New Volvo V40 launching tomorrow at MidValley KL

V40_LAYOUT2

We’ve been sent some pics of an event set up in MidValley Megamall, showing a couple of “V-Nions” at work. The faceless inflatables are in the mall’s centre court, where a sticker on the ground reads “Work in progress, we’ll see you tomorrow” with a Volvo logo. Look south and you’ll see Volvo V40 stickers on the ground.

So it looks like the new Volvo V40 will be officially unveiled tomorrow at MV. The five-door hatchback’s entry is no surprise – we first spotted units on Klang Valley roads in May, before we chanced on Volvo dealer Federal Auto’s booth in The Curve promoting the V40. Ten days later, our “JPJ pixman” Anol Alias sent in a collection of V40 pics, parked in JPJ Putrajaya’s basement.

Both the regular V40 and SUV-styled, higher riding V40 Cross Country have been spotted in Malaysia, and it’s likely that both variants will eventually be introduced, if not simultaneously. It could be the standard V40 that debuts first, before the Cross Country joins. In any case, we’ll find out tomorrow.

UPDATE: Official local spec sheet and price list added in the gallery below, showing three variants. Tentatively, the price list shows RM173,888 for the V40 T4, RM188,888 for the V40 T5 and RM198,888 for the V40 Cross Country T5.

Both T4 and T5 direct injection engines will be available. The T4 unit is a 1.6 litre four-cylinder turbo with 180 hp and 240 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm. The T5 on the other hand, is a five-cylinder turbo engine with 213 hp and 300 Nm of twist. They’re paired to different gearboxes as well – the T4 gets a six-speed Powershift twin-clutch box as running mate, while the T5 is paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic.

Volvo V40 in showrooms

Performance is good, as you’d expect. The T4 does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds before maxing out at 225 km/h. Should that not be enough, the T5 raises performance to 6.9 seconds and 230 km/h. How do we know all this?

Volvo Car Malaysia has released the V40’s official spec sheet ahead of the launch tomorrow, and you can view every page of it in the gallery below. Click on the screen shots to enlarge.

By the way, the pic above showing the V40 in three colours was sent in by reader Avtaran Singh, who spotted the cars at a Volvo showroom today. View the spec sheet in the gallery below, and stay tuned for full details, including the official price, tomorrow.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 1st!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 95
    • oh really on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Oh, so you’re first? You’ve just won the internet, bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Super weird! it’s a hatch or a SUV?! but it looks great!

• It is a crossover between hatchback and suv, creating modern new segment. They look good nonthelessly :-)

• Congrats..i know the special feeling when we got to be the first commentor..

• I don’t know if people will bash those rear bumper…especially that black area..but I’m very sure that SS being bash bcoz of that..

• kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:17 pm

This is how a real European car looks like.

Pure artistic design with proper name, not a randomly picked name out of panties brand name…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 8
    • xvcet on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:00 pm

It’s under chinese company now.
      Jaguar is indian’s

Not everyone likes real European design. Some say it’s fugly, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
  • Suprima on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:26 pm

this is how a car should be….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • ghosy on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:03 pm

yes, suprima tyres are not round, it’s triangular!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • rajaGlobal on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:50 am

this is way better than suprima!!! except the price………..

• Suprima cant compared with other import hatch except Myvi and Viva. ugly, ugly name and cheap badge.

• neutral as hell on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:27 pm

from volvo malaysia facebook page, V40 T4 comes in at 173,888, followed by T5 at 188,888 and cross country at 198,888 (not sure T4 or T5 though).

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Volvo is already dead in Msia. Too expensive to maintain + skyhigh pricing has seen its marketshare almost disappear!

Reliabilty of volvos are terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 64
  • Merz lover on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Benz A-class sales will drop then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • odd job worker on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:58 pm

volvo is too ah pek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 55
  • I m not a big fan of Volvo, but the design is great !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Wow. Now the people in the C segment are REALLY spoilt for choice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • gOOsh on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:09 pm

kalau banyak duit, belilah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • chizzu on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:20 pm

More details of v40 at Volvo Malaysia official site: http://www.volvocars.com/my/all-cars/volvo-v40

brochure/Pricelist: http://vcc.tidalblast.com/pricelist/v40-pricelist-pm.pdf

• Heskey on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:27 pm

This is better than suprima s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
    • bistro on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:05 pm

My bentley is waaayyyy better than this. Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • rajaGlobal on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:52 am

“The T4 unit is a 1.6 litre four-cylinder turbo with 180 hp and 240 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm….” .. proton should tuned to this for CFE 1.6 turbo or at least near this figure….

• amigos on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:48 pm

finally…the anaconda will launch..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Volvo is finally think outside of the “Box” after these years.
    Looks:
    1. A-Class
    2. v40
    3. A1
    4. CT200h
    5. 1-Series hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • odd job worker on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:39 pm

I definitely won’t buy this car. Because it looks like Suprima. I don’t want to be mistaken to be driving Suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 59
  • Volvo V40 Cross Country VS Subaru XV. WI wonder which is better? Both are not SUV just a jacked-up car am I right?

• siobu on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:10 pm

why you want an SUV? crossover are more modern, yet maintaining some beneficial SUV features

• Mcm sempit aje rear seat…..better get Suprima laa mcm ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • Alahai on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Proton Suprima S > volvo v40
    So, y need to buy this junk.
    Suprima S is what we all need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • Guys, this page is meant for volvo fans. Those who wanna bash. Pls go somewhere else. You are not welcomed here. Thank you. Dont need to talk bout overpriced this and that. We all know that long time ago. Its not like someone can lead their soldier to liberate us from the tyranny ruler. So yeah, just enjoy the news. And for those gt money, good ifu plan to buy. Those without the cash, find other means if not other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Ukulele on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:54 pm

So early to butthurt. Seems like volvo fans not so strong as it’s cars. Even proton fag tougher than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Im targeting those who complaint about the price and the specs. Even in Proton page, i dont simply bash proton even though im not a proton fans. Im not a Volvo fans either. Im just being neutral. Why u get butthurt so easily? U daft? lol.

• Janet on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:45 am

Could not agreement more.
      Too many comments as if they come from a brain dead person…nothing constructive…yap yap yap…
      If you got nothing to say – don’t say at all. It is insulting to the genuine intelligent motorists.

• Henry on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:34 pm

RM173,888 for a glamourised Ford Focus? And with maintenance cost of a BMW? You gotta be a diehard Volvo fan to buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Yeah i also thought that this car is luxurious version of Ford Focus. Both looks great though. Looking upmarket and modern.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:12 am

the brochure list the T5 as having both 213hp and 254hp. Which one is accurate?

I also noticed that the UK T5 does indeed have 254hp, so I’m guessing the one we get is a detuned model (judging by the price la..)

• gracke on Aug 20, 2013 at 1:24 am

Thank god!!! Volvo finally concern the market and this time sure will bring back and increase sales cause launching with such good price, looks, performance and technology and benchmark of Volvo!!! It’s a great news!

• Hmm, RM173k? There are so many choice in the price range now. Dont forget, Alfa Romeo Giuletta is also damn sexy.

• neemfa on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:25 am

Once this V40 T4/T5 enter the 2nd hand market, they are going to be real bargain.. coz the initial price will drop so much.

• machingkey on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:18 am

why all of sudden so many people butthurt with suprima?even in volvo page still bashing suprima. i can see now. the conti in malaysia can be compare to protong. power jugak protong ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
  • ash moon on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:35 am

“UPDATE: Official local spec sheet and price list added in the gallery below, showing three variants. Tentatively, the price list shows RM173,888 for the V40 T4, RM188,888 for the V40 T5 and RM198,888 for the V40 Cross Country T5.” … well it looks like the price have been jacked up in the official pricing by approx 100k. T4/T5 is now 231k and 272k respectively, no mention of Cross Country price in the website, but by current trend it may exceed Exige price by now. *sigh* see:http://www.volvocars.com/my/all-cars/volvo-v40/tools/pages/download_brochure.aspx

• Paul Tan on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:40 am

It looks like their website has wrongly linked to the wrong file on that page you shared… when you open it, it shows the V60 price list.

• ash moon on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:55 am

yep, you’re right. my bad. still hoping for sub 200k price to come true later today for cross country.

• chizzu on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:00 pm

i have posted the correct link to the v40 price list above :)

http://vcc.tidalblast.com/pricelist/v40-pricelist-pm.pdf

The cross country price is below 200k as well (RM198,888) (without insurance)
          http://vcc.tidalblast.com/pricelist/v40cc-pricelist-pm.pdf

• foxtrot on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:48 am

wow T5 213hp below 200k?!
    sure gonna price raise again after gahmen butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • YeapyEvo on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:04 am

Great price + safety = check, comfort = check, design for twilight vampire = check (at least it looks good compare to old Volvo), CBU import Volvo cost cheaper than a CKD 2.5L Camry wow!!
    Reliability and servicing are a major concern though…

• niuhje on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:06 am

Gotta start saving yo! maybe in 10 years…just maybe

• Syahrir on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:46 am

Why it looks like Focus?

• datuk on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:57 am

So this Volvo or new VW Golf GTI? Volvo is better than VW right?

• indomee on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Hmm…. very nice styling, but with this pricing is too close to merc A class. Although the performance is more promising, but i will still vote for A class for its sexiness! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7