2013 Toyota Vios now open for booking in Malaysia

All-New-Toyota-Vios

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for launch report

We all know that the Malaysian launch of the 2013 Toyota Vios is just around the corner, but it’s good to have confirmation. UMW Toyota has done so by putting up a new cover picture on the Toyota Malaysia Facebook page, and we’ve just received a press release announcing that new Vios is now open for booking, ahead of its official launch in October.

Most importantly, estimated prices have been announced too, ranging from RM73,200 for the base 1.5J manual to RM93,200 for the range topping 1.5 TRD Sportivo. Check out how each variant’s new price compares to that of the equivalent outgoing car in the table below.

2013_Toyota_Vios_Malaysia_Price

The new model carries a tag line of “Value Beyond Belief”, featuring “class above fuel economy and high performance along with the safety and durability that Toyota is known for.” Also claimed is an interior with high quality materials, a more spacious cabin with improved legroom, larger trunk capacity, plus enhanced comfort and handling stability.

Earlier this month, we showed you scans of the Malaysian Vios spec sheet along with pics of the local spec cars, as posted on our sister classifieds site oto.my. As confirmed today, five variants are to be introduced – the baseline 1.5J in both manual and auto guise, a 1.5E, 1.5G auto and a range-topping 1.5 TRD Sportivo version.

vios fb teaser

Common to all trim levels is the familiar 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE, which produces 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, paired to the tried and trusted four-speed auto (or five-speed manual in the 1.5J MT).

We now have the official local spec/equipment breakdown as well as the kit list, which includes new things like a push start button and the optional touch-screen DVD-AVN unit with reverse camera and voice command. More details here, or check out the full spec sheet, including comparison between all five variants, in the gallery below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lust.for.toyota on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:29 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 486
    • Md Zahid on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:45 am

Typical Toyota salesman. All jealous Koreans have eaten their marketshare. In 10 yrs, Koreans have eater what Toyota took 50 years to build in Malaysia. All the donkey UMW salesman know this. They are so scared. Because judging how the Koreans are growing so fast, Toyota will lose marketshare as leader in another 10 years. Toyota salesman are the lowest scum of society. They love to come online and bash the Koreans because of their panic and fears of losing sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 387 Thumb down 59
      • Ah Beng on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:01 am

Both cars are shit anyway but what to do, Malaysian’s can only afford this type of cars at such high prices to protect the bigger local made shits!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 44
        • tell greedy umw to decrease price like honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 7
          • You sir, hit the nail in the head. UMW Toyota is the main culprit, for years shortchanging Malaysian with poor specifications in the name of “value”.
            Their accountants have a big say on what final specs of a car can be, to go for the biggest margin possible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 6
        • salambangi on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:53 am

Typical Ah Beng. Never stops lamenting. This Ah Beng is NOT a typical honest Malaysian car buyer. Car salesmen and distributors should ignore this creature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 52
          • Ah Beng on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Halooo

Toyota and Hyundai are not Malaysian car and if that is not what you implied then how do you know what is a typical honest Malaysian car Buyer? You expert and authority for every Malaysian here ah?
            Try and grow a brain lar woi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
      • narakka on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:06 am

good resale value bullshit price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 10
      • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 300
        • Vader on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:17 am

Both Korean and Japan cars also have pro and con.. So, enjoy your life, just buy the car you like the most..
          Obviously the Korean car buyers are not the fools, but surely you are not the smart one!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 10
        • Tan Seng Chee on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Maserati (Official) talks rubbish all the time. In every posting, he gets thumbs down because he talks rubbish. He is the new Sam Loo. Love to condemn and irritate people. Clearly he is nothing but a low life Toyota salesman. Love to bad mouth all others with lies just to make a few bucks here and there

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 7
          • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 213
        • The Judge on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:51 pm

And yet from your handle you hero-worship the Italians. May what kind of hypocritical twit you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:03 am

On the contrary, I see more sorhais trading in their 1 year plus Forte and Elantra for Vios.

If they are willing to settle for a smaller car, which is by far more reliable, losing 50% of the kimchi’s value, that will tell you the kind of experience they are facing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 84
        • NoobJap1945 on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Only idiots will stick to Japs outdated junk. Pros will have much wiser choice.

• Tan Seng Chee on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Those who buy Toyota are generally people with low self esteem. Why buy from a company who took out VSC in the Camry just to make a few bucks more at the expense of your life???!!!

Yes, UMW Malaysia, the crony company with billions actually took out VSC in the Camry just to reap more profits. All over the world, the Camry got VSC. They consciously took out the VSC to make more $$$. As you can see by Paultan’s article, VSC is so important and your life can be seriously at risk without it. So, you pay RM180,000 to get a car that puts your life at risk. Might as well buy a Saga.

So, this is the company people are buying from. A dishonest crony company. Because of online hantaming, they got scared and offered the VSC because sales was plummeting big time.

You want to buy from a company like this? A company that does not care a crap for your life? Yes Toyota buyers have low self esteem!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 495 Thumb down 53
        • pathfinder on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I couldn’t be more agree….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Well Said Bro!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • Yo bro, the new Camry got VSC la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
          • They just offer it after kene hantam in cyber world….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
          • country man on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:46 pm

So what? How about those who have purchased the cars earlier? I am sure they still feel cheated! right? Be it the the older or newer models, they should not have removed it. Camry and U M W reputation are long GONE! Wait for the New Accord ,make toyota a history !

• country man on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:53 pm

so what? its too late. they have sold a number of it,and sales have drop like shit. they deserved it and served them right. Wait for the new accord lah !

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:04 am

You guys must be those sorhais that have made an instinctive kimchi purchase.

I understand. Been there, done that, suffered the humiliation and learned an expensive lesson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 74
        • but..but i bought a prius hi spec

• hidup mesti macam orang kaya raya on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

Ohh yeah ayam buying a nearly RM100k Vios and continue staying in my 10years old government aid 600ft2 low cost flat PPR.

I had upgraded my lifestyle and my asset too, had you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
    • Don't understand on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:56 am

Exterior looks just like Proton Saga. In any case don’t know why Malaysian still want to pay close to RM100K for 3rd world car models like this.

Stop getting ripped off by UMW and our government! BN promise car price will drop 20%-30% if they win GE2013 but every new launches and facelifts car price still going upwards!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 15
      • dewaSemut on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Not to mention its safety features is more or less the same with Proton Saga

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • Well, in Msia what choice we have?

Either spend RM50k for the so-called “National Car” or spend more for the rest lor..

Malaysia memang boleh !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • powershot on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:47 pm

I have no idea on what basis you state your claims.

In terms specs, build quality and reliability definitely the elantra & cerato wins hands downs compared to this new vios.

I own a Kia, Toyota, proton & perodua (Kia was quite recently).

The build quality & reliability of a regionally assembled toyota are only similar albeit slightly better than a proton and perodua.

the new cerato build quality for eg. in terms of NVH insulation are definitely better than the ford focus & I can dare say on par with a BMW 5 series.

I state these claims based on experience; my family own these cars & it is easy to make a comparison & make a sound judgement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 18
      • zend3r on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Bro. Your statement is quite brave. On par wif 5 series? Cerato is ok but def not on par wif 5 series. Unless u r comparing to some 5 series model from 20 years ago then yes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • powershot on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Yeah, cause I myself experienced it. the car was a 2011 F10 523i.

Guess you have to try it to believe it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:57 pm

maybe on par with E39 lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • zend3r on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:43 pm

yeah.

might as well call himself KoreanCarno1diehardbrainlessfans instead of powershot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Cerrato is on par with 5 series? Like WOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

This statement might be true for the first 6 months.

Thereafer, when you send the vehicles for valuation, be prepared to shout hailat when they tell you how much the rotten cabbage is worth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • Toy Yoda on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm

With same old engine & tranny this Vios should qualify only as a facelift model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:53 pm

UMW should give special discounts of 7% to Bumiputera buyers. Something like Bumiputera house buyers getting 7% discount when they buy a house. I hope UMW can implement this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 65
    • Cant believe this kind of useless car is so expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…this car design is nicer except the features and PRICE.

• dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:10 pm

UMW can sell this car to museum negara. Stone age engine and gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • lust.for.toyota on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 277
    • steven on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:54 am

Dude, the car you compare is definitely from different segment. please compare apple with apple.
      FYI, VIOS is only B-segment car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
      • Vader on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

Don’t bother him, he just live in his own dream.
        Majority of the toyota salesman having the same behavior..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 3
    • MycarMylife on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:08 am

At this high asking OTR pricing , it will be harakiri ( seppuku )and very soon UMW will be offering discounts next year after the Toyota diehard fans have faded .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • artworks on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:24 pm

u will killed in accident because vios lack of safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Stupid Toyota on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Wake up. Still early.

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:07 am

Many of my customers have traded in their C Segment Elantra for a B Segment Vios.

What does that say about kimchis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • phahmeen on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Dont even know the car segment but talk cr*p…haha….

• It just goes to show :

1) Toyota thinks Malaysians are fools that will buy anything as long as its branded.

2) Toyota ASEAN group is pretty stupid. The Mitsubishi which is RM 65-70k beats it flat.

3) Malaysians are a bunch of morons if they bought this over the competition. So blinded by brand that they are willing and proud to be driving ancient unworthy tech.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 121
  • To be very honest, it’s one hell of an improvement on looks, and I can actually tolerate that ancient 1.5l + 4-speed powerplant. But no VSC or any form of additional safety system (even on the 1.3% price increased TRD Sprotive pack) put this on my ‘not-recomemnded at the slightest’ list.

Hmmm, no comments at time of writting, better grab those popcorns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 27
    • http://cache.blippitt.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Popcorn-02-Stephen-Colbert.gif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Nutty blonde on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:29 pm

I agree with you AVH….if only they had the VSC/ESC/VSA safety feature, I would turn a blind eye to the ancient engine. I mean come on la, Honda City has had it for years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Honda Power on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Yeah, even Honda City E spec has Vehicle Stability Asisst (VSA). Honda Malaysia gives 5 years warranty but UMW Toyota only gives 3 years warranty. Obviously, Honda is a better buy than Toyota in Malaysia. Almost 9,000 bookings for Honda cars last month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • The only qualms I have with the city is that at any speed, its like an concerto of sound inside with anything outside being the instruments. You really don’t buy Honda for its NVH, they are the worst in that respect. But other than that I’am loving it. Sad to gotten ours at a time where Honda gave only 3 years for the warranty. But I’am not regretting, everything on that car is living up to our expectation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

Japanese consider Malaysian life very cheap ma. Even Camry first launch no VSC ma.
      Japanese feel we Malaysian more concern for bigger spoiler, bigger sport rim and sport seats. Airbag, VSC etc… not important. If can trade in seat belts and brakes for a bigger rim we would do it. After all most Malaysian don’t wear seat belt ma. Why need them.
      Our bodies and head build very stong one. Mo tuck teng la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:55 pm

But unfortunately, it’s true.
        People tends to spend money on visual kit then a low spec higher segment car.

• John Tan on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Re-skined with 1nz-fe & 4 speeder. This is a old lady with nice body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • country man on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:17 pm

this old lady still serviceable,why not after all Malaysian are stupid do not know anything about cars. UMW and the Japs are smarter,at least they think!

• john n on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:38 am

im ahbeng and i love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • Not bad about the price consider it had to pay f$#%*g amount of duty excise charges..Average Joe like me can accept this…But still could not compete on features Preve are offering with such price…minus terrible Quality standard of course…I’ll let my money choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • Thai vios onli rm16k higher for highest spec..maybe thai vios oso overprice..non of vios variant cost lower than rm50k in thai

• So pricy for the car like this segment……but overall is a nice looking car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:41 am

Most variants got price increment… what a rip off for an outdated but with ONLY cosmetic changes car. Boringggg…next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • pooyu on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:47 am

Hi handsome car… bole berkenalan..:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 48
  • Ugly a bit…prefer the current generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
  • phahmeen on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:50 am

what with u people who said kill this car kill that car?….every car maker has their own fans…u want to buy, u buy…u dont want…u buy other car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
  • Takatohou on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:58 am

Guess 5-speed manual variant will be a better buy since no improvement in safety & performance features and just merely cosmetic improvement. Still, Toyota did a great job in changing the boring and outdated look for Vios. And thanks for preserving the manual variant, suitable for manual-driving family like mine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Dugong Rider on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:59 am

There is something very wrong here. Why are they using a brown car for all their marketing material? Does it mean they are not selling the nice red version?????

• hafizrahim on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

Better than almera and preve..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 83
    • Honda Power on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

But worst than Honda City E spec which is sleeker and has 5 speed auto, ABS, EBD, BA and VSA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Everilyn Khui on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:14 am

old car with makeup, like micheal jacksan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • iluvloyola on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:16 am

Front bumper too thick. Back too round. Interior average. safety feature below average. Tq for reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Maserati (official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

Very very good car! Expect this car to set new sales record! Cant wait!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 68
  • carazy on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

4 speed auto some more.. what an old tech again. grown up toyoda!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • UMW want to beat Preve hatchback tomorrow launch date ….by offering buyers to book this boring vios with dinasore engine and transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • what do you think preve suprima engine perform any better? drink petrol like a thirsty camel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • that’s because its power to weight ratio. if the preve weight is lesser like saga/vios, it will be more fuel efficient

• … and RIP the famous Dugong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • tokyoprotocol on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:33 am

But but gomen promises us car prices would be lower. What’s with the hike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Funky Boy on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:36 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 111
  • gonggok on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:42 am

Hahahaha before anyone says ‘aiyahh the price so high due to tax bla bla bla’ may i remind you the JAPAN IMPORTED CBU Suzuki SX4 sells for the same price as the top spec locally assembled Vios (93K). The price has less to do with taxes and more to do with ensuring an big fat profit…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • namanama on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:42 am

total rip off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Michael Lee on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

No digital aircond control for G and TRD?? come on, Thailand Vios G spec only cost about RM73,500 with digital aircond control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • I told you so. TRD Sportivo selling at 94k with 2 airbags and no ESP/ESC/VSC. 94k car with 15″ rims?? LOL best joke ever from Toyota.

Toyota dont even bother about safety anymore. they only want profit from idiots buying the car.

hey even the new proton hatchback has 6 airbags, ESP, 17″ rim and all the gadgets.

People, stop trusting toyota! lets teach them a lesson here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
  • crap price.. full spec with 4 speed auto price almost RM100K.. good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

This will be the best selling car of 2014, along with Mazda 3. Which one would i choose? Of course the unbeatable Mazda 3.

Here are some reasons:
    1. Performance equals the likes of 3 series, C class at half its price
    2. Driving experience is top notch, rivaled only by 3 series
    3. High tech engine. The engine will be the envy of all German marques, soon you will see the likes of BMW and VW trying to copy the sky active engine.
    4. Unbeatable after sales service. Never I was disappointed with their after sales service. Whenever I need help, the SA would call me immediately to followup
    5. Looks great! The car is a head turner and wouldn’t look out of place when parked next to Ferrari or Lamborghini.
    6. Value for money – one of the best value a car can get and also the resale value is rivaled only by dugong

So there you go, the reasons why you must wait for a true drivers car and all the reasons why Korean has failed so far (the opposite of what was listed)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 75
    • Vader on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:25 am

It seems that all reasons are from your own thinking.
      Rest more, don’t think too much.. lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:46 am

Thank you for providing some comic relief for this lazy Fri morning :) Someone is living in his dreamland :D

• Fairozee Hashim on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:26 pm

OMG! I just can’t… HAHAHAHAHA…

• Mazda 3 is FWD. Another one on par with BMW? What are these people smoking?

• sellerB on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:37 am

those are desperate salesman, don’t believe them at all course

• azhar on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:54 am

very minimal increase..not normal from toyota..haha

• LOL. Pathetic mother putting an ugly looking new clothes for her mutant child.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawi on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:56 am

I love their tagline. Value beyond belief. How funny is that? It is incomplete, it should be bad value beyond belief. And then they stress the safety of this car… Safety as you’d expect it from Toyota. As in poor safety? The Preve HB is rated as 5 star ANCAP. This could at most achieve 4 stars, probably will be more in the 2 or 3 star region, despite being a smaller segment car and thus not being rated as harsh as the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawa on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm

same goes to suprima “built-in value” tagline, whatever that means. it’s still a proton crap anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Its a scam. Should have been ” Incredibly Poor Value Beyond Believe!!!”

• Looks like UMW is up to its old tricks again by not offering safety improvements during model changes. Later when well-informed prospects tell them that most cars at that price range have moved on with stability control and/or more than dual-airbags, they will come out with an “enhanced” and “better value” spec with all those safety features a year later.
    Well, that’s only wishful thinking on my part because the truth is most Vios buyers puts RV and so-called bragging rights of owning a Toyota on top of safety. I am wrong? Then tell me why UMW still offering refacelifted versions of the same car introduced 10 years ago, if its customer base is really a demanding lot in terms of safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • rulered on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:16 am

Expect lots of ‘facelifts’ and minor ‘upgrades’ in 6 months onwards.

• amigos on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:18 am

have to admit..this catfish looks better then dugong.:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • iluvbios on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:20 am

loyola tactic: new old just ‘improved’ a bit, rv of old model is good.

Kimci: new model very advanced. Everybody ditch old model. Rv drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • If everybody ditch the old model, shouldn’t Toyota be makin more money because people will buy new ones? The RV for old value will drop, not the new car. It doesn’t affect Toyota. What kinda logic is this?

• Gokul on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:34 am

So much hate for this car and I understand why.. It looks nice, but then, the price, old engine and tranny, and below par kits is the let down.. Still gonna sell like hot cake la.. They wouldn’t care even if UMW spread some kaya on their asses..

P.S: Remember, the cake is a big fat lie from UMW ;)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:35 am

“The new model carries a tag line of “Value Beyond Belief”, featuring “class above fuel economy and high performance along with the safety and durability that Toyota is known for.” Also claimed is an interior with high quality materials, a more spacious cabin with improved legroom, larger trunk capacity, plus enhanced comfort and handling stability.”

ESC also don’t have. Side airbag also don’t have. What safety?

And high performance, from the SAME 1NZ-FE engine from 2004?

o.O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:44 am

the 1NZ-FE 1.5L dates back to 2001. It was already in the 1st gen Vios and the 2001 Yaris. It was also found in the G9 Hipporolla that SG market used to have.
      It’s a 12 yr old engine going to 13 yrs old next yr. But to Toyota, this is considered progress already. Direct Injection, high compression ratio, dual cam Valve lifts are all too exciting for Toyota customers already… :( And they can’t tell the difference between Direct Injection and forced induction anyway so why bother?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:49 pm

2001?

Even better.

(Wrote 2004, since it came under this Vios name on that year)

• shawal on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:37 am

15′ inch rims …??? wtf…
    If you must have a japan badge wait till what honda brings next year …the next city will outsell this eventually

for that kind of money its better to look elsewhere
    A car is your 2nd biggest investment after your house , choose wisely…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • farghmee on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:38 am

Aiyoo..safety itu saje ke?
    Bg la 4airbags ke, esp ke skali.

Bab rupa tu mmg aku berkenan dh.

Nk duk kt dlm, test selesa ke x seat blkg tu.
    Vios skrg ni aku rasa xsedap lgsg duk blkg, tegak je rasa.

• ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:40 am

Seriously pple, I find it amazing that so many of you are getting so excited about the release of a brand new ‘old car’!
    Seriously the new Vios is slower than the old Dugong, constuction is still equally tin can, and it cost significantly more than the Dugong
    Think about it, if you own a Vios now, you throw it away and buy the same car again?! Can that year 2001 1NZ-FE 1.5L be even competitive in today’s world? 4AT?! No paddle shifters? The aircon, even the top of the line auto climate control version, still can’t direct airflow to the feet area. Its a bluntant cost cutting measure by Toyota period.
    And I still don’t see how that old 1st gen Vios chassis can be made competitive in 2014! This new Vios is still built on the original Vios chassis, which in turn was nothing more than a stretch early 2000s Yaris chassis.
    And in today’s world where everyone talks about offering more safety features in cars, the new Vios still cant be had with 6 airbags… and one have to buy a high spec model to enjoy rear disc brakes.:(
    The new Vios G model is selling for the same price as the new Forte K3! Some kind of a joke right? We can’t even get factory HU in SG market Vios
    Brand loyalty is one thing, but being blind and pay through your nose just to stick to a sinking brand is ridiculous.
    Our local spec Forte K3 has everything in the book. Until Vios starts to offer 6 airbags, factory reverse cam, lane departure warning, VSC/traction control, 6AT with paddle shifters, Valvematic engine, auto parking system, auto HID headlamps/wipers, 17″ wheels etc… while still be able to pull 14km/L, then its worth the $$…

else the market belongs to Korea these days… The Vios is so ‘good’ that I can’t even see one on SG road these days…but I already saw a few Forte K3 on the road already :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • bro…thanks for ur usefull explaimnation! not like others talking rubbish only like Maserati…

• NOT Happy =( on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:47 am

Mr.Sam Loo,what is this bullshit from Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:10 am

I specialize in trading used kimchis.

Yet I use a Camry and have 2 Hilux parked near the entrance gate of my yard.

Just have to point at the Hilux when kimchi owners tries to bargain for a higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Semua kereta akan naik harga sampai 2017, kemudian by 2018 just before G.Election price turun semula 20%. Actually sebenarnya tiada penurunan pun. Inilah strategi kerajaan yang amat bijak menipu rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
  • odd job worker on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:12 pm

no matter what you guys/girls say, I gonna book this junk vios for myself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 30
  • Datuk Jack. on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:22 pm

when i saw the price i tod it was the BN gov so cruel on us, but when i check on VIOS price in SINGAPORE, INDONESIA and THAILAND is no more doubt that is TOYOTA it self are cruel to their customer.

this shit old technology car are well received because merely of the TOYOTA batch. nothing to shout on safety,spec or value added. people buy this car is those people who always think they are smart even though they are not.

if i’m a future car buyer, i’ll never consider this B segment car in my list. probably i’ll take my money and spend it for saga FLX 1.6 and settle the loan within 3 years.

who hell on earth buying this junk at that price and only afford with 9 years loan are retard in math calculation. listen to me, take ur money and invest it on something can help u in future..

FYI this most welcome JUNK by AH Beng, ALI and MUTHU are sold at below price in country as below:

INDONESIA
    E/MT Rp. 242.500.000,001.5
    E A/TRp. 252.000.000,001.5
    G M/TRp. 259.900.000,001.5
    G A/TRp. 272.500.000,00 –
    See more at: http://www.toyota.co.id/price-list

SINGAPORE
    Vios 1.5G (ALL-NEW) – Sedan ‘G’ Auto SGD124.988.00
    Vios 1.5E (ALL-NEW) – Sedan ‘E’ Auto SGD120,988.00

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/vios/price.aspx

THAILAND
    S AT 734,000 Baht
    G AT 699,000 Baht

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=vios&opt=grades

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Forte K3 1.6SX is selling at just $118k in SG… Vios G costs $125k… LOL… Rem hor, our Forte is loaded to the brim, other than factory GPS, we have everything and I mean everything in the option list. vented and heated front seats are standard, and the driver seat is powered with 2 mem settings.. (actually using the same module as Optima, Sportage, Sorento etc)

If you think the Vios is commanding ridiculous $$ in SG, wait till you see the Avanza in SG… yes that superbly POS Avanza 1.5S is somehow on sale in SG… esp in a time where our COE $$ went through the roof.. The Avanza cost a whopping S$127k… our Toyota dealer said Avanza is gunning for VW Tiguan in terms of quality, drivability and desirably factor..!!!! Its this kind of sheer arrogance and ignorance into believing that anything with a T badge is ‘invincible’ that lead to the T badge downfall in SG. LOL

Geezz makes me wonder what kind of pot were they smoking when they made the decision to import that POS Avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Nenek Jack on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:25 pm

You telling us better buy Saga FLX?

You must be an idiot or a fool or both!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • nenek jack sark on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:47 pm

You are the pathetic proton basher right?
        long time no read.
        Please bash preve or suprima s. Tell to the whole world it only achieved 5 stars in Aust NCAP safety rating. Not 10,000 stars like your fav car. Oh and Suprima S got 6 airbags, not 50 airbags like yours, LOL

• Nenek Jack on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:42 pm

5 stars ANCAP but 2 stars quality overall by Car Advice Australia….hmmm something is wrong lah wahahahaha!

• powershot on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:09 pm

if you can afford it. go ahead buy the vios.

But, if you need a ridiculous 9 year loan to get a lousy car;

then. you’re better off with saga FLX 1.6 with a 3 or 5 year loan.

trust me, the so called fuel save + reliability + low maintenance that you thought you’ll get when buying a vios would never offset the overall cost of ownership of getting the car including the extra premium you paid compared to owning a local car.

plus, this vios is practically locally made to; quality wise is just similar. tin milo ;)

• Datuk Jack. on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

i’m not telling u to buy Saga FLX, i’m giving example.

people buying SAGA FLX is not idiot or fool, infact their know value of their hard earned money..

people like u are retard when calling others people who having difference opinion than you as idiot/fool.. go ahead if die hard fans/ salesman of toyota, but don’t call other idiot/fool it juz make u look more idiot/fool + retard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • gOOsh on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:27 pm

i think better to get Suprima S…. “fully loaded with build-in value”…
    with 6 airbags, lotus handling, android touch screen + radio + gps + 4G wifi, reverse camera, auto headlamp, auto wiper, and so on…
    my 2cent…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:32 pm

I LMAO when i read ““Value Beyond Belief”, featuring “class above fuel economy and high performance along with the safety and durability that Toyota is known for.”

It should read “Con job Beyond Belief”, featuring “Below class technology and high price that Toyota is known for.”

Never trust Toyota’s tagline such as “Moving forward”. It should read “Moving Backward” or “Not Moving Anywhere”.

Did I hear Britney Spears say “I don’t want one” for the Vios? I bet she is now singing “Cheat me, baby, one more time!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • It should be “Resale Value Beyond Belief”, thanks to hard core Toyota fans who keep buying the same car/engine over and over again and pushing the resale value up. They bash proton for selling the old, outdated saga for 30 years, but they dont realize that they’re actually buying the same model for 2 decades. I pity Malayians. But, what can we do? We’re poor and resale value tops the list.

• foxtrot on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:37 pm

holy crap of a price & spec,
    even honda city has vehicle stability assist (esp) & 5 spd auto box

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 2
  • alxtkt on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:47 pm

remember all new camry case? lets just hope it does not re-launch few months later with added safety feature of vsa/esp in additional of on few ringgits.

even honda city comes with vsa.

• ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:07 pm

unlikely your Vios E and G models are exactly the same as SG market ones… and we’re already got the ‘fully loaded’ models from Thailand.

The only thing different is the locally fitted 2DIN HU with GPS in that 2DIN hole.. and it looked damn ugly to begin with

• look at this cearly safety fail
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oH6pSnyQbMY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ah-Beng Poyo on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Toyota Vios is AHBENG CAR!!!! try to drive fast think they are fast and have good handling…ohhhh please…. people who buy VIOS HAS NO TASTE!!! THATS WHY VIOS male owners r not attracting enough to LADIES! booo…..

• raoul on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:11 pm

you so outdated that you must still be an Ah Beng..thinking all ladies will be won by looking at your car. I may drive a Kancil but I stay at Mont Kiara Condo and can travel all over the World on my own expenses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Bro, kancil is much better than vios. What are you talking about here?

• frenzyaustin on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm

93K for this is plan pathetic! If I want a Toyota I can get a Prius C. Better spec, better FC, better quality, Made In Japan vs Made In Thailand. Nearly everthing about Prius C is better than not so new Vios, except boot space.
    Current City is also better than “new” Vios, no need to say upcoming Fit based which come with a DCT or 6 speed MT.

• ss427 on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:09 pm

That Prius C is nothing more than a Yaris hybrid… everything is based on the Yaris…

The dash looks like some mid 80s Toyota…

• 427ss on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:14 pm

80s dash? Proton still selling it now aka. Saga

• proton lover on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:27 pm

I think proton dash is nice, simple but better than 80s toyota dash.. did u just back to malaysia looking at iswara dash or flx dash?? wake up la bro… flx dash much better lah.. tak pening kepala maa..

• azhar on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:58 pm

agreed!..current city still a much better purchase than this new vios..better safety+paddle shift+5 speed gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • kadajawa on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Suprima vs Vios….who will top the sales chart 2013-2014????

• Kecewa on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:46 pm

I would say Suprima. Compare what you pay and what you get. Don forget the tax you are paying.

• peyno on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Almera???? out oredi???
      but i heard.. proton is comparing suprima with peugeot, ford fiesta and Mazda 3… no vios in the list

prrrtfhhhh

• No matter how dated the engine or how ugly the car is, it’s still a Toyota and will soon flood Malaysian roads, and that will be the truth sad enough. People buy Toyota because of their renowned brand image and low fuel consumption (which is actually pretty much proven to be), and relatively high resale value. Most don’t really look into the specs sheet to check whether it has all those bells and whistles that other manufacturers include in their products, say Hyundai or Kia. Although I really have to admit that this Vios is pretty much underspeced and way too overpriced for a B segment, it will still be selling like hot cakes. Anyway, I would say that the design looks sharper than the previous gen. UMW could’ve done a better job, VSA should not be excluded, and the engine is really way too old, almost 10 years I guess (I own a first gen facelifted Vios G to be honest, and it’s still in tip top condition). Some innovation needed, Toyota.

• Kecewa on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:43 pm

I would not spend my hard earn money to buy a T logo. I should study what I will get for how much I spend on the car and Joy of driving.

• Seksa on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm

I would rather not buy a Proton a car for losers and become laughing stock for my entire family, village and office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
      • I can create new Malay proverb based on your comment. From “Biar papa asal bergaya” to “Biar mati asal dalam kereta T”, kekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Kecewa on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:59 am

Your decision to buy a car because you worry become laughing by your family, village and office. OMG. Never heard this type of consumer behavior before… weird

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • brian on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:02 pm

believe me. excise duty charge is same as nissan almera.

• Same engine, same Gearbox but with different shell only @_@

• Vios, not say no good…still Toyota! (haha,toyota salesman happy).easy to get parts,repair…i owned Kia K3 now…totally different feeling la !so…vios just can say is normal use car…standard still cant compare with elantra and K3! still got different between B and C segment car…if i own the vios now,confirm that i wont change this new vios….coz same feeling! haha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:12 am

Just wait till your kimchi kwai tai in the middle of the road. You would have wished that you were driving a reliable sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • please la u… dont be a same gang with Maserati la…people laugh die u, give this rubbish comment!

• Kuinosan on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:07 pm

This car is a textbook example of an old lady with hot looks after going through extensive plastic surgery and Botox treatment. Look close enough and you will see the tell tale signs of the actual dinosaur age of the product. 1.5L with 4 Speed gearbox and withou all the latest and essential safety features like VSC, ESP, etc. But the funniest of all, these Toyota craze followers are still willing to buy these obsolete cars??? Toyota must be laughing all the way to the bank with these foolish buyers cash.
    As for those, who still insist that the latest generation Korean cars are not worthy, you don’t know what you are missing. As the rest of the world are finding out how good these Korean cars actually are. Look at the range of Hyundai cars and also Kia with models such as The Pro’Ceed, The Soul, The Forte, The Cerato and fascinatingly,the latest Picanto.
    Say what you want, but facts are facts. Hyundai and Kia are currently the 4th largest car producers in the World, where as Toyota continues as the largest producers of vehicles which includes commercial vehicles too.
    So there you have it, my 2 cents on the topic. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Mamasan on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Work harder and stop being a loser only afford to drive a Proton for the rest of your life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
      • and bmw owner will say to toyota owner..work even harder so you wont be a loser and own toyota for life

• Kuinosan on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Ha..ha..totally agree with you. I think if an individual were to always assume others driving a Proton deemed a loser. Then I personally feel that this individual is utterly shallow and stupid. I personally had the pleasure of meeting some low profile individuals that actually lives in a bungalow at an expensive address but chooses to drive a Proton when runing his daily chores. Of course there are other luxury cars like Merc and Lexus parked in his drive way too. He feels rather less vulnerable doing that as it attracts less attention and safety of his family and himself is top priority.
          So the moral of the story is, don’t judge a person by the car he or she is driving. For all we know, there are also plenty of egos out there that would rather rent a shady apartment but drives a sharp looking car!

• Agreed. I use my proton to go buy cigarette, go tesco, pasar, pasar malam, go mamak at night (dangerous to drive BMW these days at night). Proton will do the job just fine.

• peyno on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Work harder and stop being a loser only can afford to by jepun celup ASEAN made car.. work harder to by the real japanese JDM car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • jules on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

You say this because you drive a Proton

• Yes! This umw still selling high price junk cars without vehicle stability control in malaysia!!!

• Besides fuel saving, I find no other reason to buy this car at this expensive price.

• 101010 on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Better resale value, lower servicing cost (timing chain), proven reliable gearbox, a sign of financial success and can get cute chicks too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
      • How are cute chicks attracted to this car? Some chicks should get taste in cars,seriously =/

• dugong on Aug 18, 2013 at 12:06 am

cute chicks are attracted to the brainless buyer. easy to cheat $$$ from them.

• I saw mat rempit can get cute chicks. It’s not the car, but the driver.

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:14 am

Drive a babe in a kimchi? She will by default put a “cheap skate” in brackets in the phone directory on your name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Fuel saving again? You need to live to 200 yrs and drive this junk that long to save back the losses you overpaid for this unbelievably poor value junk called vios.

• BLT CLUB on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Say what you want, in the end it’s the badge that counts. So in the end the Vious will still sell like hot cakes. In most (sedan focused) minds:
    1. Mercedes Benz
    2. BMW/Audi
    3. VW/Toyota
    4. Honda
    5. Nissan
    6. Kia/Hyundai/Peugeot/Citroen/Renault/Ford(?)
    7. Perodua
    8. Proton

Haters gonna hate…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • completely redesign-ed shell

yet i still feel the honda city (current model) is still better looking than this, feature wise is better as well, at least the city have VSA

can’t wait to see how honda pull out their 2013/2014 new city

• Well, while I agree with so called ‘junk’ and ‘overprice’ car comments, one fact remains intact – people believe in Toyota as a brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • bleukaizen on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

old wine in a new bottle

• Lanjiou on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Every month 3000 Malaysian will buy this car. How ugly this car but they will still buy

• Enter your name... on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Time to spot who is the stupid dumb ass driving this overprice low spec junk on the road !
    Yeah..!!! Felling excited :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • dugong on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:33 pm

I always do that too….lol.

look out for dumbest feller on the road.

• This car is for myvi owners who wanna upgrade. They actually toyota fans, not perodua fans. Can u see how large the market is for toyota?

• Sam loo on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Time to spot who is the stupid dumb ass driving this overprice low spec car on the road!
    Yeah !! Feeling excited !!! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • vampireslayer on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Why blame UMW? The strategic direction is set by TMC, the Japanese themselves. UMW local partner is just a vehicle to distribute their cars.

• Nice design. Ancient engine and gearbox still fine. Price-wise, can’t say much as this is the price we got for maintaining the current NAP. :-(

Another sad thing is none of the Vios variants come with VSC, even the top-range TRD Sportivo. Such technology is already available for Fiesta, City, Jazz, Rio, 208, even Preve and Suprima S.

Imagine if the feature is included, that will be a nice addition to their nice design and after-sales service.

• can we go to consumer association and make complaint about this car?
    it is cheating the consumer.

• dewaSemut on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Excited to see both UMW and DRB making press releases for the next few months down the road announcing number of bookings made for the new Vios and Suprima S respectively.

• peyno on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:31 pm

how many airbags??? if less than 4.. sorry… safety first

• sonyman on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:39 pm

at least there are 2, imagine if they remove the two and sell you at 100K per piece.

Hehe, people still buy. Why not. But i feel this increase is too little. Unlike Camry thats better. Camry should be selling about 200K in just 2 years time. That would be the best selling car.

As for the Vios, from 92K should increase to about 102K for the TRD spec. Then i think UMW can make even more money. Then down the line increase the price with 6 face lift a year and totalling the car selling price at 130K per piece. How about that. i think that would work better. No matter how much u sell. there still be people buying. Infact you may see even more on the road with that kind of pricing.

• Gomo Kelate Gomo on Aug 18, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Proton Suprima S = 6 air bags

• Mat mocker on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Gud lukin car wit.. Expensive pricing.. Holy cow phhheeeewwww

• odd job worker on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:59 pm

You cannot call yourself Ah Beng unless you have the new Vios.
    Its a must have car for all Ah Beng wannabe.
    Tailgate other ppl’s car as if you are driving Golf GTI.
    Tint the car windows so black until cannot see thru.
    TRD sportivo bodykit from chop shop is a must.
    Don’t forget to put after market HID on it too.
    And last but not least, oversized sports rims is optional

• phew..lucky i bought almera dy..rm79k..full spec…good fc..spacious..n good quality..if i choose to buy this junk vios…choose lowest spec..i got tin milo..all plastic..using key..old engine..better buy saga sv..lol

• Huhh….lawa lagi Suprima…

• lcmbryan on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:42 pm

First time I comment here. It look like Toyota is scare of new proton suprima. Never happen that they release the price so early. Just a day before proton launch tomorrow.

See what proton can bring us compare to this new vios.

• kadajawa on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:59 am

No lah it’s Proton that scared about Vios and losing No.2 top sales soon.

At first of course full of Suprima bookings hu-ha but after 2 months Proton showroom back empty no visitors…in the end offer free Modenas bike again…ha ha ha sore loser…last resort give free seluar dalam brand Suprima too LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Gomo Kelate Gomo on Aug 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Agreed. I better give Proton second change. I know previously Proton hurt many Malaysian. But, who else want to support our local product? Do you think monkey in the jungle will do it. If you compare Suprima S vs. New Vios specification, Suprima S clearly win in every way, except good reputation or reliability still with Toyota.

• NISSpengAN on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Nissan for life!

• cetato on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm

recently get the cerato..puas hati maa
    new vios..i expect harga murah sbb masa launch cerato..semua orang bashing this car..
    this vios semua tak ada with price nearly kia that got everything..better think betol2 la..
    safety first..then value for money..janji puas hati

• The Dugong has a successor. A much slimmer version and quit a nice design. Shall I call it the Duyung.

• nova_freak on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:47 pm

93k without ESP ‘Value Beyond Belief’??? Hahaha…

• delly on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Toyota just cant make good engines and design cars now. The new Vios design is not harmonious…bumper, wheel arch, skirting..and yes, the skirting is horrible. Take the Camry for example, its one clumsy car with the bumper, skirting and ugly chromes.

In short…very Ah Beng car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
  • Vince on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:56 pm

I can get a Kia Rio with 6 air bags and all other stuff or a old vios with nothing inside.. for the same price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 6
  • Dinosaur age engine n gearbox.. still continue to con consumer..

• oh yeahh!! now, pls go to used car dealer and ask how much they wana makan ur current vios model!

u will CRY! haha.. resale value… haha! my foot!!

• Carl Wong on Aug 17, 2013 at 2:44 am

YA YA same old engine and gearbox, it’s the same car for how many, more than 10 years now……..???!!!
    I think they’re better with Hybrid technology…………………

• retard on Aug 17, 2013 at 6:04 am

one thing that bothers me, it ezily get stolen

• Jebatv6 on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:19 am

what ever it is…loan is loan…registered ah long still making money..hehe..

• The TRD bodykit..looks local. Thailand don’t even have this. Where did we get this “TRD SPORTIVO”? eh? It just feels like that it came from the same who designed the horrible looking bodykit for the Camry. @@

• Toyota Motor Corporation is David Copperfield of the car industries. Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi etc, while commanding a premium for their cars but they did a honest job of offering a solid and technological advanced products. Look at TMC, offers their fanboys and fangirls a so-so products at not-so-value-for-money-pricing, yet it is selling like hot cake everywhere. Is the TMC too smart or the fanboys and girls too dumb?

• eris supeni on Aug 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

should foolow Toyota Australia with a lot of variant of Toyota Range. Even Toyota has been claimed the best and reliable car in USA and Australia.

• smartguy on Aug 17, 2013 at 6:16 pm

kadajawa dont be stupid. Preve@Suprima is far better than this new vios. this proton got 7 speed tranny , esc , 6 airbag compared to 9k trd bodykit unless your life is cheeper than the car.

• Gomo Kelate Gomo on Aug 18, 2013 at 8:45 pm

I better give Proton second change. I know previously Proton hurt many Malaysian. But, who else want to support our local product? Do you think monkey in the jungle will do it. If you compare Suprima S vs. New Vios specification, Suprima S clearly win in every way, except good reputation or reliability still with Toyota.

• no ESP dont support on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:57 am

Malaysian should make a stand and don’t support any cars without ESP. your life and your passengers (family) lives are impt.

• Safety features are very very important…but quality also important. We don’t want to be in workshop too frequent.

Anyone can give feedback about proton’s quality? Same as 10 years ago or improved?

• bonbon on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

toyota and honda malaysia have good campaign…kempen kongsi airbag…

• honda lover bak hang on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:18 pm

to da owners of previous gen dugong vios..please dont stick carbon fibre sticker on ur front hood…its so wrong..and f#@k%!ng ugly..make me want to effing throw up when i see dis..i hope those who have done it die a horrible death

• seypul on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:00 pm

vios is over price.new kia rio offer a reasonable price

• poovan on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Price is too hig for middle class like me. Why government never control. Whn middle class people will afford to buy foreign car??? Local made cars are not in quality…I am a user of local made car. no quality.

• HJTan on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:28 pm

What a disappointment Toyota Malaysia gives such a over-priced car with low specification.

Compared to Perodua Myvi, Toyota Vios is RM20K~30K more expensive. However in terms of specification, both cars share almost 90% similar specification. It is not worthwhile to buy such car with low specification with such high price.

If people keep saying Toyota has more available parts & service center & good re-sale price & fuel consumption, then Perodua Myvi can suit all those needs. Don’t need to spend RM20K~30K more.

Compared to Ford Fiesta & Kia Rio which are in the same price range, 6~7 airbags & electronic stability program are included to give higher safety level.

Look at the car crash image of Toyota Vios at 90~110km/h. You will know how unsafe the car is.
    http://miros-road-safety.blogspot.com/2008/10/palma-tree-crashed-toyota-vios-at.html

From the fact that Toyota removes VSA from Camry 2.0E you will know how Toyota treats Malaysia Toyota fans. Only thinks of profit margin but neglects users safety.

To all Toyata potential buyers, suggest not to buy cars from Toyota Malaysia until they know Malaysia users deserve safer cars.

• Carl Wong on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:37 am

Suggest not to buy ‘normal’ cars from Toyota Malaysia, I think their Hybrids are quite okay, very efficient and safe and should have good quality since it’s made straight from Japan, compared to this……………………….

• Proton bagus on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Better buy proton instead of this car.1.5 engine small tyre and what safety it give with this price..dont hear ppl say vios bagus la itulah and one day you kne cucuk itu suprima s you kasi lane and you say I pay about a 10 k more for this car and smoke by that turbo car.Really don’t get ppl say buy this car have resale value.blom beli Sudah mau sale? For me value for money is important rather then hearing people critic.say proton tin milo.suprima 5 star oso milo a?then no need hantar NCAp la kasi photo Saja la.tgok photo then milo confirm so cool eh.really don’t get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • ScrewJaps on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Arrogant Japs will fall eventually… With facelift make up on exterior but placed an outdated engine from almost 12 years ago and lousy specs wanna cheat all of us???!!! People are getting much wiser nowadays (except those Ah Lian and Ah Beng still foolishly believed on those junk),they have many better choices to choose. Thus, sooner or later these jap crap will be eliminated, just the matter of time.

• stone cold on Sep 08, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Hell yeah!!!To Hell with toyota. Their true tagline is TOYOTA=Forever Moving Backwards.Idiots car.

• 505hp on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm

New mitsubishi attrage become …all u ready to debat…..

• toyota on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:15 am

How many are we getting?
    2 airbags again?
    Our life is not precious isit?

In Europe all cars must be equipped with safety features such as

6 airbags
    Esc
    Traction control
    Abs
    Ebd

• Wow what is this?
    “Time to spot who is the stupid dumb ass driving this overprice low spec junk on the road ! Yeah..!!! Felling excited :)”
    No problem if u want to comment on the thread but dude dont be rude n too judgemental on how u look into people. Regret to see all this here too many so called car expert with no attitude.

• ahsoo on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:22 pm

nearly year 2014 yet toyota still produce 4AT for Malaysian people? What the hell is happen???

• hate toyota on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:58 pm

toyota asean dont have standard for impact for accident….so better think life only 1 and dont have spare in market

• lone ranger on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:02 pm

just wanna say, toyota vios still stable around 80-100 ish, but when exceeding it (about 100-130)its begin trembling..

of course, if you want safety, just buy volvo S type…

• Seems like you try the new model already….stop bullshit! Kancil can drive until 120km/h…why not VIOs? Every car is same just you felt scared doesn’t mean the car less stable.
      Every car is same will less stable gradually base on your speed.

• Tommy .T on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:09 am

VIos using same engine is normal because vvt-i is from Toyota you never aspect i-vtec from Toyota!

You can’t aspect 2.0 engine to fit into VIos because is not suit for this segment perhaps the price is consider cheap.

4 gears for A/T is enough for 1.5 engine so if 5 gears is too heavy to fit into the car and it’ll cause more fuel consumption.

Toyota engineer is always smart!

• Tommy .T on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:22 am

VIos using same engine is normal because vvt-i is from Toyota you never aspect i-vtec from Toyota! Honda also selling i-vtec for a while!
    VVt-I has proven its good fuel consumption and smooth engine for numerous of year.
    You can’t aspect 2.0 engine to fit into VIos because is not suit for this segment perhaps the price is consider cheap.
    4 gears for A/T is enough for 1.5 engine so if 5 gears is too heavy to fit into the car and it’ll cause more fuel consumption.
    Toyota engineer is always smart!

• Joyce on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:44 am

I’m a girl I don’t car about the spec but I care about the “T” badge. I willing to pay more for it.

• Nichole on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Price expensive shows your class! I love this kind of guys.

• Diu Lian on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:10 am

Thoes who bought this vios need to hit their head to the wall..then they brain would be in a good position to not look at the design only but also at the specs offered..

• ah kaw on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:25 pm

ai yo, apek2 and amoi2, why like that one. Just buy proton saga lhorrr. cheap maaaaaa, lelaiibleeeeeeeee one. also can get u anywhere, everywhere. U buy expensive also, u can only lun 110km/h maaaa, more thant that speed saman lhoooooooooo. Dun fight fight one, its ebelibaldi’s choice wooooooo, little money little car, big moneyyy, TATA lorrryyyyyyyy maaaaaaa