2014 Hyundai i10 – European version breaks cover, India introduces the longer-wheelbase Grand i10

Hyundai i10 01

Hyundai has revealed the first images of its second-generation i10 compact and has also taken the wraps off its Grand i10 version in India. Let’s start with the Euro debutant – which was caught in spyshots back in May – first.

The A-segment hatch – designed and developed at the company’s European technical centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany – is due to make its official debut in Frankfurt next month, and sits on a new platform that’s five millimetres longer than the existing one.

The European-spec’d version is 80 mm longer, 65 mm wider and 50 mm lower than the current first-gen. Aside from these dimensional changes, the trunk capacity has also been upped by 10% to 252 litres, while the ride of the new car has been tuned to offer better handling and improved driving dynamics.

The standard equipment list will include vehicle stability control and front curtain airbags, while automatic climate control, a heated leather steering wheel and cruise control with speed limiter will be available for the car.The European i10 will be made at the company’s Turkish factory in Ízmit, with production set to begin in September.

hyundai grand i10 india 01

As for the Grand i10, this is a stretched version of the car, being 100 mm longer than the European model, but sharing pretty much the same face. Essentially, this is very much an Indian market offering, not quite replacing the i10, which will continue to sell, but rather slotting in between the latter and the i20.

For India, two engine choices are available – buyers will be able to pick from an all-new 1.1 litre three-cylinder diesel or a 1.2 litre Kappa four-cylinder petrol unit, paired with a manual box or four-speed auto transmission.

In its highest trim specification level, the Grand i10 will come equipped with items such as dual airbags, rear air-conditioning vents, parking sensors and a two-DIN audio head unit with 1GB of internal memory as well as a cooled glove box.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sudonano on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Well Hyundai Malaysia, don’t pandai pandai cut the spec list and bring the European one to Malaysia. Make sure, 6 airbags and VSM remain in the car when it comes here!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • the 2nd on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:07 pm

I used to laugh at the old i10. This one definitely good looking. Just the engine part..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • albag on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:10 pm

the ass has that “enjoice” expression

• Fahmi on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Families may consider this Hyundai i10 for their 2nd car as an alternative to the ubiquitous Perodua Myvi and Viva…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Looks quite good, but too ugly compare to Kia Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Yhe pre-facelift of the current i10 made me caught attention of hyundai. It was one of the cutest little things on the road imaginable back than. This one improves on aesthatics, but loss a wee bit on that cuteness, the Picanto still has it thou.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • If come in next year, will plan to have one if the price around 55k fir 1.25, bcoz the previous version is too ugly, untill i want to make a decisions to have a myvi se, so when this new i10 shown out, so i decide to choose i10

• amigos on Aug 08, 2013 at 2:44 am

Wow sexyback….”divine”

• zamer on Aug 08, 2013 at 1:27 pm

great…hyundai proves that cheap or entry level car wont have to look ugly..

• Very well equipped small hatch, especially the rear ac vent. =D

• I saw beemer/merc rear.
    *NOT sarcasm*

• The distance between Rüsselsheim und Stuttgart is 148km only, the one between Rüsselsheim and Munich is 310km… ;)

• niuhje on Aug 09, 2013 at 2:13 pm

i drive an i10… looks like changing to another i10 soon!

• conquest on Aug 09, 2013 at 2:31 pm

owned the first generation blue i10 until now,been a very pleasant owning experience. the ride and sound insulation is better than my brother camry(not typo here).Maintenance cost is as cheap as viva,sips fuel like a mouse too, i hugely tempted to upgrade to this one if under 60k

• stevejames on Aug 10, 2013 at 10:05 pm

are you sure it sips fuel like a mouse? mine kappa 1.25 drink fuel like an elephant!

• Conquest on Aug 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Mine was the old 1.1L engine cbu unit come without the tacho meter in the dashboard, it lack punch between 80-90 but one tankful of 60 bucks worth of petrol get me 500km,mix of town and highway drive

• If the pricing is right the Euro version will sell like hot cakes in UK. C pillar styling looks quite edgy and makes VW Up resemble a box on wheels.

• Kevin on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:03 am

how soon will this be available in the market?!?!?!?! i just went to hyundai showroom yesterday and pay deposit to buy the i10!!! walau later i bought de n pakai 3 months.. it announce this grand i10 in malaysia i mai rugi teruk! any further infor when it will available here? cuz if it is available before may, i will wait to get this! hyundai say i can cancel n full refund my deposit… i rather get new than old… n best this seem sporty!