2014 Hyundai Elantra facelift teaser goes online

2014 Hyundai Elantra facelift teaser

A teaser of the 2014 Hyundai Elantra facelift is now up on the automaker’s Korean website. The fifth-generation Elantra MD is set to get its mid-life update soon, and it looks to be a fairly minor one.

As usual, the front and rear lamps will sport revised graphics. The fronts appear to have shapely LED DRLs like those seen on the recent Korean-market Tucson facelift, while the rear lights mirror that of the updated Sonata’s. A new wheel design is also shown.

2014 Hyundai Elantra facelift

On the inside, it looks to get new high-tech gadgets – the highlight being Hyundai’s Advanced SPAS (Smart Parking Assist System). Expect the company’s three-mode Flex Steer system to filter down to this model too, as it’s fitted on the Kia Cerato it shares its platform with.

We’ll have to wait for the official reveal to know the full extent of the Elantra’s facelift. Word is though, that will happen before August comes to a close, so watch this space.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• gua punya rasa on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:51 am

lampu tu looks nice.. gua rasa la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Nice..just hope no price increament..

I will get one by year end..hopefully with some discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • shame_Loo on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Elantra Exterior design ID is really great! However, interior of the car is not match to the exterior, should improve to make it look more sporty+luxury! Anyway, well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 73
  • Datuk on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:18 pm

not bad at all, hopefully it will come with 7inch full touch screen complete with sat nav

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • the between-lower-middle-income people on Aug 05, 2013 at 12:23 pm

next..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Hyundai Fan on Aug 05, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Looks great, but new car prices are very close to the Japanese rivals, the problem is 2nd hand price, really is ‘hancur’ price if sell 2nd hand. That is why I have an old Elantra which is 8 year old and still has to continue using it, bcos the 2nd hand price of RM10k offer for trade in is just ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • 2cents on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:25 pm

well the 2nd hand market for this generation of Korean cars are getting better as they have generated a matured product from incorporating new technology, improving the core parts and enhancing the driving experience with years of R&D and what KIA had produced back then and now is totally different. Their prices don’t run as much as they used to because the 2nd hand car market has realized its innovations and now they are not as far from their competitors as they used to be so thus, the 2nd hand value will not be the same as the example you have given.

• meh master on Aug 05, 2013 at 1:58 pm

yuck, its a korean…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 67
  • Design is getting more Sepet like Korean…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 126
    • noob_pinion on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:13 pm

time has changed, perhaps?

• kuinosan on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Its your loss, not ours if you don’t buy Korean cars. I have 2 perfectly fine driving Korean cars that have met my expectations so far.

• daniel on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Sime darby will strip this and that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
  • IHateHyundai on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Rubbish vehicle, my Preve is much better, more quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 97
    • AntiPreve on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:58 am

Preve just a piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Ihate proton on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Preve better than hyundai elantra? really meh?????????????You sell this car at other country c got ppl wan ma…proton= tin milo…

• if this car is with Toyota LOGO, already sell like Hot Cake ! Still good work , Hyundai!
    Japan automobile dun fall asleep ,the Korean car is really trying to catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • ProtonFans on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Preve still the best la……………………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 66
    • Ihate proton on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:04 pm

hahaha…global people know elantra but dont know preve la…hide your preve la…noob national car…

• samlok on Aug 05, 2013 at 5:33 pm

korean car, yet selling so high price, how to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Sep 14, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Buy pre-owned.

Very dai mai. 12 month old vehicle. Many kimchi owners trade in within a year

• Hopes the seat can be wider.. Lol

• roxas on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:40 pm

awesome looking! facelift sure wont be here so soon, as we get ours only at last year. the koreans have their at 3 years ago dy

• Kuinosan on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Ya..ya..Preve always the best. Come on guys, STOP kidding yourself and wake up! Fact is that Korean brands such as Hyundai and Kia are making waves in the world automobile industry as they are now the 4th largest car producers in the world. Whereas Proton are still trying very hard to shrug off THE JAGUH KAMPUNG title after all these years. Sad to say, but Proton have not improved much and their product range is not up to world standards, and that’s a FACT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • Hyundai Fan on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Those who mentioned Proton are better cars are just ‘sour grapes’. My family owned 3 Protons before swapping with 3 Hyudais (3 different models) and my verdict is Proton got no fight, Protons really really look ultra cheapo save for Preve which looks slightly better.

• ya wau sin on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:54 am

Preve ruang luas tapi seat sempit pula, kan rugi je bawa kereta besar, baik naik viva

• Kuinosan on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:54 am

Seperti biasalah dengan mentaliti Proton. Selalunya buat kereta separuh jalan!!! Depan cantik, tapi belakang hodoh. Ruang dalam luas tapi seat sempit. Dashboard luas tapi bahan yang digunakan ciplak pulak… Kan baik jika mereka boleh atasi kesemua kelemahan diatas. Pasti bilangan jualan Preve akan meningkat dan boleh bertanding dengan jenama yang lain.

• Francis on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm

It’s already revealed in their Korea website: http://www.hyundai.com/kr/showroom.do?carCd1=RD002#a

No major changes of exterior & interior. But you get to see new features like LED daytime light; new 16″ / 17″ sport rim; retractable side mirror with welcoming lights; dual air con; 3 mode steering; Tire pressure warning system, etc.

• Tobe owner on Sep 09, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Hi, any idea when the new facelift come to Malaysia?

• Hyundai car is gd…but im looking for a buyer since im soon leaving to overseas for work….hyundai elantra 1.8premium… pls msg 0162157467. ….if anyone interested to buy. …tq

• Hyundai Elantra 2013 Owner on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I’ve been driving with my new elantra 2013 model for half a year now. I’ve drove many different cars including the latest ford focus (my fiance’s sister car). to compare between these two, i would still prefer the handling and braking of the new elantra. its more/quickly responsive. i’ve also drove preve, but the feel is somewhat okey but the feel still lacking.

• now dilemma, wanna buy elantra for wife as 2nd car,nice look, but so many ppl talk abt 2nd value, personally i’m ok with that bcos for me, nowadays any cars also facing same thing(rv)but myb a bit better than hyundai.

• Any idea when the new Hyundai facelift come to Malaysia?

• Bryan Lee on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Would love to know when is the facelift coming? They’re offering RM3K discount till this month’s end. Mouth-watering… But would like to buy facelifted version… But when???