W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift Malaysian specs released – E200 and E250 Avantgarde

12C1200_118-e1355418761443

Price list and spec sheets for the Malaysian W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift are now available at Mercedes-Benz dealerships, with the price lists showing a August 1, 2013 effective date.

As hinted by the facelifted E 200 that we saw at JPJ Putrajaya, both the E 200 and E 250 CGI are now available in Avantgarde trim. The pre-facelift W212 E200 was an Elegance car.

Both the Mercedes-Benz E 200 Avantgarde and E 250 Avantgarde should have similar exterior looks, as Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has opted for the sports grille with the integrated star for both cars instead of the more traditional grille that’s accompanied with a hood ornament.

The only difference is that the E 250 Avantgarde gets an additional Exterior Sports Package which includes 18-inch five twin-spoke alloys with mixed tyres, larger perforated disc brakes at the front with calipers that have Mercedes-Benz lettering, and two square integrated tailpipes at the rear.

e250-cgi-jpj-2

The E 250 Avantgarde also gains Remote Bootlid Closing and an Electric Panoramic Sliding Glass Sunroof over the E 200. Other than that, both the cars have very similiar equipment lists. The E 200 seems to have had a massive specs and appearance overhaul as it even gains Artico leather on the upper section of the dashboard, which was reserved for the E 250 and upwards for the pre-facelift. Both cars also have LED headlamps with Dynamic Light System.

Both the E 200 and E 250 get revised engines. The previous 1.8 litre (1,796cc) CGI engine has been replaced by a 2.0 litre (1,991cc) BlueDIRECT engine. The E 200 now does 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque between 1,200 rpm to 4,000 rpm, compared to the outgoing E 200 CGI’s 184 hp and 270 Nm. The new E 250 gets 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,200 rpm to 4,000 rpm, as opposed to the older E 250 CGI’s 204 hp and 310 Nm.

The E 200 Avantgarde has a price tag of RM366,888 OTR without insurance, while the E 250 Avantgarde has a price tag of RM405,888 OTR without insurance. Both cars are locally-assembled. We’re expecting the facelifted W212 to be launched this month. Have a look at the two spec sheets in the gallery below. Special thanks to reader LT for the tip-off.

P/S: Should you be interested in an oil burner version, the grey importers have also managed got a hold of the W212 facelift – check out this 2013 E220 CDI.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Howard on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Now where is my cheque book….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • VW Fanboi on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Well, after facelift it is still an Ah Pek car. Passat CC way better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 80
      • Eyess on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:45 am

Passat CC is way below la. Unless u opt for CC R line. Otherwise, its utterly bullshit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
      • L-bird on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:18 am

I bet you can’t even afford a 3rd or 4th hand VW Polo…keep dream on fanboi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
        • VW Fanboi on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:17 pm

If I can afford a 3rd hand VW Polo, are you sure you want to cut your L-bird? Come on be a wise guy don’t look down at people and assume they are poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
      • Anton Sevidov on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:13 am

Who gives a shit?
        Passat CC = Poor man’s CLS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
        • VW Fanboi on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:13 pm

CLS? Poor man’s Panamera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
          • Anton Sevidov on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Please, the Panamera Turbo S sucks if you compare it with the CLS 63 AMG S-Model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
          • CLS poor man? dude, CLS and Pana is at the same price range la. and u sure u can afford one? Judging by ur comment, i will take it as a no. Can u afford a 760k car? if cant please dont call it poor man’s car or whatsoever. Unless if u r driving pana Turbo S or CLS 63. Otherwise, Dont even bash F10 and W212 if u are not driving these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
          • VW Fanboi on Aug 05, 2013 at 7:02 pm

“Judging by ur comment, i will take it as a no. Can u afford a 760k car? if cant please dont call it poor man’s car”

Judging from your comment above, I think your are very immature. How stupid a person can prejudge the other person that unknown to him. So please don’t reply my comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 15
          • Immature? dude. u have no idea who are u talking to. Honestly, i think u need to rephrase. calling other car a poor man’s car is not right. so what car r u driving? u started it so i just wanna justify what u said wasnt right. and u whine like a bitch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • DontLa on Aug 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

dont be so harsh calling it an ah pek car, but all the mercs now seriously dont look like elegant calssy executive type, unlike the generation before. current look will be more suitable for asian luxury cars but not continental i think

• VW Fanboi, Ah Pek car that u cant afford to even own one

• Jimmy on Aug 02, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Good to see side airbags at the rear, no mention of addition of knee airbag(s).
    The current E-class is rather compact. Hopefully Mercedes improve in the next generation.
    MBM ditched a few features available in previous generation E-class, reasons?

• Wow.. finally. Luckily its not that expensive. price rather stays the same compared to pre-facelift model. Now the most anticipated model will be E400 twin turbo v6 as E300 dropped out from the production line.

• the pricing seems really good. i expected it to go up due to the larger engine and more spec.

should sell really well.

good facelift. not like BMW whereby, nothing changed for the 5 series.

the changes in the e class is almost all-new.

well done Merc. well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Eyess on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:43 am

I agree but also will have to disagree. No hard feelings. Yes, this w212 is a far cry compared to prefacelift version which many lowlife bash it as a Camry lookalike. Because W212 didnt start right at first, German engineers has improvised many things for the last 3-4years to make it current form. While on the other hand, F10 came out almost perfect and even now with its prefacelift form, it still look fresh and can easily compete with new W212. W212 is sporty but last time when it first out. The interior wasnt nice. Driving dynamic wasnt there. Tats d main reason i go for F10. And trust me, after 2 years owning it. It still drives like the first day being picked up from dealer. Everything is nicely done.

• sudonano on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Wow. This gives the 520i and 528i M a run for the money. Though I’d say the E200 wins over the 520i (520i is really feeling bare bone now), but the 528i vs the E250 is a real close call. 528i wins in the mechanics and the adaptive drive and M bits, but the E250 has a built in reverse cam, sunroof and all. Tough call, good for the consumers then!

• syazran on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:28 pm

what is the difference between w212 e250 and w212 pre facelift e250(new)??

• bushi shenxiang on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:32 pm

new engine, redesigned front and rear bumpers, integrated full led headlamp , new rear light, analog clock at the dashboard instead of beside speedo meter, redesigned dashboard , new speedo meter design , larger front disc brake. and many more bro.

• In another word, the prefacelifted version was a lousy one? Such radical change means they didn’t got it right in the first time. Its easy how people got impressed with newness forgotten it started quite wrong vs the 5 series. And when the current 5 series maintains most of its right formula from start in its facelift, many bash it being reserved! Ironic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Traditional grill and hood ornament still the way to go.

• Why people keep telling the price is reasonable?

• bushi shenxiang on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:53 pm

reasonable as in the given the price and what it has to offer comparatively to its competitor ? understand?

i dont know why poor people always think that “reasonable” and “affordable” always have to come from their lowly perspective. so self centered and delusional no wonder they cant make it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • DontLa on Aug 10, 2013 at 4:25 pm

then always blame somebody else if they’re poor. oh look can’t afford a car, change govt. um, hello, once change govt you’re still poor and lazy, you’ll soon find something else to complain about. work harder why don’t you

• Jimmy on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Admired brand new Iswara white.
      Admired 1st-gen CRV.
      Admired Camry.
      Admired C-class.
      Admired E-class.
      No vehicles to admire.
      You can do it, and be honest.

• ta kong zai on Aug 02, 2013 at 6:11 pm

price reasonable or not reasonable still unable to afford.
    the price of this car is similar to a price of a condo, its like a moving condo.

• hondasalesman on Aug 02, 2013 at 6:33 pm

in KL, you can’t buy a condo at that price, min. at least 1/2 million

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Ppl who can afford this type of car is either staying with parents or has a house twice the price of the car. Foesnt matter u r young or old ah pek. If ppl use the price and compare it with condo price. Truly but sadly, u r not there yet. And i bet u r not even staying in kl. coz i wish kl has such a cheap condo.

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2013 at 2:02 pm

The total costs of all your vehicles at any one time should not exceed 30% of the price of your house. If your house worth 9Mil, then the total costs of all your vehicles should not exceed 3Mil.

• Well, 9mil is way too much. Im not at that level yet but i noe i will one day. But for me, i dont compare price of car with houses as houses are assets but cars are liability. So dont ever think of saving or can gain from buying cars. Cars are luxury goods. Well for me, my car is only 10% of my house costvand i intended to keep it tat way.

• aerotourer on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Launching on 15.8.2013. Why no info for E400?

• Fahmi on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Elegance version not available?? Looks more exclusive, matured, more suitable for older ones… Avantgarde is more sportier, for younger folks…

• john mat on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:26 pm

No younger folks will drive this machine unless well bread by parents dude!…. dammed expensive.

• Why no young dude driving? Isnt 32-38 yo are young adult too? Can buy E200 and still look cool. Previously if u wanna looked young u have to go for E250 ad E200 Elegance wasnt suitable for younger ppl. Now its diff. If u r talkin about young dude around 27-30. Then its kinda impossible.

• LHang on Aug 04, 2013 at 12:58 am

Lol, if u want to look younger, drive a heavily modified Saga instead.

• LHang on Aug 04, 2013 at 1:05 am

Driving a heavily modified Saga will make u look way younger than driving this.

• and also cheaper.. different class dude.. ppl choose their path and please dont complaint when see other peer driving nicer cars.

• semua boleh land... on Aug 04, 2013 at 6:35 am

At the age of below 40’s for you yo earn this beast machine must be
          1. Son of taiccon..
          2. Inherited father bisness.
          3. Bissnessman ex contractor
          4. Young CEO..
          5. Professional ex surgeon lawyer bla bla…

• Business owner too. I have some friends whom started their own business can drive a 335i at age 36. And they werent from rich family. Obviously u gotta be someone or something in

• Business owner too. I have some friends whom started their own business can drive a 335i at age 36. And they werent from rich family. Obviously u gotta be someone or something in order for u to own this car. Dont tel me average joes who works 8-5 drive this. Not here and certainly not at overseas. In overseas, u gotta be some professional like doctor, plastic surgeon, lawyer etc etc to drive it. In malaysia, u own a small business oso can own ady.

• DontLa on Aug 10, 2013 at 4:30 pm

i’m 32 and can afford a 3 series. nothing fancy about my job just a salary man. but when i can afford an e class or 5 series (probably before i’m 40) i won’t buy any. 1) afraid to be a target of road thieves 2) those cars are kinda for old people

• AceMan on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:29 am

Hi John, do agree with you but don’t underestimate those 8-5 workers.
      Am also a 8-5 worker. We may not get a huge profit from businesses but some of us do earn good income plus bonuses. The extra that we have is saving. Businessman do tend to be more lavish in their spending especially entertainment compared to us. This will equal out both parties’ net income.

• No no… Im not looking down on 8-5 worker la bro. Sorry if i sounded poyoh.. Even businessman works 8-5 or sometimes even more. My uncle works 9am-10pm in order for him to own a Ferrari. Of coz, he is working as mechanic and own a mechanic shop. My comment is actually targeting those ppl who wants cheaper car based on their own perspective and salary.

• The glass panel…. Plz, can that be changed to a normal metal roof? Cannot Tahan the heat la…we’re in Malaysia and in geografi, Malaysia is “panas Dan lembab” sepanjang tahun. Don’t tell me euro this and that. We cannot live without air con. We don’t wear sweater here ok. MBM plz take note

• 4Matic BlueTec on Aug 03, 2013 at 12:12 am

When will the 9G-Tronic (9-Speed) version be available?

• seancorr on Aug 03, 2013 at 12:13 am

Wow pelvis airbag haha and finally Mercedes has included keyless entry but unfortunately only for the E250.

Should have option to fit the keyless entry into the E200 and how about audio system options like Audi has?

• I really hope with that price MB could at least put distronic plus,or I just miss the boat.

• Is that true e class will launch on this 15/8/13?

• Tr1x1e on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:28 am

Can anybody please compare specs, performance data & price of this new models with AUDI A6 hybrid? So many people had been telling me that A6 hybrid is so much more powerful both in HP & torque, much more & better specs and much much cheaper?? Is it true? Got people say Mercedes Benz is Mercedes Benz & it’s status,exclusivity & proven past reliability is widely accepted & granted. It is therefore meaningless to make any comparison no matter what??