Audi A8 facelift to get sequential LED turn indicators

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Kipl25WIhE?rel=0

Part of the third-gen Audi A8 facelift‘s Matrix LED headlamp technology are sequentially-illuminating LED turn indicators, which Ingolstadt says will make the driver’s turning intentions clearer in poor visibility and from long distances.

Each headlamp contains 18 light-emitting diodes arranged in a strip that is sub-divided into seven blocks. Each tail lamp contains 24 LEDs in eight segments, which are used to dynamically indicate the turning direction.

When the driver indicates, the blocks are sequentially activated at 20 millisecond intervals, from the inside outwards in the desired turning direction. After 150 milliseconds, all segments are bright; for another 250 milliseconds they illuminate with full intensity. Then the indicators go dark before the sequence is repeated.

The carmaker has officially confirmed that the Audi A8 facelift will be going to Frankfurt next month – visit www.audimedia.tv on August 21 at 9.00 am CEST (3.00 pm Malaysian time) to watch the online reveal. Click here for teaser videos, here for spyshots and here to learn more about Audi’s Matrix LED headlamps.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• let the light shows begin..

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Wonder how long Audi engineers had to crack their heads to think of that one…. oh we’ve tried LED DRL lights …. then….LED headlamps, now what? hmmmm.

Now all Audi needs to think of is Headlights that change colour in response to ambient and weather conditions. As we all know, HIDs’ 6000K light is horrid in bad weather. Yep, you heard it here first.

• Ah Beng Kia on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Ah Beng lights la. Running LEDs. I buy escol electronic kit cheaper la

• Furqan on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm

SO its kinda like the Ford Mustang’s rear signal lights?

• Yups. Ford Mustang GT, Shelby GT500, Chevrolet Camaro, Chevrolet Corvette and few other American cars already uses sequential indicator rear light.

• tunggu_gaji on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:27 pm

I always wonder when car manufacturers will implement brake light which changes its intensity with the amount of braking imposed by the driver.. brighter red and flashing when emergency braking.. this way drivers behind can actually react faster…

• steamy puff on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm

It already exists. On BMW and a few other cars.

• tunggu_gaji on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:31 pm

really? have tailgated a lot of bmw’s but never seen this in action… and why this feature not mentioned in their website?

• You don’t see it because the BMW you tail gated didn’t slam on the brake hard enough. Gentle stepping will not trigger the brake light intensity change.

• tailgater -.-

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Bodoh…!

You tailgate people, how are they gonna slam the brakes and let you see the brake lights in action WITHOUT having you slamming into their asses…? And if they slam their brakes and you slam on their asses enough to damage the tail lights, how to see…? You’ll see RED but not from their tail lights but from your wallet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • ganeson on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

This is being looked at by most german automakers. They have passed a european law to allow this under the UN ECE car regulations. It should just be a matter of time. P.S. a certain malaysian company is also working on this but for city bus not car…

• Autokennzeichen on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:57 pm

it’s still no use and consider as ‘accesories’ if malaysian drivers dont know how to use blinker when change lane or turn left/right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • venven81 on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:08 pm

well said there Autokennzeichen. looking at the way most Malaysians drive really make me puke blood! how blardy difficult is it for them to put on the turn signal?!??! gosh…!

• ahbenworkshop on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

come to all ah beng workshop and cars in malaysia… i envision a future where even the red tail lamp will blink blink

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:12 pm

You must be living in the past then… :P

Plenty of ah beng’s with lower 3rd (or it that 4th) F1 style blinkie brake lights.

• Not relevant in Malaysia. 90% of drivers don’t know what the turn signal switch is for.

• agree with you. They should go back to Driving Skill Institute & Research .

• zamer on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:06 pm

who are “they”? including you?
        dont blame others..blame yourself because you, me and others are the same.

• Nazrul on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:19 am

Believe it or not, I was dreaming on this idea of sequential turn indicators way back when I was 12. Can’t believe it came true after all. Creativity you see, it always haunt you.

• stranger on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Nothing special…
    Mercedes Benz CLA signal lamp even nicer
    Go search:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEO8zy1oBHA