Proton Preve sedan – AUD$3k price reduction in Oz, free Modenas motorcycle in Malaysia

preve australia

Some news from Australia concerning the Proton Preve sedan. Pricing for the car – available in two variant guises Down Under – has been revised, and both versions are now AUD$3,000 cheaper than they were at point of launch.

The Preve made its Australian debut last October at the 2012 Australian International Motor Show in Sydney, with the GX manual rolling in at AUD$18,990 (RM60k at the exchange rate then, or RM54,700 now) and the GX CVT at AUD$20,990 (RM66k in Oct 2012, RM60k currently), both drive-away prices.

Effective August 1, the Preve sedan has a drive-away price of AUD$15,990 (RM46k) for the five-speed manual and AUD$17,990 (RM51,800) for the six-speed CVT. According to Proton Cars Australia, the reduction is supposedly a limited-time special offer for the car.

A single revision has come about with the price adjustment – the five-year free servicing that came with the car has been changed to a five-year fixed price servicing programme, which the company says provides an upfront saving to the customer while still supplying a very attractive service package.

Other than the price reduction and introduction of fixed price servicing, nothing else changes – the Preve continues to feature all the kit it came with in the first place, and these include ESC, traction control, six airbags and an automatic, speed-sensitive door locking/unlocking system.

Meanwhile, back in Malaysia, Proton is giving off free motorcycles with the purchase of the Preve or Inspira. In this Raya promo, which lasts till August 31, the Preve comes with a free Modenas CT100 (worth RM3,698) or a RM3,500 cash rebate. The Inspira comes with a Modenas GT128 worth RM5,300 or a RM5,000 cash rebate. Both Proton and Modenas are sister companies under the DRB-Hicom group.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Carfan on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:41 am

Again, Malaysian has been ripped off!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 338 Thumb down 22
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:05 am

But then, smart Australians will never buy Preve no matter what the price drops LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 36
    • OMG…Lelong lelong…cheap Preve available….but only in Australia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 12
    • I read through all of the comments, not one person raised the issue of car tax, or to be more precise excise, import and sales duty in Malaysia compared to Australia.

When Malaysians talk about car tax, we believe that Protons and Peroduas are cheap because they aren’t affected by car tax. We believe that only imported cars or non-Malaysian cars are taxed. Well, the above is only half-true. Yes, imported cars are subject to import duty depending on the country of origin and trade agreements. Proton and Perodua aren’t really affected by import duty. However, we keep forgetting that EXCISE DUTY applies for all cars sold in Malaysia, including Proton and Perodua.

So, you think Proton is still ripping off the rakyat by selling higher spec versions of their cars at lower pricing overseas, right ? Well, let’s see if that statement is true or not;

– MALAYSIA –
      The Prevé IAFM manual costs RM59,540 in Malaysia, but around RM46,000 in Australia, as pointed out in the article above.

Since the Prevé IAFM manual has an engine displacement of 1,800cc and below, excise duty represents 75% of the car’s price. Sales tax is another 10%, so all-in-all, you’re paying 85% on top of the original Prevé IAFM manual price. The final price of the Prevé IAFM manual is RM59,540 with excise and sales duty. If we do some math, we can find out that the actual price of this car is only RM32,184, without tax whatsoever. The balance RM27,356 ? That’s the 75% excise and 10% sales tax. If you don’t believe what I’m saying, feel free to check MAA’s website on car tax in Malaysia.

– AUSTRALIA –
      When Proton exports the Prevé IAFM manual to Australia, it will be subject to Australian import duty. In Australia, import duty is reasonable, between 5% and 15% (ours is 10 to 30%). Since the Preve IAFM manual is not a luxury car, it is exempted from Australia Luxury Car Tax. And that’s about it, the rest depends on the dealer. So, from our comparison above, the Preve IAFM manual costs RM32,184 without tax, that’s about AUD$11,057. The final dealer price for the Preve IAFM manual in Australia is AUD$15,990 or RM46,000. Take note, the Australian spec has 6 airbags and all active safety equipment standard.

So, is it really true that Proton sells better cars overseas at lower prices ? I’ll leave you to decide.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 261 Thumb down 59
      • sonyman on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:30 pm

proton not ripping rakyat, The Gomen ripping rakyat. For the rakyat what, Pay lah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 12
        • Runman on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:56 am

“Proton sells better cars overseas at lower prices ?”

Proton global export sales 20K units….yes very successful business HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 10
      • Excuse my rudeness…but i dont give a shit about the maths. In general, we are paying more money for cars because of proton. The government says proton is here to give us cheap “national” car. Where the F**k is my cheap car? Seems to me its bloody in australia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 32
        • If if Proton doesn’t exist, do you think the monstrous 75% excise duty and 10% sales tax will disappear?

• yadayadayada.. explain why Proton and Perodua car in Langkawi and Labuan only 10% cheaper than in Peninsular.

Don’t tell me BS that low sale volumn bla bla bla, even Honda can push CKD Jazz for RM35k in Langkawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
        • farghmee on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:53 pm

yada yada yada..

do you even read what he commented?

10% is sales tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
          • That show the 10% is only the sales tax that Proton and Perodua paid for government. Did they really have to pay for excise duty?

Do your own research why foreign maker could sold their car even cheaper than Proton and Perodua in Langkawi if they all have the same excise duty policy.

Or government exempted others but force Proton and Perodua to pay excise duty in Langkawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
          • @Zero

Huh ? Since when foreign makers sold their cars cheaper than Proton in Langkawi ?

In Langkawi, only sales tax and import duty is waived. Excise duty still applies.

I’ve quoted (from the official websites) the Langkawi OTR with insurance price of some of the popular C-segment Japanese cars to see how Proton stacks up;

Proton Prevé – RM57,050 to RM69,500

Toyota Corolla – RM67,450 to RM81,450

Honda Civic – RM78,000 to RM91,000

Nissan Sylphy – RM77,400 to RM86,400

Mitsubishi Lancer – RM76,800

Proton Inspira – RM71,550 to RM82,900

As you can see, the Prevé is cheaper than all of its Japanese rivals.

The Inspira is a special case. People always claim that Proton overpriced the Inspira, but the fact is that the Inspira benefited greatly from Lotus Ride & Handling. The second thing is that Proton has to pay Mitsubishi royalties for using their Lancer platform, so no matter what, the Inspira can never be cheaper than the Lancer. If it is, that means Proton is selling it at a loss.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 26
      • Thanks for the explanation. Let’s make it clear that the Proton dealership in Australia is owned by Proton Holdings Berhad as well.

There are no reduction of car taxes in Australia, therefore why the price reduction only applied in Australia and not in Malaysia, the place where the car is produced?

Tax reasons would no longer be valid anymore since the price reduction in Australia has nothing to do with the low tax there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • You’re welcomed.

The answer is simple, Proton Cars Australia overpriced the Prevé IAFM from the start. For AUD$20,990 (original price of Australian Preve IAFM CVT), you can get a budget Ford Focus or Chevrolet Cruze in Australia. If Proton were to sell the Prevé CFE in Australia based on the Malaysian taxation system, it would cost around AUD$25,000. This is wayyy to much for a Proton, there’s no way Australians will buy it. There are much better cars for this price there, like the Mazda 3, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Cerato and Toyota Corolla.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 31
          • Proton is delusional.

Even China cars in Australia not much hoo haa publicity yet sell in shiploads more than Proton can ever dream off

China cars no quality less safety? Hahaha such an insult to Proton lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
          • Compare Preve with Civic, Corolla and Slyphy is just like apple and orange. They are not really equally fair to compare.

Just take an example between Jazz, Myvi and Saga.

Honda Jazz = RM35k
            http://www.arenakereta.com/2013/07/15/harga-honda-jazz-ckd-di-langkawi-hanya-rm36800/

Perodua Myvi 1.5SE = RM 48k
            http://www.perodua.com.my/ourcars/myvise/price

Proton Saga CVT = RM47k
            http://proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Saga-Fl/PricingSpecs-(3).aspx#info

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
          • this prove that Proton can sell their car cheaper in Malaysia, but they take advantage and sell it higher because their competitor can’t sell their car cheaper due to tax & bla bla bla….

• noname on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:21 pm

update, Jazz CKD dekat langkawi sudah jadi 55K sekarang.. Honda Malaysia bagi alasan salah kira tax? tatau tax yang mana satu salah kira.. nampak mcm tipu saja sbb ini bisnes jual kereta bukan macam jual air cedOk tepi jalan boleh letak harga suka2.. esok tukar harga lain pulak

• Well said and that’s the very reason this government should go. We DESERVE cheaper cars in M’sia especially those that are made here in M’sia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • nak sokong BN sangat terima jer lah…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 14
      • Rafunzi on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:31 am

Everybody want cheaper price but this is where gomen will get extra money for physical development of the nation. Just think logically how much you pay for personal income tax and how much did you get back in the form of subsidy, tarred road, sewerage, cleanwater etc. You should ask MP Rafizi to elaborate all that not just tabur sweet promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 26
    • kalau kerajaan tak tamak. konpem rakyat boleh beli Preve dgn harga Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • wtf man! Cheaper than M’sia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 6
  • Can someone let me know if we are getting ripped off by our government again?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 11
    • FACTS on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:31 pm

No, we are ripped of by our own car makers.

Proton and Perodua only paid less than 8% of tax to government.

Australia have minimum 15% tax for every imported new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
      • Dude, ripped off by Perodua/Proton means rip off by the G. Dont u noe that they are all linked with each other?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Guys, dont to be hapy or sad. we all noe that Proton is always selling cars cheaper than we buy local. Government will never do a thing to reduce price. Janji dicapati. well, have to live with it or else macai2 will ask us to leave malaysia if dont like it here. LOL.. sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • again?? no, it’s ALWAYS…..

• lemme guess, nobody buys it since the first day it launched?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 49
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:10 am

What?!! Another Asian BMW joke again???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • jimmey on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:08 pm

they are improving a lot while japs still sells cars with outdated engine and gears here

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 28
  • can not sale! what to do?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 1
    • Anti CO2 on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:00 am

What is Proton’s sales target for Preve in Aus in the first place??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:01 am

proton is spoiling the car industry in australia market. sooner or later everybone else will have to offer the same thing, which started in Malaysia some 5-6 yrs back by Honda.

it really shows how desperate they are to compete in an open market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • rally_fan on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:57 pm

i suppose proton has to start somewhere.. when the koreans first entered western markets.. they gave ridiculous warranty periods, upwards of 7 to 10 years.. and then threw prices like mad.. it worked for them at least.

• gua punya rasa on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:53 am

gua rasa la, proton shud do a big, huge, gigantic promo in putrajaya cz lots of people going to putrajaya nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • engdau on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:55 am

When does it applied to Malaysia? Only Proton Saga SV model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
  • Beetle Nut on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:56 am

That should make it the top seller of the month…NOT! In reality, this is where Proton stands in the world. Dr M, see for yourself, was it worth it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 33
  • would the aussies even bother to spend 18kaud on a proton when they can get a Yaris for roughly that price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 5
    • oldunce on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:13 pm

yaris is only vios hatch with more features, still in B segment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
  • Spark on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:58 am

aiyaaa… Saga price tu…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • hondaman on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:59 am

Wonder how many units they have managed to sell since launching? Can we get that kind of price in Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:11 am

Almost same figure with Porsche sales…that’s how rare exclusive Proton is in Australia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • cocky on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:13 pm

source please, dun talk cock

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 31
        • Geronimo on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Proton Preve sold 300 in first half of the year. http://www.caradvice.com.au/244651/proton-preve-price-slashed-to-15990-driveaway/

Also you can read that after discount, there’s a removal of free servicing which cost about AUD1,500 whereas earlier, this was included.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 0
    • FACTS on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Opel leave Australia in just 11 months after been sold merely 1000 car.

Consider not bad Proton had survive over 11 years in Australia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • 4G63T DSM on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:03 pm

You don’t know meh, Proton has very good holding power. It has very rich shareholders that can finance the company even though if making a loss.

Courtesy of Rakyat Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
  • Australian Preve: Still more airbags than both Malaysian Preve and Hyundai Santa Fe combined

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 1
  • Abdullah on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:16 am

Local buyers subsidize foreign buyers.
    This is our NAP.
    We are contributing to their economy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 3
  • Morning,

Yeah good, selling cheaper in other country while sucking blood price in our own country where we manufacture this car. No wonder so much people bash proton nowadays… and lack of support for own national product.

I maybe wrong but i think something fishy here……..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • Double standard again…..so shameful act by proton again……..embarrasSingh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Bro.. on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:49 am

price of car in our country is high cause by high tax from government la bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
        • If I am not mistaken, there isn’t any announcement from Australian government about car tax reduction there.

Then why the price reduction? Tax reasons is no longer acceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • Bro.. = Protonfanboys on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:27 pm

If you know nothing, don’t simply make your own assumption and twist the facts to confuse people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • farghmee on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:12 pm

what tax, care to explain?

i thought P1 & P2 pay high excise to Gomen?

• Bro.. on Aug 06, 2013 at 4:46 pm

what about excise tax?

care to explain?

• you should ask gomen not proton abt the tax

• FACTS on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:29 pm

If you know nothing, don’t simply make your own assumption and twist the facts to confuse people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • FACTS on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Why still need to ask the goverment? Its so obvious from the facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • excise duty already 75% lor. please check at the MAA site

• brenn on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:15 pm

excise tax, anyone?

• Abdullah on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:21 am

Our government should allow foreign manufacturers
    to do the same thing here so the rakyat can enjoy
    cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • mystvearn on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:24 am

That price reduction is permanent. Limited…yea right. All after this:
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/231533/proton-preve-review/

2/5 star review. Proton brought the wrong Preve to Australia. Should have only brought in the CFE variant. Now into damage limitation mode.

Also, any car manufacturer which announce a price cut after a model release = having problem with sales.

On another note, is it so expensive to put in telescopic and tilt steering wheel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:16 pm

http://www.caradvice.com.au/167792/toyota-yaris-review-2/
      A 4-speed, 3 generation engine and plasticky interior, smaller and not so good looking car rated higher than a Preve! Why? Because everything work!
      I sit in this car before last year when I visit Melbourne. This car achieve roughly 3K RPM at speed of 110km/h, My CVT Saga achieved 2.5K, but the 3K Toyota is much quieter than my Saga! The Yaris’s cabin is full of plastic but the plastic does not damage so easily than my Saga’s plastic. Everything about that car isn’t much to praised or love it, but I have nothing to complain about the Yaris, unlike my problematic Saga.
      Although Preve is better than my Saga, but based on that review, it can’t even stand on the same level as the 3 generation old, 1NZ-FE and legendary 4-speeder! It’s more than 3 generation behind compare with international competitors, please don’t shame the name of Malaysia and stop exporting jokes to overseas. You owned Lotus but you can’t even order a single designer to design a proper looking car, you develop a Campro but Lotus Evora still use a Camry’s engine. You are Malaysia largest automobile company but the Government going to use an overseas company car. What Proton has contributed to this country and rakyat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
  • gua punya rasa on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:45 am

gua rasa proton never learn from their mistakes.. i’m hoping something great going to happen with DRB in power.. rakyat sudah banyak sabar dgn ini proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:09 am

It is amazing how Proton Australia keep running business without much sales.

Or maybe they’re enjoying life making loses!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • kadabongak on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:18 pm

….and you are enjoying your life with trolling, get a life dude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • Ah Beng on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:13 am

Moral of the story don’t buy the Malaysian made shit made for Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • serenity on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:20 pm

yes, let’s buy tin milo Japs cars. they can fly you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • Ah Beng on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Waa didn’t know that Tin Milo has a special collaboration with Jap cars. Jap company must get specially discount for all that milo!
        Milo – strong and give you wings!

• serenity kepalahotak on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:31 pm

tin milo Japs car still better than some cheapsake, low quality, not so stylist, score 3 star, 2 airbag, poor FC car.

• Ah Beng Bongok on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:54 am

additional of a star for another 40k? that’s not worth it. can save more litres at the end of the ownership lol

oh that’s of it’s not flying into bricks lol

• Rafunzi on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:38 am

Save 40K then you can buy medium high cost spot at Nilai Memorial Park to RIP hahaha!

• TeacW7 on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:27 am

Am so sick looking at this. No hope, no hope at all. Why do we Malaysians deserved such fate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Just A Nobody on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:27 am

Sadly though, news like these will never hit our massive mainstream media. The percentage of people who knew it are so small that when presented in a pie chart, you’ll probably be needing a microscope to see the slice/cut.

• ong chin aun on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:31 am

That is why once a owner of proton, twice shy.Never buy proton again. Quality not up to standard. How can local price sell higher than that in other countries >??? which require better spec. ?? Radiculous ?? M’sia boleh?? W

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Sparcov on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:38 am

Proton, I buy you, you failed me again! What the government doing ?

While they can sell at that RM 46k in Australia plus all the taxes….. why we pay more? please convince me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • ProKong! on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:00 pm

A proton global car that fails even at home… keeps going global Proton, keeps going…
    But remember… take example of Samsung’s working culture first.

• totti on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:35 pm

How a NEP product able to complete globally without protection?

Do you want to buy a preve at RM 51K if the Toyota camry selling at RM 65K?

Proton will die if protection lifted or Pakatan took over.

Jaguh Kampung only survive in bolehland under the mamak protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Hey Proton sold in Indonesia, Australia, Chile, UK, Dubai, Sri Lanka and back to Thailand…

It’s a round world trip…not bad for a Jaguh Kampung…even if only sold 20,000 units worldwide…kira OK lah LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Biatche on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Remember what Steve Jobs said, stay hungry stay foolish. If we always “OK lah”, “bolehlah” then we’re never going to achieve anything….

• he is being sarcastic. he said it based of what proton has achieved. Judging by proton’s performance, its considered good to sell 20k cars. Well, for proton. dont expect too much. D more u expect, d more u get disappointing.

• deni tan on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:35 pm

if proton can sell cheaper in aus…why not they request for tax exemption for national brand only…frustrated coz bought the creature at 73k without any discount

• protonsucks on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:56 pm

only dumb aussie & malaysians buy proton, even dumber aussie & malaysian buy the preve. proton employees gonna give this a thumbs down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
  • VDread on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Thank you Malaysia’s NAP for tax/excise duties for messing up prices for both local and imported cars — with us having to sell our souls to Banks for loan repayments. *sigh*

The Government really should look into its policy.

• The post from Aussie really negative towards Preve…

• Ah Beng on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:24 pm

And yet we have Malaysian’s who love milo (tin milo) which is an Aussie invention in the first place.

• Hadi75 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:34 pm

GOOD!!!selling better spec preve to foreigners at cheaper price than to your own people…..VERY GOOD!!!VERY SMART!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Hadi75 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Quote from caradvice.com.au
    “The Proton Preve should be priced at least $4000 cheaper, to be reasonably competitive against light sedans such as the Holden Barina and Nissan Almera. It is better than the Chery J3 that sells for $6000 less, but the Proton isn’t necessarily 35 per cent better, and it certainly shares some of the Chinese-made hatchback’s quality and refinement shortfalls.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa on Aug 06, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Truth hurts kah LOL!

• The Car Advice Australia website is so powerful that it has pushed Proton to reduce the Preve price for it to stay competitive.

Now Malaysian automotive magazines and websites need to do is to push the critical articles about how ridiculous car prices are sold by dealers (even for tax-free hybrid cars),
      reduction of important features like airbags for not-so-much price reduction,
      and also ballooning worthless car debts among Malaysians due to the high car prices which is a depreciating asset in value.

• Gokul on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:19 pm

“Pelik kan lagih murah dari sini.. x pe la, Syukur Malaysia masih aman”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Aman ko punya kepala. tiap2 hari ade kes tembak lagi aman? ko nak perang baru panggil huru hara ke? U suka tembak-menembak, u keluar dari Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Relax bro, Gokul is just being sarcastic.

The “syukur Malaysia masih aman” phrase is commonly used by people who ignored the trouble of other people to continue living.

Normally those people cares about their own benefits, for example AP holders which they say as “benefits for Bumiputera”, while other Bumiputera at the same can only satisfied having a Saga LMST, and still feels thankful for that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 3
        • Oops.. Sorry. but i just cant tahan ppl keep sayain”Syukur Malaysia masih aman”. I love Malaysia and I love all the race over here. we stay as one big family. But our dumb force have to really do something to tackle crime otherwise Malaysia will drop from a third world country to a poor country like Africa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
        • Yeah, i dont get those bumi that can be easily satisfied by petty incentive given by the G. G talks about Bumiputera rights but I as a chinese, feel bad for u all as most bumi got neglected and oni a handful go up to the elite with connection. Like those Ap holders.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
  • walauweh on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:33 pm

hu..ha.. why only read one negative review when many out there are positive one. Read on thais review on preve,3 reviews if not mistaken, 4 reviews from indonesia journo,one from singapore. 7 positive reviews vs 1 negative, u believe the 1? n i believe non of the 7 related to malaysia,even prtn.

no wonder facebook has become source for news n information n knowledge nowadays.

if u read properly, the price reduction comes with a price. meaning,its actually the same as previous ownership cost,just the way they doing the marketing is diff. previous, high price, 5 years free service. now reduce 3k,but no more 5 years free service,albeit fix price for each service. which almost 3k for 5 years. so,its the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • spyshotX on Aug 12, 2013 at 5:10 pm

the negative review is based on the GX spec (iafm+) and not the GXR spec (cfe) variant which is still absent from the aussie market.. no wonder the thais & indons are giving thumbs up on the review because they are reviewing the premium cfe spec which is already available to them since the launching..

mystvearn is right all along.. the damage is already done by NOT launching the GXR spec in the first place..

• Guys, dont be over grieved or over joyed by the news. we Malaysian can never ever get a cheaper car price. G so kedekut that even reduction of 20% from excise duty will hurt their butt. Well, thanks to those who chosen them to run this country. For the rest of us, just have to live with it or else others will ask us to leave again. Pity but true.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 1
  • Barisan Nasional is always cheating.That’s the answer of all problem in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 41
  • Richard on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:06 pm

It is a government policy for the majority. If you are not happy, please wait for another five years and hope that majority will not favour our current NAP. Other than that save for “chi” and concentrate to make money to buy yr dream car or once a while go to Australia rent a Porche for a ride. But I recommend you to rent a Porche-ton (Proton in Australia) – patriotic ma!

• Norman on Aug 06, 2013 at 5:39 pm

No surprise cause the hatchback coming soon.By the way saw several Proton like Preve,Gen2,S16 FLX in Melbourne and Brisbane

• old dog on Aug 06, 2013 at 6:04 pm

After so many years…all Protong guy has not still realized what is the fundamental of sales and marketing (of course, in Malaysia, we have no choice since its the cheapest car)
    The more protection for local company, the more vulnerable for it compete outside, since katak under the well. Simple as that.
    WHO wants to buy a Protong in AUS/NZ/UK? Pension people? old folks?

• Arghh proton on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Australians are not buying protong. Gomen no longer want to buy protong as official car. Who’s buying protong then? Only us suckers… Im a malaysian but i feel like somebody is stepping on my head and force me to lick the sh*t on the floor… Alll for someone else’s dream

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
    • malaysia tanah airku on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:00 am

You got that right. Why we the rakyat have to sacrifice our dream to own our dream car & have to fulfill someone else’s dreams. We the rakyat have to hutang with the bank with our “terpaksalah” buy car coz the G want to fulfill their cronies dreams. Do you think the shareholders and their family members of proton are driving a proton car? Not so patriotic BN G even replace the inspira with accord wasting the tax payer money. Better invest for medical & education. Last time PR are proposing to buy camry coz ur cronies wallap the service cost of perdana. u kutuk.now what happens? Eat your own s**t. Then the car price cannot be reduce b’coz proton don’t make a profit coz the G don’t full support proton & the rakyat have to pump some more capital aka taxes just like what happen in MAS. I know that honda own by DRB but do you think by buying accord honda of japan don’t get any profit ka? TNB profit RM4B also want to raise the tarif? Enough la grandfather M.. Rakyat have suffer long. BTW heard that ur son are not driving proton but drive’s a bugatti vyron & used the keuntungan from rakyat money to open another business buy esso some more. Petronas now enough ka? U senja already.. Dunia kata pergi kubur kata mari. Sukahati I la I control the G If lingkup what the hell.. It’s the rakyat money.. can take some more and open another business or buy condo overseas. We rakyat want to do business/ buy houses have to loan long years from the bank & high interest some more. Dear beloved G for the rakyat 1st time buy houses, why can’t u make the interest 1% like public bank do for their staff or control the housing price? Rakyat didahulukan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Why on earth would you buy a proton, if there’s a Holden commodore 3.6l there in OZ! :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Global car konon. Sudah kantoi.hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 46
  • thebugbud on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:29 pm

I am a Preve CFE owner. Love the car, fantastic driving characteristic. BUT, dashboard started to rattles in less than 3 months, wind noise at 120kmh since day 1, door rattling, noisy front suspension and the paint is peeling off from the fuel cover in less than a year. battery died 2 times for don’t know what reason.

renewed my road tax this year and reduce my insured amount to rm65k (from 72k) cuz a brand new one is only rm68k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • retard on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:51 pm

…Pe_rotten..already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • reality hurts..

• bongeks on Aug 07, 2013 at 1:05 am

Sadly i still cant accept Preve’ s face..so ugly.

• L-Bird on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:51 am

I don’t care about the price, tax, Proton fault or BN fault….I am just scared that there might be more mat rempit and more motorcycle snatchers…..since some new buyer wouldn’t mind selling the free Modenas cheap or even giving it free to others (if generous enough)…..

• Dr Cooper on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:30 am

This really piss me off ! We’re nation where the car is originated and we paid high price for the car with lesser features and safety standard. In japan/korean/german or any other nation who produce car (even China), priority is give to their country men to the point even their MFD menu are in their OWN languages, why the heck PROTON !

• Gua punya rasa on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:47 am

Gua rasa baguih la promo Proton buy car n get a free motorcycle!!!

• Lepat on Aug 07, 2013 at 11:02 am

eventhough the car price are cheaper, but other things like foods, fuel, parking are higher in oz.. go try stay there a month..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • noproblemo! on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Ppl here commenting like buying car is the utmost important thing to do in life. Ever heard of CHOICES? Dont want proton, get somthing else. Dont barking pointing fingers at gov. yup i agree that theres loop holes in gov that some will take adv on. but the main reason Dr. M created Proton last time is to create job for Msian. But the quality seem to lack after. Due to what? It is due to you! Rotten businessman both bumis and non bumis. who do you think the vendor are? what motivate them to produce poor parts? GREED! and those who in the production loop are responsible. now you complaint proton selling cars cheap outside. common larr. in business of course you want to make profit. who the stupid dumb ass want to make losses. selling cheap there to gain the market confidence of the early adopters. then, the qualities(enhanced) will speak for themselves, then come the sales in long run. In, msia, the poor proton quality is due to the attitude of ‘why must i care’when producing the cars. not 100% attention in assembly line. the mentality of ‘end of month ill get my pay check’. translated to uneven gap la, bateri la, dashboard la. minor things that can be flipped if full commitment was there. yet, we still blaming gov. ask ur self, what parts of developing Msia that uve been done lately before u ask question that obviously chauvinist to your self centered opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • problemathic on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:07 pm

wow! thanks for the reminder, bro.

please allow me to remind you some MINOR issue here.

1. our public transport system sucks, everywhere we go, we need our own transport. are you a salesperson or serviceman? if no, please think of us. we need it like our own leg and assets to fulfill our job requirements. look at job advertisements: “have own transport” has been a basic requirement.

2. i have no idea how they do it in overseas. but here, if you need to supply your parts to these PROTONG/PERO**A car manufacturers, please bare in mind they requires SPECIAL NETWORK and SPECIAL TREATMENT to get the contract. yet, who paid it? the supplier. so how to cut the cost? cheaper parts la! common sense. please don’t tell me your born yesterday here to know nothing bout this. and i have to agree about you on business is on making profit. please bare in mind the suppliers are in business as well.

3. we malaysian here love our homemade products. reading on so many previous comments you may find them still hope local car makers can strive again. unlike what you had thought of. the only problem is the local car makers has been in their comfort zone for way too long. they need a wake up call. a 10-30 years old techie and no improvement at all. is this what a business model should have? please correct me if i’m wrong, and if you’re a businessman indeed.

4. we paid taxes in many kind of formats, that’s our contribution. thus, please remind yourself before you speak of others bout contributions.

thanks and your reply is most welcome if i had commented wrongly on some of my points up there.

We, malaysian always work for a better malaysia. this has never changed.

• Noproblemo on Aug 08, 2013 at 6:47 pm

I think u lost your gps problemathic (no wonder). My comments are about why the car price cheaper in oz and we here blaming gov. Im not favoring proton all the way. Im saying that the idea of proton is great for the nation. But somehow along the way its began to rot. Why? Due to the anatomy of the system corrupted by literally, everybody. From the top managemnt down even to the assembly line. Read my comment dexter. Im paying my tax too. U want to see only what u want to see. Thats your problem i coined as ‘chauvinist self centered opinion’. Im lowering my level here to explain the same thing twice. (0_0)

• problemathic on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Bro, thanks for your double up explanation. Why we are here to comment on this grandma complaints. Tax high and protection on proton. Please do understand my reply. We are here again to comment why our government still protecting this proton and leads to their attitude of “u still buy proton what”. Then to the attitude of “I must get benefits out of this coz we’re semi-government servants under government protection.” Which leads to corruption and then to those issues u mentioned earlier. Thank you for being a good citizen of Malaysia that pay tax too. Yes we have choices but as a malaysian we always choose our local products before imports. Thanks for your comments. Some of your points reminded me of how Malaysia have rotten in today’s environment.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:05 pm

nerd.

• William on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Was driving a 96 wira 1.8exi, uk spec. Nice car with airbag & abs. Sufficient safety features for its time. Look at the new inspira when launched. Interior plasticky and cheap. Bought an elantra 2003, cheap but still better. Then looked at the preve when launched, looked totally outdated interior and plasticky. Campro engine is suspect. Many negative comments from waja limo drivers while I travel to airport (weekly).

Finally bought a Subaru Forester 2.0 on promo for rm130k. Was happy but shocked to see the customs /eksais duty declaration from which stated landed cost at rm 40k. With tax and duties rm 110k. Motorimage sell at rm 150k, then discoubt 20k.

And this is just a low end suv. Not just the government but the local car dealers / reps are scums as well. We suffer as a result but mainly its the gov fault due to ridiculous taxes and improper price regulations as well as our NAP.

• lizzy on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:32 pm

sigh….day light robbery and we can’t do anything about it…..

• ? vs ! on Aug 11, 2013 at 9:39 pm

good luck then.

• What??!! on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Proton you moron! How about us in Malaysia???!!! This kind of news really irritating!!!

• Ketype on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:00 pm

low gas price or cheap car…its up to you malaysian…that why australia sold car at the low price…their petrol price is 3 times higher than us…even they got a cheap car …the operation cost is higher than us….