their official vehicle. I’m not sure though if everyone will find these cars convenient enough for their daily activities. As for me, I find them so lovely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Visitor on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:31 pm

The current Accord is comfortable and quiet for long distance travel. Around town, might watch out for suitable parking size.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
  • gOOsh on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:22 pm

what’s the different? if proton, a rebadge accord… sama jer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
  • mr_em on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:30 pm

The current owner of proton is also th assembler of Honda aka Drb hicom. So the whether Govt beli Honda or Proton – money goes into same pocket. The difference is they now spend more taxpayers money to upgrade to a 2.4l and 2.0l cars… great isnt it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 9
    • dark angel on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:02 am

Mr_em, it is not the same buying Honda and Proton. You buy Honda, money goes back to Japan. At least, part of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Joseph on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:32 pm

are u kidding???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • bazirun on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Just to satisfy the lust of top government official while so many malaysians struggle to meet end needs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 5
  • DingDong on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Brace yourself
    Political trolls coming
    Do not feed the trolls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • say who? on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:46 pm

I’ll be prepared with Raya cookies to feed them…
      Pineapple Tart?…mazola? baulu? name it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • DingDong on Aug 02, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Feed the political trolls with Basta 15 or any effective weed killer.
        This is an auto page not Mkini nor TMI

• designsick on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:05 am

to save rakyat money.. they should just walk to work. #feedingthetrollwithbullets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
  • There goes Accords’ re-sale value.Those who bought the current model,well guys ur Honda is no different than a Proton now.Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
  • silent-reader on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Guess they don’t talk about being ‘patriotic’ anymore…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
  • kamil serendah on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Honda bashers will have to swallow their pride.
    Proton sucks, even the federal govt. officials
    don’t wanna be seen in a Proton.
    Just admit it Proton prefers to be juara kampong and assemble low cost no tech. Saga’s rather than challenging the big boys.
    DRB has not added value to the Proton marque
    and still living in la-la land. Without any foresight
    and zero business plan, Proton is doomed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 339 Thumb down 7
    • Common man on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:00 am

We rakyat who pay tax have to stuck with cheap and low quality bolehan car or pay higher tax for foreign brand whether Goverment officials using our money to enjoy the luxuries, wtf.
      Couldn’t them using saga, viva, or preve, inspira to save some already overspending Goverment budget and support the NAP which they implement? Be the example and showing some leadership? WTF……….k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
      • prompto ignia on Aug 03, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Well, at least the rakyat have cars they can use. I, for one, can’t even afford to buy a Saga, or Viva, or even any other so called “cheap and low quality bolehan car”.

Be thankful, my fellow friend. Be thankful.

• pondal on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:21 am

no tech saga? that’s funny. it’s already using CVT gear rather than archaic 4 gear in malaysians beloved vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Whatever on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:54 pm

To replace the Perdana is understandable, but Inspira ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
    • speed_lover on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:19 pm

bcoz inspira is actually a mitsubishi..honda and mitsu is rival

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:14 am

inspira is based on lancer, which was launched in 2007. that is 6 yrs ago, going to be 7 yrs.

• pororo on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:00 pm

I think they might be change all gomen car to honda.. even in johor.. i saw the PTG now use new CRV and also fortuner as their official car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
    • oblong on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:40 am

For Gomen SUV fleet there’re no standard car which has been set for. You can see almost all model of SUV (except luxury SUV) used by gomen agency like the most popular one Nissan X-Trail followed by Toyota Fortuner, Hyundai Santa Fe, Honda CRV and also Ssangyong Rexton used by our Army.

• Hero86 on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:21 pm

alamak.. i tot the G already use toyolta fortuner for quite long.. just realize is it???

• mohd.izan on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Perodua=Toyota
    Proton. = Honda
    It took Proton more than 25 years to
    come to their senses. Ouch!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 5
    • James on Aug 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Proton = Mitsubishi = Honda ??? What next ? Proton Subaru ? hahahahahah

• BeemerFreak on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Replace the taxi fleet first, the iswaras are late 80s technology with a carburetor engine, they are in desperate need for replacement. Our g officials never really needed an official car as their secondary income usually earn them Porsches

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 9
    • Well said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
    • theanswer on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:08 am

already got exora,persona and saga blm taxi. plus, taxi drivers need to change their attitude too. not just thee car.
      btw, some taxi driver prefer to use iswara and wira because its reliability and lots of spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Mr.427 on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Very true indeed. For me, I rather buy myself a 1970 Firebird than a Porsche.. anyway thats just me.. :D

• sudonano on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:08 pm

So, that would essentially mean, in the near future, the police cars will be changed to Preves? Most of the police cars now use the Waja Campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • oh my..look who is eating their own shit now..I remember last time they accuse some state government for not supporting local car by using foreign cars..shitt…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 7
  • Datuk on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:19 pm

I still remember when government criticize the opposition party use the camry for their official car, they said its not patriotic and not appreciate the national product, now they decide tu use accord for their ride. Shame on u Najib and all ministers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 7
  • Accord as official car, but Rolls Royce as private car mah.. these jokers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
  • I am wondering how much money government will cost for buying current generation Accord.. You know, I know, we all know..
    Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:13 am

And 60 out of hundred has no VTEC in the bonet, only an empty space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • LOUIS on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:10 pm

guys this is call marketing strategy, proton will get benefits in technology of car and engine in this event. think broad please, read the description 1st then think then comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 51
    • Really? I would like to know how it works :)
      Is it something like campro-vtec will come out?

• presna on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:12 am

wait no offense or anything, but the collaboration between Honda and P1 are still just on paper…. no news whatsoever on what the collaboration is supposed to be on…. ie : platform sharing, engine tech etc etc

plus didn’t P1 acquire an engine design from Petronas?
      I know this might just sound like bashing P1, but I *THINK* the collaboration would be nothing more than Honda utilizing P1’s spare capacity at it’s ‘state of the art’ factory…. :p I mean why else would Honda want to collaborate with P1? the government can’t keep protecting P1 forever from competition, plus all the automakers who aren’t already heavily invested in Thailand are looking at Indonesia now…. and not Malaysia…. so don’t really see much logic of a collaboration….just a rental agreement to use the factory perhaps?

• Hadi75 on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:54 am

Errrrrr….proton will benefits in tech of car and engine from this change of official car from proton to honda???how???

• alldisc on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:27 am

new proton with honda airbags? or horn technology?

• ben yap on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:28 pm

after win election, straight away spend rakyat’s money. crony will die a crony… leopard can never shed its spots.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 17
    • ben yap on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:14 am

I really hate the hypocrisy of PR.

Hidup BN!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 123
      • Hadi75 on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:57 am

You hate the hypocrisy of PR but you like the hypocrisy of BN…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
      • ben yap on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:53 pm

i’ll give you a thumbs down for supporting BN and also impersonating my name.

• Migao on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:38 pm

the horrible thing is ppl knw nth and keeps on talking like they knw everything..pls~~~ ur brain had gone, u knw??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • NISSpengAN on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Support Nissan all the way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • syntium5000 on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:02 pm

haiyaa…Accord only?? i tot AUDI A6 ka….BMW 7-series ka….hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Siapa PR, like. Siapa BN, dislike. The game starts now! haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 345 Thumb down 34
  • My honda tak guna

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Why so grumpy wannn?? Previously, whatever BN did always get full approvals from most of us…we put them back into office again and again and again and again….

Let them do whatever they like laaa….after all, we are the one responsible to put them back into office. Want to curse – look in the mirror and curse ourselves…not them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
  • al bukhari on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 263
    • silent-reader on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:39 pm

If he is using his own money… who care? We are talking about gov official car… they are using our bloody tax money. And once bashed perak state gov for using camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 17
      • When they use proton people condemn, now honda also bash. But so many years using toyota and nissan to name a few, fortuner, extrail nobody cares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
        • silent-reader on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:25 am

Because we only have Kembara and Rush. not sure if that is a good option for JPJ? C’ommon, pls compare apple to apple.

• Wonder where he got money since monthly allowances for MP is so-so only some more fly overseas every month…maybe he save money since kindergarten kot….

• silent-reader on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:32 am

Pity you if you feel that only rich people can go to overseas nowadays and Only rich people can drive better car.
          Don’t spread rumors if you don’t know the truth… what we are talking here is a TRUE FACT. UBAH your mind set pls…

• Hadi75 on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:03 am

Don’t care what anwar is driving as long as he use his own money……..
      People bash because before this they bashed others for not being patriotic by buying camrys as official car now they themselves are doing it…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Thoong Chee lim on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Without all the duties & taxes, accord are cheaper than any proton we rakyat are paying. Honda won’t sign an empty deal with proton without getting nothing in return. In order proton to survive, the government will do anything except lowering duties and taxes. At the end of the day, we will be force to test out the next proton models with so call new TECH from Honda ! And still with freaking exorbitant taxes !

• so sad to Honda Accord user! wtf,just owned an accord half year ago….Honda,then u wanna sell to Proton?! shit ! i will lost in a big hole! i hate u HONDA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • What are you talking about? Honda should be thrilled…and Honda users should be happy. It shows that you and now the government made the right decision in choosing Accord as their fleet cars.

As for Proton, they should accept this as a challenge to come up with the new flagship. How long we have have to wait to see new Perdana? The ‘Perdana’ that started it also long retired…we want new Perdana that is better than Accord or Camry or Mondeo or…something that we can be proud…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • nighttrain on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:12 am

you’re not very smart, aren’t you Mary. Why would DRB pitch their own subsidiaries against each other? It cronism, I tell you. You’re probably one of their rumourmongers trying to troll the huge readership of this site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • So you are expecting the government to continue using the ailing Proton Perdana with maintenance cost higher than Accord itself??

It is better Accord than government going somewhere else…after all – it is all in one basket.

It takes a retarded person to call somebody else ‘not smart’.

• theanswer on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:13 am

part of it..you’re right. actually gomen are not making money. but current perdana v6 fleet are not in tip top condition. the reliability is questionable..especially to use it everyday and travel back and forth. either way is not a good option. it’s still a wake up call for proton.

• tokmoh on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:13 am

Ubah gaya hidup!

So, next we’ll hear Honda Accord maintenance RM1m p.a.? Songlap, songlap everywhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Nocomment on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:16 am

sleep well..no point arguing here. Its a fact that the crony has been given a big contract. Replace whole fleet summore..with this local economic situation they can spend money on cars. Are rakyat non existent?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • I reckon they will sign a MOU and then just cancel it after everyone forgets about this, what’s the point really? drive own car lar! put a plate number for officials will do, official’s car suppose to showcase what we Malaysian have and could achieve, not this… though i really hope they prove me wrong, been disappointed for far to long.

• vincent on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:32 am

I am ok if the gvt wanted to change their offical car to Benz or Honda provided we, as the master also get the same benefits of enjoying cheaper cars. Since the BN led gvt so into protecting Proton, then why not let them taste their own Sh!t?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 467 Thumb down 4
  • With that, the government will auction off all the old models… But all perdana… The kedai halfcut will prosper…

• Alxdc on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:47 am

There goes my tax payment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
  • Yakin on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:11 am

Guys, every country pays taxes to the govt, and honestly, its their decision to do what they want to it, as long as it is not going to our first lady’s pocket for new hand bags or jewellery :S

I believe the main reason why they have chosen an Accord is mainly due to the lack of new high-end Protons (if you consider Perdana to be ‘high-end’ for Proton atleast) and since it would take ahwhile for Proton to start designing, producing new Perdanas (or Suprimas), the Accord is the ideal choice. Other reasons? Low maintenance (its a Honda, fewer problems but if anything, can be settled quickly), also it has a good RV (Yes, after 3 years or so, till they re-stock newer vehicles, older ones are sold at a reasonable and acceptable price), then theres the Servicing (Plenty of Honda service centres, and not to mention spare parts).

Mostly, these cars will be driven every day, to and from office, furiously driven by their drivers around Putrajaya and KL.. So you need a car that can do that all, with minimal impact to their wallets. + its comfortable than a Perdana, or an Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • tokmoh on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:51 am

All that brainwashings that proton is the best, national pride bs, goes down the drain.

This switch to Honda is evidence that proton really is crap. It’s saying proton products are not long lasting, low quality with frequent breakdown thus high maintenance, up to rm1million?

And these very substandard junk is what govt is shoving down our throat, while they are driven in a product they admit will save them a lot of time and money, a privilege we normal rakyat have to pay dearly to enjoy. Heck, even proton/perodua are actually overpriced, but such is the manipulation of the market, they’re the cheapest option for brand new car.

So yea, go ahead and praise the govt’s rational decision. In the end, meritocracy triumphs over ‘national pride’. If only such privilege is extended to normal rakyat, but no. They tell us we must bersyukur proton is cheaper than honda in thailand, and saga sv is proof car price reduced, janji ditepati so no need reduce car tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 766 Thumb down 6
  • Yakin on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:15 am

Does this also mean the Accords will be re-badge? To a Proton? So still theres money going for Proton, and Honda at the same time…

• Just to add up.
    The effected civil servants are as follows:
    Pegawai Perkhidmatan Awam Gred Utama/Khas A = JUSA A
    Pegawai Perkhidmatan Awam Gred Utama/Khas B atau C = JUSA B and JUSA C
    These officers are usually the Director General, Secretary General et.al

It is not applicable to the ‘everyday’ civil servants Grade A/B/C (Paygrade 54 and below)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • west end boys on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:49 am

I thought they got their own car or cars ie mercs/bmw/cayenne,why give them another car its kinda waste.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • Afnan on Aug 02, 2013 at 6:52 am

Rakyat forced to drive local car while gov drive Japanese car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 3
    • You must be joking…out of 10 cars on our road at least 6 make by foreign brand (CKD incl.).

• Power of Sweet dreams on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:58 am

Poor Malaysians, getting the crumbs fallen off from
      the banquet table sponsored by themselves.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
  • nighttrain on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:20 am

Can anyone, especially from the General Accountant’s office give an estimate of how much this exercise is going to cost for the next 5 years, including purchases and maintenance. I reckon they would have already made the calculations before the Govt broadcasted the circular and announcement. This is kerajaan telus, right?
    The only senior officials who wont be getting these previleges would be teachers, haha.

• kadajawa on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:06 am

So govt losing hope on Proton? We rakyat did that long time ago lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
  • Honda = 5,000km service interval
    Toyota = 10,000km service interval
    Higher maintenance cost going forward?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • After a years working together with other worldwide car maker still can’t effort to produce it’s own executive car. Malaysia boleh ke?

• wan83 on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:23 am

Wow ramainye RBA.

• Volks on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:29 am

why not voklswagen passat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • golf GTI on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:55 am

VW passat lagi la high maintenance. DSG gearbox breakdown some more.. Haiyaa the “award winning” DSG gearbox cannot stand Malaysian climate. Even worse than the perdana claimed problematic fuzzy logic gearbox.

• dugongboy on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:32 am

It will be interesting If they replace inspira with current civic model

• Norman on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:13 am

Would be better if govt use Honda Legend V6 2013 model and Accord 2.4 for civil servants..Those bodyguards can use either Inspira 2.0 and Lotus eclipse

• legend kaki on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Hahaha the next Legend only will introduced in 2014 and will running with sport-hybrid techno…XD

• I should work for gov. Went to the wrong industry. Sucky work still able to reward them. EPIC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • nighttrain on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:52 am

all this in the midst of our country getting a lowered fiscal rating.. tsk.

• It’s now giving a sense to all the world that our goverment is not supportive to local automotive brand.
    It’s like Japan gov official using china brand vehicle. Funny ya….!
    We have the resources & time…. why can’t they make new D- segment instead?

• iluvloyola on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Hmmm… meaning kamry < accord?

• pkrbullshit on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:21 pm

proton doesn’t hv a nice big car.. so it is proton lost.. what to do, proton is lembab..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • at last Fed Govt kiss his own ass..

1) Perak State (MB-Nizar) bought Camry for their exco, they condemned kaw2

2) Terengganu State (MB-Ahmad Said) bought Merc for their exco, they lagi condemned kaw2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Crasher on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Tell us to support barangan buatan Malaysia, they switched to Japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • why honda? gov should use vios… and definitely no no to cheap plotong

• even more than 50% rakyat tak dapat tukar kerajaan akibatnya kerajaan tukar kereta.

• long live dap !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • long live lim kit siang !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • inikalilah !

• i think Paul Tan’s admins are pretty bias. judging from the comments, likes and dislikes. i know.

• What A Shame on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Well, it’s about time and rather pretty good decision in the long run considering the reliability of the Accord platform http://www.gizmag.com/the-100-most-reliable-cars-of-the-last-decade-in-order/5657/ also for our G’s plan or excuse (which one you may prefer) of going towards green eco yada2 technologies. Besides the Perdana is way too old now and surely cost a lot to maintain.
    Just hope they won’t effin’ changed the official cars after every coming GE though and stick with it for 10-15 years to come. But still, it’s somewhat quite shameless of the G to talk about national pride, being patriotic and stuff all this time, now suddenly this?? Suits the Malay phrase, ”ibarat meludah ke langit, terpercik ke muka sendiri” I must say.

• Norman on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:26 am

Main reason cause Proton doesn’t have new 2.0 little above cars that’s why Govt opt for Honda since its distributor is Drb hicom which owned Proton.Im sure if Proton able to produce new 2.0/2.4 sedan and SUV govt will change back to Proton.Korea govt also got use Merc/Maybach/BMW before Hyundai able to produce bigger cc cars.Now that Hyundai already got 4.4 litre limousine govt revert back to Hyundai

• silent-reader on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:36 am

Spending big money on gov car is not a wise decision. They better spend the money to help the poor family to improve their living.. Seriously I don’t mind paying all my tax money to poor family if I have that option. Coz I know where the money goes. Cheers!

• What A Shame on Aug 03, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Yeah, I kinda forgot about that reason and fact Mr. Norman, thanks for mentioning. I do hope for Proton to be better by time and came up with their own D-segment though after this, venturing into SUV’s would be a nice move too. It may take some time alright, but I’ll be waiting for that moment, (for our G reverting to our national pride aswell of course) I’m still quite young to be honest ;)

• flat black on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:01 am

This marks the end of Proton. Why should i buy proton when government don’t even bother to use one. The only pro of Proton that i can think about is price. That also justifiable as the import duty explain the reason. Furthermore, campro engine lack of power. Still manage to consume 9litre per 100km in persona iafm auto. Much faster Celica also barely reach this figure. Advertised figure in proton flyers are just plain bullshit. The only campro with good FC i’ve encountered is 7liter/100km if only you drive a 1.3 liter manual proton. Interior quality is disappointing. Look and feel good when the car is stalled. Start moving and orchestra starts to play. Leather interior make the orchestra merrier. Why i still drive this not so fast, noisy yet thirsty car? Because i thought i was being patriotic by supporting our homegrown brand. Now look what the government replied. Its better to buy an Accord than an Inspira. Let alone Preve the so called global proton car. I am very disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:00 am

You’re joking, right? You r not buying a car merely because the govern support/use it as their fleet.
      Even if the government continues to buy Proton tomorrow – I’ll not buy Proton.
      It is a crappy car.

• end user on Aug 04, 2013 at 1:32 am

haishh .. terasa nak komen juga lah.

1. Pihak kerajaan TIDAK MEMBELI kenderaan Honda Accord ni. Honda Accord diberi kepada pegawai tertentu secara sewaan oleh pihak SPANCO (googlelah spanco tu ape).
    2. Sangat berbeza jika disamakan negeri yang MEMBELI Cambry atau merce kerana itu adalah dibeli dan MENJADI ASET kerajaan negeri.
    3. Mengapa tidak INSPIRA diteruskan aja? kerana INSPIRA bukanlah replacement model untuk kategori Perdana, sebab tak ada kereta yang setaraf, diberinya Inspira.
    4. Saya pun kecewa juga ingatkan honda accord re-design/rebatch ngan engine Petronas, rupanya 100% accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • anakMalaysia on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:53 am

kenapa kerajaan sendiri tidak mendokong semangat patriotisme? kenapa hanya rakyat? keputusan itu merupakan keputusan yang bercanggah daripada aspirasi kerajaan…keputusan berkepentingan!!! menunggu apa jawapan penasihat proton…dr m terhadap perkara ini. kenapa tidak lease sahaja dari proton, perodua ataupun naza yang bertaraf nasional la sangat tu? aku pelik sangat la dgn keputusan kerajaan kebelakangan ini….seolah2 tiada satu hala tuju yang konkrit….isytihar lain…..buatnya lain….cakap tidak serupa bikin.

• hypcough2crite on Aug 04, 2013 at 8:09 pm

So, where is the patriotism in the government itself? Always asking the rakyat to support local brand, while they enjoy the higher quality foreign brand?

Comes off as a bit ironic, doesn’t it? If the government always marketed our local cars to be up to par to foreign cars, then why don’t they use it? Ever see them eat or drink stuff off of Kedai 1Malaysia? Those are 3rd world grade food.

We have low quality local products, that are marketed to the rakyat as ‘top notch’ by the government, with overpriced tags, so that the goverment officials can have high quality foreign products, using the rakyat money.

This is what’s going on since a long time ago, yet half of Malaysian still don’t want change in the government. Malays are scared of ‘Tsunami Cina’. Seriously, right now, Malays are being bullied by Malay ministers. I am Malay, I should know. We need change. Wake up Malaysian!

• gua punya rasa on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:03 pm

bagi gua, beli or sewa aaa.. still the federal govt. or state govt. MESTI pakai kereta nasional. MUST support nasional product la! how can they use honda? damn! this really pissed me off. kalau ini macam, gua x mau support proton. byebye la proton.

• gua punya rasa on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:06 pm

another thing gua rasa, there is no wrong if high rangking civil servants or the ministers to pakai INSPIRA or PREVE! apa? teruk ka kereta proton???

• teruk ka kereta proton??? dr. m, jawab jangan x jawab…

• Pity of those current accord users! kind of downgrade the accord badge already.

• RedLine on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:51 am

Why downgrade? Because senior government officials use them? Some government officials also use Mercedes, does it degrade the Mercedes brand? Of course not.

• Brag Hater on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Pitty to all existing Honda Accord owners. No more exclusive image rights eh? Cannot show off/brag or lansi to other people already (a typical Malaysian culture) Sigh… Oh btw, I’ve got a suggestion… why don’t you open up your wallets now and start looking for a new ‘bragg able’ car!!! LOL

• end user on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:00 am

kalau kita kalih meja dalam paultan ni pun tak gune. ada somebody yang hantar email kepada Tan Sri Dr. Mohd Irwan Serigar bin Abdullah tu tak mention apa yang di bahaskan dalam ni. kalau tak ade, kosong je bahasan kita. Dari google, nie contact beliau:

YBHG. TAN SRI DR. MOHD IRWAN SERIGAR BIN ABDULLAH

Ketua Setiausaha,
    Kementerian Kewangan,
    Kompleks Kementerian Kewangan,
    Aras 10, Blok Tengah,
    No.5, Persiaran Perdana , Presint 2,
    Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Persekutuan,
    62592 PUTRAJAYA.

Emel : [email protected]
    Web : www.treasury.gov.my

• nighttrain on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:08 pm

If Proton can’t build limousine for the super senior Govt officers, there’s another builder that can. I hereby propose the Govt purchase a Bufori Geneva for the Ketua Pengarah in every Ministry. The Menteri well, since they’re politicians, just stick to Accords lah.. Buy your own Maybach with your ‘own’ money lah.

• rubbish mindset using sampah car.

• had a short chat with a sales personal in honda today when i’m servicing car.. he said PROTON WILL REBADGE ACCORD AS PERDANA replacement.. it will be using the older engine… the vtec.. not the i-vtec..

• Sam Loo on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:44 pm

And why not Sonata or K5?

That’s because even the Perdana is better than kimchi

• pity those protong supporters..keep saying protong how good..but the govem also not using protong..I wonder how gud can it b.

• Truth on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:46 am

This is HICOM-HONDA Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd.

Hicom-Holdings Berhad (48%) owned 100% DRB Hicom
    Honda Motor Co. Ltd (30%)
    Boon Siew Sdn Bhd (19%)
    Lembaga Tabung Haji (3%)

• Truth on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

Honda Malaysia’s major shareholders are Honda Motor Co., Ltd with a 51% stake, DRB-Hicom Bhd 34% and Oriental Holdings Bhd 15%.

• RedLine on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:48 am

Padan muka Proton. They should have come up with a Perdana replacement many years ago. Now they lost one of their biggest market, which is the Government fleet. Serves them right for being so slow.

• SalSays... on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Any photo of this Accord-based Perdana? Or they simply replace the grilles & badges?