Honda Civic Tourer – images released ahead of debut

honda-civic-tourer-10

Honda wasn’t pulling a fast one on us when it said the production Civic Tourer would look very much like the concept – the Japanese carmaker has let loose images of the swoopy Swindon-built estate, and we can see that all it’s omitted from the concept are the outrageous wheels, LED lamps and the rear diffuser with its integrated central twin tailpipes.

The Honda Civic Tourer can hold an impressive 624 litres (up to window line) of luggage with the back seats up and an even more impressive 1,668 litres (up to roof line) with them folded flat, edging it ahead of the Volkswagen Golf Variant (605/1,620 litres).

Designed and developed in Europe and for Europe, the Honda Civic Tourer is based on the Euro-market Civic hatch (which is due for a refresh soon). They share the same wheelbase and hidden rear door handles, but the estate gets a 235 mm longer rear overhang, an extended rear quarter window and a new tailgate with a 137 mm lower loading lip.

honda-civic-tourer-3

Features include Honda’s new world-first rear-axle Adaptive Damper System and Magic Seats. The latter enables the back seats to fold down in one easy movement – similar to the system on the fourth-gen Honda CR-V.

Announced engines so far are a 120 PS/300 Nm Earth Dreams 1.6 litre i-DTEC turbodiesel and a 142 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre i-VTEC. European sales are set to begin next year, after the wraps come off at next month’s Frankfurt show. Find out what else Honda is bringing to Frankfurt here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• semut on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:15 am

Kasi CKD lah kat Melaka…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • hondaman on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:42 am

Price it below rm150k, it will sell like hot cakes because basically there is no competitor except for grey imported wish.

• kadajawa on Aug 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm

DRB surely not allow it. Wanna kill preve hatch and exora sales kah??!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • query on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Since when preve hatch and exora are 150k each? Do you live in cave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Beautiful car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • hargur on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Yes if you are an uncle or aunty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • You are blind unless you are over 50 years old, kekeke

• Hey downstairs, if compared with Exoras and Preves uglyhatch, this is damn beautiful heh!

• press on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:47 am

i’m not gonna be seen in this car. i’m still young and single, not married with 4 children. preve hatch is wayyyyy sexy and powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • queeze on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Oh no, I don’t want lenglui to see me as a father of 6. I’m single.

• Hmm no one want too see u lah! David Beckham as a father still looks sexy and handsome lah but u?

• queeze on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:57 pm

but…but I’m no slard LOL

• Cheap fool no one care about u lah! wakawaka

• Mazda ha Kudo Design Style while Honda has Ah Beng Style…so typical

• heybadigol on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:22 am

Impressive boot space for what is a C segment car. Even the Mazda6 touring, which is D segment wagon, has much less than that (less than 600 litres to the windowline). For comparison, the local Civic FB has only 400ish litres (less than 500 for sure), but that one is a sedan lah.

The overall shape has potential, but Honda Europe screwed up the details, which in my opinion looks disjointed as its too bulky in some places, but sleek in others. Those bulging wheel arches just gives me an eye ache. But loving that cool pillarless one piece glass at the back.

• Bulging wheel arches copied from somewhere. The imitation fails big time here because it doesn’t blend with the body. Honda wants to make it muscular but not really matched. Somehow the mixed designs which are originally without those bulges fail to match the later.

I remember two cars with good implementation of those bulges, E Class (rear part) and preve.

• Dr Kervokian on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:26 am

142ps… zzzzzzzzzzzzz…
    probably still comes with the same 5 speed auto unreliable suspension and engine brackets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • Chris on Aug 12, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Bro… how much horsepower do you need in a tourer anyway? It’s for you to drive 300km under the speed limit (ahem) to Ikea, and bring back a coffee table or three, not carry tofu up Cameron Highland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Buy and tune to stage 3 loh. Case settle..!

• Alpha on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:26 am

Plot twist : Honda decided to use the Civic Tourer instead of the Civic Hatch as the base for the new Type R. Haha!

The FD2R marks the first ever 4-door Type R (CL1/CL7R is a Euro R). So, who knows if this will be the first Type R Wagon. Haha!

• Nice..much better than the sedan version.

Why the nicer hatch version always is Europe only..
    Aren’t Honda origin from Japan, Asia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 12, 2013 at 1:57 pm

The facelifted FB looks not bad actually. And Civic is the safest vehicle in it’s class, same as the Accord.
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8elevprV5A

• did i just see a smaller version of the odyssey???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • King Lee on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:48 am

hmm… reminds me of Toyota Wish look…Interior is good.

• Awesome… very the Honda style. See the flat seats…

• ionlaw on Aug 12, 2013 at 12:19 pm

How to open the passenger door from outside?

• ted chow on Aug 12, 2013 at 12:21 pm

diesel always run out of stock…….

• Celica ?

• Front outside design same like Honda Insight, inside design similar to new Civic. Nobody wants it in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • roxas on Aug 12, 2013 at 2:37 pm

lol..hyundai i40 much nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • steven on Aug 12, 2013 at 3:25 pm

reminds me of caldina

• Polo Saga on Aug 12, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Awesome design!!

• sepul on Aug 12, 2013 at 6:30 pm

One of the best looking estate car with excellent diesel engine. Sadly, only for Europe.

• booted on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Noone to buy it here, it’s not turbocharged like Caldina GT4. Only 1.8, that’s disgusting. Only uncles and aunties can appreciate it.

• tokmoh on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:30 am

Actually, I wonder why people here dun want to buy wagon? It’s more practical than sedan, and look better too. More fuel efficient than those pondan SUVs which never go offroad, easier to drive too cuz only slightly longer than sedan.

I keep hearing people say hearse, oh puhleez. Estima, alphard also use as hearse, but people buy it like ifags queue overnight launch.

Preve should come out with wagon form to spark interest in wagon here.

• wagoned on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:38 am

personally i no like wagon. very noisy cos the rear tyre wheel well is exposed into the interior.

• kiaroute on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:50 am

i’d rather go for MPV rather half car half mpv like this. even old wagon-like mpv citra is more practical if size is that important, duh.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 12, 2013 at 6:32 pm

OMG, the insight front.

• offbeat on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:30 pm

The designers are lazy, big company but doing chop chop and then paste paste. They should be sacked, only butt is different

• It’s amazing how they’ ve kept it quite close to the original concept, like the rear door handles being on the C-pillar. It looks best in any 3/4 view, thou not really my cup of tea andd viewed straight from the side/front/rear. Overall it looks good, the current Civic hatch seems to have more well thought-out design than the mediocre one we/Asia have and the one the USA previously have, this exxtand to the interior.

• dotdot on Aug 12, 2013 at 7:16 pm

looks like my honda stream rsz jer..

• hodoh on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Buang masa je tengok camo dulu. Ingatkan cantik la sangat, rupanya gini je.

• NeoLover on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:42 pm

I think Honda has designed among the best looking car with a beautiful interior. But once they are being assembled in Malacca, the interior quality dropped to a Proton level with cheap plastic and lousy fitting. Their CBU quality are so much better.

• Insight or Civic on Aug 13, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Its a bigger Insight rather than Civic.
    Bigger in terms of size and engine capacity…

• Sahipul on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:05 am

personally, its ugly!

• Paukaya on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:01 am

So is ur wife

• caldina on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:18 am

caldina wanna be!!!!