Vehicle checklist and guide for this Raya season

vehicle checklist raya 2013

It really didn’t seem all that long ago when we were spoiling our stomachs with all kinds of kuih, ketupat and rendang. Quick as a flash, the time has come again – break out your best baju, break the last day of fast and then break the bathroom scales!

What we urge you not to break are your concentration, any land speed records or road rules. In the spirit of such a noble season of gratitude, warmth, understanding and forgiveness shared amongst friends and family, we ask all who will be undertaking long balik kampung journeys to keep alert, cautious, patient and sensible behind the wheel.

We know we may sound like a broken record where the vehicle checklist and guide is concerned (after all, we have so many festive holidays you’re probably sick of this by now), but when these points are aimed at helping you have a smooth and fuss-free balik kampung journey, no amount of reminding or repeating is too much. As always, feel free to share your tips, suggestions and advice with us in the comments section.

Finally, we at paultan.org take this opportunity to wish all our readers Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri, a safe drive and happy holidays!

BEFORE THE JOURNEY

1) Check your vehicle’s:

• General running condition
  • Fluids – brake, battery, coolant, power steering, motor oil, gearbox and windscreen washer
  • Lights – including indicators and the third brake light
  • Gauges and instruments
  • Wipers – blades not split or worn
  • Handbrake
  • Tyre tread, correct tyre pressure
  • Fuel level (good idea to fill up before you set off)

You can also choose to send your vehicle in for inspection – Honda, Ford, Peugeot, Citroen, Perodua and Puspakom are amongst those offering free inspections and service promotions this Raya.

2) Check that you have in your vehicle:

• Spare wheel (tyre inflated to correct pressure), jack, tyre repair kit and any other related equipment where necessary
  • Warning triangle
  • Emergency battery booster or jump leads
  • First-aid kit

3) Pack any cabin supplies you might need – umbrella, tissues or napkins, pillows and blankets, food, water, GPS, mobile handsfree kit and charger, and so on. Items in the boot should be safely secured so that they don’t move around as you drive.

4) Plan your journey (refer to PLUS Travel Time Advisory) – departure and estimated arrival times, alternative routes to avoid delays.

5) Check that you have funds in your SmartTAG or Touch ‘n Go, and that your SmartTAG has a healthy battery.

6) Rest well beforehand.

DURING THE JOURNEY

1) Drive patiently and responsibly – remember, you have your family with you, as well as family waiting for you.

Maintain a safe distance from the car in front – remember, your car will be loaded, so you’ll need a greater stopping distance – and indicate before changing lane.

Keep left if not overtaking and stay within the national speed limit. Turn your headlamps on in rain or fog to improve yours as well as others’ visibility.

Only in cases of emergency should you stop your vehicle on the emergency lane. Be courteous to pedestrians as well as other motorists, and always obey the rules of the road.

2) Take breaks every two hours or so to recharge. It’s a good idea to share the driving if you aren’t the only one in the group who can drive.

3) To stay alert and awake on the move, chew on snacks, listen to music or chat with your fellow passengers.

4) Everybody belt up – the back isn’t any safer than the front!

IN CASE OF A BREAKDOWN/EMERGENCY

1) Get your vehicle off the road if possible and activate hazard lights. It’s best to exit the highway and find a safer place to stop if you can, rather than stopping on the emergency lane.

2) Stop as far to the left as possible and turn wheels towards the kerb. Exit the vehicle (your passengers too) and call for help. Attempting repairs on your own can be dangerous, especially on the highway, so it’s best to wait for help.

3) Call PLUSRonda or Workshop on Wheels for emergency assistance via the roadside Emergency Telephones or through PlusLine 1-800-88-0000.

4) Keep well clear of oncoming traffic and do not stand anywhere close to your vehicle. Make sure your passengers do the same.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mirror mirror on Aug 05, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Selamat Hari Raya, that looks like a very nice and cozy kampung house at the back.

• Hi, can someone please clarify to ‘turn wheels towards the kerb’ (No 2, In case of breakdown paragraph) Nice article though .

• Paul Tan on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:01 am

It is usually a good idea to turn your wheels towards the kerb so that if something is wrong with the hand brake in a manual car or the parking lock in an auto car and the car moves, it will move towards the kerb and the kerb will help stop the vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • S.Rma on Aug 11, 2013 at 3:15 am

It means that, turn ur steering to the left, facing the kerb, so in case ur car been hit, tt wont go the mid, it can cause other accident

• nabill on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:21 am

jus let the journey take as long as it takes…dont rush and be impatient…its makes u,ur family and other drivers relaxed….salamat hari raya to all!

• Norman on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:55 am

Another important checklist,Your judgement and patience on the road

• yoolang on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:23 am

i always like go my friend house the hari raya. always have many foods hard to find and taste very nice. they never selfish for give also.

• Makubex on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:31 am

Be prepared to get obesity post hari raya! Selamat Hari Raya for all! Drive safely!

• alfarabi on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:56 am

thanks for the reminder. selamat hari raya to all malaysians.

• mercury on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:48 am

who actually bothers to follow the Plus Travel Time advisory??

• OntheWheel on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:36 am

Selamat Hari Raya Malaysians. Have a safe journey balik kampung and don’t forget, your families are waiting for you. Be safe all the time..

• dont overtake using left lane!!

• driver on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Some people hog the right lane and it is better to overtake than following the car slowly. Some people cruise 90kmh on overtaking lane

• Just A Nobody on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Before you drive away put on your handsfree,
    Selamat hari raya aidilfitri :D
    LOL, happy festive season people, no matter you’re balik kampung or not, drive safely :)

• PATIENT is the key! got friend who cant take it if lower powered car than his 90’s accord big vtec overtake him..haish..

• S.Roma on Aug 11, 2013 at 3:16 am

Happy hari raya paul ! come to my house and eat rendang want?