Peugeot 508 now with Navteq Malaysian GPS maps

peugeot-508-gps-malaysia-0006

Good news for existing and potential Peugeot 508 owners – Malaysian maps are finally available for the Peugeot 508’s GPS feature. The maps are supplied by Nokia’s Navteq subsidiary.

We’re told that the maps will be loaded into your car on your next service, and some Peugeot 508 owners have already got their maps loaded and shared photos of the feature in action on Facebook. These photos are thanks to Pumbaa E.

Here’s something we didn’t know – the route directions will also be displayed in colour on the pop-up heads-up display. And of course, you can have the same directions appear in the multi-info display in the instrument cluster.

We usually deactivate the heads-up display on our 508 as we don’t really find the speedometer function to be particularly useful, but now we’ll probably activate it again since the GPS can be used with it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aloooha on Aug 04, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 117
    • haloooa on Aug 04, 2013 at 5:11 pm

That’s right, nothing interesting. Get back to your Preve with it’s HUD and GP…. oh wait.. I’m sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 47
    • guest on Aug 04, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Hmm..Interesting pattern of thoughts. This website features both local and international automotive news, and this piece here is definitely a local news.

If you want only stuffs that’s deem interesting to you, you might as well start your own automotive website, no? Why still visit this site when it doesnt always feature things that interests you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • I would think that existing 508 owners will find this very interesting @ Alooha. This website is not for things that you perceive to be interesting only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • jelutung pun boleh..haha
      appoint foreigners ke buat gps malaysia ni -_-

• Gosh… Do we have to read this kind of crappy comments and bickering everytime in every topic??

Plsss…grow up guys… You’re spoiling the great website!

• Zafarul Asyraf on Aug 04, 2013 at 4:59 pm

finally we’re able to use GPS function, been waiting for it for almost 2 years.Navteq is ok but would prefer Garmin.nevertheless it’s better to have it than none.kudos to nasim not chargin us for the installation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • jilbaber on Aug 04, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Wow this car has been around for 2 years already…it’s like it was launch yesterday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • now if only they put this on 208.. that would be so awesome

• 208 for my WAGs on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Nasim, please take note and act. GPS navigation on those pretty LCD display for 208, please. Tqvm.

• Chris on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:27 am

Erm…. I thought Garmin uses Navteq’s map?

There’s only a few GIS provider in the world, Navteq, Tele Atlas, Google? Unless I’ve been sleeping somewhere and Garmin started making their own maps, otherwise the data is from Navteq, or combination of multiple sources.

• sudonano on Aug 04, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Oh yes, I remember the Peugeot dealer telling me the 508 got GPS finally, though it seems Traffic features will not work. It is pretty decent actually, tried it when I went for a 508 test drive last week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Aug 04, 2013 at 7:55 pm

your test drive unit already got functional gps? cool. definitely a good news for my dad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Yup. Well at least the diesel unit had it. We did play around with the map, and it did show locations alright. though, since we kind of had no ideas on an address to try out, so we didn’t try the search. But I’d reckon it is OK la.

• theanswer on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:39 am

better late than never. at least the gps in functional. all this while we only use the music and radio function.

• yup. i agree. better to have it functional than not to have at all. while it is a bit late, better to have it still than none at all.

• onanodus on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:27 pm

So the 508 GPS works nicely? How is the guidance, mapping compared to say, a BMW or Land Rover?

Thanks.

• sudonano on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:16 pm

If compared to a BMW and Land Rover (good choice of brands I must say!), if I compare the 508 to the 2012 iDrive Nav Pro, I think as a whole the BMW one is more polished. Of course, the BMW one is more expensive, but in terms of ease of use, I can operate the BMW one without the manual.

Having said that, I’d say the LR’s one is even easier than the BMW one, for two reasons, it is easier to find the button to start a guidance in a LR than a BMW and Peugeot, plus the LR has a touch screen. I did notice that since I am used to iDrive where the knob can move up, down, left, right, I end up doing that a lot on the 508, only to be reminded that it cannot…

However, after all this, I’d say the 508 is probably the best in it’s class. Better than Toyota Camry, Nissan Teana, and Mazda 6 (in terms of build quality).For the price, (considering Nasim will give for free, just make an appointment and they put it in), it is really a steal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • sudonano on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I might add, the 508 really was shocking for us when we test drove it. I was already having a preconceived thought the 1.6 THP will be underpowered. Shockingly it was not. The 2.2Diesel was another story though. Very good sedan. Peugeot has put a lot of effort in the MMI they use, which some people like Mercedes could learn a few tricks. (Personally I find the COMAND a bit clunky, especially in the C class where there are no shortcut buttons like Peugeot/iDrive)

• Smarties on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:18 am

Hi sudanano,

So, you’re driving the new 508? My friend is thinking of owning 508SW. Do you think this car worth buying?
          Tq in advance.

• sudonano on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Nope, I don’t drive one, just went for a test drive…

Personally, I don’t see no reason why not. The 508 is genuinely a well built, well kitted car. I am assuming your friend is looking at a Station Wagon, well technically at that price, it’s either this or the Mazda 6. I didn’t bother the Mazda 6’s test drive as they did not have a 2.5 test unit, only a showroom car was there, so no comment on performance on dynamics of that, but in terms of the 508, it is very competent, and since it is french, it rides really well at speed. Though a word of caution on the diesel, the salesperson did say the diesel has a chance of having issues after 5 years. That was exactly what she said, due to our fuel. It is not a Peugeot only thing, even the mechanics and BMW say the same, especially the fuel pump and the Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF).

But the diesel 508 is definitely powerful. For me, if it was the Mazda 6 or the 508, I think I’d take the 508, since it is better built and feels almost German. The Mazda is a good Japanese alternative (as in it is indestructible), but the 508 really says you spent your money well imo.

• And I chooses peugeot 508 over mazda6 skyactive after test drove all including Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.5 l .

• Kent Lim on Aug 04, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Thanks Paul, just curious how come one of the images have the battery and phone reception signal on display?

• Paul Tan on Aug 04, 2013 at 8:55 pm

If you pair your phone to the car using Bluetooth it will show your phones battery and signal strength.

• chongyew on Aug 04, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Garmin uses Navteq maps.

• Malfree forever on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:51 am

No to be exact, Garmin in Malaysia and Singapore also uses MalSing and Malfree maps. We are the only market in the world that Garmin had to use 3rd party maps like MalSing and Malfree. The Navteq map is no where near to MalSing and Malfree’s coverage and update to date maps. Better start asking Peugeot to consider seriously to back up the navigation system up with MalSing and Malfree. Garmin did that long time ago and still today.

• Long live Nokiaaaaa :-) (and Peugeot)

• Didier on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Honestly, the Nissan’s Multimedia unit GPS is much better than this one. Test drove the Teana, 508 and Camry recently and the Teana had a much better GPS and Multimedia unit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • It’s the community map that is making garmin good, not navteq.

• Jilbaber on Aug 11, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Nothing can beat detail on local community maps, that’s for sure

• Peugeot really does offer alot at an attractive price, UMW and Co. need to reflect on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • chongyew on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:23 am

How’s Nasim’s after sales service and support like? That’s what really matters since the car comes with a 5-year unlimited mileage warranty.

• theanswer on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:45 am

support wise..not that bad. but lack of sc (not as much as T and h)..can be time consuming.

• g@rm1n on Aug 05, 2013 at 6:59 am

what so fancy about that ? http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=12627

• Paul, surprisingly all your articles related to 508, none are mentioned about the GPS problem that the 508 owners have been suffering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Paul Tan on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:32 am

We have a Peugeot 508 as well in our company fleet. Peugeot Malaysia has never advertised the 508 as coming with GPS, and when we bought the car the SA also told us that there’s no maps, and that the colour screen is for audio controls, etc. So we bought the car assuming that there won’t ever be any maps, the fact that they’re available now is a bonus. We certainly did not “suffer” as a 508 owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • donna on Aug 05, 2013 at 1:59 pm

at the beginning, the gps was told to be functional later, thats y got 508 owner launching a cause for nasim to put in gps maps

• laluan sehala on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:56 pm

it was not nasim who did not give the maps. it was peugeot who delayed the development of the maps.

• Navteq sucks! on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:12 am

Wrong move Peugeot, Navteq sucks big time in Malaysia and Singapore. Garmin had to resort to using community maps although its devices are preloaded with Navteq’s lousy maps for Malaysia and Singapore. I purchased a Garmin unit from Australia with license maps of Australia and load the free community maps for Malaysia and Singapore, so I get 3 maps for the price of one (ahem free). You can always choose between Malsing or Malfree whenever one of them is not sufficient or updated in some areas. But definitely better than Navteq anytime hands-down. Why would Garmin spend their valuable resources to compile the maps from Malsing and Malfree when they already paid for the Navteq map license? The only other better commercial map provider is definitely the maps found on Google, MapIT; a local based company. Heard that the other navigation systems in the Peugeot, Kia, Nissan, Infiniti and even Google Nav use the same map provider from Malaysia. Now that is a Malaysia Boleh for us. However that company is a bit low profile in my opinion. Should have more news coverage about this company.

• willbyapugsoon on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:12 am

508, i like. superb handling, superb design, superb spec. cheaper than passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:45 am

Interesting…so what other cars do you have in the company fleet besides the F30 and the Pug 508 Paul?

• Frenchshit on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:21 pm

What’s the point of having gps when the car is unreliable and always full of problem ? Oh wait, maybe the peugeot owners need it to find their nearest workshop when the car breakdown or Sam Loo used car dealers to trade in their french shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
    • Do you own one? Can you back up your statement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Toroto on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Did u see any Peugeot brokedown on the road side? Why dun u complain to gomen abt fuel quality here instead up-to-date features n built quality offered by Peugeot?

• CW Wong on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:11 pm

If you do not drive a Pug, it is best not to say such things at all. It sounds silly.

• Albert on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Ppl say “I you have nothing nice to say…then dont saya anything at all”
      It is okay to criticize but you have to have balls to back up your allegations….don’t simply talk c@ck!

A lot of ppl come here to seek guidance before they make a major purchase…not to read about lies…unsubstantiated claims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Its a good news. What about 208?? I believe 208 should also get the same maps. In Europe, all 208’s are functional with GPS, even the 78 horsepower 1.2 liter one, when they are sold. I would like that 208, which can become potentially a class leader in Malaysia, be fitted with this GPS navigation.