Tata to make its Indonesian debut at 2013 IIMS

Nano
Tata Motors will finally begin its entry into the Indonesian market this September, doing so at the upcoming Indonesian International Motor Show in Jakarta. The Indian automaker will use the show to launch the brand in the country, the Nikkei reports.

It displayed the Nano compact at last year’s show, and had also announced last year its intent to enter the market in 2013. Tata says it plans to have seven to nine models – from compact cars to commercial vehicles – in that market by the end of 2014.

The report didn’t mention which models were slated to enter the market, but the carmaker has a variety of models it can call on besides the ubiquitous Nano, ranging from the Vista, Indica and Safari Storme SUV to the Xenon pickup.

Pricing was also not disclosed, but the report indicates that the Tata offerings will be equal to or cheaper than those for similar Japanese models. The company is aiming to open six dealerships in the country by the end of 2013, with plans to increase the number to 15 next year and to 60 within the next five years.

Tata is also planning to build an assembly plant in Java, and is in the process of establishing a local supplier network to bring the ratio of locally-sourced parts to around 40%, the report added. Indonesia will be the second ASEAN country to begin selling Tata passenger vehicles – the Nano made its ASEAN debut in Myanmar back in May.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spark on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:36 am

I wonder how to perfectly handle this car. very unstable, maybe worst than vivatinmilo

• Beetle Nut on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:13 am

I have two words for the Nano…TA TA!

• CKD Master on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:39 am

Do you think Malaysian will drive this garbage can …

• If priced below RM15k (Approx,given the car actually cost RM7.5k in India + Goverment pocket money to fund their Benzs), I honestly believe some families should ditch their kapchai for one of these. Sure it might not have airbags or any form of safety aids, but you at least have some structure to protect you instead of vice versa.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:14 am

Car is safer than a motorbike no matter how poor the car safety feature is and how advance the bike is.
        And don’t forget, this car can accommodate up to 5 people legally and a lot of poor family I’ve seen used their kap chai as a MPV and felt sorry for them due to high car price, low income and lack of public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • though this car should be very affordable, but i will not welcome it to be launched in malaysia…it’s going to fill up the traffc volume, parking lots, road sides, pesdestrian walkways, …the scene is rather scary n worrying to me..

• suka proton on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:40 am

Viva Replacement model kot…..

• It must be really cheap to gain any form of traction over here.
    Anybody remember the Chana Era CM8?

• mahmud on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:07 am

everyone says this is a crap car. and its true. but for the price, its a real bargain. people on a tight budget and looking for something that isn’t special and can get them from A to B would consider getting this.

• bvc100 on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:04 pm

One wonders how easily one can get this financed and call it affordable.
      I don’t think the monthly payment will be as low as what we think, taking into account one is easily required to pay almost car money for a maxi scooter nowadays.
      The only affordable part is the lower down payment/deposit.
      Please do correct me if i’m wrong.

• Norman on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:57 am

Failure project by India TATA.After fail to capture African and Europe market they try their luck on Indonesian.Think only despo will buy this unsafe and unreliable car.Viva 660 is much more better than this garbage.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 13, 2013 at 2:48 pm

It will be interesting how MITI and JPJ will throw the book at this little roundabout should it ever try to come here. The irony would be now they would use “safty” via lack of airbags to prevent its selling.

Even with taxes, it undercuts the base Viva 660 but a hugh margin. And if TATA assembles this in Indonesia, it will get Asian exemptions as well.

But seriously, I doubt that the Nano will take off here. It will be still too basic for malaysian taste. Even the 24k Viva basic doesn’t sell well.

• chronozome on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:45 pm

This car look bored sh*tless.
    not saying it’s a boring car.

• Haram masuk tanah Malaysia!

• thepolygon on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Come on guys, it’s an affordable 38hp, 624cc car for some families if priced like RM15k. Remember how the original kancil was? Having a maximum speed of 105 kmph is also rather ok.

• The Nano is only meant for third world counties where safety is not a concern. It doesn’t even have a driver’s airbag and ABS, for a car made in the 2010s, this is a total joke.

I understand that the Nano is supposed to be a cheap, no-frills A-to-B car, but there are certain areas where car companies and dealers should never compromise and SAFETY is one of them.

Frankly put, the Nano is only good at keeping the third world population in check by means of natural selection; smart people will work harder (to buy a better car) and avoid the Nano altogether because smart people don’t put price tags on their lives.

• Honestly even the lack of safety features, I seriously doubt that this is any less safer than its main rival, the Honda Hero motorbikes. And this is as fast as the Honda, or maybe even slower. It’s not like they compramise safety, considering they’ve ditch a window wiper for the sake of price reduction, any more electronics safety aids will hamper its affordability. It’s not safe by any stretch of the imagination, but it has a structure around you, and that in every ways is safer than a Honda Hero. Put it this way, back in the 70s where VSC and Airbags were works of fantasy, we didn’t borther, there was a structure around us, that was enough proof that it safe for us than motorcycle.

• Hahahahaha xD

Kesian the Nano. We have to compare it with a kapcai to truly appreciate its redeeming features ! LOL

If it has to be a Nano or a 1996 Kancil (which costs less than RM5k today), I’d still go for the latter any day !

• can go up to genting?? any modification been made to uprate the perfomance? if can surprise vios driver all the way up to genting..orgasme.

• alldisc on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:24 pm

from the company that rescued Jaguar and Land Rover

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:53 am

I dun mind if its 1000cc even if use 2 cylinders engine but seriously the car also in serious trouble if a bike bang it..Body is too soft,Ive touch it during my visit to Mumbai

• javanese on Aug 23, 2013 at 7:18 pm

I believe the Indonesian people still understand about lifestyle. these designs may not be sold. ‘ll see.