Proton Suprima R Concept – unofficial rendering

PROTON_Suprima_R_Front

Proton did not prepare a sporty concept version of the Proton Suprima S to showcase at its launch like some of its previous cars, like the Proton Preve Sapphire concept, Proton Saga RED concept, or the Proton Exora Prestige and Proton Exora Prime concepts.

To fill in the void, Theophilus Chin has prepared for us some unofficial artist impressions of a ‘Proton Suprima R’ concept, meant to be a thus far imaginary hot hatch version of the Suprima S with a more powerful engine (200 hp maybe?) and a six-speed manual gearbox.

Chin thought the Suprima should look more different than the Preve sedan from the front given the completely different name so he changed the front bumper to a more aggressive version. The bumper is deeper with a bigger air intake, presumably to fulfill the increased cooling needs of a more powerful engine than the 140 PS CamPro Turbo engine currently available with the Suprima S.

PROTON_Suprima_R_Rear

The grille surround is now in gloss black, along with the wing mirrors and the strip above the number plate on the rear hatch. This is to give the car some contrast in colour. The side skirts aim to give the car a less slab-sided look, and also lowers the side profile in line with the more aggressive front bumper.

The most obvious change at the back is the bigger rear spoiler, befitting an “R” spec Suprima. It also gets dual exhaust tips, while the Suprima S doesn’t have any visible exhaust tail pipes. The rear bumper design also gets slight revisions.

Finally of course you have the larger wheels and bigger brakes. The wheels should look very familiar, as they are a similar design to the one on the Ford Focus ST.

What do you think of the rendering? Does it make you want a Proton Suprima R?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• akula on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:03 am

haha…I like it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 9
    • Petrolhead on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:46 am

Proton could use the front for the Preve facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • just 1 look like d same should b called bumper lift la, y no grill change? if grill change cost also wanna save better proton tutup kedai la

made in malaysia rm76k, made in japan rm73k
        which 1 u buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 75
        • theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm

fun to see when ppl took theo’s artwork seriously. as if theo works with proton design team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
          • Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:04 pm

WOW. i’m impressed on how much the suprima s can be improved in so many areas. well done theo, you’ve created a car that looks like a real hot hatch. but sadly, i don’t think it’ll make it to production. what a waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
        • Spec wise it worth…

• Bob Cr-X on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:53 pm

what car made in Japan it Cost Rm73k with:

-Turbo Engine 1.6,Torque 204 something
          -Leather Seats
          -Built In Wifi In Car
          -6 AIRBANGS,Get 5 Star From Ancap!
          -4 Disc Brake
          -17″ Wheels

please give me the car name from JAPAN that u can compere with the RM79,998.00 Price.. :)

• Bob Cr-X on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:56 pm

what car made in Japan it Cost Rm73k with:
          -Turbo Engine 1.6,Torque 204 something
          -Leather Seats
          -Built In Wifi In Car
          -6 AIRBANGS,Get 5 Star From Ancap!
          -4 Disc Brake
          -17″ Wheels
          please give me the car name from JAPAN that u can compere with the RM79,998.00 Price.. :)

• carlies on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Sudah cukup main-mainkan belakang Preve. Mainlah depan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:37 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 197
      • fireman on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Right. I’m very sure you’re better than theo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm

where’s your design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Goodcarlover on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:08 pm

if that so, u publish your design better than theophilus laa…complen jer tau…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:39 am

His design actually take account of the aerodynamics of the car kid. Try showing off your ‘modified’ car here. Lets see how practical or how good it is then.

• OMG…the sport rims are so nice…but this car not match with it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
      • The rims are from Focus ST. But yes, I like the rendering. Looks like a proper hot-hatch. Even if using the normal R3 rims would be so nice.
        And most importantly, I like the design of the twin-tailpipes as the Suprima S uses the design of ‘hiding’ its exhaust.

• jarami on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

SS is for low profile people. suprima manual or r3 is for real driving fun. i believe the exhaust show something yummy is plonked in under hood.

• Sam Loo on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:51 am

You like it? Can wait to see your face when you want to sell this car. No RV at all. It’s Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 109
      • i buy a car because i want to use it..enjoy driving it..and not buy-and-sell. so i DON’T CARE at all about RV.
        pe benda la beli kete pikit pasal RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Oh really? How long you intend to use the car? 20? 25 years? I highly doubt that car can last that long.
          I can imagine the look on your face on the day you gonna sell the car.
          Hahahaha….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • Its the same face of anyone selling their car..you ignorant tool!

• Kahiri78 on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:39 pm

So you think your Veos Dugong can still run after 25 years just because its an oversea brand?

Wake up la brader…theres no such thing such as a perfect car!. Always talk about resale value crap. Tell me after 12 years, whats the RV of Veos Dugong? hahahaha

• yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:58 am

Speaking from my experience, with proper maintenance and care for your car it can still run almost perfectly even after half a century. And it doesn’t really matter what car you are driving.
            Hence, your argument is invalid child.

• Agree mate!!

• Nazmi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Actually proton can last more than 20 years la bro. my neighbor still uses the saga he bought 20 years ago and it’s still running even today. Even yesterday he go back from Johor to kelantan in the same saga. your argument is invalid.

• bro, org gila duit je yg kisah pasal RV bila beli kete..hahahah. org bangang mmg camtu :-)

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:51 am

You and your RV. Why? You own an RV camper ah?

• Who is Teophilus Chin and what does he has to do with Proton? Just because he can do good renderings (which usually only based on his opinion and not on any leak information) why should we care like it’s almost the official renderings from Proton itself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 55
      • theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

why so serious? theo and paultan is not new. most of us here knows that there’s no connection between theo and proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Paultan made every articles on Theo’s renderings like it’s a real deal (and I fed up by that). Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • policeman on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Yeah! and I call for a boycott.
        No more theophilus.

All his/renderings are not accurate and ridiculous. Just look back from his Saga rendering, Exora, Inspira taxi!!! Just his imagination!

And somemore try to con everyone with his pathetic attempt at Perodua Jaguh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
        • jealouskah on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Obviously you are from the Proton design team who is envious / jealous over Theophilus who is doing a better job than the entire design team. Frankly speaking, Theophilus’s rendition is so much better looking than the Proton designed Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
        • yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:02 am

Seriously? Did you even notice the word CONCEPT? Or do you not understand the word UNOFFICIAL RENDERING?
          He’s not doing it for Proton, it is his ideas only. Many people out there are doing the same thing, doing their own rendering of a car they see. Why not you bash all those people too?
          PS – How about you start a revolution on people modifying their cars? Since its not the original design from the company.

• Goodcarlover on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:12 pm

wahh very serios haa??? we respect any creativity done by car lovers like theophilus…doesn’t hurt anyone right??? chuuiii…

• Eww

• Dream on.. Hoping for a truely sporty proton is simply just hopeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 81
    • armanddo on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:59 am

Why is that? Satria GTi and R3 Neo not sporty enough? At least sportier than TRD dugong Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 12
      • Ah Beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:37 am

R3 = Rubbish Reuse Recycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 148
        • karipap on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:11 am

Proton R3 stand for Race Rally & Research. You by the way, Ah Beng R3 stands for Ridiculously Rubbish Rat! puih!!! pegi pasar potong ikan laa weh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 31
        • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:21 am

Your comment made me chuckle hard! hahahaa! let’s take it up a notch higher.

R3 = Risible, Retrograde, Rectalgia

LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
        • JustSaying on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:21 pm

TRD = Try Racing Dead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • Filter Heart on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:08 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 177
        • policeman on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:39 am

right…your 2 airbags only Fiesta.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 11
          • Wah .. now barking on airbag. Let’s see if this can be maintained just like how they launch a model with 4disc brakes and reduce it to 2 quietly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
          • Erm… my fiesta got 7 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 71
          • Jimmy Dean on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:52 am

No, Fiesta can easily get 2 more boobies bags… Suprima for sure forever alone only 6 airbags and nothing more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
          • Yaa..ya… Fiesta with a lady got 4 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • LOL? Why the thumbs down? My Fiesta really got 7 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Fredo on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:51 am

Really ah? i’m not a Fiesta hater since my gal also driving one… but hey, u really dun need a Suprima S for ur Fiesta KID, my oldskool Satria 1.6XLI will do u justice anytime, anywhere la..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • karipap on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:08 am

hadoi. takuuutt sangaat sbb fiesta boleh makan neo & suprima… (letak tangan atas bahu mata pandang atas)… puih!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
        • Means my fiesta can smoke your fiesta too, brilliant.

• Purple Haze on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:31 am

My Aventador can eat your Fiesta and your ego anytime Filter Heart. Stupid people, stupid people everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • jibby on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:01 pm

bullshit.you dont own Aventador! sakai much purple haze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Goodcarlover on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm

wahhh your fiesta is a car eating monster haa??? where you buy it??? haha

• Nazmi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Wah?! your Fiesta can eat ka? Maybe you should feature your car in the Ripley’s Believe it Or Not. The first car that eat other car.

• theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

the best still satria r3. the black 4g93 one. vroom2.

• Amokio on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:18 am

After all these years Mr. Chin come across a lot of designs, and Proton still not sure who to hire…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 7
    • brown kid on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:33 am

proton designer not to be blame, what they design kinda nice just the one that approve ‘meh’…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
      • karipap on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:14 am

correct. Proton designer can come out with whatever advance design that exist on earth, but they need to adhere the ‘design to cost’ requirement… every car has their own targeted BOM (Bill of Material) cost…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • bapak kau on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:53 am

i like ur comment. sgt pedas..

• From original model, touch up here and there is totally different than come out with a new one

• ammar on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:20 am

thumb up! it would be nice if it was officially.. hope proton did something to make it a bit of different and more sporty, and cant wait for R3 version..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • sepul on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:23 am

Not a bad impression. proton, bring a concept for this already! I mean, produce one (many) already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Alson P on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:24 am

Theophilus Chin always gives good impressions….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:33 am

R for rubbish

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 203 Thumb down 231
  • Beng Keng on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:58 am

theophilus chin for president!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • Furqan on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:01 am

Nice Focus ST rims….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • meng meng on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:10 am

it’s time launch a all new satria turbo cfe la.

• kenny on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:16 am

200hp u must be kidding even honda civic only 18+hp nvr expect to highh lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • namanama on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

front bumper design is awesome.nice rendering though.

• Nazmi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Why not? mini cooper also a 1.6 ltr car but with tweaks and tunes it can go to more than 250 bhp. Don’t believe me? Go search for Cooper Works or Cooper Digitec or Cooper Hartge. It’s just example that CC don’t really reflect the power of a car.

• please la make it real! handsome la this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Nice job!!

• Rakyat on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:33 am

Golf GTi smokes this easily…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
  • If Malaysians aren’t willing to support their national carmaker, how is it going to be better if you all keep on bashing about Proton? Atleast they’re making progress, though not drastically but atleast there’s improvements. If ya’ll think ya’ll so great driving JDMs and European cars, just shut up and drive your cars. You think running a car company is that easy like words coming from your petty mouth ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 16
    • thelonely on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:42 am

you can criticize, but blind bashing without even trying the car is plain ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Fredo on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:57 am

Hahha, dun worry bro, these people selling something else, they feel threaten by Proton lately….even Toyota think Suprima-S will take their vios customer that they have opened the new vios for booking 1 day before the Suprima S launching….but even at the similar price they are actually 2 different cars…1 with six airbags, they other make do with just 2…no offense ya but customer can make their choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Kahiri78 on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Baisala bro..Peminat Dugong memang ramai kat dalam ni…Aku kalau org bagi free Dugong kat aku, aku terus jual je buat modal beli keta lain hahahahaah

• Those dual exhaust are the tits ! …… sorry, I couldn’t help it. xD Theo never fails to excite us with his works !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Syok sendiri like hell lah you

Go send it to Top Gear, long time no Proton jokes from them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 61
      • So, we meet again…. my evil double.

Kutuk, kutuk, kutuk …. is that all you know how to do ? I feel bad for you man, really.

For once, say something constructive lah. -__-

• zerosuck on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:56 pm

haiz what’s your fault
          you just give credit where it’s due, sigh

• Nazmi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Yo dude.. Jeremy from top gear even thinks that the civic type R is joke lah.

• joanna on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:38 am

Suprima is Ugly. Enough said. Outdated preve design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
  • xflow on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:55 am

theo is far better than azlano..what the heck is proton design is doing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Theo better open his own Proton mod shop.

Any ugly Proton cars he can fix it ha ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • karipap on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:03 am

anyone can come out with fantastic design. even designers in proton can come out better than what they have now. but they have the limitation called ‘design to cost’. every additional curve, styling,facelift, must meet the designated cost. nanti buat cantik2, harga naik sikit, korang menyalak pulak, kereta mahal la, hape la. maybe u said theo better than azlano, but definitely far faaarr better than u… big L on the forehead! puih! :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • angelus on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:40 pm

U’re right bro, plus the designs must be approved by the body parts vendors, most who are still well connected politically, and some simply don’t want to upgrade their old moulding machines to accomodate new designs.

• Kahiri78 on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Betul mcm bro cakap. Tapi ramai org kat dalam ni sembang kemas je! Ada yang tak baca specs pun apatah lagi test drive-tapi dah hentam gila2…aku pun used to be Proton-Phobia gak, tp at at least aku open minded sikit hahah

• VoidDance on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:37 am

I have seen their designers at work first hand during Proton’s Open Day a few years back. They’re good. Their designs are on par with others around the world. In-fact, they did showcase a few clay models of sexy looking cars in their design centre.

But like other people said, it is down to top management and car requirement and nowadays, stupid safety requirement that make cars bloated and hedious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Safety requirements are not stupid. It may be restricting the design but definitely not stupid.

• VoidDance on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Oh yes, you’re right. Things such as pedestrian safety requirement that basically makes front end of a car bloated is a good thing.

By the way, do you as a pedestrian walk in the middle of the road?

• yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:12 am

Have you ever been in a serious car accident dude? If you do then you should know better how much of a safety feature is actually very important for any car.
        By the way the thing about the top brass, I couldn’t agree more. Its not actually about making a brand nowadays, its more like how much money can I bag in this time.

• azrai on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:10 am

Theo,
    Can you please give us a glimpse on new variant of this Preve family by rendering a Civici Tourer or Stream like wagon of Proton? I think it will be a hot sale. Maybe a Caldina like appearance can make good.

• taboogen on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:11 am

we have seen redering from mr chin emerged as exora bold. i think this coulb be the next project.

• My gosh, Proton. Hire Theophilus Chin. He’s the man for your design dept.

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:26 am

This would content VW and Ford wanna-be fanboys, at least aesthetically :p

• The pricing is wrong !! how to change people preception…this model shall be the starting point for new car pricing at least 40k to 50k maximum. We malaysian pay such high cost to get a new house, education and health !! our income tax is also high !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Gavin on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:45 am

Perfect candidate for the Petronas E01 engine

• dewaSemut on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:58 am

This is the car that should have been launched last saturday… :)

• antiproton on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:04 am

Back can be accept.but front still look like crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Chris on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:04 am

This + 180hp + 250nm torque. Don’t need 6 speed, even 5 speed manual is enough. And price below 90k for full spec, I’d give Proton another try.

• Fredo on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:54 am

Ermmm… 180hp and 250Nm sounds very possible but to maintan below 90k with that new power (obviously not coming from Campro 1.6L turbo engine) is somewhat impossible….unless they start to reduce the features apart from the performance department

• Chris on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:35 pm

I’m sure it’s possible. I don’t want to pretend to be an automotive engineer when I’m not, but unless they’re just giving the standard Campro engine a light boost for more power, I’m sure they can just increase the boost.

Of course this sounds like the 5 year warranty will not be possible anymore because things will start breaking down sooner…

• moluska on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Give 1 200hp car with price tag below 150k in malaysia? Be real man…we are not in 1960 where all the material is still cheap

• Chris on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:25 pm

200hp? I didn’t said anything about 200hp or 150k here. *confused*

It’s a turbocharged engine, you can get bigger power by sacrificing engine life.

• theanswer on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm

yeap2. release new exec sedan..with rear aircon to replace perdana. improve the hp abit to 150-160hp..220-240nm. should be good.

• i love this rendering! the design itself is superb!

• VoidDance on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:40 am

Honestly guys, Theo is good but as a auto manipulator (photoshoppers) which basically soup up currently available designs. I’ve yet to see Theo come out with his own 100% design. If it is good, Proton should no doubt hire him ASAP.

• This is how it should have been designed from the start

• izack04 on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:57 am

For me this is better than what had been launched last week. This car should have new front design when the CEO of Proton emphasizing that this is new model.

• Lemonguy on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:02 am

Outsider can design better than Potong’s designer… They really have to sit down and think carefully how to have a strong and experience designer rather than just blindly recruit based from race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • muammarhafiz on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm

u talk like u know automotive design. do u ?

• yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:36 am

Do you have any idea how talented these designers are? They can even design a car that matches Lamborghinis. But sadly due to the budget restrictions, well, we won’t be seeing them.

• syukriramli on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

as always..the comment section is more ‘interesting’

• TheProfessional on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

If the arch-wheel gets a bit wider like the focus RS, then this car would be a really nice hothatch indeed! :)

• ahmadjohnson on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:14 am

If it’s really 200hp, 6MT, got good price & good review, then yes I want this Proton Suprima R

• johnsonbaby on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:08 am

Above spec will come out in the 1st or 2nd quarter of 2014. -Insider.

• pocket rocket on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:25 am

Can we call this rookie a hot hatch? or not hot enough ;)

• sylinder on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:32 am

wow…his design inspire me..

• Handsome .. I like it..

• datuk on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:56 am

nice design! looks good! hope proton will produce this as Suprima R3 or Suprima S Special Edition, pair with 6 speed manual transmission. Plus semi bucket seat!

• The addition of bigger spoiler is very good enough, indeed the car really need it. The problem with suprima is rear top which curve down too early and making rear passengers overexpose to the heat of the sun. This is the only complain from my family when we takea look at the car in showroom

• passerby00 on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

sure; but it must be cheap. RM77k-80k can pay for downpayment for PR1MA house already. Proton think we all minting money meh?

• Gua punya rasa on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:09 am

perghhh!! gua suka ini design, really superb!

• ernie on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:11 am

way to go theo. you make our day.

• Cool!

• pandikutty on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:41 am

Because of this lousy proton all korean car become expensive same to japanese and cotinental car. Al leaast proton car must be cheaper Rakyat didahulukan 1 malaysia.

• muammarhafiz on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:32 pm

lack of knowledge punye manusia akan bg statement mcm ni.

• i kept getting the feeling that rear lamp design looks familiar…

• v-power on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:43 am

Funny…the Suprima is hailed as the go-faster sibling of the Preve…with the Turbo badging and whatnot…yet this car is a bag of bricks compared to the normal Preve CFE (1,375 – 1,395 kg vs 1,340 kg for the Preve)…and gets the same CVT box too…

So maybe slapping on the R kit will make this car LOOK fast (BTW, nice rendering Theo)…but it might find itself struggling for pace against featherweight rivals such as the Suzuki Swift Sport or even the updated CRZ Sport plus…

• muammarhafiz on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:31 pm

you dah try dgn suzuki swift ke bro ? or just talk sing song je.

• v-power on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Suzuki Swift Sport 2012: 0 – 100km – 8.7sec
        Suprima S (turbo): 0 – 100km – 9.9sec

You can google it. Bear in mind, Suzuki Swift Sport is NA (VVT) not turbo…

• kreamer on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:16 pm

put 3 other people in the car, sure SSS left ffffffffaaaaaarrrrrr behind, lol

• namanama on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:54 pm

have to agree with v-power,indeed swift sport provide good handling and quick too..I’ve drove previous version before.but for 80k price tag I think for some reason Suprima win hands down and not to forget Lotus handling is fun to drive too.

• muammarhafiz,
        Judging from all your comments above, you sounded like p1 engineer/designer..heheh

• hatchback lover on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:51 am

guys, why not create this suprima s having a bodykit like the subaru impreza sti varis bodykit, not thats awesome hehe

• no need worry..will arrive soon at your nearest abang’s shop. trust me. haha

• Suprima R? my vios with some mod can smoke suprima R anytime..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Pro Ton on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:11 pm

The BN edition (blue) suprima is very nice.but i think if proton can produce PAS edition suprima (scirocco green) would be better.

• Pro Tonk on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Yes like that Satria Neo Lotus Green colour…colour jingga Pakatan also looks hot and sporty like Lamborghini orange…

• Rakyat on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Blue edition for BN troopers.

• theo_is_great on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:16 pm

hi theo, great job! I strongly suggest u go in to Proton and help them.

• Realist on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:19 pm

theophilus chin PLEASE RENDER INTERIOR TO LOOK SPORTY AND SUGGEST TO PROTON, I DON’t MIND IF EXPENSIVE CUZ NOW IT LOOKS PLAIN INSIDE

• D.I.Y on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:15 pm

really like a Focus ST wo.. HAHAHA!

• My lancer gt will be defeat by fiesta n suprima…wow…hahaha

• muammarhafiz on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:29 pm

x patriotik langsung bangsa dorang ni. pandai kutuk tp hidup sendiri entah2 habuk pun xda. xsuka proton konon tp pakai toyota zaman tok kadok..kui kui kui.

good job Proton ;)

• WATTORPOQ on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm

gapoooooo….good job, pueh…depan mcm kerbau je…buat la design gempak skit….mcm bm ka, audi ka…ini…adusss sakit mata tgk

• Ahmadfaris93 on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

BRING ON THE OEM BODYKITS !

• RoKie on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Hell yeah ! I’ll book one if they make it exactly like that !

• drMpower on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:14 pm

i got to hat off for mr chin. this is a seriously good looking hatchback. now we hope for 6 speed manual and that petronas engine. then only all these kids will shut up for ever.

the thing with proton i dont know who do designing. from what basic knowledge tells me, designing should be the work of an ARTIST. if u ask engineer design then seriously broken la brother.

u ask artist to design and then ask engineer to realise it. the same goes for PAINT selection. u must ask an artist for opinions, and let the engineers do the technical parts.

but..maybe. justtt maybe R3 has something in mind for this.

• kelso on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Build, build, build, build

• zaidss on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

sebab name kete atas tu proton so ape yg proton wat sume x kene. cherr kete atas tu brand Ford, Toyota or honda ker sure org kate ‘ really nice car’

• BribesForCompromises on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Nah! here’s the hot sup rimau for you Tun… bon apetit.

• Tell you, Toyota & Honda were shivering last Saturday upon seeing this model. This Suprima is going to take the world by storm. Even BMW and Mercedes were having emergency board meeting because of this launch. Some even peeing in their pants. Preve is already a global phenomenon, this Suprima will be even greater.
    The Android display, OMG can you believe it? Android. It’s a dream comes true that you can play Angry Bird while driving.

• Great! I dun have to waste my handphone battery power while I’m gaming in my car and I have bigger screen too!

• Ah Beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Android sucks, iOS is better.

• Rakyat on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm

No, Toyota & Honda laugh until they guling-guling on the ground after they saw this model.

• Dun pray pray. My friend from toyota flew to japan on sat nite for emergency meeting with mr toyoda himself. Mr toyoda was shaken by 5his new model from proton. Also most auto makers already revised their sales at least 30% lower.
        This time proton dont want to get rich also cannot.

• Steve R on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Two thumbs up for Chin. Proton should seriously take into consideration asking chin to join the design team.

This is always the case. Chin is truly a petrol head and he knows what a car guy wants. And normally the guys who have the budget and money to come out with a car do not understand what a car guy need.

• Steve R on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:32 pm

If this design is use for Suprima initial official launch it will catch a lot of attention. Proton design team still lack of innovation and creativity

• cursefinger on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Seriously, it is really great rendering! If he join Proton, more great car design Proton will have.

• dream on..

coz after all the extravagant designs mr.chin, the approval is only by you-know-who…

• This is what we want. The launched suprima is a joke. Luckily we still have preve.

• Looks like majority of the people here are kinda positive and supporting this Suprima S, I am wondering how many supporter will really buy this car instead of pushing other people to buy this car :)

• Gua punya rasa on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:16 pm

what if Proton use Honda’s engine? exterior, interior all Proton design but engine use Honda’s.. coz people talk about cfe makan minyak byk.. maybe can sell more.. gua rasa la..

• Why are Malaysian cars so expensive? Local made cars should be very low so that people will buy local cars thn expensive import models.

• Ah Beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Ask proton supporters as they want to support proton.

• pirlo on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:39 pm

no. ask government why. the end price to public is determined by government after including the taxes, not proton.
        what proton stated are bill of material (BOM) and profit. the rest are excise and sales duty.
        let’s take aussie’s preve price as example (AUD: 16k -> RM: 49k). difference around rm10k comparing to domestic. in simple term, aussie’s rm49k is absolutely including logistics, aussie’s local homologation (emission development for ecu & tcu, evaluation of aussie’s road), aussie’s manpower like edar or marketing, custom and local authorities charges, documentations etc. Minus all that, it would give you roughly the ‘real price’ of preve. on top of that, though the parts are the same both domestic and aussies, there are some are special part (not carry over from domestic) in order to meet local requirements (less volume for special part = higher price, after considering the ammortization period). hence, it will cost a little bit on that which make more or less the price a little bit higher than our preve.
        i’m not sure how tax structure in aussie operates. please enlighten me on that.
        what i am trying to say here is that our local vehicle tax structure is so high, which actually, we deserve to have lower price of preve here in malaysia than aussie. not only T or H is burdened with taxes, but also P1 and P2; excise and sales (no import duty anymore from asean region like thai, indon).
        the difference that P1 and P2 can make is, P1 has more freedom in term of manufacturing local contents comparing to P2 upon on Daihatsu’s approval. that’s why a myvi kosong is quite expensive at the first place, then they can reduce the price a bit after done some localization stages.

• WATTORPOQ on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:27 pm

oooo..yeah….taht cheap la 78K if u put Rupiah…Rp78K…keh..keh…keh…

• Mr Gray on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:25 pm

All cars are levied taxes in Malaysia, proton and perodua included. Deductions are given according to percentage of local contents, therefore P1 & P2 can lower prices as their local contents are much higher.

Contrary to assumption, Toyota, Honda and other foreign marques sell at more expensive prices not solely because of tax. They choose to sell their cars with a huge premium because many Malaysians value the brands greatly.

everyone wants low tax, cheap oil, cheap car, cheap everything. You think how the government is going to finance all that? You gotta be pragmatic, you can’t have everything.

Are u willing for the government the let the petrol price being determined by market forces? In return for lower car prices?

• NoAhBengPeaceLand on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:47 am

Don like that rendering.. back to old gen2 shadowing

• WATTORPOQ on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:24 pm

what the crull, espertiqous….

• SalSays... on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:25 pm

I won’t be surprised if some over enthusiastic owners will change the front to a Subaru Impreza bumper & grille like some did to the new Saga…lol!

• bigbioss on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:18 am

To me the design is outstanding and awesome and also its came out with extra features…inshaAllah this car will be my first car

• Big Daddy on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm

you guys sure like to complain. dont like dont buy. u like good on u.

• Proton, if u want to compete and compare with other c-segment carmakers, stop using single interior door panel with groove. It feels so cheap, fake, lack of premium feel. Produce it properly, you will see the difference.

• malaysian on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:45 am

car 4 all mlysian…really cool…like

• Hurah! on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Thinking if proton will able in future build/produce a 1 million ringgit car, believe that all the fanatic fans of the foreign car maker still criticize it. but at that time, might comparing with the ferrari/lambo/porch/jag/meserati/etc..blah..blah..and yet, the funny part they only own city/polo/camry or the vios, so called by people who really hated it as dugong?..haha..”what la u”..

Never test drive but already mumbling. very funny.

• razmanyusof on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:16 pm

waja dulu pakat potong hidung kasi garang sikit. preve pula belakang tinggi sangat bumper dan skirt depan masih liner kedalam tak sporty juga. Ini suprima, masih lagi takut nak stylish lebih sporty. Amacam proton.I rasa susah laku pula model ini.Pengguna terpaksa modifikasi selesai beli.menyusahkan. Tirulah macam VIOS baru bhg depan lebih agresif, takut apa….. binalah rekabentuk lebih dinamik.Baru dipanggil model baru.Agaknya sebab tulah eksekutif muda tak minat keluaran proton. Lebih baik beli keluaran Perodua. Kecil2 pun cili padi.Betul juga tagbusinnes diaorang ” Buliding the people cars firt”.
    Sampai bila PROTON akan dikenang.Dah lama dah..sejak 1985 lagi……….

• norman on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:59 am

Just stop using the punch cvt can?my friends instal racechip on their exora bold cfe and preve cfe and dyno show 151hp/240nm and wtf Proton use the vt3 gearbox that limit to 215nm only?

• imran on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:45 pm

preve CFE racechip 0-100kmh in 7.3 seconds
      exora CFE racechip 0-100kmh in 9 seconds.
      refer racechip FB page

tq

• syamz on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:06 am

susah2 korang design dan buat sendiri kereta yg korang suka…x payah komplen pasal kereta2 lain…kereta mewah pun ada kecacatan sendiri cuma xnak heboh sbb takut memalukan jenama diorg…x semua perfect

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Does anyone know, what happened to Proton LEKIR??

• mohd rasadan bin hashim on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:50 am

hope if suprima s engine use kind of the timing chain engine i think much better neh..save cost for timing belt change every 70k km …my opinion..wallahhualam

• imran on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Timing chain & timing belt have their own advantages. please don’t think as timing chain is that superior.

timing chain change every 200kkm. the cost is very expensive. the chain is heavy and effect the some performance & chance of slippage.

I change my timing belt every 100kkm and the timing belt is still look like new. next i will extend to 120kkm for sure.

i think paul have already posted an article about timing chain and timing belt here a while ago

• designlover on Sep 13, 2013 at 11:11 am

Atleast theo create good design rendering and how the car shoud looks like after upgrade, and I think theo render is better looking than crappy proton design, selalu buat design buruk aku pun tak faham kenapa….?

• insaneous on Dec 15, 2013 at 11:41 pm

i like it… wait . I LOVE IT !!! :D

• Zanmad on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Im a new user to proton suprima..(just bought it cash 1 month ago)..to tell the truth im very impress with this model..my 1st car was a proton savvy which i really disappointed with ..(maintenance quiet high,many problem especially the gear box since im used the AMT..etc..) but this new model suprima really surprising! Feel smooth while driving & easy handling ..etc.. Plus the price is reasonable since u will get 6 airbags..reverse camera, sensor rear & front..internet ..etc.. Compare to other foreign car definately u can not get that price ..
    Overall I must say Proton did a good job to improve especially the quality..

• Brandon Yong on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:32 am

The concept Suprima R is truly unique & much better outlook design compare to current model Supreme S. I’m so excited if proton car maker wanted & consider to launch this concept Supreme “type-R”. I can tell you that this concept car model surely will up to the market.

• Brandon Yong on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Wow..! Is awesome. The concept “Suprima R” is much more sporty and much better outlook design compare to the current model “Suprima S”. I hope proton carmaker can consider very seriously for this concept model. Don’t forget the car interior design is also very important if they want to matching the car outlook. I’ll waiting for this good news..!