W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class interior revealed!

Mercedes-C-class-007

It looks like the ‘floating tablet’ style COMAND display that you can find in the A-Class and B-Class is going to move up the Mercedes-Benz range, as we can see in this first photo of the interior of the upcoming W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class. The new design is a huge departure from the current W204 C-Class facelift which neatly places the COMAND display under a hood that extends over the instrument panel.

The upcoming W205 loses the W204’s button-filled dashboard for a neater row of switches very much like the style found in the W221 S-Class. Below that is the disc slot. That’s a regular gear lever we see instead of a column mounted shifter, and behind that is the COMAND dial. The home, star and back buttons seem to be integrated in the palm rest of the COMAND dial, and perhaps the palm rest could be hiding the numerical keypad that’s now missing from the dashboard.

We also see a regular analogue instrument cluster, but there’s a high res colour multi-info display between the speedo and rev meter. We don’t see any analogue fuel and temperature gauges so those must be integrated in the small display that we see in the lower half of the speedometer. There’s a new three-spoke steering wheel design as well – it’s not the same as the ones found in the current batch of Mercedes-Benz on sale, however not identical to the one we saw in the S-Class Coupe.

Enough about the interior – plenty of exterior shots to be found in the gallery as well. Enjoy.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kadajawi on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 118
  • seles on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:34 am

air cond vents design are ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 58
  • Looks like driver still have to slot in the key to get it running.

CLA is better looking :D

• Anton Sevidov on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:32 am

The keyless-go is optional. Even for the new 2013 S-class.

• heybadigol on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:21 am

Just my 2 sen. But I thought the C class was supposed to be for more mature customers. The A & B class are meant for the younger ones, hence the sporty design of the A.

But to me, a floating tablet style does not quite suit a Merc meant for a mature market. Its ok in a 3 series (almost floating lah), cos its a sporty car meant for the younger set, and not one that is being marketed as a comfortable luxury car (like Merc). But on a C class, its just not luxurious looking enough.

I like how Lexus integrated the screen for the IS into the dashboard, which looks more professional, and fitting of the Lexus badge (yet still looks sporty).

But maybe just maybe, this could be the dash on a “sport/AMG” variant – hence the normal gearshifter rather than column shifter. Maybe there’s a slightly different dashboard for the “luxury line/avantgarde” variant, which has integrated screen and column mounted gearshifter.

Time will tell. Wont be long!!

• All manufacturers are going on cost saving route, don’t think merc will design 2 different center dash for a model. Again, time will tell :)

• frenzyaustin on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:40 am

I can’t really understand why BMW, Mercedes Benz and Mazda like the so called floating screen? To me it’s feels like when they design they forget to include a screen and at the very last second before production, they just bought a Nexus 7 and screwed on the dash. The out come is very bad to me, very afterthought like TRD Sprortivo LED on Camry. Integrated screen looks much better though.

• Meowmi on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:07 am

I think it allows them to design the dashboard in another way. If it is integrated, i think it would have to be like S-Class style to maintain their design language.

• jay8393 on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:32 am

After comparing back-to-back, the steering wheel is the same as the S-Class Coupe, except that on the bigger car, it has a flat bottom.

• Paul Tan on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:35 am

it’s not the same. the curve of the bottom spoke as it goes from the hub to the rim is different. it’s concave on the C-Class but convex on the S-Class Coupe.

• droll on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:41 am

don’t know about you but this new interior looks great compared to the current gen W204 facelift.

i can’t wait to see what tech gets included in this car.

everything looks more “organic”…more “curved”. nice.

• andrewk on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Good Lord…. not the floating screen again….. at best, it looks really out of place… kinda like you stick on your tablet on the dash…. I’d rather they stick to the intergrated screen like the current W204. Also, less possibility of glare as it is “shaded”.

• Jimmy on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Compact to give a solid feel.

• wenshee on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:44 pm

That floating screen is horrible! It’s as if they have forgotten to incorporate a screen into the dashboard. Then get some aftermarket screen and fixed it on top of the dashboard.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:11 am

I have to admit, the floating screen looks bad, it looks as it there’s a cheap tablet stuck there. Nevertheless, the C-class’ interior looks more matured yet nice enough to attract the youngsters. Though, it looks like Mercs have gone a bit ‘soft’ on the design this generation as it looks less modern and sharp. At first impression it is like they are trying to make a mini S-class. The S-Class turned out very classy. We’ll see how this one goes.

• Nieko on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:19 pm

My Good lord this thing looks Sexy …….

A massage to Merc make sure this time around The
    C-Class can beat the BMW 3series in terms of Handling and Speed ,ah finally a Merc that beats a Bemmer oh please make this happen Merc

• PauKaya on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:19 pm

these car manufacturers should show their cars in “real world” specs. no c-class driver is going to be mad enough to put in a burmester system.

• Mercymerc on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Can’t wait to change mine !! When going to hit us Malaysia ??