VIDEO: Proton Suprima S – new changes to Proton’s new hatchback versus the Proton Preve

We hope you’ve enjoyed our weekend coverage of the launch of the Proton P3-22A, which now has an official name – the Proton Suprima S. We had an exclusive live streaming of the launch event on Saturday morning.

For those who did not catch the launch live, we actually featured a walk-around of the Suprima S by our man Hafriz Shah, who explained the new features of the car versus the Proton Preve sedan, which shares many exterior and interior design features with the new model.

Enjoy the video!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gcckhs on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Nice preview. I wish the volume of the background music is lower. Quite some effort to follow what he was saying sometime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • jolly_idiot on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:39 pm

i can do better than him..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 85
      • Arab Proton Half Price on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:26 am

I will never buy Proton because Proton cars are sold for half price in Saudi and Arab countries. Exactly half price. Yes, people may argue that tax is cheaper there but Proton was conceived to give cheaper cars to the rakyat of Malaysia. If they cannot do this, in the first place, Proton should not be born. The Malaysian government should practice – charity begins at home. Give your rakyat first, then give the world second. In this case, Proton should be given special privileges of tax so that, we also can sell Proton to Malaysians at the price what the Arabs pay. It is unfair when Arabs pay half the price of all the Proton cars and we, our own Malaysian, pay double the price for a car that is originally Made in Malaysia. Otherwise, why even create Proton in 1985? It can be seen that, without protectionism to Proton ie MITI controlling price of Japanese brands, even Honda, Toyota and Nissan can sell their cars for RM50,000. So, why create Proton in the first place when you cannot give the rakyat of Malaysia cars costing less than RM50,000, which the Japanese can give?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 355 Thumb down 120
        • Saga and Persona are sold for less than RM50,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 74
          • cheap stuff on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Saga & Persona??? RM15k worth la…all new proton cars r comfort and acceptable but 5 yrs later like 20 yrs car condition….i can’t afford to change car evry 5 yrs so sorry….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 67
        • Half Price on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:52 am

the ones that goes to saudi or any countries outside malaysia are cars aged more then 2 years. So that is why they are much cheaper.

Almost all companies has an impairment policy in relation to obselete stocks. And cars exported by proton are usually old cars and has been impaired. That is why they can afford to sell those cars cheaper outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 89
          • kenvy on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:45 pm

we cant see any 2 years-old new car being sell at such cheaper in Malaysia. right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
          • Adam Hao on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:11 pm

you are drunk.. go home kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
        • StazOne on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Well said. Can’t agree more. Rakyat di dahulukan actually means, milk the rakyat’s money first mah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 21
          • policeman on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Nobody is milking your money. The government is providing you with a cheaper and safe product. Why do you insist on getting a more expensive imported model?

Why don’t you import everything else. Import all your food and oxygen as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 116
          • Pakai Hotak Sikit on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Of course its milking. It is like beras. Beras from Thailand is quarter the price of beras tempatan. But to protect the already dead padi industry, we are forced to buy Beras Tempatan. If I am allowed to import beras, I will do so. The same with cars. Honda and Toyota are strictly told they cannot price their cars the same or below Proton price. Otherwise, Honda and Toyota can give us cars far cheaper than Proton. But to protect the already dead or going to die Proton, we are forced to buy Proton cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 9
          • @policeman!
            listen u idiot! if we could import all those we would and sell it for cheaper too! but as you already know and if you dont the govt only let their cronies control the import of things like rice etc. please dont disgrace your family by coming here half cocked!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
        • I don’t think arab saudi has tax to begin with if not mistaken la..the oni tax is for oil(20%) n social security (11%)….our closes thai oso don’t have car with good spec below rm50k..best spec vios/city similarly cost rm70k+ in thai..almera with small cc best spec rm60k+…thai tax much lower than boleh 20-50% excise oni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
          • I just thumb down myself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Do I give wrong info that u guy thumb down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • If u guy don believe…go to thai toyota n honda for vios or city..nissan oso if u want to include almera(this one will shock u)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • foreveralone on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm

why are you talking to urself..? :O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Programmer on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:35 am

Cyber trooper !! hahaha

• To those who COMPLAINED…that our government being stupid, for selling cheaper Proton in the Arab region. Let me tell you this….Singapore is CHARGING Local Singaporean HIGHER TICKET PRICE -to enter Universal Studio…while tourist paying a LOWER PRICE. Now, will you say, that Singapore Gov. is STUPID??? Say something plss….hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 89
          • yazid on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:06 pm

why do u want to make a comparison between a car, and a ticket? haaiyyooo! btw, me too, i will not buy proto’s car. why? cause they are very terrible for customer service after sales. mine, proton saga fl got broken, and they didnt want to replace that car, even i bought it, less than a year. and yet, their lousy customer service made my complaint harder to be solved. at the end, my broken car just being charged under my insurance. sound great? yeah, i believed lots malaysia wants to support (i mean buy), so please, be my guest. ive done it, and im done.

#im very ‘please’ with proton, in fact so ‘please’, after a year with that car, i want to sell it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 16
          • Pakai Hotak Sikit on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Yes, but local Singaporean earn 5 times more than what local Malaysian earns. their GDP per capita is 5X more. Our GDP per capita is so low, our Ringgit has no International value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 12
        • Not Tax But Excise Duty on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Is not the tax but is the excise duty. Local cars do not have import tax because they are made locally. It is the excise duty charged by the government that make Proton sells expensive cars.

Months ago yours truly BN claimed that they have cut down car prices which one of them is Honda Jazz. The fact is Honda Jazz’s price was cut around few thousand due Honda starts assembling Honda Jazz locally, which means it is CKD. So they waived the import duty which cost around few thousands and your government claimed that as ‘cut down car’s prices’.

Don’t blame Proton selling expensive cars, blame the minority government who milk your money in everything you buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
          • Where 30% Reduction???? on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Well said. Blame the minority government. Win less than 20% of the votes but still can form Government. 80% voters don’t want them. So what happened to the promised 30% reduction in car prices? By now, at least 10% reduction should be given. Don’t see at all. Paultan, please follow up the 30% reduction as promised by our beloved BN government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
          • Gua punya rasa on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm

ini semua poyo!

• Polarity on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Try buy sony in Japan.

• abuya123 on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Ala, kalau harga ikut kehendak ko pun, ko nak beli ke? Beli dugong gak kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • Steve C on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:28 pm

This is not about patriotism. We all should learn from Japanese which serious and apologetic with forward thinking and improvement. We are patriotic but not stupid Mr Proton! Proton has been given too much of chances! Its time to grow up without any “Tongkat”! Boy, you have to bear the responsibility of your destruction!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Do you know that driving is restricted to males only in Saudi?

• Suprema Ass on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:24 am

LOL … Hafriz now works for Paul Tan??

Well done Paul … ur Driven media is now buying up the whole automotive media industry! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Let’s see how the sales perform in Australia soon….must be more than Lamborghini I guess…

• Arab Saudi is developed..
      Malaysia is developing..
      What do you aspect comparing developed & developing country? tax?
      Seriously.. you make big mistakes by comparing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • jaakhin on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:17 pm

arab saudi is develped country?where in the earth you referring to?..fyi..try google something like GDP, population pyramid, health services, to compare,,both country same value man….

• agree, both of mas and SA are still considered as developing country

• Proton Suprima S on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Hafriz, I have no rear curtain airbag but side window airbag. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Fizah Zain on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:15 pm

not entirely true … indeed Suprima got that curtain airbag … it covers both front and rear windows …. and sit on top of B-Pillar …. Side Airbag is just another airbag sit inside the side of 2 front seat … so total up 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • he bought the cheaper variant with 4 airbags… he doesnt even know what product he’s buying

• mystvearn on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Good video. Helps explain the differences. Keep it up.

• hsada12 on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:19 pm

*That* eyes

• Jared on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Thats one huge ‘S’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • retard on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Alza much better. It’s a car, hatchback, Mpv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 101
    • karipap on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:52 pm

yeah, your comment suits your name… retard…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
      • not retard on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:18 pm

hahhaa…yeah i think he deserved it..currently so many msian having dis problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
        • Spark on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:05 am

he will not reply to your comment that soon.. coz probably he is in school right now.. new term just begin after long break.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Burrnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn ! haha

• Alza better than this?
      Have u heard the sound of an old lorry brakes?have you ever been it the situation when the front discs are the only thing slowing you down? Have you ever experience a car with ABS as stated, locking up the front wheels? Do you want to shout everytime the rain comes? And after 4 years plus the doors are creaking even louder than a 2 decade old Saga?
      If you want to experience all of these by all means get an Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
      • Kimi Raikkonen on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:56 am

Obviously – you don’t know much about brakes.

The only thing, well the major thing anyway – slowing you down IS your front brakes. Ever heard of weight transfer when braking?

• I came to the conclusion that the brakes were working at the front only from a recent brake checkup. Initially we thought that the front brake were loosing its grip, you have to push real deep before it takes effect, but it turns out that the claw in the rear drums weren’t moving at all! They were all jammed! Of course the front brakes have to work harder than the rear, with modern car with the mass of its weight being at the front.
          Rarely do I personally drive the Alza, opting to take the older Saga out.

• Paejan on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:42 pm

What i heard Jap version Alza is better.. they just downgrade the spec esp on the rubber part and sound proving.. dunno what for coz current price even not low.. What make me supprise is when i sent my Alza for service.. saw some catalog to sound proof.. maybe if u paid some rm300 u can get more quiet alza.. poor malaysian..

• The rear seat is like 4×4 rear seat. Almost vertical straight up.may be uncomfortable for long distance drive.

• I have sat at the rear seat this evening, its not straight up. normal comfy positioning. The Audi A1 rear seat is vertical straight up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • karipap on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Everything is great. value for money. top in class in term of safety. however, I not prefer the TV ad. this car is a sporty car. it should have the elements of action, elegant, performance. Ni letak housewife pegi shopping, hantar anak. mcm x berapa kena laa… if Exora, yes, it suitable. Maybe they can feature some young executive, single or family. Proton also need to emphasize their new engine performance to uplift the Sporty concept. kasi gempak sket! it can influence the youngsters to buy this car… anyway, great job PROTON for the latest model, SUPRIMA S! Great model indeed. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
  • ”That’s one huge S !” ….. I see what you did there ! *wink wink* :D I love how Hafriz speaks and chooses his words ! xD If DRIVEN ever comes back to TV, I hope he’s in it too !

If I might add, those LED guide lights are epic. It might not seem like much, but in the night, they will look really good. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • aureola on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:09 pm

That SHIRT!

• so much on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:07 am

what a BIG S.

• Megathorn on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:10 am

Is the car that big??? regardless… I’m all up for the R design if it turns out to be more than just a concept

• wesley wong on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:20 am

That’s big S stand for SUCK…Who gonna buy this car at this price range which i think got many choice from Jap & Kor badges…! Hahaha, Proton_g

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
  • Whatsup on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:22 am

new rear fog lamp? come on..!!! its rear brake light la bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • bukamatasikit on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:26 am

That thing on the bumper is a fog lamp. Feature added for future plans for Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:41 am

ini bodoh tahap apa? >9000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • just coz u bought a rm20 brake light at the car accessories and put it there doesnt mean a new car with a light there makes it a brake light

• wesley wong on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:35 am

That’s big S stand for S U C K…Who gonna buy this car at this price range which i think got many choice from Jap & Kor badges…! Hahaha, Proton_g

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
  • Can mali can on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:56 am

Dislikes: interior(too simple), fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • “..that’s one HUGE ‘S’…” haha naughty Hafriz…

• Shut up and take my money!!!!!

• joanna on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:41 am

Proton hardcore fans will be huha about this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
  • VWxyz on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:08 am

Proton bashers also will be huha about this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • That ain’t a diffuser, that’s just part of the bumper painted black

• Proton Suprima Vs. Ford Vista Vs Honda Jazz vs Kia Rio… Similiar Price.. I Choose Ford Fista 1st then Rio then Jazz…(Few other brand…) then Proton Suprima, Very Sorry… I’m prefer other brand with that kind of price. Do Proton really think he can challenge them? NAIF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
    • Dude, different segment comparison. Those you mentioned are B-Hatch. Suprima Ass is C-Hatch, similar to focus, golf, 308, mazda3 etc.

There’s a huge advantage towards suprima when it comes to pricing wise against similar-segment competition .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Akira on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Why did you misspell Fiesta twice eh? Why?

• yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:24 am

*Vista = Fiesta
      Similiar = similar
      Fista (again, seriously) = Fiesta
      I’m = I’d
      NAIF = NAIVE (as in you are very naive kid)

And just for your info, Ford Vista is a full size sunroof. I bet you must saw it in some other article and try to get smart. Well, at least you tried.

PS – I would LOVE to see you drive a VISTA bro!

• Nice try Paul-T, keep it up. U will be good at it one day…

• taufiq on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:16 am

Salam Syawal

Nice review!

• kanasai on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:33 am

As much as i love to praise proton suprima ala pamper with all the nice gadgets and safety thrown in for below rm80k, proton designer should have spend some time in the interior quality and it would have been a perfect and shut the anti proton and dugong bashers.

Anyway, for below rm80k,this is the best C segment hatchback money could buy if you take out the badge snob. It is seriously better buy than polo sedan or dugong or city and pathetic almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • john ferrari on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:54 am

proton should replace the campro engine with the honda engine to make it saleable. myvi has the toyota engine. see the logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:16 am

not that simple.

• Doremon on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:40 pm

You see the Inspira as an example?

• Peter on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Proton also knew but they can’t.
      Proton is politic (patriotic) more than business. Even conservatives like Japanese companies will hire foreigner as CEO, use bet-offered, qualified suppliers … etc. Can Proton do that?

• Jieqiang on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:58 am

Fuiyoh, Hafriz going on screen!
    Good one!

• BribesForCompromises on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:28 am

Look at those big assembly gaps- hood, rear door, rr spoiler; and those unmatched profiles- fuel lid to its surrounded body panel, rr fender to side of rr bumper; just pointing a few from this video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • iluvdiaper on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Proton fan cant afford it. Non proton fan (which can afford it) wont buy it. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Yah, That is correct. Most Proton fans can only afford to buy Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Your comments show your snobbishness. Do you think other badges are always better than proton? lol. Their rides are terrible, buying something expensive car only for showing off is enough to be called estupido. Better use the money for other things.

inb4 : poor fag
        inb4 : proton SA

• yeehaaa on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:36 pm

that’s one huge ‘S’ …ahahaha

• Strikeee on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:59 pm

No matter how good looking the car or how good the gadget inside this proton Suprima is, as long as Proton continues using Cam-Pro engine the sales sure cant pickup…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • discoveryturbo on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:13 pm

malaysian supreme version tg malim.

• wynter on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Proton remain me ‘Milo Tins’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Polo Saga on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Still the same, Proton SUCKS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Compare with mazda 3, suprima spec is higher..
    http://www.mazda.com.my/getdoc/07be2947-cc77-4037-b4eb-4fad351b6ab7/M3-HB-1-6-CKD.aspx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Compare with Mazda 3?

Bagai langit dan bumi

• Low Budget on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Good if the spec is higher, hopefully the new Proton owners can make less un-schedule visit to Proton Sevice Centers often. Get what I mean?

• True, 5star ncap only for security wise. In term of quality, feels and etc will be evaluate by owners…

• melati ke? on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:58 pm

quite expensive… i think d price should be around 62k – 65k..

people will prefer to almera or vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • why compare suprima to b segment cars?

• Autoexpert on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Because it is only worthy to be compared in the B-Class, get it? This is called MAC… Mana ada class! You see Proton owners ada class, kah?

• someone on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm

That’s a big S? Boring~~

• on the video, what Hafiz said could have been scripted better and practiced before actual shooting.
    his delivery was not smooth so it seemed like he was pulling things out of the air like about the front grille for example.
    post editing could split screen front end comparison of the 2 preves.
    and yes for me, it is just another preve, not radically different enough from the preve to deserve another name.
    i am sure all the journos will pick up on that.

• alldisc on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:19 pm

diffuser on suprima? really??

that is just a some lines on the rear bumper that hardly qualifies as a diffuser. it doesnt function as anything other than aesthetics yet alone to provide useful effect in aerodynamics. not even one channel to smoothen airflow from underneath the car.

hafriz, if you do not correct this ppl may not believe you anymore in future. sincere advice. peace.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

The ‘diffuser’ I mentioned is indeed purely an aesthetic design feature, with no aerodynamic purposes whatsoever. However, (as with all blacked-out portions at the bottom of the rear bumper, as it appears on the Suprima S here) it can still be referred to as a diffuser, though not a functional one.

• youbodok on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:06 pm

When toyota put big useless diffuser you don’t complain but proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Majority on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:09 pm

we r ok with this car. lots of improvement but yeahh it is not perfect. good job proton. we hv no problem with proton. well done!! keep it up proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:15 pm

with this suprima, i find proton now struggles to understand itself and the global car market.

the package that this model offers maybe sufficient for our local market, since for the offer ‘price’ undercuts many rivals which gives a really huge advantage.

however, look at overseas market. which country proton is trying to woo buyers? already in australia, proton has to cut RSP as much as AUD3k or about rm6k.. to attract buyers.

it still has yet to make appearance in the UK, a market it has long been but fail to make a dent on continental brands.

what ingredient makes a car a buyer’s choice?

suprima is pact with hi tech gadgets.. but it will not appeal to many japanese – their JDM cars alone are about 4-5 years ahead in technology.

china? no you cant, and look at previous history of collaboration between proton and youngman.

india, indonesia and thailand where petrol price is high and 70% of ppl lives in puberty – unlikely.

america? you need something good really to attract sales. superb after sales service. something proton cant do – even locally (they are dead bottom with naza kia in JD power survey).

middle east where petrol is cheap. and imported cars are cheap?? will sell in small numbers. like gen2.

in europe? without a strong turbodiesel engine with 6 speed manual transmission, its unlikely to be a hotseller. besides, 137bhp is lukewarm compare to the likes of hot hatch like VW golf GTI, focus RS/ST, Vauhhall Astra VXR, Renault Megane or Volvo C30 and Audi S3.

fuel consumption is important as well as very low emission.

proton did tick a box right though, that is making a hatch other than sedan but clearly n lessons learnt why gen2 and savvy did not make an impact to UK buyers.

this leaves us with Malaysia. and only Malaysia, again to become proton’s strongest supporter in the whole world.

highly educated engineers are not enough proton, and this has proven for the past 2 decades. you need a combination of ppl with passion in car making, not something of syiok sendiri level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Hint : GSC

• certainly using an ah beng sounding malaysian chinese guy to try and convince ppl to buy proton is not the way. ppl do not want to buy proton for obvious reasons and other less obvious ones.
      let us use Real Madrid and Barcelona, ppl from Barcelona will not support RM in the European cup even if they are in the final and the most successful club and have the best players because of history, it was the team of hated dictator Franco. And so it is with proton, the brainchild of that sometimes senile but mostly vile dr m.

• saga neo rear ended Alza in accident yesterday, Alza slight damaged to rear bumper, saga neo front end remuk teruk and needed to be towed away.

• Hurah! on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:57 am

Duh,your post related to physic concept and principles. Why such thing can happen in cars accident and it also related to safety as well(the impact issue). Check it out.

• johan-johari bin abdul majid on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:57 am

very well said

• Well Said

• Just another guy on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

india, indonesia and thailand where petrol price is high and 70% of ppl lives in puberty – unlikely.

PUBERTY? U mean poverty right?

• Supremo on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm

The car looks better in real life, it does not looks good in the brochure.

A lot better than overprice VIPs n city.

The Altantic blue looks the best among the other Suprima S.

• salamanda on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:55 pm

haha.. if outside is cheaper, then go buy outside laarr..bring back to malaysia and show people u buy cheaper proton..

• retard on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Sorery for late reply, alza still better. The maths & statistics will tell. Cannot cheat unless undi pos. All alza owners pls show your support. Kasian perotten sellsman bash my komen.

• Did this proton suprima s has a turbo ? did proton cam pro turbo trustable?

• Woman smashes own luxury car windscreen in protest
    BUKIT MERTAJAM: A 52-year-old woman smashed the windscreen of her RM630,000 luxury car in protest against the alleged failure of a service centre to fix a faulty battery.Kang Lee Chuin proceeded to take out a large hammer to smash the windscreen of her Mercedes-Benz S300 several times at the service centre in Bukit Tengah at about 4pm yesterday.A service centre employee had tried to talk her out of it to no avail.Her husband, Oh Chwee Hoe, 61, was present but did not say anything when his wife swung her hammer.She then called a tow-truck operator to take her car away.Kang, who runs a seafood restaurant with her husband, said she turned up to pick up her Mercedes-Benz S300 from the service centre where it had been since June 18.“The mechanic told me that the battery could still have some problems.
    “That was the last straw as this was not the first time that something had gone wrong with the 18-month-old car which I had bought new.
    “There was a problem with the ignition after three months and something also went wrong with the alarm system.“On June 18, the car wouldn’t start. So, I couldn’t fetch my 80-year-old mother-in-law from the Penang International Airport in Bayan Lepas.“She had to wait at the airport for over three hours as I had to call a taxi to fetch her home,” she added.Kang said the Mercedes-Benz was her ninth car, adding that the earlier eight cars, which were second-hand ones, did not give so much problems.Kang also said she would send her car to another workshop to replace the smashed windscreen and repair the battery.When met by reporters later, a service centre staff member said the manager was away and nobody was authorised to comment on the matter.Mercedes-Benz Malaysia Sdn Bhd corporate communications officer Emily Lek said in a statement that the carmaker viewed the matter seriously.“Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we will work closely with our dealer to ensure that this matter is resolved,” she added.

• All cars got problem what! not only proton but why onle proton got blamed?

• rational on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Because when Proton got problem, they don’t admit it and they will never admit it. The worse is that Proton never keen to improve its after-sales-service, “send your proton to COSE and you’ll understand”. And even worse is that Proton failed and still struggle to correct the perceptions of most Malaysians about their products.

• do you think Mercedes car is the best, then think again!

• john ferrari on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:47 am

that proton COO boasting the boot space “if you want a bigger space, go buy a lorry”. cakap macam tauke pasar malam. no taste at all. proton should appoint Carlos Ghosn as CEO. he is a car man. you need a car man to lead proton. not ex politicians.

• proton cars selling overseas are sold to dealers.. not customer.. that is why it appears cheaper..

• Autoexpert on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Excuses, excuses… You think Malaysians buy directly from the manufacturer like DELL? Wake up… are you sleeping on the job again?

• Annoynimouse on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Quoting Danny, “that’s one huge S…”. Pun intended?
    Nice review mate…

• Annoynimouse on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Mistake in my previous post… its Haris and not Danny right? Sorry… still a nice review. Cheers…

• Annoynimouse on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Hafriz… ddhuuh..

• Aiyaaaa on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:57 am

Aiya… no money dont comment u also buy FLX want talk more.. u got money go buy a Lexus Lor.. dont fak around.. go home kid…

• Looking forward on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Looking for test comparison between the Proton suprema s with other car makers in same class for all aspects, like TOP GEAR done it for WAJA,MYvi,Kelisa,Satria Neo etc. GOOD LUCK !

• even tho only a bit diff btwn preve n suprima for interior, but it looks like suprima’s interior more nicer than preve. maybe bcoz of the 7″ HU + leather seat. for exterior, i like suprima’s rear view compared to preve. more handsome and good looking. no more hanging rear light. for front view, still same as preve. the proton wing hanging in the middle of the headlamp which i think a bit cacat on the design.

• Sam Rahman on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:46 am

Re. the video. Am I supposed to listen to the gentleman’s review or listen to the background music?

• Joshua Wong on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Psst Sam…listen to the music and only watch the car.

• fadzil on Aug 25, 2013 at 2:58 am

Guys, Proton is trying very hard. You guys majority are like a bunch of sissy’s talking about why you are jealous, why you hate, this laa, that laa.

It’s a new car launch.
    Can’t you all act like decent adults and discuss the specs and offer.

Thumbs up to all the gentlemen who discussed rationally

• Matthew on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Suprima? I thought proton was really gonna change when the preve came out. Now they named this car after an adult diapers company. Losing faith in you, proton.

• Ali Shah on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:40 am

Why are Malaysians so overly critical about Proton, at least your government still keep your national interest above all things. Proton with all its flaws still is known as the Malaysian car company, I really hope it evolves like Hyundai and Kia has in South Korea. In terms of import duties and prices most countries try to guard there own industries, we in Pakistan are forced to buy the Lahore and Karachi made Honda, Suzuki and Toyota and import duties are high. So these companies have formed a cartel and control the prices just in the name of helping the local industry. Malaysians should be extremely proud of what their country has achieved and despite what your local politics is but Dr Mahatir Mohammad is very well respected out side Malaysia for changing the country.s direction. We in Pakistan are on the verge of change too and I really hope that Mr.sharif or Mr.Khan changes our countries direction so we can achieve our true potential.
    Way to Go Proton ;)

• Went to Proton showroom today. Wanted to view Exora Bold but impressed with elegant Suprima S parked next to her. Now am re-thinking… -_^

• MrPin3AppL3 on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:48 am

Buy Peugeot 208 better choice

• RavenAii on Oct 20, 2013 at 4:21 am

Great hatch! Now go back and cut the front fascia and build another vehicle to replace the Proton Arena. A pick-up truck-like Preve would defenitely eliminate the bad one star reputation of the Arena. Proton should try this out. :D