Mitsubishi Attrage on oto.my – RM65-70k estimated

s4-6207-MitsubishiAttrage

An ad for the Mitsubishi Attrage has just come up on our sister classifieds site oto.my, stating an estimated price range of RM65-70k for the Mirage-based sedan. It adds that the first batch of cars is expected in November, and bookings can be taken now.

Unofficial, of course, but if it does turn out to be so priced, the Attrage will wrestle the title of Malaysia’s least expensive import sedan from the RM66.8k Nissan Almera E manual when it launches towards the end of the year.

mitsubishi-attrage-oto-my-ad-scrnshot

Built at the Laem Chabang Industrial Estate in the Thai province of Chonburi, the Mitsubishi Attrage is slightly bigger all-round than the Mirage, giving you more rear legroom and nearly double the luggage capacity at 450 litres.

The sub-tonne B-segmenter is motivated by a 78 PS/100 Nm 1.2 litre twin-cam three-cylinder engine that’s mated to a five-speed manual or INVECS-III CVT. A fuel consumption figure of 22 km per litre is touted.

No information on local specs or variants yet, but you can check out our Thai test drive report, dealer preview story and brochure to see what our northern neighbours get.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Keris Jawa on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Super! Ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • ppeeeeerrrrrgggghhhhhh

• Should be around 60k-65k if not, this will be the next Almera get killed by Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:52 am

You call it ugly? Look at Saga SV again OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • ya la. i know right? look at saga sv. small rims that are welded permanently to the axles right???? bumpers that melt when kena bodykit glue, absorbers that are one with the car’s chassis la.. etc

• OMG…Vios younger bro…name called Attrage…

• I’ll get the Almera instead….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
    • Almera also ugly u fool. Only ppl w eye prob will buy this and almera. And pug3008. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 44
      • sonyman on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm

i also dont understand you, PUG 3008 is about 150K and this one is 70K how to compare the ugliness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • 150k or 300k. It doesn’t matter. Ugly is ugly. So many almera owner hurt ah? Giving thumbs down. Typical almera owner. Cannot admit almera is fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
    • policeman on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:14 pm

I’ll get the Inspira instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • truman6 on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:16 pm

LOL!!! 1st Time feels that Almera is beautiful..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • driver on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:52 pm

ugly & pricey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:53 am

If Proton is desperate they will rebadge it as new Saga too….

• motorhead on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm

1.2 vs 1.5?? Price almost the same? Smaller vs bigger? They think Malaysian stupid? Almeera a better buy.. Small kids can know that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • mazlan on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Most of the peoples buy car to go from point A to point B only…how it looks,how it drives comes second..price n reliability comes first..that’s why cars like almera still selling well despite its ugly appearance…n looking at this,for most seems like almera is a better buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
  • NISSpengAN on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Almera for life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • For me this looks better than Almera many times, but if it sells at 65K-70K, then I rather choose it’s competitors equip with 1.5 engine.

Lower the price please. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • John Tan on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:26 pm

65k for a car with 1.2 litre petrol engine? Pretty sure the sale will suffer. I prefer they place a 1.5 litre powertrain with additional 10k.

• tenine99 on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Sedan with 3 cylinders? What a joke mitsu!

• Peter on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:35 pm

If U considered this & Almera is equally ‘ugly’, better go for 1.5 Almera. Again, those who start with words i.e ‘ugly’ when looking at B segment cars, they either got extra money to spend or not a serious car buyer, not even automotive hobbyist (since they treat car like a vase).

• “Features: manufecturer warranty” well isn’t that lovely.
    Anyways, at that price range I’am really eager to see what it has going for itself that can edge it out of the Almera, it has neither the looks, the powerplant nor the size to actually play trump card over the Almera, and if I really wanted a nippy little car (it weighs 875kg, less than a Myvi) I’ll walk towards its hatchback sibling. Overall, like the Viios, it just dosen’t have anything going for it now.

• nightyknight on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:48 pm

1.2 litre for a sedan? Seriously?

• well, the 120Y was a 1.2. the opel kadett was a 1.2 and also many other cars many people learned to drive with long ago. nothing wrong with a 1.2 sedan today. if those old cars could go up and down genting without problems when new, a modern hi-tech 1.2 even though with 3 cylinders shouldn’t be an issue either.

so, yup. seriously.

• vovozz on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:11 am

Agree, even my 120y b210 can run 140kph on 4th gear… mitsu got their point is to maximise fuel consumption… if dont like dont condemns.. what for 5000cc v10 engine when still stuck inside traffic jam next to 660 kancil… they did it for a reason..

• ahlee bin ahtan on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:51 pm

2 SAGAS =1Attarage.

• kucca on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:02 pm

seriously, saga is much2 better than this attrage. like or dislike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
  • Polo Saga on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Almera or Fiesta win this hand down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • if full spec with bodykit,leather seat sell at 70k ok la.
    i think its not ugly, just plain looking

• checksum on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Comparing to the same price range model Almera with bigger space, CC and horsepower, naturally will opt for Almera instead. Unless it is price at Saga’s high range model or Persona, then I would consider over Proton even with lower CC. But I doubt government would allow it.

• Lai Kee Kong on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:41 pm

The selling point for this car is the 21km/l or more fuel efficiency. That is why it has a 1.2L hi tech engine and the 875kg body weight. When petrol hits rm3 per liter, see who is crying then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • mamamia on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm

not worth it….

• ouch!! my eyes!!! I’m closing this page now.. Car’s too fffugly!!!!

• prince power on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:58 am

More option much better & gud lookin than this out there.. take ur time….

• All I can say is…Att What? I am att rage with the look department

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:36 am

Seriously a joke,It would be just another Exora cps auto and when full loads its will definately struggle from 0-60kmh…At least the Exora serve its purpose as an mpv but this one?I would rather they make 1.5 with 3 cylinders or at least a turbo in it

• Alahai on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:47 am

If you’re goverment servant grade 41 above, pls avoid buying car that has cc 1.5 litres below. Y? Because for sure you will get a lower claim tariff for your mileage claim. Use car that has cc greater than 1.5. Examples, Alza, Saga flx Se, almera, vios.

• Gary Yap on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:56 am

Dubious styling, undersized engine, dodgy price, with a name I can’t pronounce. What was Mitsubishi thinking?

• kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:57 am

Attrage just another victim of NAP

Instead of promoting it as eco green car, it slapped with 75% excise duty and at least RM15K more expensive than Thailand price! Pure madness!

• brian on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

This car supposed to be assembly in proton’s plant but unfortunately, after drb-hicom take over all was cancelled. What a lost opportunity? Else, this car will be much lower after ckd.

• it’s lucky that this car does not come from Proton plant.

I am more happy to pay RM60k for non-proton factory car.

• Spark on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:51 am

i think this car aims for the low fuel consumption, despite its ugliness. but then, the price is too high to competes with almera.

i’m agree that almera is god damn ugly.

• wow so expensive

• Aiyoo you people…. The photo doesn’t do justice to the car larrr. So please, stop calling the car UGLY, until you see it in physically.

• sunsun on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:33 pm

I think i buy this… almera to fat, vios look old.

• almost look ugly like the almaera..but..almaera is 1.5cc and this is 1.2..almaera service every 10k.

• Damn.. I’d rather buy Perodua Alza..

• tiger wong on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:56 am

the price better is 55K-60K. it only 1200cc.
    only can compare with myvi.

• pearl on Aug 25, 2013 at 11:46 am

I would buy this base on its fuel cons although its 1.2.i am not rich by the way.got other comitments too.if can save money on fuel why not.hybrid r expensive.if its sold less than jazz hybrid given its spaciousness comparable to vios and almera i think its worth it.probably not worth it for those single with thick pocket racing enthusiast and willing to burn fuel without guilt.