Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class – first official photos

gla 1

These are the first photos of the new Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class, which have just appeared on the internet alongside a new teaser video of the car, which you’ll also find below. These new material comes just after a sketch of Mercedes-Benz’s new baby SUV was teased on their Facebook page earlier this week.

The Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class was first teased at Auto Shanghai 2013 as the Mercedes-Benz Concept GLA. It is based on the same new front wheel drive platform that the A-Class, B-Class and CLA-Class is built on, and it will be accompanied by a GLA 45 AMG version as well. Being the new entry level SUV, the GLA-Class will allow the GLK-Class to move upmarket and become larger.

Engine options are likely to be identical to the other cars built on the front wheel drive platform. More details to come when Mercedes-Benz releases full info.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Painter on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:01 am

Going head-to-head with Mini Countryman, I suppose. In terms of look alone, this will surely win the hearts of many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • drrif on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Hmm, isnt it more of a Q3/X1/X3 rival.

Anyway, mini-countryman = ugly = looks like a mini with some sort of obesity disease..

• GSGOH_64 on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:12 am

Definitely my next car… but how much would it cost? Hopefully not more than 300K, of course if those taxes go away that would be much more appealing!

• Mercedes-benz had some recent success in the design department; the CLS shooting break just waters my mouth. The A-class is just a smack in the face gorgeous. The S-class, I have my doubts at first, but after looking at the videos is just ozzess sophistication and oppulance. We also have the facelifted E-class, thou I’am not liking it, but I see no reason to hate it. This, they’ve kinda lost it. The front is not anywhere pretty, just borderlining okay but the rear is just Fugly. So from the pictures alone, no, not at all pretty IMVHO.

• Toffeeman on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

SO how much is it going to cost in Boleh Land? At the rate that CLA is going to arrive in Malaysia (despite launches are already being made in Singapore and Thailand), this car likely to arrive at our shore earliest 2016? Somehow MBM puts us very low in priority.

• Awsome Beast !

• frenzyaustin on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:37 am

A beefed up A-Class!!! But actually it beefed quite nicely, very fierce looking and sporty, unlike fugly Macan or BMW. Mercedes Benz do design sporty car these days and not old man mobile anymore.

• Sick&tired on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:40 am

Is this a x1 or x3 competitor? Either way its a better looking car!

• Kuinosan on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:51 am

Interesting design and model from the Tristar brand. Looks quite robust and could tackle some off road ventures when called upon. My concern is still the pricing, I can’t see this model selling any cheaper than the Land Rover Evouqe. So there you go, another new toy for the rich!!!

• The exterior and interior design are so much similar to A-class ! The exterior looks good ( A-class steroid ), but compare with Evouque interior this looks very much boring !

• GT Fan on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Great looking SUV.

Mercedes is really successful in ditching its uncle image.

• I really really like this one but I only have a pocket full of sunshine