Entry-level Caterham Seven gets Suzuki 3-cyl turbo

caterham seven suzuki

Remember the sub-£17k (RM80k) entry-level Caterham Seven teased in June? Well, its “super-compact, flexible and EU6-compliant engine” has been revealed to be a turbocharged 660cc three-cylinder engine (K6A) built by Suzuki.

Yes, as niche as it is, even Caterham isn’t spared from the global downsizing trend. The legendary kit car has never hidden a smaller and more fuel-efficient engine under its long bonnet. However, at least the Malaysian-owned carmaker can say it’s in line with good ol’ Chapman’s ‘add lightness’ mantra.

The engine currently powers the Japanese-market Suzuki Jimny and Every van – both kei cars. Mated to a Suzuki five-speed manual, it has been adapted by Caterham Group’s engineering division to suit a re-engineered chassis that “harks back to the spirit of former Sevens,” with “major revisions to the suspension layout.”

Besides a comprehensive re-tune, there’s a new ECU and narrow front suspension arms, according to CAR Magazine UK. The car also makes use of a Suzuki-sourced beam rear axle – the original Seven had a similar setup.

caterham seven suzuki

Relocated are the steering rack and axle mounts, affording improved steering feel and reduced weight. No numbers have been officially divulged yet, but the British publication speculates a 90-100 hp output.

“It is not engine size that matters,” said Caterham Cars CEO Graham Macdonald, “it is the grin factor that is our barometer and we believe we have got the formula for our new entry-level vehicle just right.” So there you have it – you don’t need size to make one grin.

The new model (dethroning the Caterham Roadsport 125 as the base model in the range) is set for an autumn launch, with first deliveries expected before the end of the year.

At the other end of the scale sits the monstrous Caterham 620R – this luckiest Seven of them all gets a supercharged 2.0 litre Ford Duratec motor that produces 311 hp and close to 300 Nm of torque, catapulting it to 100 km/h from rest in under three seconds.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• motorhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:40 am

I don’t know if anybody want to drive this type of car nowadays.. If you folk know any, let me know.. Prrftftp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • redsupra on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:46 am

My 660 kancil turbo never fails to put a grin on my face evertime the boost kicks in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • wiralution on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:11 pm

my wira can smoke you anytime. No need to be cocky. heh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • My kelisa YRV can smoke your wiralution, satrialution, sagalution, wajalution, inspiralution, and all the crappy -lutions anytime ;)

• motorhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Ohh yeah.. Im proud of your kancil more than this caterham.. Got aircond, radio, shades.. Caterham? Drive in UK you ll get frozen during or near winter.. Can get frost bite as well.. Drive around Malaysia you ll get heat stroke.. Or swimming pool inside the car. Some people reluctant to change. Good luck to Caterham.. Good luck with the niche market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Chris on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Comfort is over-rated.

• You dont wear a pijamas go to the office, and same with this car, it have a purpose, it nonsence to use it as first car or family car…but it will serve u right on track better than kancil…kancil + turbo = still kancil…

• kadajawi on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Of course there is a market for this. I’d love to have one. This is a TRACK DAY car. You buy it as a second or third car, and all you do with it is drive on race tracks or on nice curvy roads. Just for fun.

This car shouldn’t have aircon. It shouldn’t have radio. Or shades. Or even doors. Anything that can be left away should be left away. Others buy a normal sports car and remove everything there is inside, improve power, handling etc. Instead you could just buy this.

• motorhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Can’t you read I wish luck to it’s niche market? Why not you buy it now? Don’t just say it.. Talk is cheap. Let me know after you bought it. I would be happy for you.

• kadajawi on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:06 pm

So what? They have been doing quite well in their niche, and they’ll continue to do quite well in their niche.

I’m not rich enough to buy a track day toy (especially after taxes in Malaysia), and I’m not near enough to a race track for it to make sense. So what? Others are. And this thing has just become a bit more affordable, which is a good thing. More people may be willing to say… yeah, I can afford that for my hobby. People invest tens of thousands into camera gear and what not, even though they don’t earn any money with that. Why shouldn’t those interested in motorsport be willing to spend that on a car meant for only that purpose?

• This is a track day car la. Its to drive to track, have fun and drive back. Better than those modded car with super loud exhaust, but when go track cannot jalan wan.

• wiralution on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:46 am

Aiyoh… why blackout. can’t see la. PRU13 already ended…

• neemfa on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:50 am

Shod with econ tires?

• Biscuit on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:29 pm

“It is not engine size that matters,” said Caterham Cars CEO Graham Macdonald, “it is the grin factor that is our barometer and we believe we have got the formula for our new entry-level vehicle just right.” So there you have it – you don’t need size to make one grin.
    Its all about “Grin factor”….cmmon…Caterham is history just like any other British makers. Grin…bcos one who drive it is a nut…

• motorhead on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:36 pm

You ve a point. Somebody’s never learn from history. They ll learn.. from the grave..

• kadajawi on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:09 pm

What the hell are you talking about? The GT86 is popular, even though it doesn’t have a lot of power. It is also not practical, and it is a bit expensive. But it is fun to drive. It makes the driver grin. That’s why it is worth it.

I’m sure this thing will do the same, in a more extreme way. People are willing to pay for fun.

Caterham will be doing just fine, there are more and more brands entering this segment, because there is a market.

• Biscuit on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Maybe many are not familiar on how the Caterham cars look like! Please surf Caterham website and compare with GT86. They’re totally of different class. Caterham cars are normally of an outdated design open top, tyres sit outside the chassis, that being produce just to satisfy the British taste. Whereas GT86 is a normal sport car.

• motorhead on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Caterham doing fine? Are you feeling well today? Since when they are doing fine? Bought over by Tony Fernandez.. Because of financial problems.. Is there any race competition for Caterham? Race alone on the race track? I give max 5 years.. Caterham will tapau or sold again. At least you admitted you have no money to buy it anyway. Why do you think many will do the same? There are alot of changes in car market nowaday.. Car that can sell! Toyota learn this ling time ago.. & put American & UK car out of business.

• What a dumb option. A 1300cc Hayabusa engine as used in some racing carts would have been the best way to go. A really reliable and proven 200++ BHP engine even in standard tune, small and light. They just had to built a drive adapter. Maybe Caterham isn’t very capable technically. Building a new case and using all the other component from the engine can’t be that difficult either. Turbo charging the Jimmy platform would only produce a fragile engine that wasn’t never build to take the stress of anything more than 120 BHP.

• hope to see some people use it in malaysia..Tony F also investing in these company..hope can see KTM X-Bow head to head with Caterham 7