4th-gen Toyota Prius spied, but doesn’t tell us much!

Toyota-Prius-002

All the camo in the world couldn’t hide the fact that this is the next-generation Toyota Prius. That’s how iconic the car’s shape is, a symbol of fuel efficiency and aerodynamics. But there must be lots of changes to the detailing on the sheet metal underneath, looking at how heavily disguised this car is. Nearly every inch has substantial camo on it, down to the wing mirrors and wheels.

With the third-generation Toyota Prius that’s on sale now having first debuted in 2009 and facelifted in 2011, we could see this next generation car appear sometime in 2014 or early 2015. Over three million units of the Toyota Prius have been sold since the first generation was launched in 1997, with the third generation alone contributing nearly 1.7 million units, more than half the total.

By the way, if you haven’t watched it already, check out Food Travels with Toyota Hybrid where host Megan Tan goes on a makan makan trail around the Klang Valley in a Toyota Prius.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ben yap on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:30 am

Some idiot is going to say “Lexus Prius is not a Toyota”

Lexus = Toyota

Get that though your thick skull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
  • xiper on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:53 am

hmm the rear design looks about the same as current gen

• silent-reader on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:17 am

sooner we will see the naked prius. yawn

• rally_fan on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:05 pm

doesnt look fantastic or anything.. doesnt even give the best economy.. but toyota sells a huge amount of these cars…

• Visitor on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:39 pm

The Prius nameplate has been so synonymous with hybrid vehicle, the term ‘Prius’ has become a brand in itself.

• Enthu on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Which car gives the best economy? Mind you?
      (Ignorant posts like this is a sore eye)

• The Rimau on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Oh No, I told my friends that I hold on from buying the current Prius because the new one is going to be DRASTICALLY different. But now, I am totally disappointed. The back is the same shape. Bad boring shape.! Alamak! The reason I thought that it would be drastically different was because :-
    Other cars are also catching up with the same tech.
    In order to be ahead, toyoyta Prius got to look nice. It got to look much nicer because its tech is not the selling point when other catch up with tech.
    Prius got to be ahead in tech a little bit and MUST look Beautiful in order to beat the competition.
    Now, I look at the rear and OH OH NO NO…..its the SAME!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • odi862 on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Instead of sloped rear in the present Prius, Toyota should introduce Prius Alpha which is similar to Wish. More head room for the passengers.

• Sam Loo on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Kimchis still trailing by a million mile on hybrids