Engineer buys Hyundai Starex, gets Veloster for free!

veloster-contest

Buy one car, free one car – some are really that lucky! Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors recently presented the Grand Prize and First Prize to the winners of the “One for Me, One for Mom” contest, held recently in conjunction with Mother’s Day.

Adida Hanim binti Abdul Hanim, 38, was announced the grand prize winner of a new Hyundai Veloster 1.6L (AT) Standard while first prize winner Kiew Sew Peng, 55, drove home a Hyundai i10 Colourz 1.1L. Adida, a process control engineer, bought a Hyundai Grand Starex Royale MPV, while Kiew, a Japanese restaurant owner from Penang, purchased an Elantra MD.

“I was pleasantly surprised when I received the call informing me that I was the grand prize winner. I was so happy and excited. The large MPV is more suitable for a whole family outing and long distance balik kampung trips, whereas the Veloster is not only stylish but an ideal car for everyday use as it’s spacious enough for my small family,” said Anida.

Six others winners of weekly draws will be off to a 6D4N trip to South Korea for two adults and two children. They are Siti Zarina Bt Riduan from Perak, Tan Kim Hock from Sandakan, Sabah, Teh Hui Hoon from Penang, and Tham See Ling and Low Hong Siang from the Klang Valley.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:01 am

Buy one junk, free another junk.

How considerate.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 381 Thumb down 414
    • butthurt junky spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 96
    • Saya pun bawa Maserati on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

jeles la tuu~

Jual boleh dapat duit maa. That money can do investment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • Barrack on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:50 am

All designers deserve respect. Don’t act like a sir if you’re not. You’re just a piece of junk. Don’t put your nickname as Maserati as this is a dishonour to Maserati.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • Maserati(Official) on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:19 am

Its flattering when u copy my name exactly and post on my behalf.Thank you for making me proud!

But anyway,yeah. Buy a piece of a crap,get another piece of crap for free.

Hopefully she sells both the junk fast!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 162 Thumb down 160
    • Japanese car salesman spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 198
      • forza 5 on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Typical Malaysian.. Always angkat hyundai & vios. I’m not a proton user but I’m happy for proton exora bold is more powerful (despite 1.6 vs 2.5), economical (service & maintenance) & cheap rtax & sum insured and don forget 2nd value starex drop more that bold in terms of percentage (look at proton after 5 yrs still people buy 2nd but hyundai?) If proton king of junk that means hyundai is GOD of junk. Why I say that? Coz proton give free kapcai/ rebate worth less than 5k & in aussie give AUD3k replaced with 3 yrs free service. But Hyundai give free a useless car that cost over 100k. Hahahahaha. So long k-pop fans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • 458 is my middle name on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:53 am

if you REALLY own a Maserati, check the engine and see any sign of Maserati engineering in it. Then we know who’s a Junkie Monkey..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • don jon on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:43 pm

u didnt get it dats y u said like that. just jeleous…burned!

• ben yap on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:50 am

are the winners related to Sime Darby or Hyundai staffs?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 14
  • Spark on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:03 am

Starex?better get alphard. ok, this is bargain purchase, so ok lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • She made a wise choice wt her own money, considering the starex is have full 5 yrs/300,000km warranty compared to a recon 2nd hand alphard w/out any warranty what so ever. With brand new vehicles, you can basically have prob free maintenance for at least another 3-4 years w/out any wear and tears replacement. any manufacturer defect are covered during the 5 years. Further more the starex is more powerful wt 400nm of torque compared to an alphard 2.4 pathetic 230nm of torque. FC wise is way better courtesy of its turbodiesel engine. yeap, wise choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
    • But Starex is better in length 5.1m vs Alphard 4.8, and Diesel engine has better torque too 392Nm vs 224Nm (2.4L), 5-speed auto vs 4-speed auto (2.4L, 12 seats vs 7 seats. Under 200k for such big size mpv,it is very suitable and affordable for the middle income big family. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Developing Stupid Gearbox (DSG) on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:34 pm

But… Starex is just a leather wrapped Van! The ride quality is exactly a Van and nothing come close to Alphard actually.

• Saw so many times Starex tapao Alphard on highway.

• For sure ler starex can tapau alphard (the 2.4 version)…take a look at its torque figures and do the maths

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • BLT CLUB on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:06 am

Congrats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • CARtoon on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:46 am

Some people are just born to be loser. And you can spot losers with their sour grape comments. Why can’t we just be happy for other people. What do they gain in their end is their business. After all. They are definitely better off than losers who do nothing but rant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • torque on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:54 pm

You have my utmost respect and we do need more ppl like u in this forum than some useless junkie who calling junk on other ppl fortunes. Perhaps they never heard the phrase, “Others ppl junk but others ppl gold!” or just plain JEALOUS is all I could tell.

• if u always or mostly outstations.. used highway, u will know the powerful MPV.. hyundai starex..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 80
  • Henry on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm

They can’t sell the Veloster. Might as well give it away. LoL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • 6D4N trip?? typo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Maserati(Official) on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Whats so wrong with 6D 4N trip to Korea? Obviously u havent travelled before.

Its 6 days and 4 nights because u would probably be spending 1 Full day travelling to Korea and back to KL. Thats why its 4 nights only.

OMG,still got people that dumb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
      • lol u la funny.. dont even know how long it takes from malaysia to korea.. calling ppl dumb..its even more obvious you never travel before.. 1 full day travelling to korea and back to kl.. sheesh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
        • Maserati(official) on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:22 am

Just admit ur dumb lah. U nvr sat in an overnight flight b4? Omg! U spent one night in the plane. Cant believe how dumb you are Sean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • Hondasalesman on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Even small family also buy big MPV, tax for this type of vehicle should be lower.

• kerepek on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Tahniah semua pemenang! Starex not a bad people mover at all, I test drive with my whole big family an deciding whether to buty

• sideliner on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:10 pm

The guy’s face look like reluctant to give away the grand prize

• the camera-man (danny?) didn’t say “cheese”, so both not smiling.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Naza very generous, toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Naza??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9