2013 Toyota Vios – specs list pops up on oto.my

2013 toyota vios brochure front

Sometime last month, photos of the Malaysian-spec 2013 Toyota Vios emerged in an ad on oto.my, offering the first visual take of the local car, which is expected to be launched in October. As recently as last week, the new Vios was spotted on a transporter here.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report

Now, another ad for it has popped up on oto.my, this time offering scans of the car’s brochure leaflet and as such, the specifications for the Malaysian Vios. The resolution isn’t terrific, but you can nonetheless make out what’s on it. You can view the ad here: 2013 Toyota Vios on oto.my.

Five variants are set to be introduced, the baseline 1.5J in both manual and auto guise, a 1.5E, 1.5G auto and a range-topping 1.5 TRD Sportivo version. Common to all is the 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE, which produces 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, paired to the tried and trusty four-speed auto box (or five-speed manual in the 1.5J MT).

2013 toyota vios brochure rear

Click image to view larger version

The Vios wears halogen headlamps throughout the range, with that for the 1.5E and 1.5J being complex surface reflector units, while the 1.5G and 1.5 TRD Sportivo get projectors, the ones on the TRD variant featuring a smoked finish.

The brochure lists 15-inch alloys with 185/60 profile tyres for all variants – no sign anywhere of the 16-inch and 195/50 rubbers that the Thai Grade S model wears, so it’s just fifteens to be had by the looks of it.

Interior-wise, the 1.5E and 1.5J gets a black interior, with black fabric seats for the 1.5J and two-tone grey/black units for the 1.5E. The 1.5G, meanwhile, gets an ivory-shaded interior, with seats wrapped in dark ivory perforated leather.

As for the TRD Sportivo, the variant gets dressed up with combination black/red perforated leather seats, with the steering wheel and gearshift knob also finished in leather. The TRD Sportivo will also come with a Sports Analgue meter combination, with the multi-info display offering a range of drive monitor modes compared to the 1.5E and 1.5J’s odometer/trip meter-only readouts.

As for entertainment systems, standard issue is a dashboard integrated CD/MP3 player for the 1.5E, 1.5G and TRD Sportivo, with the 1.5J getting a two-DIN CD/MP3 head unit. The units are paired to six speakers in the case of the 1.5G and TRD Sportivo, while the 1.5E and 1.5J make do with four.

Two optional two-DIN DVD-AVN systems are listed, in seven-inch and 5.8-inch touch-screen sizes. Aside from MP3/USB/Aux/SD Card functionality, Bluetooth connectivity and reverse camera common to both, the seven-inch adds a smartphone link, voice recognition (command) and navigation to the mix. This might be identical to the unit as seen on the Indonesian market version.

Standard equipment across the range are dual airbags, ISOFIX points as well as ABS with EBD and brake assist (no VSC present in the kitbag), while the 1.5G and TRD Sportivo features a smart entry/push-start ignition, the 1.5E and 1.5J making do with the conventional keyed route. Oh, and pricing – the ad lists an estimated pricing of RM80k to RM97k for the Vios range.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loo on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 917 Thumb down 1334
    • nasi lemak on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:21 pm

a shit car for 3rd world country like us. thx to proton. god bless malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 370 Thumb down 91
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 401
        • lol…ur idiotic statement is like “those that are driving kancil cannot afford to buy banglo…”

i bet shallow brainers like u dont even know car value will depreciate..lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 255 Thumb down 16
          • Idiot vios users…toyota malaysia offer underspec vehicle to compensate the so called RV…when are you guys going to realise this issue…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 6
        • excek on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:17 pm

even 73k preve got ESC, this 97k dun have VSC?
          vios is totally a cheapo overpriced car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 31
          • _xXx_ on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:39 pm

but weird lor…why the Australian xmau bli???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 39
          • theanswer on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm

because in oz, the market is very competitive. reliable brand also offer cheap price with esc and 4/6 airbags.

• excek on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:17 pm

even 73k preve got ESC, this 97k dun have VSC?
          vios is totally a cheapo overpriced car! Oh, and pricy coffin too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 30
          • Say Something on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Hate it or Love it…

It going to be best Non-Local- Brand selling car and outsale Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 73
          • Wisdom on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Stupid car for stupid consumers..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 23
          • _xXx_ on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Finally, UMWT knows the 2 sitting infront are human. They starting to put 2 airbags in 1.5J (M) and ABS across the board…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 2
          • sutheshkumar on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:20 pm

in the last facelift, Vios J gained the passenger airbag. ABS has been there since the pre-facelift airbag-less version.

• Its really a shit for ppl. like you. Talkin like no brainer. Damn brain, i can afford more than a vios, why want to buy vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • LHang on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Birch please. Proton*

• kadajawi on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Why should it be Protons fault? We are getting good cars for 80k, it’s just that Malaysians rather buy this instead cause of the brand.

If sales for this car would be bad you’d soon see an upgraded version that is on a similar level to the competition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 20
        • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:10 pm

The whole world buying Toyota for branding, quality, proven reliability.

Exactly the reason why whole world rejected Proton for being the opposite too! KAH KAH KAH!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 406 Thumb down 38
          • turboc on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Too bad it’s not proven for safety due to lack of VSC and such. What Toyota doing now is selling the badge instead of giving more value for money in its products. I prefer safety rather than badge so as proton’s quality is improving fast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 25
          • kadajawi on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:22 am

Toyota isn’t doing well in Europe. And also there is a huge difference between a Toyota sold in the US, Japan or Europe and one sold in Malaysia (the only exception being the GT86, Prius C and Prius). Models in Malaysia are either specially made for countries with lower demands or massively downgraded.

So yes, I can understand someone buying a US entry level Camry with 10 airbags and ESP for 25000 USD, but the Malaysian 2 airbag Camry? Not really, no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • Is Proton proven for its reliability? Do they have a good track record in that department?

There’s a reason why most Malaysians don’t want to pay 70-80k for a Proton.

• The latest datasheet just copy & paste from the datasheet which released 6 years back……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • No, apart from the body sizes, the data sheet remains the same since 2003

• Can’t you choose another name other than this? Because I got over 150 thumbs up in my earlier post that’s why you use this name?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Petrolhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:43 pm

I’d rather get the Preve hatchback over this underpower four speeder

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 57
    • Have to agree with you, person that like to bash this car are mainly Korean butt-hurt kid. Sales figure will never lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 80
    • suka proton on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:44 pm

feel like buying steel tong sampah at high price thinking this is the best quality one….but actually it is same as other tong sampah in the market….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
    • Kent Loh on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Yes its best selling car in Malaysia,even though this car seriouslly underspec.Even though design is improved,but still use the old 4 speed auto and 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • shame_Loo on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Your Toyota Vios just like Proton Wira. Only different is Vios change skin but not the meat. Proton Wira, skin and meat never change and last for more than 10 years. Shame on you Toyota and Sam Loo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • janicej on Aug 07, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Toyota=Fovever Moving Backwards.Going nowhere.A car brand that defines pure SHIT. Pui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Garang nya but lolx 1.5 with 10 years old performance! but who care heh this is Toyota leh!

• Chow 1 on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:02 am

Best car in the world without VSC. buy buy buy.

• kitolo on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Hey Sam totally agree with you. I trashed my Vios all my driving life, hardly service. Still cranks and revs like a charm. Not sure why everyone here is so angry at Toyota? This engine is very hardy and fuel efficient, infact more hardy than my Honda Civic with less mileage – had engine mounting problems, suspensions problems, etc.. it was hell of a uncomfortable drive. Too many Toyota haters here, even if Toyota came out triple vvt-i, folks here will still complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Suzuki on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Yes i agree with you, 6 years of Vios, not much problem to be worried about. Compare to Honda Civic that purchased 3 years ago, kept sending back to SC.

• autodriver on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Exterior is looking good compare to current and 1st gen Vios despite the specs change very little. No matter how many people bash on Vios, I believe it will still sell like hot cake. I expect it will be at least 3k higher than current models as normal practice by all automaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • ya d design looks better but d price shd b 4k more expensive for every spec. RM97k would b a bit expensive as there are lots option there. Believe J & E spec will b selling good coz of d brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • merit on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:20 pm

For 97k it should have better design, haiz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • sutheshkumar on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:22 pm

for RM97k it should have came with better specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • sutheshkumar on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:44 pm

for 97k, it should have came with better specs.

• Ah Beng on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:23 pm

For 97k it should have tech spec of Merc S class, driving dynamics of M5 and design of Ferrari lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • unsopen on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:31 am

meh…even proton put better tech, driving dynamics and proportionate design. don’t be syok sendili to compare with those german marque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • fazron80 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:18 pm

bring it on vios. tired already with the old vios terrorizing the streets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Hello Proton, are you ready to surrender the No.2 top sales spot soon??? HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 42
      • i bet this wont happen coz toyota din sell any car below 50k, coz Saga still contribute to P1 major sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • i bet this wont happen coz toyota din sell any car below 50k, coz Saga still contribute to P1 major sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • armandd on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:00 pm

err.. it’s still the same old vios actually, only now it’s got different skin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:57 am

Proton, please close shop lah. Stop making our cars expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 283 Thumb down 392
    • Barrack on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Yeah Wong, with you own Vios, you can proudly go drive to the flied lice shop, order a hot and spicy flied lice, hot Chinese tea. Oh yeah, don’t forget your favourite spling lolls

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 8
    • Machine on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Toyota Malaysia pom-pom girl?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • fronsce on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I hope you won’t due to lack of VSC when you involve in an accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Lame Wong on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:15 pm

wong is well-known for bashing other car make, blowing toyota as high as possible and the one who used auto-like to like his own comment as many times as possible. Or maybe you can call him the UMW salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • guest on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Hahaha. I cant help but to laugh at wong’s comments “My favourite car until i die”. Hahaha, yeah it’s very likely you’ll die in this overpriced 10 year old new car that lacks active safety equipment such as ESC. LOLOLOLOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • In our neighbour countries lik Indonesia or Thailand, Vios is jz a entry level car that used as taxi, like our saga…whereas in Msia some ppls proud of it like it is ‘Premium’ compact car…WHY? Semua salah our gov’s crazy high tax!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • old dog on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:45 am

good that you will stuck with Vios rest of your life…

• SadekSegaraga on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:11 pm

“My favourite car until i die”. What a sad life u have, so pity on you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Great. Still the same 1NZ-FE engine that is used in the first generation Vios and second generation Vios. Still the same 4 speed auto and 5 speed manual. Selling a car with same engine and transmission but with different exterior/interior and certain minor accessories for almost 10 years. Well done UMW Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 4
    • Why hor on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Their 1.5l 4 speed tranny still produce better FC than some 1.3l CVT engine.

Why need to change completely change when you have a good, reliable, trustable and a technology still ahead than others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 123
      • Ever heard of the word innovation and improvement?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 6
      • Toyota keep selling the old junk with new price because their have supporter like you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 6
      • ever heard “if don’t broke, don’t fix it”.

that’s the toyota philosophy, sir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 26
        • grammar nazi on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:39 pm

*IF IT AIN’T BROKE, DON’T FIX IT
          That’s the true Toyota philosophy, SIR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
          • grammar nazi's student on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:51 am

Thank u, SIR…

Elleh..itu pun nak kecoh..

• dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:34 pm

if Toyota made handphones they would have been bankrupt a long time ago. still making stone age nokia 3210 type of product.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
        • truth on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:10 pm

That’s what happen to Nokia LOL.

Their best selling phone is still the aged monochrome display Nokia 1100!

• kitolo on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Can anyone name one engine problem from the 1NZ-FE besides being old?

• 4 speed auto gearbox again?…very sad…no wonder toyota always say they are reliable.. ;-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
  • “no ESP to be had, still”
    this prove tht vios is sefest car same like almera~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • 中山郎 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:22 pm

underpowered when full load, range topper 97k? omg..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:27 pm

No VSC, same engine, same trans. Only difference is exterior, design such a way is “completely” new. Hmmmmm……. I am still not convince :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • powershot on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:29 pm

i wonder if this vios can fly higher than the previous generation. have to wait & see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Is this brochure real or is it another Theophilus elaborate hoax?

• suka proton on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Preve more worth to buy than this crap….one things cons its resale value is still high due toyota name….otherwise crap always crap…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 20
    • If u can only afford cheap plotong preve then buy preve la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 97
      • JimContiCarsOwner on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Hey Wong,
        Please… I have a lot of friends still driving proton but are able to fork out cash for new Beemer. it’s one’s priority and preference. dont underestimate ppl by judging from what they drive, childish enough… lol to be honest, I like Toyota’s reliability but not the driving experience for sure, it’s just plain boring and handling is really sub par to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
      • suka proton on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:41 pm

To hide the weakness they add up the trd sportivo module and push button as lucrative items….just cause it wont the reality the car is actually is crap or merely tong sampah…when u hit the tong sampah its break apart….this is cheap offer from toyota but cap high price to lure you in feeling buying a premium cars…proton is more genuine on this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • brian on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:56 pm

if u like to burn a fuel, then buy preve loh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 73
      • if u prefer old technology..then buy 3310 lor

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
      • hontai on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:27 pm

If you like to burn your hard-earned money, then buy overpriced toyota loh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
      • guest on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Cant help but to comment on brian’s “burn a fuel” comment. LOL “burn a fuel” LOL. Ok, back to the point. With the extra 20k you’re paying for this new old toyota vios over the preve or even a forte you can actually buy around 10000 litres of fuel. How many life time you will have to go through before you can save up 10000 litres of fuel with your vios? Hahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
        • powershot on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:01 pm

just have to agree with this one. the amount of fuel you’ll save would never justify the extra money you’ll be paying for the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:38 pm

If vios can save 10% more fuel than preve, then 1 yr brian can save 200 liters of fuel lor. Assuming 1 liter can travel 10km for preve and average total 20k km a yr.

Brian needs to drive his vios for 50 yrs just to recover the RM 20k premium he paid for the junk in the 1st place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • I was holding on to my Vios bashing party application letter when I saw the previous time it pop up in oto that it has EBD, seeing that now is more or less confirm that it won’t have it even on the highest Toyota Ripp-off Development Sportivo spec (TRD Sportivo) I shall now humbly join the party and return to bashing it. So essentially it’s still an Almera that is more expensive and smaller, but better looking.
    Get a Jazz CKD or a Rio guys.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • enkei on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:29 pm

…and someone here is happy enough not to change is avatar to Justin Bieber! LOL

• Wait for Paultan test drive first…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Gokul on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Why you wanna test drive it?? It’s the same shit but in different cover now. It’ll still smells the same..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • dugong on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:39 am

I totally agree. No need waste time test drive. Its the same old shit just like nokia phones last time always change casing only and can increase price. They fooled consumers for almost a decade until ppl became smarter. Same gonna happen for toyota.

• At least the rakyat will be relieved that the cheapest japanese sedan’s resale value will still the best, maintenance and parts still easy and cheap (3rd party available), still reliable, easily modified, the old versions still not obsolete..i mean they would be worried if its equipped with a new high tech system that ordinary workshops cant fix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • quert on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:31 pm

What use if reliability but it’s not safer than mcuh cheaper car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • what to do…most people here prioritize their money and convenience first..they are willing to sacrifice safety to save some money but hey thats understandable due to economical circumstances

• dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:42 pm

kapcai also reliable wat…

• Dennis on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Toyota always provide antic spec. 15inch rim and 4-speed gear box. Come on!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Pennis on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Then what you want for a economy compact car?

VSC? auto-park? air-suspension? 20 speakers? A large 17′ inch sport rim plus a big spoiler probably GT-Wing like what Proton used to offer to their Wira SE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 36
      • i dun care what UMW toyota wants to classify this car in. if the price is 97k it should have all the safety features incl VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • economy compact car???

RM 97 k and economy compact car doesn’t belong in the same sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Halo Penis, i think u need to go back to school to learn math. How can a 100k car be called economy?

• Even a RM86k Peugeot 208 got ESP. This one, RANGE-TOPPING RM97k got no ESP meh? I’d rather pay RM97k for a 2-door Peugeot 208. Forget about RV by the way.

A Peugeot salesman once told me, “Kita kereta continental not really care about push start button la, DVD player la, and all those stuffs. But we care about passengers’ safety”.

• my god…..Peugeot 208….isn’t that also an over-priced car…are u from Naza sales???

• i think its the final value u get from the car thats what people care about..meaning after say 7 years, a vios only ended up costing 30k whereas peugeot costs 50k due to loss in RV. if ppl cant afford it, cant blame them. not that im supporting the vios’ price and specs.

• neemfa on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Seems like dugong isn’t shortchanged. pretty much the same car with different skin.

Goodluck Toyota. I bid thee adieu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • apekgoh on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Wait for honda accord rebadget better than get the vios sportivo.(wait for the price first)

Seriously we ARE 3rd world in toyota market categorisation. ….

• brian on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I think i need to wait for Perodua sedan.

• Dont compare cheap pelodua with vios la. Different class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 39
      • Pelodua for poor people who want to act like have toyota engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 54
        • Lame Wong on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Wong you seriously need to be banned from this blog. Over-usage of auto-like own comment, bashing other car make without reason and act like a kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 57
      • JimContiCarsOwner on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:33 pm

lol, I think you are very proud to own a vios and think peoples who drives Vios are rich? come on Rich Man Wong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • pelodua is for people who earn less than rm3000 per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
          • callenish on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:37 pm

I earn rm6k a month and i still drive a myvi, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • roxas on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:32 pm

r u sure ah WONG? i have a friend with 8 house n income over 6k, not to say after getting rental from the 8 house, total more thn 10k per month. but just bought a viva as his kancil is dead. so ??ppl buy wat ever they prefer, as car will depreciate. if u love vios so much, go die in it. it will kill u in accident anyway. so childish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • enrique on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:04 pm

if u so rich hor, go buy Camry la ! gila one, worst thn a bitch .

• LHang on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Are u five years old?

• isni_15 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:55 pm

60:40 foldable rear sit is still a ‘luxury’. Can’t get it with J spec.

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:03 pm

you want more thing, you pay more. dont buy J spec, buy G.

basic common sense in consumer trading.

pay RM6.00 get chicken rice.
      pay RM2.50, get the rice only lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Go Koreans guys… (don’t believe the toyota sales man here talking about resale value… safety first for driver and passenger)

I realise many vios usually overturn due to non availablity of ESP system.

Anyway.. confirm die if accident.. no 5 star safety features.
    Atleast Preve have ESP plus 4 air bags..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
    • true, saw a few in the highways overturn & spinned off during rain. vios drivers drive hard during rain….crzy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • 1nzfe on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:01 pm

although it still using a same engine, but it had improved over stability and fuel efficiency since it has more aerodynamic and drag coefficient is reduced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Yes rather trust a proven Toyota engine fuel efficient than Proton CFE full of doubts, makan minyak like hell and syok sendiri delusion problems.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 18
      • gkl83 on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Preve high fuel consumption are make sense as the engine are more powerful… hence heavier Preve can smoked / on-par lighter Honda CRZ as confirmed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • 20 years old on Aug 09, 2013 at 2:40 pm

vios..same engine, same trans, but design is better than before…preve, turbo engine, better safety features, can even smoke civic fd2 1.8 at traffic light due to 0-100 km/h= 9.6 seconds (same as volkswagen polo 1.2 tsi 9.7 seconds)..but higher fuel consumption..if u want more power with lower price, better safety, go for preve..if u want “a Toyota”, then go for vios..just my 2 cents opinion..toyota should produce better product than this..

• I say a big NO to Vios if it’s meant for full load long journey task.

• 4 speed transmission, don’t talk about improve fuel efficiency.
      Vios stability always suck. VSC is needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Your statement is arguable, better aerodynamic and chassis set up can sometimes improve stability and fuel consumption. The R33 GTR has a better high speed stability because it was more aerodynamic and it has a longer wheel base, even thou essentially the same engine and power output and the same transmission. Bmbut it is impossible to know or be convince how much this design act on the stability and FC, even if it does given that it is still riding in the same dimension and weight, i dont even think the inprovement is more than marginal. VSC does improve stabiliity signfacantly as it is an active system and a better gearbox would improve FC, 2 things that this doesn’t have, and thou as for for FC I know the Vios is/was good , but its competitors are now either catched up or are better while still providing better performance.

• *The R33 GTR has a better high speed stability than the R32 GTR

• Vios is just a normal passenger sedan.
        Don’t Talk kok on what ever high speed stability, aerodynamic on GTR.

• kokej on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:21 pm

why not, if vios keeps cucuking other cars road, as if it’s a sport car.

• I took the GTR simply because it’s relevant…similar power train (RB25-DETT mated to a five speed manual through four wheels) with the chassis and body style differ. To put it this way, they are still cars, where a GTR you have to do over 200kph to feel the difference, you might feel it at 120kph on the two Vios. To dumb it down, here is another example, a Vios is more stable and has better Fuel Consumption than a Perodua Alza ( I can vouch for this), very different body style, similar engine, and rather similar gearbox.

• Normal manual Alza can smoke ur auto Trd on straight line ha ha ha…

• alzah on Aug 09, 2013 at 6:15 pm

manual trd vs alza manual who wins?

• Proton user on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:27 pm

u sure GTR uses RB25DETT?
            hav such engine in Nissan’s inventories?

all dis while I tot GT-Rs(R32, R33 and R34) are using RB26DETT?

only GTTs using RB25DET and GTTs hav no all-wheel-drive system.
            correct me if i’m wrong.

• 4 speeder on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:42 am

Reducing drag coefficient can improve fc, not only about a better gearbox.

• noob_pinion on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:08 pm

for a split second I thought I read “rusty” four-speed auto box instead…after all it has been there for some time already, isn’t it

• KimSeng on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Toyota still stingy with only 4 speed auto transmission.
    Honda already 5 speed auto since 2009. Hyundai and Kia already 6 speed auto. They still think they can sell the car with outdated 4 speed transmission.
    How much can Toyota cut cost by using this transmission? May be a a couple of hundreds, at the expence of customer satisfaction. A real stupid
    decision by Toyota. Nissan Almera also have the the stingy 4 speed auto transmission. Come on, give the customers a better deal. Not all customers
    are not well ignorant about technology. wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • You forgotten about the Kia Rio, but anyways, it’s not that they are cost cutting , it’s that they have nothing to give, Toyotas as a whole only have either the 4 speeder or CVT to mate with the 1.5, 6 speeder a usually reserve for their higher displacement cars. This is not only a problem here but Toyota worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • sonyman on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:26 pm

fortunately for Malaysians we get a 4 speed auto box, imagine if they offer 3 speed auto box from the 80’s era, i think it be even more fuel saving for Vios,

BTW, Where is the Vios K variant. i was hoping they would sell the Vios K. at 70K and i wanna see how many malaysians would buy the engine and gearbox only.

UMW show us your hot selling Vios K.

Toyota Moving Backwards

• super ect on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:45 am

toyota 4 speed auto box is not same as others. it is very smooth without jerk. it what they call super ect.

• It(the vios in the first picture) would look better if it had the Bruneian spec wheels.

• Sparcov on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:32 pm

My colleague vios 1.5 years old today cannot start due to faulty sensor. They aren’t all Toyota 100% problem free. please take note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • wiralution on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:32 pm

RM80k to RM97k? I better stick with my lovely wira SE 1.5 till the new honda accord rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Sparcov on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Is this a 5 star ANCAP ?? if no, preve is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Cannot afford a Vios, stick with your Saga SV lah loser! HA HA HA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 71
      • guest on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:58 pm

@kadajawa: Bangga kampung man mentality. A lot of people can afford sub-100k cars nowadays but they chose to stay away from vios because you’re basically buying a new 10 year old death trap milo can with wheels

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • gOOsh on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:40 pm

vios is a nice car with good FC too…
    but, with this price tag, it’s really overpriced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • overpriced for poor people who dont have money to buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 69
      • conserv on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:52 pm

better save the money and buy another house rather than a vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • hadi75 on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Overpriced for those who is smart enough to know that this car is not worthy of those price tag….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 0
    • blame the government don’t wanna reduce excise duty.

• gua punya rasa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:58 pm

gua rasa.. nothing special abt this car.. but ok la bcoz Malaysian suka ini toyota brand.. boring pun people beli.. tapi gua takkan beli ini kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • plotong owner detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 32
      • Wong, people have rights to express their opinions of the car so no need to be so butthurt when people not really getting your fetish for this car. Paultan must be really big nowadays, big enough for UMW to employ keyboard warriors like you to defend this.

• seputeh driver on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:08 pm

sadly toyota choose to prioritise cosmetic and aesthetic aspects of the car as opposed to the technology and platform of the car per se.

the engine and gearbox have been used for 10 years now in all ranges of the vios and will be used for another 5, which is the expected life expectancy of a model.

toyota is firmly losing ground by choosing to cater to the car buyers who don’t care about whats in their car, as awareness is growing among consumers to take note of the inner workings of their vehicle.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:38 pm

I don’t really complain old tech in a car, GT-R also use the same RB26 for 3 generation since R32 to R34. But ptoblem is the price

• At least RB26DETT got tweak here & there by Nissan (1989-2002) but Toyota 1.5L 1NZ-FE in Vios remain the same since 2002.

• NisPENGda on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Nissan almera better,at least got huge back knee room!

• iluvloyola on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:52 pm

This is loyola secret to jaga existing bios owners. If new bios too advanced like kimchi then u tell me how to keep the rv of old models?

• Nothing special on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Overprice though, like all Toyotas

• aiiihhhh on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:10 pm

You gotta be nuts/stupid enough to buy this…..

There are plenty of option with this amount.

• dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:30 pm

correction: toyota is for gangster and sakai. never go to driving school and terrorize ppl on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Want a Vios, buy 2nd hand 1st generation Vios, same thing but 2-3 times cheaper. Want push to start, go accesories shop install it, want look modern, go body kit shop add it. 96K for this spec is totally bullshit! This should sell at 75K full spec, then I might consider.
    Keep charging us stupid price UMW, until one day Malaysian smart enough stop buying car with you, and yourself please explain this situation to Akio Toyoda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Maserati on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:53 pm

LOL. 2-3 times cheaper? Ur maths really fail big time!

Push start can add at the car workshop? LOl, show me which workshop does it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 21
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:42 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FBQwxm0uYo
        Although it’s not “keyless”, but still a legit push start car.

• Maserati, if you commented from Italy then you should pay a visit to Malaysia where Kancil also got fitted with push-start button either fitted at Kedai Abang/JimatKos/etc.!

• SadekSegaraga on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:16 pm

I wonder when is the time will come for the Malaysian to be smart enough to stop buying crap car

• I thought pricing of the cerato was bad, now look at this sportivo @ 97k LOL, really 2 airbags?

• If the max price touching rm97k figure, dont blame toyota and UMW, but blame the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • guest on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Really? I would still blame UMW and Toyota Malaysia. Anyone with properly working eyes and brains can see that the price is steadily climbing with each new generation and yet equipment remain the same since day 1. If the J spec really starts at 80k, I’d laugh at idiots who actually bought it. Apparently brand appeal is more important than one’s own safety. Dying in a vios is more glorious than anything else it seems. Well, at least in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • agree, vios is Malaysian ahbeng favourite, they are willing to die in it.

• plotong got more ahbeng.. waja wira satria put mitsubishi logo.. who is more ahbeng now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
          • LHang on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Vios

• Wajalution…Wiralution…Satrialution all got Mitsu DNA in 4G Series engine what…!

• seputeh driver on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:35 am

you definitely the biggest ahbeng here bro..

• Maserati on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Cant wait to see this new Vios destroy the Cerato upside down.

That time, the Cerato will be throwing price like nobodys business. I dare to bet with every single one of u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 38
    • selatus on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:57 pm

cerato is much more beautiful, pleasant to eyes than this fugly vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Maserati on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Who cares if its beautiful but drives like rubbish and have such a bad engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
        • guest on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:56 pm

1) Vios is not pleasant to the eyes. I’d say it’s capable of ruining a really good scene. Simply an eye sore. Big and tall looking body with puny wheels. It kinda reminds me of how roller skates from the 80’s looked like

2) If cerato drives like rubbish, then I’d say that vios drives like a pile of cow faeces that’s in an advanced stage of decomposition. Floaty, mad body roll, lousy noise insulation. What more can I say?

3) I find it rather funny that you mentioned bad engine. A new efficient engine in the cerato vs the engine that’s been around for over a decade. It’s considered fuel efficient during its hey days, but hello it’s 2013 now. By today’s standards it’s hardly fuel efficient anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
        • halflife on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Come on, this is 2013. Why toyota doesn’t give at least CVT gears in vios? That’s what I call BLOODSUCKER. They have tech to develop much better power-train and drive-train or they can give better ones or turbocharge it. But they simply DON’T.

• seputeh driver on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:39 am

err bro, the cvt technology is a bit of a gamble and i understand why some car makers are staying clear of it.

take for example the honda city, the 4th gen had a cvt gearbox and was one of its selling points, and when it turned out that it was very problematic, they scrapped the idea with the 5th gen City and just used a conventional 5 speeder.

cvt is not always the answer, having had to maintain 1 previous cvt gearbox before, it was more trouble than it was worth

• halflife on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:08 pm

honda city problem last time bcause they didn’t use correct oil for CVT. it should be fine if the owner keeps it good.

• It really baffles me that Malaysians today are still willing to buy a car in the range of 80-97k that comes with only 4 speed auto, 15″ rims, minimum safety features, ugly interior and exterior and basic accessories! It’s just unbelievable! Yes, I’m not a proton fan, far from it, but I would really rather get the Preve anytime!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • If nt bcoz of our gov’s crazy high tax…Vios would be alot cheaper…so it is not toyota’s prob…is bcoz of gov’s tax!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • tiadaid on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Government has nothing to do with it – how come Ford & Peugeot can offer better value for money (not to mention better looking cars too)?

It’s people like you who’s depriving Malaysians out of good cars by continually arselicking bullshit cars like these just for the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • tiadaid on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:28 pm

And know why Toyota cars are so expensive – look at the commisions paid to their sales people: over 20k in one month, even in Kelantan where I doubt the volume of Toyota cars is as much as in KL!

http://sphotos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/p480x480/21450_545809328802408_1392314415_n.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Still blaming the Gov? UMW and their salesman are laughing to the bank at your stupidity.

• but it is still a government practice double standard in excise duty. why there is huge different between national car and non-national car?

• dugong on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:58 am

What are you talking man? there are PLENTY of cars out there that are better value for money than this dugong. In fact ALL cars are better value as i cannot find anything more overpriced than this old rubbish junk.

For 66k you can get a nissan almera that is essentially the same thing as a 98k new dugong. And more comfortable too. 32k diff u can buy 1 more saga man.

So a stoopid piece of toyota badge is worth more than a whole car?

Nowadays high car prices are not bcos of gov alone but mainly bcos of greedy companies like UMW!!!!!

• stupid A.B.U supporters

• No matter how many people bash this post, it’s still gonna be the best selling B segment non-local car. People here in Malaysia choose Toyota because of its brand reliability, not to say that Proton is not good but well obviously Toyota has a far better reputation than our local carmaker. To be honest, the new Vios is pretty much underspeced for that price tag and the engine+gearbox combo is really outdated but it has superb fuel economy and this makes it a great city car. It may not be fun to drive but well, it does well performing daily chores zipping around congested KL roads. But Toyota could’ve done better in terms of technical specs, or maybe come up with a revised 1NZ-FE?

• vios is the best looking car out there.. that’s why people love vios.. plotong cheap and not good looking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 27
      • kokej on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:32 pm

this vios looks like overdesign ah beng car. look sporty but only has 4 lame gears and decades old engine.

*yawn*

• The Vios being the best looking car? Are you kidding me? I’m sort of a Toyota fan but I disagree with that statement of yours. Even the Preve looks better than that dugong lah man. This new model has a much better look but nope, not the best one out there either IMO. (Even the 2009 City looks better in terms of styling…)

• hadi75 on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:37 pm

People ( suckers ) buy vios and willing to pay the ridiculous price not because it’s the best looking out there but because of the brand…and umwt knows it…
        And there are truck that looks way better than vios out there and better spec too…

• seputeh driver on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:41 am

vios the best looking car out there?

bro u stay in UMW showroom is it? cannot see other car models out there in the street?

• rather than u pay 93k++ for vios, better pay for preve which always have discount which only cost u around 68k for cfe spec, then buy another viva 27k as a spare car..if preve fails then u can use viva..hahaha..which one more reliable now?? how reliable toyota is, it still cannot exceed 10 years for any subsystem to fail..the difference with other brand is not much, the longest will be 2-3 years..sometimes other brand also will last longer than toyota, it is really depend on how u maintain n care about your car..talking about resale value, toyota also will depreciate a lot after 7 8 years, people also dont want to pay high for old car

• CT100h on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:00 pm

In my opinion. This new vios Toyota should use CVT gearbox like altis.

• fd2r_rr on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:09 pm

keta ni akan jadik mangsa tapau terbaru HONDA CIVIC 2.0 lancer GT 2.0 cerato 2.0 honda crz hahahahaha…..;-) if ur a dumb guy u will buy this shit car……smart guy buy mitsubishi…honda…subaru…peugeot…volkswagen..proton…laaaaalaaa…lebih baik camry trus la..apek.

• the fact is you dont have fd2r.. talk cock but pakai plotong only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
      • xcvbt on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:00 pm

oh you forgot preve has 205nm torque that pushes it awayyyyy in front of other cars easily, muahahahaha

• dongga on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:10 pm

This car will be the best-selling car in the non national segment. Many people will buy this car because it is simply the most affordable Japanese branded car in the country. Its not about airbags or technology advancement, just the cheapest.
    That is the bottom line.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:47 pm

I won’t call a 96K “Cheapest”.
      People buy Vios because like people lining up for minions, follow the trend. When you ask why people craze for minions, they can’t answer well, same goes to Vios.
      If I want a 96K Toyota, I rather top up a bit and get a Prius C. Real Japanese car that suit best KL and Penang traffic.

• asean on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:37 am

here, malaysia is a most expensive vios in the world! Malaysia Boleh!!!

• engdau on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Vios again? Cosmetic changes in external “skin” without any changes in gearbox and engines.

• what’s wrong? plotong satria neo R3 also change skin.. engine still lousy CPS.. no mod at all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
  • Norman on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:35 pm

If you want practical reliable and quality a notch over Peroduas but can’t afford jdm price then this is the car no doubt.

• fazlin on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:43 pm

New VIOS is just like Barisan Nasional. You never change anything or make an improvement if you still get vote (buyer):)

Vios hardcore lover also just like BN supporter. Whatever fact you give to them, they will love their BN no matter what happen. Same like Toyota Vios lover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • why drag politics into this area? you support PR and cheap plotong go ahead la… if you no money then buy cheap plotong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
      • brenn on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:36 pm

With saga in my stable, I already could go to many countries for holiday, what say you?

• AE101 on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Used to own an AE101. Was very proud of it. Too bad Toyota don’t make such good car anymore.

• unfortunately, not every cars in generations is same. it happens to civic too, now it’s SOHC, duh. even if some people might argue the advantage of it against DOHC.

• Kuinosan on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Dear Toyota, complacency can be a weakness as your decision to keep giving your customers old technology engine and Jurassic times gearbox will bite you back!!! I’m sure you will still be able to sell some of your new Vios, but I am also certain that the figures will not be as rosy as before. This is due to consumers being more informed and there are more smarter choices out there thus consumers are spoilt for choice. Smart consumers will not give your new Vios a second look as this exploitation has gone on long enough!

• what a miserable 109hp 141nm on 4 gear.
    nothing to be proud of.
    just show people you got 97k to spend on tin kosong with toyota badge on it.
    and sportivo trd version is as fast as the 1.5 j.
    still call sport version even as good as the basic model in performance.
    really joker.

vios really is a joke in eyes of people who know car.
    anyone agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • no i dont agree with you.. you drive plotong rite?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 27
      • i drive civic and peugeot 308 turbo.
        both are decent car.
        anytime can beat vios left right center.

• wongsak on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:38 am

Are you sure? It cannot beat your civic and pug 308 turbo left right centre but up. Why? Because it can fly!!

• motorhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Myvi rebadge, inspira rebadge soon Accord rebadge.. What wrong with rebadge? Pay lesser for same Japs products… I repaired my car.. All parts daihatsu labels

• Honda Power on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Please get your facts right. Honda Accord is not going to be rebadged as a Proton. New Toyota Vios is expensive.

• Maserati on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:26 pm

In terms of drive-ability, this vios is quite OK and not to mention the resale value too

however, it still loses out to the sibling Mazda 3. Voted one of the best cars in the world and will be the most valuable car of the year when its launched in Malaysia next year.

So Vios can have its glory for the next 4-6 months, but once Mazda 3 is out, it will totally dominate Malaysian market. Brace yourself Toyota.

While im typing this, the Audi, BMW and Mercedes bosses are probably peeing in their German pants thinking how to fight off the automotive brilliance of Mazda 3… eat that Germans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • nobby on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:10 pm

they prolly use auto-like buttons to vote for mazda3, lol

oh and why compare mazda3 with vios, it’s not even similar in price, not to mention segment?

• frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Base spec Mazda 3 sedan is nearly same price as so called full spec vios. Who cares about segment anyway, we care about price.

• Ah Beng on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:00 am

Can your Mazda 3 defeat the f30? Tell me when it can.

• Maserati on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Defeat? Probably not in driving pleasure, but it drives 99.5% similar and feels 99.5% similar to f30 at half of its price. In other departments like looks, resale value, performance, Mazda 3 is the undisputed winner. So who’s laughing now?

• sheet on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:25 am

Mazda 3 different class with vios la. why not comapre maserati with mazda 3 ?

• lalah on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:45 pm

“no need all those VSC maa…4-speed only…” so says UMW toyota…

• daniel on Aug 06, 2013 at 7:34 pm

97k for TRd version?

I add 3k i can get Cerato..

Who cares about resale value, wan good resale value? get a Proton Saga for 45k, you save 45k of resale value..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Kuinosan on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:39 pm

I totally agree with you on the matter. Most people in this discussion know nuts about cars, and all their tiny little brains care about is resale value, resale value and yes, you got it, resale value? My opinion about people who plans to sell before they even buy are all a bag of hot air. All talk but no action!!!

• Hi guys, some tips for you all, at present Mercedes CLA price at RM200k, after 3 years, how much you think it will drop when the Open AP holders start to bring them in? I would say about 140k if 5 years it will be about 100k, so this Vios TRD vs CLA, which one you choose?
    IMHO!

• dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Sure choose Vios TRD lah, CLA is for old ATOK…pergr…

• Ok after this I expect you to compare vios with Ferrari or Lambo, kekekeke

• joseph on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Dear all , of course all the time,toyota got more secand value of money. But we cannot only just by resale money only. As a smart end user,we need biger car size,safely,performance. As a proton prevve cfe got all this feature. Proton prevve cfe model is under segment c group. (Vios only segment b) , performance from 0 to 100km per hours only take 9.7 sec. (Vios more then 10 sec) safely prevve cfe model got 4 air bag (vios got 2 only) somemore got abs and ebd. The warranty for proton prevve cfe 150k (vios only 100k). Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Chris on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Meh…. Really? Still 4 speed auto?

• overpriced…if u have xtra money n wants to donate to umw..pls go buy this vios..lol..rm80k for base line..all plastic interior..remove that n this n still using key to start ur engine?better buy almera..rm79k for high spec..push start,auto aircond..

• dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:44 pm

can donate to Sam Loo the toyota salesman.

He is earning well over 25k a month.

http://sphotos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/p480x480/21450_545809328802408_1392314415_n.jpg

• jessica on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Hi uncle Wong, are you Sam Loo dupe? lol lol lol

• hadi75 on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:50 pm

For 97k you can buy a modern truck with better spec than this vios…..

• I really dont understand why people so jeolous with vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
    • dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:46 pm

i really dont understand why people so stupid buy overpriced old junk vios.

• or u r jealous w other great car out there? coz u cant afford other brand with greater design n equipment, n u r poor enough to lose the RV, so u loyal to your dugong.

• Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:05 am

Why would anyone be jealous of an overpriced, low s

• afrpG on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:09 am

Jelly lor, it’s the most powerful car in Malaysia because it can fly, haha!

• Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:16 am

Why would anyone be jealous of an overpriced, low specced, low safety features car????UMWT can get away with their overpriced vios because there are suckers that willing to fork out their hard earned money for 7 to 9 years of loan for the perceive brand value and rv….
      If you care so much about rv….don’t buy a car….buy a house or something….car value drop the minute you put in the key and drive out of the dealer parking lot….

• As a ‘caring society’ we’re not jealous of this junk but we care for the life of the people who bought this junk.

• kuinosan on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:25 pm

This message is directed at Toyota’s extremist who know nuts about cars. Some of us who prefer other alternative brands of vehicles are practising our rights to own better and safer cars for our hard earned money. We believe these alternative brands are giving us more car for our money, whereas Toyota is mistreating its customers by offering them old technology cars with minimum safety features. And they are charging a premium for these obselete cars. What i believe is that Toyota do have the expertise and resources to build better cars, but they are not doing so because of you guys, the Toyota die hard fans. The day you guys stop buying these obselete Toyota models(Vios and Altis), it will also be the day Toyota will wake up from its long slumber and start offering better and updated cars. So there you have it, if you want better Toyota cars, stop buying their current range of cars. Like the saying goes, we sometimes got to be cruel to be kind!

• okbplis on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Yawn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Guilt on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Some of us wanted the new Vios is either CVT or Dual clutch. The truth is, both concept have flaws. Probably UMW knew that these fault gear concept can be expensive to repair, thus using the old technology… Cheaper to maintain and availability.

• ricer on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:32 am

Malaysians are fast learners. As you can see many drivers share their problems and solutions over the net. The thing is Japs want to make profit as much as possible with the outdated products.

• kadajawi on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:26 am

Well, but… like a 6 speed torque converter perhaps? To make the most of that tired old engine? Toyota has a 6 speed torque converter in the Yaris…

• Gullit on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:40 am

Funny if Proton CVT also used in other car firms yet Proton CVT noisy whine like hell unlike others

Proton tipu org kampong lagi lah tu

• the ivory colour interior is damn ugly

• spydermind on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:05 am

The fact that so many people are comparing toyota with proton , isnt it obvious how people perceive toyota.

Trusted technology ? Obviously you dont know what is technology in automobile. Is this is so trusted, why they dont sell this to US. Why they fit 2.5l engine and 6speed transmission on camry as basic but in Malaysia, they only use the same 2l engine and 4 speed transmission. Well, maybe because US is paying 40% of the price we are paying, so Toyota punishes them with “new” and untrusted technology.

• enrique on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:32 am

poor thing to those who praise their vios until like a God..in fact its just an overpriced entry level sedan for the poor man.

• all the ah bengs salivating waiting to plonk their deposit and show off on the road…but smart ah leks prefer paying neqarly 50% less for potong person etc and save all the extra money end of the month ah lek more money in poket

• Gullit on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:43 am

Only losers go buy Preve

Too poor to buy European-designed car like VW, at least buy fake one lah like Proton Preve wakakaka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • wow proton is compared with VW, that’s a big improvement. and vios is fake JDM? nope, not fake because it’s only tin milo rubbish kosong car, lol

• Wow.. 4 speeder without vsc.. Must be very exciting to drive with 2 gears less to shift.. Can it do manual mode or just L-2-3?

• 97k with n.a 1.5l engine? hurm..nothing interesting and to play abt. Better buy myvi, same class and way cheaper.

• like the headlamp design, square but not so big like early 90s legendary accord headlamp. Some says the engine and trans is outdated but based on ‘dugong’ version can see how pickup it is and very silent. Nvr driven any vios just my observation on the road.

• Aiyo bro go drive one then you’ll be scared to death hahaha!

• no, the sound is krreennggg krreeeenngggg krrennggg too thin like cheap mat rempit bike.
      Ever heard of CFE sound? It’s boiling with power inside!

• peyno on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:09 am

jepun celup vs jepun celup
    bye2 almera, bye2 city

• There goes Preve. Got to give free beca already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
    • criisy on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:32 pm

you live in denial

• dugong on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:37 pm

why you campare dugong with preve?? dugong only same class as saga wei.

• Why? Because it’s your CEO that announce that Preve is to take over Vios & City sales.
        BTW, you believe too much on Saga prowness.

• Kuinosan on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:42 am

It surprises me why some lazy pea brains wants to join in the discussion but are too lazy to write something more constructive than a yawn???

• Tibaiketibai on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:49 am

Lucky for users who bought 2nd gen vios for 10k ++ discount which produce in june 2013, for G spec, they only sell 74k,

That why so many people try to get 2nd gen vios with this huge discount

• That’s why UMWT staffs is still getting 6 month of bonus every year. They sell an overpriced cars with this kind of specs. Save their money to give bonus.

I really hope Paultan and his team can highlight this to UMWT.

• sandy on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:40 am

That’s why Proton can only cry see their showrooms empty no visitors once Vios launched….kesian…tsk tsk tsk!

• sheet on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:23 am

amazing product

• Toyoda on Aug 07, 2013 at 11:12 am

For all the haters, we know already that Toyota is not the best in designing cars or powertrain. But they are the best in manufacturing cars. I worked with Toyota people in Japan and they have the most experience and skill people in industry. They can easily find defect by feeling with hands only. And if you are working in auto industry, you will know that Toyota Manufacturing Standard (TMS) is the most complete standard available. ie. Toyota have very strict guideline in die accuracy and packaging. All of that and with good chain of parts and after sale services, this is where all the expensive Toyota price came from even with low specification. But by saying that, with no improvement in drivetrain (and that is not a problem actually) the price of new Vios should not increase that much because no improvement and less R&D cost.

• Viossy on Aug 07, 2013 at 11:32 am

This new generation VIOS is so aero dynamic and lightweight. It has been tested in a wind tunnel. LAGI BEST is the looks so garang. Who cares about 1.5 and 4speed, power to weight ratio is right there. Can easily smoke all the car below 2.0 litre and of course Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
    • golda on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:38 pm

exterior garang but in hood is sissy 4 speeder and archaic engine.

• 20 years old on Aug 09, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Vios trd sportivo 1.5, auto, 109 bhp, 141 nm, 0-100 =more than 10 sec…preve 1.6 turbo, 140 bhp, 205 nm (torque higher than civic fd 2.0) , 0-100=9.6 sec….how come vios can smoke preve? I am not proton fan..but this is all about facts and numbers…even if we compare the top speed, preve should has higher top speed due to higher horsepower..think again…

• lalor on Aug 09, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Because toyota fans say so, that’s why lah vios can tarpau preve turbo. It can even fly ! LOL

• even my 5 years old fd got VSC which i bought for only 108k for raya sales got vsc n its c segment

• Pailang on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Bet this WONG will be smoked by a perfect shot from someone! Discriminating poor people

• noname on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:34 pm

I have a feeling this wong is also the sam loo.

• Mayonaise on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

As expected, UMW Toyota did not include the Auto Climate Control in the higher spec variants. What a shame.

• Johnyk on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:53 pm

I want to share some insight of this car.

1. The same car that has been using the same set of transmission + drive-train for 3 generations, will mean R&D cost to be essentially zero (except of course some $$$ spent on designing the new look). Reliable combination? Reminds me of my dad who got a new Wira in year 1994, when people bashed Proton for accepting 10-year old engine from Mitsubishi at that time. Now the 4G18 + 5MT is exceptionally reliable too, and has been used until Waja. Why are people criticizing Proton for that, but not Toyota? Same goes for Camry. My family has a 5-speed tranny City for years and it is reliable.
    2. This is a CKD car. From my limited knowledge in automobile industry, CKDs are assembled locally with some minimum requirements for locally sourced parts to be used, but engine + drivetrain are imported. Let’s assume safely that engine + drivetrain makes up a large chunk of a car’s cost of build. If these high-precision parts are built in Japan, then there is a catch. Yen has depreciated against US Dollar for more than 20% since Nov last year till today. New Camry and new Vios are demanding price hike for new models? Not to mention, Toyota cars share a lot of parts across its model ranges, which is a good cost-cutting measure and is also being practiced by other makes (look at the new Vios’s side mirror, you’ll see the same in Prius C and Camry).

I believe there are many good characteristics that make Toyota the world #1 automaker in the world, and I have nothing against about Toyota. In fact, I had the previous generation Prius for 6 weeks a few years back when I was on biz trip in California and liked the car a lot. But, “UMW” Toyota is a complete joke, so does the buyers. Toyotas in Malaysia are so stripped down, so poorly equipped, that UMW is doing all it can to rip off Malaysians and make big money. Yet, Malaysians are so blind to take whatever its offerings at the expense of 5-yr, 7-yr or even 9-yr loan. Just because of the Toyota badge that makes them feel good.

What is important to me, is the balance between 1. value for money, 2. driving pleasure, 3. Practicality, 4. running cost. Take a look in the market now, I’m sure many car makes other than Toyota and Honda (Mazda, Peugeot, Hyundai, Kia, VW, etc.) offer far more superior products in the area of 1/2/3 above, however time is required to convince buyers that these makes can offer low running costs for their vehicle. We can only hope this process will not take too long.

Just my 2cents. Bashings are welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Viossy on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Even i am POTONG salesman, i choose not to drive company car. Instead of that i drove a VIOS. Reliable and cheap to run. Toyota can be services at Ah BENG shop like all POTONG does. Most important it smoke POTONG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 79
      • ondeh on Aug 07, 2013 at 3:04 pm

its service is not as cheap as proton, but it’s cheapass (pricy) and yes it smokes proton…..

when it is parked lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
        • Viossy on Aug 08, 2013 at 9:14 am

You’re PROTONG salesman too ? you must be a diehard fans la. OK come get ur preve and race la….

• i second your thoughts bro..well said..

• Hate Japanese Car on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Well Said bro….

• Yeah right on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Early adopters are laughing as no change to the drivetrain which means earlier models resale value is still rock hard as ever.

Side track a lil,
      1) certainly that “TRD” aerokit plus all the red stitching must be at least a worth a few hundreths of a second faster than the J & E grade models.

2) Wow! Why spec sheet still need to spell out, tilt steering? Other cars out there don’t have?!

3) Wing mirror specs. They still make it a point to spell it out that it’s power adjustable & retractable c/w turn indicators?! LOL Can you imagine the SA telling potential clients that … so next generation they will spell it out that it has turn indicators all right together with built in LED instead of normal bulbs .. *face palm*

4) Wht the heck is Sports Analogue meter config?!

5) And no 6 speaker by JBL or Arkamys? Std OEM much better without sub woofers?

6) GOA body as standard. Woah! It must be damn firm in corners.

7) Close but no cigar. Smart entry c/w push start too!! Fuyyoh… *face palm*

At the end of the day, yes lotsa haters me included but still gonna fly off the shelves some how or rather. Bonus still kuat kuat for UMWT folks.

6)

• Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Stability control on my Sonata has saved me on a few occasions during wet & slippery situations. Was actually looking forward to get this car for the wifey but without the VSC, it’s not even considering. I am personally disappointed with UMW.

• salousy on Aug 07, 2013 at 3:07 pm

it got abs ma, no need VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 55
      • Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Aug 07, 2013 at 4:03 pm

ABS prevents the wheels from locking up during braking. VSC is totally different. Click on this link for better understanding on how it works
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZ8pNpM9wZc

• Sam Loo on Aug 11, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Sonata loses 50% of its vale within a year. Good Luck

• samlok on Aug 07, 2013 at 3:31 pm

looks nice, what’s the price?

• samololok on Aug 07, 2013 at 4:42 pm

the price is you get an outdated car even before launched

• Cycle mania on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Buy a bicycle, no gas, keep healthy.
    What’s the point condemning the car?

• bully on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Because customer is KING and always right!
      Does Toyota give what Malaysians want? NO
      Does Toyota improve the engine or gear? NO
      Does Toyota reduce the price accordingly? NO
      Does Toyota treat Malaysians same with other countries? NO

So please find the exit and GTFO

• same chick. different dress.. suck!

• Sam a/l Loo on Aug 08, 2013 at 6:38 pm

If it were the same young chick 20 yrs ago then diff story lo. But this chick already middle aged. But price can increase. lol

• Jorrah Scarbrand on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:55 pm

I still would get a Preve due to the fact that they have a manual-transmission option even at a higher spec and its turbocharged. Vios would be my second in that same price range due to the presence of air-cond ventilated cupholders.

• Alson on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:15 pm

I was worried when i heard bout launching of new toyota vios. However, after viewing all above comments, I feel relieved and happy that I made the right choice two years ago by buying Kia Forte 1.6sx @ 86k. I admit, fuel consumption is not as good as vios, but the rest? Even new vios is uncomparable! High spec vios to get push button? Still bringing car Key in this era? Seriously? Believe me, my bro bought vios and I bought forte at the same time, and he’s regretting for his choice, the two good things are low fuel consumption and resale value which I’m not sure the latter one will last for how long. I’m not selling cars but I always show off my “forte” to my friend even though it’s not an expensive car! Safe! Cool! Functionality! Convenience! And even after two years, I’m still showing off! Can you show off your new vios to your friends? Errrrr I don’t think so haha

• henfon on Aug 08, 2013 at 12:13 am

been told vios is chick magnet ma
      you drive korean cars lenglui doesn’t look at you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Kuinosan on Aug 08, 2013 at 8:58 am

I bought a 2012 Kia Forte SX with navigation and multi media display for my wife, and I’ve got to say that she is enjoying every minute of her drive as she fells the car is safe, comfortable and have all the convenience of a luxury car. She loves the looks too and I totally agree with her on the above mentioned. As of RV, keep the car for 5 years or more and it will average out its depreciation more appropriately. That’s my 2 cents.

• Sam Loo on Aug 11, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Just wait a few more more months. When the tow truck operator’s number makes it to the speedial on your mobile, your statement will reverse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • sakurahana on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Hey..i luv my forte too..i enjoy driving myforte everyday..my hubby bought it for me..

• Toyota sale will tell you :
    VSA : noneed, cause it handle like bmw, later VSA error need repair.

old emgine : mean less problem, easy get part

4 speed : less gear mean less part need repair

• Sam a/l Loo on Aug 08, 2013 at 6:41 pm

if no airbag then means lower maintenance too… no need to replace expired airbag.

• Kuinosan on Aug 08, 2013 at 9:04 am

I bought a 2012 Kia Forte SX with navigation and multi media display for my wife, and I’ve got to say that she is enjoying every minute of her drive as she feels that the car is safe, comfortable and have all the convenience of a luxury car. She loves the looks too and I totally agree with her on the above mentioned. As of RV, keep the car for 5 years or more and it will average out its depreciation more appropriately. Don’t be exploited by buying obsolete cars with obsolete tech, because eventually it’s RV won’t be good too if buyer were to compare with the latest tech offered by other brands. That’s my 2 cents.

• setscrew on Aug 08, 2013 at 10:32 am

Same 4AT ECT and single VVTi engine? Not again!

• scarecrow on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:32 am

Better buy Honda City. Better specs and cheaper.

• bring yourself up on Aug 08, 2013 at 2:56 pm

at least this car is better than honda malaysia.. honda is great until it is ckd and assembled by ‘you know who’.. especially accord.. honda japan should know that ‘these people’ tainted honda image in malassia.. hyundai and kia if its not because of ‘jusy make it a car again’ assembler ‘you know who’, it should have sell twice than it is now.. and proton will definitely ‘cornered and are forced’ to give malaysians all empty promises that they had made.. on second thought, just why the hell did i care? funny

• Botolsusu on Aug 09, 2013 at 9:13 am

Wow. Awesome car…. This is so amazing. I love vios. I live toyota for making the vios for us. This is my dream car. The TRD version look so aggressive, it also looks like the camry a little bit but i will buy TRD because camey so big, then people think i drive my dads car and just add bodykit with my pocket money. When i drive this, the girls will be impressed. Good upgrade for my k car now. Just looking at the car will make me more confident. Now got led light also… I cant wait to park it next to honda city and kia forte and wait for the owner to admire my car. After this i save money for sport rim. I put on 17 sport rim and then even honda civic owner will be jeles. Hurry up toyota sell the car quick… I must lose my virgin before this year finish!!!!!

• No vsc and 4 speed gb on Aug 09, 2013 at 3:34 pm

I go for Honda city with 10k raya promotion e spec….plus city have paddle shift, vsc and 5 speed….

• toyotasalesmen on Aug 09, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Guys stop arguing,if you reckon our car is subpar compare with the same class,go get other brand instead.Without your support,our car will still selling well.Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Dennis on Aug 10, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Just compare 95k Vios Sportivo with 99k Kia Cerato, you will realize Vios is so much overprice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Aug 11, 2013 at 1:30 pm

The 99K Cerato will only be worth 49K 1 year later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • shame loo on Aug 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm

you should buy one cerato, then 1year later sell to me, i pay you RM50k. deal?

• uncle sam loo, i will pay 51k CASH!!!!

• Ibrahim Katak Loo on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:11 pm

MORON SAM LOO, can u find used K5 2012 model in the price around 70k for me, becoz u said Korean worth haft price in 1 years…..Don Talk shit lah u

• Sam Loo grandma on Aug 10, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Is time to spot who is the stupid dumb-ass driving this low spec on the road :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Aug 11, 2013 at 2:29 pm

and my i10 1.25 had smoke vios every day and throw them far more behind after every corner. pathetic little toyota

• Nutty blonde on Aug 11, 2013 at 4:52 pm

I know nothing about cars, in fact I only recently obtained my drivers license and was truly looking to purchasing an affordable sedan with a reasonably good pick up. Toyota Vios has a fantastic reputation in this country in terms of reliability & second hand value hence I put off purchasing a car for the past 2 months and was patiently awaiting the 2013 model.

After reading all the negative comments, I am absolutely disappointed with UMW Toyota for repackaging the same car with same capabilities, in a new wrapper while ridiculously increasing the price of the vehicle. And it’s not even equipped with the basic safety measure of ESC/VSC.

I for one will not purchase this overpriced machine. So let’s not get taken up by the Toyota badge and let’s shop around people!

• toyot-sale on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:52 pm

go and find other car, if you no buy, others will

• MaserratiJKC on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:54 pm

You have just recent got your driving license and maybe earnong Rm2.3k per month. You probably ask your father to pay for 10% of car price and you are taking a 9 years loan for this car.

Ah boy…save your money lah. Dont be so dump.

• I would rather buy the 2014 Mazda 3 hatchback… Its REALLY worth waiting… U gonna shit bricks TOYOTA!!!

• Hate Japanese Car on Aug 12, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Ah Beng Car ( ;

• mamin on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:53 am

Going backwards,no dual vvti…and price hike maybe…what a rip off

• Overpriced.. Just it looks better than the current eyesore vios..

• to be honest, I like the design interior and exterior and think that its suit with the price tag… But since the performance is said to be out dated, I prefer the upcoming preve…

Why cant they fit this handsome car with good performance? it is even prettier than city in my humble view… sad…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 0
  • vios is a good car..petrol consumption very good.
    But what is the point using the old engine?..means all the while no improvement,and the car is abit low..always hantuk kepala.The engine like myvi,very light and acc very fast but doesn’t feel solid la the sound.

proton..lagi no need say..if they r so good,no need to use Hondah as gomen car oredi la.or nonit use mitsu lancer edi ya.looking at the preve,the back is boot is so high..can knock anyone down without knowing easily..protong sc always engage..poor customar service.

Honda expensive but interior are all advance and grand.but service expensive lor.

• lembo on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:25 pm

go and buy felali or lembo loh

• visordown on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:42 am

Cars in our country is over priced – period.

No matter how ridiculously a basic non-national B segment car is priced, demand will never be in short supply, all thanks to brand image and no thanks to Proton.

• Why does Toyota Vios outsell Proton Preve when Proton Preve is cheaper?
    Why does Perodua Myvi outsell Proton Saga when Proton Saga is cheaper?
    Are these car buyer plain stupid or something is wrong with Proton and its cheaper car?
    As long as same party is still governing Malaysia, do not expect to buy fairly priced car!

• theanswer on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:22 pm

dont mind abt the car..as long the price is reasonable. 90k for 1.5L 4 speeder? the price shouldnt be more than 80k.

• All is well on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:45 pm

To all the t fans who bothered bout brand and rv ..h.city gt brand and rv too… still better spec and gt vsc..more stable car.

• perplexed genie on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:25 am

the pricing by Toyota is unbelievable.

the top spec Almera (VL) is barely RM 80k and it’s got pushstart, intelligent key,auto aircon, 2 airbags, aluminium engine and no ESP but the top spec Vios (E) is RM 82k ++ and without pushstart, auto aircon or ESP. One would have to buy G at least to have push start but that also doesn’t come with ESP and it costs RM 88k++. TRD is a whopping RM 93k ++.

Sure Vios looks better, has more audio speakers (G and above), usb port,foldable rear seats and all disc brakes (G and above) but how can the price difference between Almera and Vios be that massive for all variants? Morever, Vios is using the same old engine. Almera also has good fuel consumption like Vios and is also Japanese (resale value,spare part availability not a problem).

I just don’t understand how Toyota can price their new Vios the way they have. A car with not so high end specs with an old engine and no ESP/VSC should not be >RM 83k++.

If it wasn’t for reliability issues, people would just opt for Suprima or Preve.

what a rip off Toyota.

Honda better not do the same next year with City!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • I just don’t get it…everyone complains about not having vsc or other safety features in new vios…come on…we don’t have winter here, and the speed limit in Malaysia is 110…even when it rains…I don’t think you shud drive too fast in any car, be it merc or bmw…or even preve with everything equipped…ok…its not “so” safe without all these electronic assisting stuffs…but why all the vios driver dint die the next day they bought their car??? if you drive 100++….give u hundreds of air bag oso will kill you la…
    speaking of the price….its all bcoz of the demand…why is there such a high demand??? coz we aren’t so rich to afford the servicing cost like in Korean cars…high resale value is important…coz u only lost 20 to 30k when you sell your vios….compared with other brands….if you can afford that loss of money when u sell your Hyundai or proton….go ahead and brag about it…wont stop you though…but the demand in vios is not just bcoz of its resale value….most of the vios owner don’t have trouble with their cars (pity those who have it—the minorities) even city has more problems than the vios….now many of you will start barking saying the engine and gearbox is old so no problem….come on….whether it’s old or savvy…as long as the reliability is there…it’s ok….vw gives you DSG….how many vw’s car got problem with their gearbox did they ever tell u bout that? Lets be honest…proton gave so many things in preve…but preve is a C segment car…their power output is of course better than a vios…but compared with cerato…their engine is so inefficient…with a forced induction the hp is just slightly higher than cerato’s 1.6…and awful fc….what’s the thing to brag about preve? you haven’t even look into the comfortless cabin…
    not many ppl like this comment, but trust me…in Malaysia….due to many reasons, if you wanna drive a car with affordable price, with good rv, reliable, good performance…Im sorry….it doesn’t exist…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
  • Very well said Andy. I’ve driving my Dogong for 4 years and proud to have one.

• hukaka on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:22 am

haha i see the bad command are getting more then suprima s.
    so love it or hate it,suprima s and new vios share the same fate.

• ong chin aun on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:05 pm

I’m pleased to read through Andy candid comments. Yes,I bought a new Iswara 1997.costed about Rm 40k. I managed to sold it rm 6k in 2008/9.and get a 2nd.hand Waja yr.2000 for about 20k. now it value below 10k.I suppose. and currently looking for branded good car , like Civic or Altis or perhaps new Vios. Of cos. New city is rather expensive. Honestly, this New Vios is vey stylist.Need to test drive before comment further.

• Tommy on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:33 pm

If you think Proton can produce a high quality air bag and VSC that will probably working in good condition during emergency then go for Proton.

It’s all about manufacturer qualities…
    Manufacturer discipline is important too.

Preve is C segment so is not really fair to compare with Vios with B segment… Of course Preve is cheaper because it is a local car.

Conclusion is local car will be always cheaper but as a customer we know what we wants.

I think is depend on person for me VSC can’t bring me a perfect handling. You can’t aspect the natural way the car will move to.

Preve and Inspira is really a good car but Vios is not bad too.

Proton Vs Toyota quality…. you can see it on the road which one is got more problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Aghanis on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Funny la you guys. Typical malaysian! When proton launch a product everyone starts to bash proton. Now toyota turn. Tomorrow Nissan. LOLS.. We all malaysian always have mean thing to say yeah! hehehe. malaysia boleh! cakap cakap cakap omong omong omong..Omong kosong aja

• chiro on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:08 pm

No VSC, same engine, same trans. Only difference is exterior, design such a way is “completely” new. preve is still worth to buy, if ur not comparing PROTON n TOYOTA.

• VSC is sales jargon i believe. Ultimately it all depends on personal driving style. Anyone of you test-drived this? It felt smooth and good. Low noise, soft suspension. Ya the specs are disappointing, but still a very good car after all for daily drivings.

• if everyone keeps blaming proton, people will start envying other countries who manufacture cars if there’s no proton.. These kind of people tak boleh nak maju if they keep thinking like that