Proton Suprima R3 and manual variants on the way?

Now that the Proton Suprima S has been officially launched, the question is of course whether there are plans to introduce a manual version of the hatch, or indeed, a R3-type performance variant, given that the hatchback bodystyle invariably invites such an approach.

We’ve already seen what the Suprima R Concept, an unofficial rendering by Theophilus Chin, would shape the five-door hatch to be if it was sported up.

In an interview with Datuk Lukman Ibrahim during the launch, the Proton deputy CEO intimated that such plans were afoot, that a manual version of the car as well as a R3 performance version were indeed in the pipeline. Lukman also revealed that a R3 version of the Preve sedan would arrive before the Suprima S R3 – will it have elements seen on the Preve Sapphire, we wonder.

PROTON_Suprima_R_Front

Lukman also revealed export plans for the Suprima S, which conforms to ECE and ADR regulations – as mentioned in our launch report, the car will next make its way to ASEAN markets (Indonesia and Thailand) before the year is out. Lukman added that this will be followed by the car’s introduction in developed markets such as Australia and the UK, as well as a new export market, South Africa.

The choice of Turbo badging to replace the CFE emblem was also explained – the adoption of a well-known descriptor makes it easier to distinguish, especially in international markets.

suprima competitors
Click to enlarge pic

Some other points from Saturday’s launch. Highlighted was the fact that the car was benchmarked against a number of competitors in this segment, with four being bandied about during the presentation.

Two cars in particular, a ‘RM148k German car’ and a ‘RM128k American car’, were evaluated against the Suprima S over nine aspects of technical competence, ranging from steering linearity and straight-line handling to body control.

suprima technical competence aspects
Click to enlarge pic

Though no direct mention was made as to their identity, the nationality and pricing effectively cements them as the Mk 6 Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI (baseline form, sans foglamps, Bi-Xenon DCC headlamps) and the current third-generation Ford Focus Sport +. The other cars mentioned as benchmark competition were the Peugeot 308 Turbo and Mazda3, though no performance aspects were displayed.

Save for four parameters where the two equal the Suprima S in one way or another, the Suprima S is supposedly to have aced the duo in terms of cornering ability, lane change, body control, wheel control and steering linearity. Those are certainly big claims, so we’re definitely curious as to finding just how good the Suprima S is during the upcoming media test drive soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Priorities Gone Wrong on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 327 Thumb down 453
    • kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:08 pm

The RM7 Billion collected from car duties easily wiped off for BR1M 3.0 soon…yeah money well spent lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 31
      • Inefficient on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Suprima can corner quicker but would probably lost in 24 hour race format due to more refuelling required…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 36
        • Before you start talking about Suprima S is a better handling car, please get all the details right first.

Does it have a button to turn off the traction control and how many settings does it have for the traction control?

Please put a proper Sport mode which improves the throttle sensitivity and gear change, don’t just re-label the Low ratio gear selection as Sport mode.

Please make sure that the driver can get into the best seating position by making the steering wheel tilt and telescopic adjustable, not just tilt adjustable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 36
          • Ah Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:57 am

Last time it’s BMW of Asia, now is what? Let Golf GTi teach this diaper car a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 63
          • Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:55 am

Dude, FYI there is a button to disable the ESC and TC in SUprima-s, ur blind statement just shows ur ignorant

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 8
          • Read the question again, it is not enough just to have the button TC off button. To qualify as a “great” handling car, it must have a few TC setting options.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 45
          • moluska on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:13 pm

dude, its 80k car yet people shout price is sky high.can u get TC in 80k car price car from other country?this feature has been apply for the first time on proton car. Yet all basher barking here n there.

• neither in race nor sport/performance cars FC is important

you jelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
          • UnderCoconutShell on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Google Audi R18 e-Tron Quattro Le Mans. Tq…

• i knew already. but it’s not yet going into the mainstream racing like F1 for now, understand?

• BigWorldOutside on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Ever heard about KERS? How about 2014 1.6L Turbo V6?

• TakeThatLeap on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Don’t forget about:
            “cruise to save fuel”
            “park after crossing the line”
            “start will less fuel onboard”

• This is 2013, not 2014. see my phrase “not yet”?

• Hurah! on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:21 am

Very funny!
          No one had test this car for 24hr race, not even u ..hahahaha,24hr race not only about FC loh..many othr things must take into consideration..hahahaha

• Onli god n kimchi people know how hyundai-kia survive bashing during hyundai-kia era of low quality n gov protection pre-2000…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • if internet was there, now we can read it and laugh…and take lessons for good, especially for proton bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • MoFaz on Aug 20, 2013 at 1:34 am

Proton still need to catch-up the kimchis. the close rival for Suprima in Australia is Cerato Hatchback. design wise is subjective, so we’ll just compare basic technical info. Suprima vs Cerato 5-door 6-speed A/T hatch:

Dimension (LWH): 4436x1788x1524 vs 4350x1780x1450
        Weight (tare/kerb): 1395kg vs 1309kg
        weight (gross): 1725kg vs 1800kg
        Engine: 1.6turbo vs 2.0 (based on similar power / output)
        Max Power (kW@rpm): 103@5000 vs 129@6500
        Max Torque (Nm@rpm): 205@2000-4000 vs 209@4700
        0-100kmh sprint: 9.9s vs 9.3s
        FC (combined cycle): 9.1l vs 7.4l
        Price in AU: TBA (for reference, full spec Preve is RM63k) vs RM78k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Koreans get cheap Hyundai Kia price with world class design quality (yes with protected policy by Korea govt)

But rakyat here get what? Overpriced outdated ugly syok sendiri Protons. Big joke lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 55
        • mzklame on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:03 pm

bashing with no explanation?
          that’s stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • namanama on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:49 pm

vios is not overprice right? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • namanama on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:50 pm

and up-to-date tech also.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • mzklame on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Yes, for 90k Vios you get 4 auto gears plus 6 virtual one. The total is 10 gears. It’s already like latest merc wor. And the airbags are not 6. It has 2 physical + 100 virtual ones. It is much safer than a invincible tank

Also, you get 1.5l engine that can transform the car into virtual wings and FLY!

LOL. Buy vios, it come from future, invincible and CAN fly! HAha!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
        • Anonymous on Aug 21, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Agreed with MZK…

I had surveyed pricing of the “P – car” at AUS with the price tag of AUS$15,999.00. But at here, the price tag at RM59,990.00.

If you do a bit of calculation, with the current exchange rate of 2.97 (MYR-AUS), the local “P – car” buyer actually paying RM12.5k more than the AUS buyer.

Question here, where is the local buyer privilege as to enjoy cheaper local made car? The facts, stated in the following link.

http://www.protonpreve.com.au/
          http://proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Preve/PricingSpecs.aspx

• sirnp on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:55 pm

so what? preve premium has 4 airbags in malaysia, if want 6 go for SS. still it’s cheaper in Aus due to different tax structure

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Sirnp, you still cant get the picture on what we are paying for

• sirnp on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:35 am

what ? tell me

• that y the T and H in malaysia also with low spec but overprice due to tax. even the P in Malaysia is expensive than export P in AUS.

• Hurah! on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:34 am

But then, if anyone who insist to buy P cars, they cant buy from the oversea, it cost more due to tax and other charges/fees..Everyone has their own unique reason to buy any cars, there are peoples who buy a car just want to use it for only 1 year, after that, sell it!..

• Ahwai on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Blame our gov lar… Dont blame PTN.. Aussie & Egypt people can buy Cheap PTN car… Why? Our tax lor…

• calcutta on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm

there will always no volume for bad quality car

try imagine if satria neo has the handling and performance of a polo gti,or perhaps a normal swift will do also lah….proton mar..

story will be so much different

problem is not volume,good car will always have volume

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • namanama on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:56 pm

well I’ve test drive satria neo r3 (lotus handling) well they done a pretty good job,I’m quite amaze with throttle response.material quality also not bad.at some point yes,i have to agree with you…volume is the main problem for proton.

• Rogaz on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:22 am

Please Malaysian what you said seem right but it not because we need to invest to generate money. If you think that way and have extra money please build school and hospital but if you you are poor your thinking make you poor keep it for your self. Think like china they buy so many company all over the world for investment but still their people came here to become dirty girls. Why this happening ? Because they invest event they still poor but by are very big company. Think please.

• meng meng on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Buy this car also good. Atleast no worry got ppl stole ur car when park out side.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 9
    • beng beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Pencuri will used to it to rompak again so how???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 12
      • tikus on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Pencuri dont use Sup Rima for rompak,takut breakdown..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 28
        • not everyone wants to get a diaper car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • vios is better choice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
          • webber on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:17 am

yes, because vios can fly, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
          • Policeman on Aug 20, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Cops will laugh when you use this to rompak. They will say:” Tengok, pencuri dalam Suprima diaper.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • bengong on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Cops cannot get them arrested in vios coz it can fly, sweeeeeeee

That thing can fly without wings
            wow wow wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Source: Internal test.

Of course an internal test will say what you want the people to know, which may not be a full picture. It’s not like any manufacturer is going to say my car is second best in terms of handling than my competitors.

And the actual price, with the same tax Proton gets, for a Focus or Golf should be about 80 odd k. I don’t think its fair they speak on price due to the taxation system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 9
    • Leseid Obrut on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:50 pm

who are they trying to fool? an independent 3rd party test would add more credibility to their claims laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Hydraulic on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Hydraulic driven power steering normally gives a better feel compared to electric assisted power steering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Let Top Gear do a test, they will speak the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Beng Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Err…please specify which Top Gear…
        I hope u mean the original one in England and not the local one though…

• Jimbo on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:53 pm

The Suprima’s ride & handling trumps that of the Focus & Golf? Very big claims indeed, i’m finding it very difficult to believe, I mean in all honesty the Suprima’s ride & handling should be good or better than the Preve but to confidently say that it has aced the two giants who have a long legacy of established and proven R+H really baffles me. We will only know from a proper review I suppose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 13
    • teelim on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I think it could be possible. But only because they have Lotus. Poor Lotus have to be dragged in to help a Proton sell.

Also, notice that there is nothing on straight line performance, engine power output, fuel economy, etc.?
      LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
      • yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:01 am

Dude, a lot of giant companies are making ties with the smaller companies like our Proton. So why the fuss? This is business we are talking about bro.

• “straight line performance, engine power output, fuel economy” — this is the beginning. the manual veariant has more to give

• Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:58 am

Dude, read carefully will ya…
      PROTON never claims such things..the data was used internally for bench marking purposes..
      it was PAULTAN that says it could be the Golf etc.
      read carefully dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • teelim on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:03 am

Bro,
        Come on, what other German and American hatchbacks are RM148k and RM128k (respectively. Sure, the don’t SAY it is the Golf and Focus, but we all KNOW it is.

• but Proton did say “a ‘RM148k German car’ and a ‘RM128k American car’” in a slide presentation at a launch in full view of press. Can you name any other candidate besides the Ford Focus and VW Golf?
        Paultan did not secretly steal these documents from proton’s internal circulation.
        Even if so, that is the data used for internal benchmarking, as you say. And they claim it is better. hence, take home message is=our car(suprema s) is better than these 2 benchmarking standards (Focus & Golf). Or do you think Proton just posted to figures to make their development team feel good about themselves?

• Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Thats whay i suggest go test drive urself…i’ve driven golf TSi, Focus Sport, 308 Turbo and Mazda3 and recently the Suprima-s. in terms of overall performance of coz i like the golf, very responsive…but if we focus on ride and handling alone, Suprema-s is on par with them if not better… only thing is its fitted with ayam tires…i think it will improve even more with better tires

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • What car r u driving now? It is totally different feel even before you start the engine when you sit in VW, Peugeot, Mazda and Proton. DSG is far more superior than the proton’s crappy CVT. Peugeot is still 1 generation behind German. Mazda is good, but only applicable to SkyActive which the current Malaysian 3 don’t have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Jazzer on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:43 pm

skyactive is crap for auto tranny. mazda3 auto is much slower than SS. only manual is ok. proton’s CVT is from punch powertrain, it supplies part for BMW Mini-cooper too.

• Fredo on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:52 am

Hello bro, i wasnt talking about “feeling” cant u read carefully ?
            i said, if focus on ride n handling alone la…haiyyyaa…
            whats d point asking what car i drive?

• Rakyat on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Most likely to syiok sendiri sahaja, typical jaguh kampung mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • skoda on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm

nothing to be much surprised really, it’s Lotus RnH

• Ah Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Don’t forget the car they claim to be BMW of Asia, what happen? Claim only who also can.

• mystvearn on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Hopefully in your test drive, can compare with the golf and the Focus as well. See how true Proton’s claim is

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • As I know, the rivals they said above got more power.. bhp + tork. Guess which left behind?

• kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:17 pm

You know what happen to Saga MIROS test with 1-star crash ratings…

Kelam kabut Proton denied it and re-do the test to get 3-star ratings and call it new test for new version FLX…HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 21
      • Mr.M.Y on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:04 am

so, what your problem?
        if you think you’re cukup bagus, you can choose viva or alza with thousand stars..

or, you can add rm40k to add another 1 star (4 star), Vios–> local made but feeling japan made..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Nobody bother to buy this car in Langkawi and Labuan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 21
    • hbrush on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:21 pm

so what? you no sell proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • kadajawi on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Nobody want to buy, teach me lah how to sell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • hbrush on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:59 pm

are you sure? where you get the numbers from?
          ok, maybe from your corrupted mind and butthurt, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • kadajawa on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Nobody in Langkawi will buy except you, bodoh. Even taxi drivers there don’t drive Proton.

• hbrush on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:48 pm

There are still proton cars in langkawi. It shows proton still have chance there. Now who’s bodoh? I think you haven’t been there. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • and they buy what? volkswagen and ford doesn’t even have showroom or service center in Langkawi. KIA showroom just close early this year in Langkawi. who want to buy car whose service center situated across the sea.

• yourstruly on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:04 am

You sure bro? Wanna bet? I’ll put in any amount of money you want.

• kadajawi on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:02 pm

If the car is such an improvement over the Preve as they make it out to be, will the changes and tweaks find their way into the Preve too?

Also will the Preve be upgraded to 6 airbags too (or at least will there be a spec level that has them?)?

As for the actual price… Proton is paying similar taxes to those import cars. However Proton seems to get support in terms of the government helping with development costs, which make up for a significant amount of the car price. It’s the same, regardless of how many cars you sell, so the more you sell, the better you can spread out the costs. Proton basically only sells in Malaysia, the economies of scale aren’t there (Ford is making a loss with every car they sell, simply because development costs are too high. And that is despite having the worlds best selling (almost?) cars).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Why Proton selling poorly in Australia? Unlike China cars despite its crappy reputation are selling in shiploads over there.

OK what is the top sales car in Langkawi, Labuan? Not from Proton right??? HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 41
      • powershot on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:20 pm

maybe because china cars are way much cheaper than proton cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
        • Advice Car on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm

“The Proton Preve should be priced at least $4000 cheaper, to be reasonably competitive against light sedans such as the Holden Barina and Nissan Almera. It is better than the Chery J3 that sells for $6000 less, but the Proton isn’t necessarily 35 per cent better, and it certainly shares some of the Chinese-made hatchback’s quality and refinement shortfalls.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • jawakada on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:39 am

what a bunch of bull. proton are NOT paying similar taxes as those of import cars.
      NOT. not, never, and never will.

proton got discounts for the taxes, excise duty and whatever else on top of it.
      sure, they slap a 10000000 million % tax. but give 20000000000 thousand % discount.

check the prices without tax and duty in langkawi. whoever would buy saga when jazz is only RM35k.

do pull your head out from your a$$.

• golden on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:07 pm

proton doesn’t get discount for excise duty in langkawi. that’s why lancer CBU is cheaper than inspira.
        don’t try to cheat people

• Beng Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Its not a matter of how many airbags in a car…its wether they actually deploy during impact.
      Dun want an airbag that only deploys…with a delay action fuse…2 days after the accident…no point…coz driver died ady :D

Sometimes paying more is saving your own life…literally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • SuperP on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Why not just call it Proton Sperma……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 51
  • kadajawa on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

“Two cars in particular, a ‘RM148k German car’ and an ‘RM128k American car’, were evaluated against the Suprima S over nine aspects of technical competence, ranging from steering linearity and straight-line handling to body control.”

That’s how a loser picking up a ‘fair fight’ in lopsided car tax market.

Appear cheaper just because other competitors being forced to put higher expensive price? Typical Jaguh Kampung lah

No wonder Proton sales in Australia as ‘good’ as Porsche over there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 21
    • kenot on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm

for me, proton also expensive and other car much2 more expensive due our tax structure. proton will be much cheaper if there is no tax/lower tax. like suprima s could be RM50-55K while focus will be 90K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Remind me of perodua… Jaguh kampung in bolehland coz bern protected.. But out side country.. Nobody wanna buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • whatdaaaaaaa on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Pity for you. In Malaysia, we call it perodua. Outside, it was known as under a Toyota Group (Daihatsu,Lexus,Isuzu……etc) with a different name and model.

Next time, please, I am begging you, be a smarter basher.

Retard.

• Dru-Zod on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:52 am

Agreed. This is very unfair comparison. Ask government to equal the tax level for Car F ,M, P German and American car. We’ll see which one the consumer will buy. Maybe only then Proton will buck up . Another typical syiok sendiri statement coming out from these fellas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • caaannnn , it’ll be like in thai where preve price is somewhere near city
        so it’s just back to square one

• poton potong on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Do a long term car test in 1yr time, then do a comparison with the above mentioned cars, based on reliability and service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Will Proton dare to accept such challenge as jaguh kampung? I don’t think so lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • at least is better than the T… whose slogan say is moving forward but… in actual step backward… Proton’s slogan – dare to change… dare to accept public feedback and sell this car at 80k!

if Proton don’t care so much why would they done so much changes in Suprima since Preve, Exora, etc… they can just sit there relax waiting somebody to feed them what…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
        • maivia on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:50 pm

RM80K? Better get a Honda or Toyota lah brader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
          • peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Honda , toyota jepun celup ASEAN made 3rd class dont have 6 airbags, cvt, ESC laaa… better buy real Honda/toyota which has 6 airbags, ESC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
          • Mr.M.Y on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:08 am

nk beli perdua (tuyota wannbe) silakan lah…

every people has different needs and desire…

no body enforce you to purchase proton…

• only u… not smart enough to get toyota or honda… why give ’em chance to sell you expensive empty car?? Just boycott them! Even if Proton is the worst or the most terrible cacat car in the world… I also wont buy Toyota here.. I rather buy Korean bloody sexy cars!

Look at where Japanese brands standing now…

Last time many ppl buy Sony phones, tv, etc… now.. What..
            Samsung… Kia.. Hyundai .. Catchup very fast…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • frenzyaustin on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm

At least Toyota won’t always break down like Jaguh Kampung did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
          • peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:30 pm

jaguh kampung= PERODUA… no???

which toyota u referred to??
            TOYOTA VELFIRE or TOYOTA AVANZA???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Beng Beng on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Ayo…accept public feedback ? sure anot ?
          last time the Preve test drive car crash and made headlines…
          They deny problem…and said driver error…
          I dun believe in coincidences. Where got driver so bad to hit a ramp and break the car ?
          Too powerful ??? hahaha its not even close to matching a Lambong-bini lar :D
          This is called cover-up…

• bengsuck on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:55 pm

ok ok Vios CAN fly, wow! haha! That’s powerful, veeerrryyyy

• you guys really should do a 5 car test (suprima,mazda3,focus hb,golf, and peugeot 308)
    and compare it in driven.

ok if 5 is too many, 3 enough la.
    can la can la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Rather than buy this supreme s, i get Mazda 3 2014, will debut soon…..

0-100kmh proton suprima s with turbo 9.9 sec
    FC 9.9liter per 100km

0-100kmh prius c hybrid 11.9 sec
    FC 4 liter per 100km

0-100kmh polo gti turbo 6.2 sec
    FC 7.1 liter per 100km

You decide….it neither a performance nor fuel saving car…..no supreme either….ha ha…. proton denied it preve hatchback…it was totally new car…. even kid can tells it just preve hatchback… so funny. You see mazda 3 got hatch version and sedan… just admit this is preve hatch model. Why so fuss……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • I’ ve just recheck the specs on the Suprima and while it does have a really welcome safety features, that fuel consumption honestly made me think twice. espacially on a car with this high of a price. As a singles(no family/bachelor) car, I don’t it really have what it takes to go with the timely competition of the Rio, Fiesta and (althou at a higher price) the 208 and the Prius C.

• tikus on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Proton always like to put unnecessary names over their product to confuce consume or try very hard to make difference.Preve is using turbo engine just say Turbo!! lar everybody will understand.Somehow Proton stupidly put CFE and nobody know what the hack it that and try hard to explain to people is turbo.Now baru wake up from sleeping and use back turbo.I wander what is the proton management is thinking….just as Khai say hatch version and sedan version cukup already.Now Sup Rima pulak…hai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Look at what the Australia says about it, Proton just shamed all of us to overseas.
      https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151609439551229&set=vb.330359950330628&type=2&theater

• frenzyaustin on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm

http://www.caradvice.com.au/247309/proton-suprima-s-preve-based-hatch-here-in-november/
        Oops, wrong link, sorry guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Ukulele on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:57 pm

“The Suprima S will be part of Proton’s upcoming expansion in Australia, with the hatch due in November, following the arrival of the seven-seat Exora in September and turbocharged Preve GXR in October.”

Preve GXR?

• Tumbi on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm

This car is good for the movie maker crew to buy it for shooting the car crash or car explosion scene.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
  • nowadays people are interested with car like vios.. only poor people buy plotong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 81
    • klsucks on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:53 pm

vios is dat good? haha i better buy Inspira lol ..more powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
    • kenot on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:54 pm

thats why vios still offer 2 airbags, 4AT in their spec. because they know malaysian will buy it even they sell at RM70K for vios kosong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Poor people but smart enough to buy safety loaded plotong…rich but stupid people buy vios and fly all the way to hell…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
      • Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Rich ppl buy vios 3 rd class jepun celup asean made umw crony??? I tot rich ppl buy real japs jdm toyota cars at naza showroom… Poor ppl buy umw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • Whysoserious on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Why there is so much hate towards UMW? UMW is just an assembler and distributor here.

Yes, almost all the Toyota and Honda cars we have in Malaysia right now are Asean cars, they are all home-grown products developed in Thailand and Indonesia catering specifically to their market requirement which is a cheap yet reliable workhorse for their daily usage.

The product intention is very clear, even for Malaysia but we didn’t get the cheap part thanks to our beloved government policy. (Beloved because we voted for them again to stay in power, so yay to us all).

Thanks to the old man’s love towards PROTON, all the big OEMs have invested in Thailand and Indonesia instead of Malaysia. Our neighbours in Thailand and Indonesia are now producing a lot more cars compared to what we are “assembling” right and they even export some of their cars back to Japan and some of them are good enough to end up in Europe.

We on the other hand are left behind with the only “Muslim” car making company whose products do not meet the expectation of our own people and beaten year after year by the “rebadged” Jaguh Kampung No. 2 products…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
          • Why you no read previous posts? Why T still gives 4 lame tranny and dinosaur-aged engine?
            Greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • Why dinosaur age engine uses a lot less fuel? Why dinosaur age engine has VVT-i and uses timing chain? Why dinosaur age engine uses aluminum block?

Why future age Campro doesn’t have all these?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • CFE got VVT lah. vios a lot of lighter than preve. you compare it with saga, not much diff in FC. try put 5 people, vios no power compared with saga. not to mention saga is more comfortable ride.

coming engine a lot advanced, wooohooooo! hail proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Nowadays.. Rich ppl will buy suprima n preve as their 3rd car , conti car as 1st car, real japanese jdm car such celcior, alphard as 2nd car

Whereas poor ppl dreaming of real jdm car but cant afford n buy 3rd class jepun celup asean made below 100k such vios, city n almera

Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 91
    • Hey brader!! What do u mean only poor people buy proton?!grow up pliss!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • bongeks on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Stupid comparing cars that obviously forced to price higher just to protect you. Shame on u P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • Bong Ngok on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:57 pm

It’s ‘unfair competition’ according to Proton…he he he

• bongoks on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Bro, why don’t u bring P1 to court for misleading statement…(pls use New Zealand RIBENA case as reference)

• dare them do the same “comparison” in australia or, if this sperma can go to UK. see how mat salleh laugh their shits out…

really, why these idiots still on pills thinking they are jaguh? when will they grow? when the M is in hell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • subnr on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:16 am

BRZ also has only about 200nm, sporty is not all about speed, it’s about handling too. even your fav clown, JC also praised it, so why not SS?

• peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:51 pm

remind me of imported compact car such jazz, swift, polo rite.. if these cars same price as perodua.. nobody wanna buy perodua rite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • PotongCar on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Proton or rather potong…shame on you…just looking to see how you will end up closing shop soon…hahaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:53 pm

u comment like this it wudnt change u to real japanese car or conti car owner lookalike la.. rakyat nampak cam perodua owner je..prrrtfhhh

• nabill on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

thy should have benchmarked the golf for interior quality…..ride and handling of the preve should have been carried over since it was close class leader in that regard….

• TalkBig on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:53 pm

How come Proton is not comparing the fuel consumption / efficiency with the Golf or Focus? It is a trend nowadays with newer model cars where the fuel efficiency is improved and emphasized however the Suprima is the opposite, it has worse mileage than the Preve Sedan at 9.1L per 100Km. At 9.1L, that is BAD, even SUVs and Pick up trucks have better mileage. And don’t give the excuse that the Suprima is turbo cos in many other car makes, the turbo version have better mileage. And as usual, Proton only talk big but never provide the data to prove what they say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:10 am

Dude, its not just talks…go check out the car and test drive urself….u got nothing to loose…
      i use to hate Proton too but i moved on…
      yes, they admit that they didnt have the best engine in terms of fuel consumption but at least they didnt lie about it.
      the old problem associated with proton that is ‘underpowered engine’ is solved with this turbo engine…maybe not as powerful as the golf nor the focus but at least not as sluggish as the old proton anymore.
      for those who hv doubt about its ride and handling i suggest u go test drive urself…no harm…at least u can comment/bash even more hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • teelim on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:27 pm

If they know their engine is crap, they should make a better one.

Proton has essentially only ONE engine block which they tweak here and there to produce variants like the 1.3, CPS, CFE, etc. After so many years, they have not improved much.

And with the Suprima S, they have essentially just chopped off the backside of the Preve and stuck the (most powerful) old engine in. Then just pass it to the boys at Lotus to work their magic on the car’s handling.

It still baffles me that they can call this a completely new car. What do they take us for? Idiots?

With the time difference between the launch of the Preve and the launch of the Suprima S, I would expect to see more difference between the two cars. Especially when they actually want to consider them as completely different cars.

• sobti on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Other than gadgets inside, prolly the angle of the CVT gear has been changed. Have to test drive both and feel the difference.

• Fredo on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:54 am

hahaha… this car is not for you lah bro…not for people like u

• Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:54 pm

I notice umw, drb n tan chong salesman si butthurt their 3rd class car not been compared.. Proton tskes ficus, 308t n mazda3 as their benchmark n comparison… Of coz.. Almera,vios city comperabke eith saga n persona inly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • nabill on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:55 pm

i jus noticed that those cars that were benchmarked are all manufacured/distributed by DRB !? all under one umberella i suppose !

• Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Pity, umw pnb, drb honda melaka n tan chong cronies work hard comparing suprima with their car almera, vios city, but proton n urban ppl choose conti golf, ford peugeot n mazda 3 as comparison

Hahahaha

• arc982 on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Went to the show room and saw the car for myself. As much as i hate proton, must admit the packs a lot of stuff. But comparing the suprima to a ford focus in terms of cornering, body control, wheel control and steering linearity??? Cmonlah, only someone who dowsnt know their cars cant tell the difference. I drive a focus and i feel quite offended by such a ridiculous statement. But then what is new from proton, By their standards, talk is always cheap. As long they can make a huge profit out of the rakyat, anything goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Bro, i, like u, admires the golf and Focus…but its best if u can test them all before making any statement…i’ve done it and i found that focus has the best cabin NVH but i prefer golf’s responsiveness…however, Suprima handles better at hi speed…dun take my word, go feel for urself bro

• don’t talk cock here, Proton is about china car level. even korean car is better. don’t ever compare it with conti cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Bro, how to compare when it is proven a slower car? I’m driving the German car which proton acclaim their competitor. I always treat preve CFE eat dust in the highway. To some extend I feel bored when I tailing 1 of it. Is that it? Is always my question in my heart. Then full throttle, 5th gear 170, 6th 190, 7th 205km/h. Bye bye crappy CFE with CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • swell on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:56 pm

handles better doesn’t mean faster, read his words again.

• Fredo on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:57 am

did i said Suprima-s is faster than the competitors? no i didnt..
          read carefully will ya ?

• tommyyeoh on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

This bunch of proton so call automotive engineers have the guts to benchmark this proton suprima against vw , mazda, ford focus and peugeot and claim they outperform them. Really where do these fellas graduate from ah i wonder. Just a simple look at the side panel quality will tell you that the NVH of this proton is so low poor by the sound of closing the door. No need to move the car at all. This is clearly a syiok sendiri statement. Proton will end up like MAS when the floodgate is open with no protection at all. The sales results will show in due course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • blow off on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Lets put aside the features…

Performance comparison:
    Suprima S 1.6 Campro turbo VS Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost

Hp: 138 vs 123
    Tork: 205 vs 170
    Sprint time: 9.9s vs 9.4s
    Top speed: 190 kmh vs 198 kmh

Facts n figures…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • suprimamyass on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:55 pm

You should also compare the fuel mileage / consumption. The Fiesta beats the so called “Suprima” hands down even though the Fiesta is faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • skiborne on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:13 pm

this product of crony engineering had a heart to actually compare with big names in motoring industry that had numerous of recognition and awards up in its sleeves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • 90% of people here are complaining about the high tax structure, yet nobody calculated the actual cost of owning a car ( petrol + service + etc ). A vios in singapore cost 98k dollar with COE. A vios in malaysia cos RM 98k. So , how ???? Ohya.. and the floating market fuel price at thailand and singapore….. You say Golf better then suprima, I give u 150k and buy it , damn nice power damn nice handling, but within 6 months your car broke down middle on the road due to stupid clutch failure, and make whole road jam, everybody drive pass see you, WAH NEW GOLF LEH, BROKEDOWN MIDDLE ON ROAD ..you x malu ke ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 20
    • Shawn on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:52 pm

you butthurt cos cannot afford to buy golf???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • suprimamyass on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

What’s your point? Talk just like Proton, without substance! So where’s the RM150K that you say you want to give? Talk big only lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • How can you compare costs of owning car with Singapore? Singapore is a island city, they have to put the price high to limit number of cars on the road. At the same time, they have best transportation system (MRT, LRT) in Asia.

A fresh graduate engineer in Singapore earn more than RM5000 per month. How much a fresh graduate engineer in Malaysia earn?

Affordability wise, Singaporean still have lower cost to own a car (in REAL terms).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Mr.M.Y on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:16 am

kalau dah tak ada duit diam2 lah kawan.. sila beli viva or secondhand car…

better shut your mouth or freeze your finger instead telling things we dont want to know..

we’re discuss about car, not singapore & Malaysia living cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • 2smart on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:45 am

Living cost translates to car price. Don’t come and act smart just because you think you are rich. A developed country is where even the rich takes public transport because of efficiency. Everyone should know how bad our living costs are compared to how much an average person earns, everyone should know whats the difference, don’t just compare for the sake of comparing… if you dont have any information to share or even positive comments then i think is better you walk your own talk.

• haha.. lu pun talak duit kasi belakang diam duduk la.. here 20 sen go buy ur aikrem plotong.. LOL!!

• dextromth on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:38 pm

I do own a vw..n what u said is very true..bull**** vw people sell car so expensive yet bs service to people..

• In singapore, you can have a meal in hawker centre for less than SGD4.

In KL, how much do you pay for cheapest meal?

Even price in Singapore +COE same. Singaporen still have higher disposable income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • We should compare to oil producing country…… Singapore is not…. although still it is ok to know that….

• happy on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:19 pm

hi phc, where can I collect RM150k from you so i can get a brand new VW Golf? Since you say u will give out RM 150k to dare ppl get the VW Golf.

• whocare on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:30 pm

as usual, proton is the most popular comparison topic among reader. just look at ourself.. words speak louder than action. that is how the car was built, by the mentality of our malaysian. but we have options. if you don’t like it, move on.. get a life and a car that makes you happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • maivia on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Yes nothing happier than buying a Toyota

Successful people buy Toyota, losers stuck with Proton lah :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 21
      • peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:01 pm

toyota got 2 level
        toyota JDM,EDU,USDM and Toyota UMW croni ASEAN 3rd class jepun celup

successful ppl will bu REAL Toyota JDM
        losers dreaming of Real Toyota but cant afford end up with UMW product vios, unser, avanza n innova

prrrtfhhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • AHMAD on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Semua kamu terlalu anti kepada barangan buatan negara kamu sendiri. Tiada langsung perasaan kenegaraan…terlalu hina kamu…sangat hairan…sebab masih ramai yang membeli kereta proton…terutama orang cina dan india; termasuk melayu…mungkin u all lebih suke tinggal di Singapore sbb tak de kereta sendiri; kereta mahal, minyak mahal….nak parking depan rumah pun kena bayar taxs…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 28
    • Pindahlah on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Thailand takde kereta jenama sendiri tapi production kereta jauh lebih banyak daripada Malaysia, separuh daripadanya di eksport ke luar negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Datuk on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:29 pm

bukan x support encik ahmad, adakah proton mengeluarkan kreta yg berkualiti yg sesuai dgn harga? bnyk kreta proton yg bermasalah, x sampai 3 tahun dh bermcm2 masalah, loan 9 tahun, mcm2 masalah, kalu proton jual dgn harga yg tinggi, berkualiti, tahan lasak, x de masalah mmng ramai yg akan beli, encik ahmad hanya beli proton mngkin sbb tidak terdedah dengan dunia automotif masa kini, Dgn harga mencecah rm80k, ade lg pilihan kreta import yg lebih berkualiti walaupun speksifikasi x seperti proton suprima, pembeli semakin bijak, bukan mcm encik ahmad yg bila mana kreta proton encik ahmad bermasalah, anda berdiam diri dan masih mengatakan proton adalah bagus,. Dah lebih 25tahun usia proton, masih x gagal hasilkan kreta berkualiti. bukan menghina, kritikan berdasarkan keadaan semasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
      • peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:27 pm

org yg terdedah dgn dunia luar la tau appreciate 6 airbags, safety features .CVT pelbagai.. tapi mereka yg hanya terdedah dgn market keta malaysia.. tu yg asik vios, city, almera keta jepun celup dia rasa hebat… org yg pakai keta jepun ori gelak guling2

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
        • i bukan skymania on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:54 pm

lagi baik u balik melalak dkt cari forum cukup la

inb4
          apa pendapat u tentang gambar ini

http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-44/post-659144-1376799364.jpg

suprima sgt hebat meh?

• Old story, proton display / test drive cars are prolly pre-prod cars. It’s quality might different from customer units.

• bro.. to the photong lover, the gap is part of the design..

• By the way don’t bother to get opinion from peyno, he might suffer from epilepsy coz most of his comments end with “prrrtfhhh”.

• prolly too many monkeys that love to test the unit, lol. malaysians love SS to much

• Daniel on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Thailand keluar banyak kereta tapi aliran wang keluar negara terlalu tinggi.

• Mr.M.Y on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:21 am

en Datuk (saya rasa jenis celup punya)..

awak memiliki kereta Proton ka?
        ada masalah ka?

kalau ada sila forward no kereta & Chassis number, saya periksa dengan proton nanti..

kalau betul awak pakai kereta proton, nak tengok sama ada awak service di proton service or kedai pokok cerry..

• Fredo on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:17 am

Datuk, i bet u familiar with some expensive cars ownership experience too…
        my point is, even with those hi end German make also people have problems here an there with their cars…ownership experience also is not that great (Mr. google will tell u BMW F30 Malaysia issues) except they lend u courtesy car when u hv problem with ur car and that only if u r still under warranty…
        still, the latest bmw model only offers with 3 years or 60k km limited mileage warranty…
        this car at least will be under warranty for 5 years…
        so, as long as its covered under warranty u hv less to worry.

• odd job worker on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:44 pm

public transport in singapore is excellent and top of the world.
      Pengangkutan awam di Malaysia macam t-ahi. Kita terpaksa beli kereta oleh kerajaan kita sendiri. Oleh kerana cukai yang begitu tingg, kita TERPAKSA beli kereta yang paling murah, iaitu Proton,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • spyshotX on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:52 am

the cheapest car in bolehland is perodua viva.. and maybe your theory is right.. just look at the high volume models that make perodua the no 1 jaguh kampung.. more ppl are forced to buy viva bcoz it’s cheaper than saga.. more ppl are forced to buy myvi bcoz it’s cheaper than swift.. more ppl are forced to buy alza bcoz it’s cheaper than avanza..

• DO you prefer to pay extra RM30,000 for a Proton in which you can get a better quality car from foreign car manufacturer? By protecting PROTON, who earn the money?

This RM30,000 can be used for your children education, donate to poor people, … …

Just sell PROTON to Japanese car maker, but dont allow them to PECAT employee more than 10% in 30-year. Then, abolish all the taxes.

You win, I win! Only crony become loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • neemfa on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:41 pm

With all the hype from the Proton/Lotus ride and handling, proton cars can only fare 2 or 3 stars at most for the handling rating from international reviews.

• skypirate on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:07 pm

you are a fool if you really buy into their “lotus ride and handling.” that’s a marketing gimmick by proton. that just cheapens the lotus brand, for example, you don’t see VW cars being marketed as “Lamborghini/Porsche/Bentley ride and handling” or Fiat cars being marketed as “Ferrari/Maserati ride and handling.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • AHMAD on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Atau tinggal di negara Indonesia…segalanya murah; kecuali minyak…sbb tu majoriti pakai motosikal sahaja; @ di vietnam; @ di philiphine; @ di thailand; @ di nyanmar; @ di laos; @ di cambodia…………..masih malaysia yang terbaik…cuma ramai yang fikirkan yang tak baik…terima kasih negara ku Malaysia……..terima kasih…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 34
    • ALBAB on Aug 19, 2013 at 5:54 pm

You ada beli Preve di Indonesia kah pak? Cakap mesti serupa bikin tau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • skypirate on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:04 pm

i’d rather they take away the fuel subsidy and make cars cheaper, at least that way i will have more fun on the road with my car, minus all the protons, peroduas, vios’s, city’s and almera’s on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • AHMAD on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:00 pm

U rather take away the fuel subsidy n make car price to be cheaper….so poor untuk bapa; pakcik; makcik and pelajar yang naik motorsikal…need to pay >RM 3.00 petrol per liter…

• Datuk on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:33 pm

hanya orng bodoh seperti encik ahmad sahaja yg berfikiran kuno. proton hasilkan kreta yg tidak berkualiti pun encik ahmad masih bersyukur dan berbangga. seperti pepatah melayu, “menegakkan benang yang basah” mungkin selepas seratus tahun, proton x kan berubah kalu orng mcm encik ahmad ni masih wujud, sangat tidak membantu dalam industri automotif tanah air

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
      • Mr.M.Y on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:23 am

apa yg awak bantu dalam industri otomotif tanah air?

just complaining?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • odd job worker on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm

kamu saudara AHMAD tidak beza dari segelintir orang yang hanya tahu cakap – kalau tidak suka Malaysia, berhijrahlah ke negara lain.
      Kami cinta Malaysia sebab itu memberi pendapat yang memberangsangkan.
      Bukan sapu masalah ke bawah tikar and berpendapat seperti tiada masalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • bohmad on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Again typical comparison with myamar, indo, philippine…wat else country on living standard… but compare fuel price and other with US, Singapore, 1st world country. 20 yrs down the road! Still the same mindset! Sigh…. nv learn…

• In Brunei the petrol cost half than our Bolehla land. The cars over there have tax but is still cheap than price in Langkawi and Labuan where tax is exemption. Plus there is no tol charges on the road over there. Heavens!!

Wake up my friends. If u duduk bawah tempurung……Forever u will say proton good. Go travel and see other part of worlds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • To khaki on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:22 am

Brader…WELCOME TO BRUNEI, pls pack your stuff right now…I’ll help u…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm

I have high hopes with this car, even though the pricing makes it slightly unpalatable, as it is, the Preve CFE is already too expensive. I don’t mind owning one, but “don’t mind” doesn’t make me want to part with 80k.

Like the airbags, and kit, even the look of it, and the current crop of Protons are fairly decent handling cars. Decent yes, but better than the Golf and the Focus? Thats a tall order.

Can’t wait for 3rd party comparo.

I don’t think at this stage, handling should be Proton’s priority. It needs refinement and reliability.

The thing is, this Suprema is bloody heavy for a C segment hatch. And the performance and fuel economy numbers show. For a “sports” model with “sporting” pretensions, talking about handling and such, the power plant seems to be bogged down with all that bulk. The Golf TSI is a full 100kg lighter, yet beats it in safety, and convincingly trumps it on fuel economy and performance.

I’m a little sceptic though. Isn’t the CFE was to mean Charged Fuel Economy? its really not that frugal …maybe thats why they changed the name to CPS Turbo.

• agree. maybe proton saves the hatchback for more towards performance segment. the entry level is SS, then manual / R3

• Ah Mad on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Tu power window ada sangkut kah!???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
    • Peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:53 pm

So yesterday.. Maybe ur age same as my dad
      Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • kim bukit on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:40 pm

global car quality?

• fpser on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm

vios has gone quality rating? how many stars?

preve/SS already got 5 in AUSTRALIAN safety rating, vios only 4 in ASEAN one

• kayjay on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:57 pm

since many basher told bad about SS, is there any global car quality rating for other brand than proton?

• They are nowhere close to the, Mazda, Ford nor Peugeot compete what la bro, haih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:36 pm

If Proton has any hope in hell to get some street cred with the Suprema, they better at the very least release a hotter version ASAP.

5/6 speed manual with a good extra dose of power. Call that the R3 or GTI for that matter.

Like the old Satria GTI was a halo product for Proton, so might this be, otherwise, it would just be a Preve without a tail.

• Fredo on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I bet its already in the plan…i read somewhere the DCEO mentioned so…
      i think the hardest part is to justify a project with hi investment yet very small return..i mean the sales volume for a manual tranny will be small, hence the cost of producing it will be expensive

• Just A Nobody on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Since it’s not been test driven yet and still no riviews about how it performs, anyone placing any bets on the claims made?? LOL, kidding. I Just hope it doesn’t end up like ”meludah ke langit” though. It’s a nice car imo based on the specs, but the over confidence by comparing it to the big player in the industy is just somehow add on more critics about it and that doubtful questions like ”Huh? Are you freaking serious?”.

• peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 6:58 pm

wow.. now proton comparing with ford, mazda, VW and peugeot… no more comparision with 3rd clas japan celup not even sold in Japan ASEAN made assembled by malaysian UMW vios, DRB city honda melaka n Almera Tan Chong???

prrrtfhhhhhh

caprut butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • driver on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Paul/Anthony, when can we expect a drive review for this model? Not all people have access to the car to test drive it.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:12 pm

The media drive for the Suprima S is over the coming weekend – we should have the review on it sometime next week.

• jenga on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:45 pm

make it out on monday please

• driver on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:09 am

Looking forward for it. I have driven Preve, so the most interesting question for me would be: how responsive is the newly tuned CFE? from stationary, and while moving, as a compared to Preve.

Also, how noisy is the cabin? again as a compared to Preve.
        Thanks!

• Top Gear also invited for the test drive or not?

Let’s see how mr. Stig hantam this Suprimah kaw-kaw LOL!

• Bro, pls use the correct name..
          Not Suprimah its Super Timah..

• kid, pls grow up ya, i’m sure your father taught you to respect one name

• wooo yeaa on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:01 pm

woo hooo..yea yea yea
    woo hooo.. woo woo woo
    selamat hari rayaaa…

• David on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Datuk, Proton wants to compare and compete with the other rivals in the same segment, how can Proton can even compete when Proton is not even TS16949 qualified?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • AhLong on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Ok la. We cant solve traffic jam by lowering the price.

For me, I prefer to see traffic jam in KL with toyota, Honda, Ford, Madza and BMW.

Because I really hate to see most of the cars in traffic jam are PROTON!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • noobie on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:46 pm

see your doc immediately, you are sick

• harun on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:28 am

i love to see import cars break down in the middle of road causing massive traffic jam, being towed away without any accident, or having really bad damage after collision. oh, and stuck in the workshop for days would be a bonus.

• will wait for Jeremy Clarkson review… if he has time for it.

• peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:47 pm

nexyt new vios launching will be a tough day for UMW PNB cronies salesman..ppl will ask how many airbags, safety features etc instead of old story reliable engine or 4AT.. ppl smart oredi.. SDafety is their priority

and happy to see competition among UMW PNB vios dan Tanc chong Nissan ALmera jepun celup vs jepun celup

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Tan Qi Ting on Aug 19, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Please we should have a petition to send this to TopGear for testing !!! Internal source is pure BS

• peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:19 pm

they should test vios jepun celup targetted to poor ppl who dreaming on real JDM, EDM japanese car

• driver on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:17 am

TopGear? LOL.

What makes you think that they are professional in reviewing a car? In the eyes of those british drivers, all except engineered by british are bad.

#mindadijajah

• teelim on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:12 pm

With such comment, it seems like you don’t watch much Top Gear

• Bobomarley on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Soany smart ass here …some says traction controllah push start lah fuel consumption lah..some say tax lah sekolah lah..dei..mimpika… dei vios already selling la..lets go buy lame toyota at least good resale value and no turbo leaks…and by the way…watch video…”hatchback model for hatchback segment therefore u need a hatchback name.”what a load of crap.. thats why in japan or europe ..accountant or lawyer can never become an auto bosss…

• peyno on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:26 pm

you dont want your beloved die in vios due to no safety features rite???..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • How can you say this?

If you have only 40K to buy a car. In current tax system, we only can buy proton saga with no ABS and poor safety features.

After the tax is abolished, you can use 40K to buy Nissan Almera, Toyota Vios. Needless to say the these cars are safer than Proton Sage.

Are you saying we “killed” our family members because we are poor? The fact is the car taxes are the culprit.

Listen to your heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • then more expensive proton will be cheaper too, still it’s better than vios in safety features, such as preve

• We are saying after car tax is abolished, we can use current “proton saga” price to buy a toyota vios. This is a simple logic. Couldn’t you get it?

• pirlo on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:22 am

kora,
            yes. after tax is abolished, we can buy vios with saga price. and buy saga, probably, viva price. and viva price is same like motorcycle price. however, 20k price of saga (saga sv) is still lower than 40k vios. there is still people out there are willing to pay only 20k for 1.3liter, cvt, 2 airbags, 4 doors car.

• 2smart on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:58 am

meaning more poeple can afford cars and rely less on motorcycles, which comparatively is still better. A car is always safer than a motorbike, and everyone can buy according to what their income allows without being forced to buy some subpar nonsense. car makers will be forced to improve their current old tech recycled tin cans in order to compete. This is good for everyone except Cronies. Get it?

• notsmart on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:15 pm

@2smart
            then tell gomen to reduce tax not proton

• Nando on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

If you love your country, please love people first.

Malaysian are suffering with debt especially car loan. But they get poor quality cars. They are suffering.

Compare to just let few person earn money through controlled-price, why dont abolish all the tax on car. Then, we can afford a better car with low price.

If you can use a Proton Saga price to buy a Toyota Vios, why not doing it? With lower price and better car, we have a car with good safety features. Car protect us and passengers (family members).

Do you know the DOSA from unresponsible car manufacturer? How many are killed and injured due to unsafe cars. How many family suffer on this?

Help poor people in Malaysia. Not just 20,000 employees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • take out both sales taxes/excise duty. which one will you buy?

• fpser on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I choose preve/SS anyday because vios ride feels cheap. It’s like you are riding on bad road. When at high speed, it cannot stand the wind, not planted well.

Plus preve/SS got more airbags and safety thingy.

• setscrew on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Looks like another major league screw up marketing strategy by Proton to benchmark the Suprima against the giants after the silly propaganda released on the launch of Waja many years back…”WAJA, Asia’s answer to BMW”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • The car looks like Mazda 3 MPS with that rim

• someone said here mazda can be compared with bmw. so SS is not good enough

• conquest on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:58 pm

they taking a RM148k german car and 128k american car as benchmark?

test subject pun kena tax keh?

you are testing against 60k-70k car only…epic example of cheating in exam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Peyno on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:17 am

They r comparing the group of car which has similir features such as 6 airbags, esc, cvt, front sensors, idofix etc… Of coz low class vios, city, almera which has max 2 airbags didnt put under consideration
      Prffthhh

• 2smart on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:00 am

For lack of comparison, they should be benchmarking it against car in the same class. this should be a C-seg wagon.

• 2smart on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:01 am

forget to add, if im not mistaken, all cars belong to the same segment. Theres no harm doing a comparison as long as improvements can be made to beat your competitors, not just compare to blow your own trumpet.

• skyfall on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:08 pm

they r comparing their car to the likes of focus, 308 and mazda 3? what a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • walaweh on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:39 pm

the question is,do u get vios, city, almera made ie thailan with 40k at thailand?

please any one give me the exact price of baseline new vios, almera, city n what is the list of spec in thailand?

can anyone show me any brand new 1.5 vios auto,1.5 almera auto,1.5 city auto,made in thailand,sold in thailand, with rm40k price tag,have dual airbags,abs,ebd,esc n etc?

maybe i miss it out. since some said in malaysia,we can get vios,almera,city,full safety pack just becoz of prtn,just for 40k. why not we go to thailand,the origin of vios n city, without need to protect prtn, can we get a 40k for vios,city n almera in thailand?

how about indonesia? they dont need to protect prtn,how about the price of full safety pack vios,city n almera overthere? is it 40k? why the prices in thai n indonesia are different? n why still asean cant get full safetypack 1.5vios,city n almera auto for rm40k? did other asean countries protect proton too???
    omg omg omg…

charge fuel efficiency or cfe mean every bit of fuel at same amount compare to it based engine,campro iafm, yield much more power@hp n torque compare to non charge campro iafm.

simple term,previously,on thirsty campro, it only get the highest output 125bhp n 150nm at a stagering insane rpm,which is not efficient,meaning u have to rev up to the max,or max rpm for torque to get the most power,mean if u do that,the fc will be crazy,but for cfe,for standard thirsty of campro engine, u will get higher no of output interm of hp n torque.

thats why thd never say it is the most fuel efficient compare to others,n it never been highlighted as its selling point.

but it only thirsty in town,but on standard highway speed,its the same as any modern 1.6,1.8,2.0 na petrol engine,n any 1.6 turbo engine in real world driving.

only in town it a bit crazy n need to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • A Toyota corolla is priced at around RM50-55K in United State.

In Malaysia, toyota corolla altis is about RM110K.

The price is double.

In US, toyota pay ZERO in tax due to manufactured in US.

If Malaysia applied ZERO car tax, we could expect to lower vios to RM40K or lower because free market competition. More manufacturing plants will be built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • walauweh on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:46 am

now we r talking abot zero tax in us?r u sure it is zero tax in us?

if u read properly,i ask about asean region,that is where afta is regulated. us isnt asean region.

suddenly compare to us,just now people mrh2 compare to us.check the globe,how small is malaysia compare to us.

when talking about tax free,go to us, if talk about fuel price,go to arabs,when talk about gst, look at monggolia, talk about purchasing power,look at uk.

meaning that,we want tax free environment, the cheapest fuel price in the world, the cheapest in everything, but purchasing power like uk where our currency is the strongest without any industry or development.

there is no perfect world.

i hated the g, i one of the popular vote for the opp, but we need to face reality.

still,in 2013,they r people talking about 300% import tax that been abolished since 2005.

i dont hate the g policy,just hate the g that run the policy,due to corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • We can look forward to become an advanced economy.

Yes, US is the ideal case. But we can try to move toward that direction.

Sadly, our country is not willing to do it.

• what corruption is that?

• vivian on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:31 am

vios is not safe enough
        2 airbags without vsc, what a car
        better top up a bit and buy preve
        preve price if no tax sure still cheaper than vios or same

• You must be kidding. Do you believe Preve will still be cheaper when all the taxes were abolished?

Toyota Vios and Proton Preve kena car taxes. The different is car taxes for Proton is HIGH, but Proton Preve is LOW.

• vivian on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:03 pm

read post above. preve vs city. very similar price in thai. jap cars are not competitive in pricing. you get only b segment jap car, proton can give c segment. the value of c segment car is absolutely higher.

• vivian on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:35 am

@yu
        you cannot compare malaysia with USA. their buying power is much more better thus cheaper car price. please compare with country with same level like thai or indonesia. still, the price of C segment proton is still cheaper than B segment other brand

• 2smart on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:05 am

i find it funny that people actually say vios or almari is safe compared to local cars, they have less airbags, no traction control and their built is also seriously in question, and yet people keep saying they are safe and for the same price they would go for those… import mentality?

• Stupid on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Probably 2Smart is the smartest person in the world.

Use your brain to analyse, not mouth.

• unsmart on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm

@Lin
            don’t fool people. you are at wrong side. it’s too obvious you don’t give any examples while there are countries written here to support mine.

pls check this :
            http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• Yes, USA people have higher disposable income (after tax).

Yet, their car price is cheap.

Malaysia working class have low disposable income.

But, in BOLEH Land, many of us are willing to pay a higher car price. This is BOLEH spirit. American will never able to catch up our BOLEH spirit.

Most of South East Asian countries are corrupted, excluding Singapore. Why we want compare to corrupted countries? You want to see which country is more corrupted?

Compare to Korea, Japan and US la.

• unsmart on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Singaporeans income are higher but their cars are much much expensive, but they don’t need it as necessary as Malaysians.

The price of cars in Thai is not
            really cheaper than in here. Proton bigger car (C segment) still has similar price with smaller Jap car (B segment).

• Singapore is a island city. They want to limit the number of cars on the road. So, they make the car price expensive.

For other stuffs, Singapore Government doesn’t care.

• Hi Unsmart,

You never know the PROTON cars sold outside Malaysia is cheaper than those in Malaysia. Plus, Oversea PROTON are higher quality, and come with many years warranty.

What do you from PROTON get in Malaysia? You are really unsmart!

• peyno on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:17 pm

u think in US got myvi, avanza, Innova n avanza meh???
            better compare with similar auto market la

• unsmart on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:23 pm

proton bashers are lazy. Only know to blind bash but know nothing. google it yourself. gomen already imposed 2 airbags for new car. if you want automakers here sell good features you tell the gomen to make the rule stricter. don’t tell proton as it runs business too. now under DRB, do you think it could carry more social responsibility than before to make cheap car every time? (still Saga SV is proton’s effort to give cheap and safe car)

pricing may vary between countries because of different tax structure. here excise duty is high, again don’t ask proton, ask gomen to reduce it. also, countries like in Europe have stricter regulation of fuel emission. for sure proton’s CFE is compliant with Euro5 while 1nz-fe in Vios only Euro3. again, ask gomen if you want more healthy environment, not proton.

proton is not social or welfare organization. it runs business. proton is not gomen.

• Unsamart.

Agree one point with you. PROTON is running business to become a blood sucking machine for whole Malaysian for the sake of few persons.

Surprise to see a national car which supported by government do not care corporate social responsibility.

PROTON see highest quality cars to foreigners! In bolehLAND, what do we get.

Can proton produce a useful car similar to toyota vios but price at RM50,000? I mean the quality must be as good as toyota vios. Dont forget Proton pay low level of car tax in Malaysia.

• unsmart on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:05 am

you bark at wrong tree, proton has no authorization to make tax value. the difference of tax between proton and other cars are not really far. if not, why in UAE proton can be sold at much cheaper price? It shows that it pays high tax too.

• To understand how PROTON make money under government protection, let me illustrate…

Car taxes for PROTON cars are very low.

Car taxes for foreign cars are very high.

Then, PROTON use the government protection to increase the price but still make it cheaper than foreign cars. Quality is another issue. So, for ONE proton car sold, they make higher profit margin.

In overseas, due to competition and same tax rate, PROTON MUST LOWER CAR PRICE in order to compete. Because PROTON car quality cannot convince potential customers.

So, PROTON earn more (higher profit margin) for cars sold in Malaysia. But earn less (lower profit margin) in overseas.

Lastly, dont forget proton cars sold in oversea are BETTER quality.

• Tau ceti on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:16 am

Why fight in crowded market? Go make a SUV or wagon la.

i would buy a 40k wagon based on BLM for work purposes. Or 80k CFE Baed SUV. The suprimo shape profile would have better fitted on a higher SUV platform…

• Guan yin ma on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:12 am

You should go and see the US marginal income tax rate before you say about the cheaper car price… Ohya. and their VAT ….. A government can have zero import or excise duties for vehicle, but still they will charge you YOUR money in the form of other taxes… In the end, the amount you paid to government is the same . Just in the form of other taxes , not the car import tax.

• I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.

Proton must sell the Prevé and Suprima in China A.S.A.P.. 19 million + cars were sold in China for 2012 alone. If Proton captured 0.5% of the 2012 total sales in China, it would mean about 100,000 Protons sold ! In comparison, Proton held 22.5% Malaysian market share in 2012, with 141,121 units sold.

Even today, Youngman EuropeStar which sells rebadged Persona and Gen-2 cars pay Proton royalties in the millions of $$$. Go and check Proton’s Chinese website, the Persona and Gen-2 cars there look somewhat European. Imagine if Proton exported the Prevé and Suprima there, with the Lotus handling and all. Sure will sell like hot cakes.

So please, Proton, don’t delay. The sooner you guys export the new Protons to China, the better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Basher on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:13 am

hahaha you must be big time delusional….euro live proton? just look at aust, if you found one proton one the road….u are consider damm farking lucky….

no people will waste time with proton with over pricing car with 9 year loan,unless you are someone rich like AERO…can afford to sell the car in 4 year when the car start to breakdown….

we need reliable car,can last for 7 or 8 years….proton last time with wira yes…surprising very lasting! since proton come out with campro…everything going down the drain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Peyno on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:13 am

Ford, kia oso got tax but they can offer better safety features 6 airbags etc at cheaper price than umw pnb vios…so who to blame???

• Norman on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:30 am

In my honest opinion I rather recommend the Preve instead,Much more lighter and never mind the hill assist or the black lining things.The suprima weight is almost the same as a 2.0 hatch,Wtf Proton engineers do you think your CFE is too powerful to compare to a 2.0?Exora CFE can only outrun Wish 1.8,Stream 1.8 and Orlando 1.8 but not Wish 2.0 etc.Unless you come out with a new 1.8 or more powerful 1.6 turbo engine then you can start talking again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • fakta_auto on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:24 am

since when 1.6 turbo cfe can outrun 2.0 na cars? even proton only said 1.6 cfe same output like 2.0 na, not better.. unless proton unleash the true power of cfe which currently limited due to the cvt tranny.. i’ve seen the actual bench test result of the cfe.. damn powerful for a 1.6 engine..

• Joe Radzif on Aug 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

outrun?
      beli keta nak pakai ke nak racing?
      no wonder banyak eksiden…
      kikikikkkk

• can outrun la, wish 2.0 0-100 more about 0.02 sec tahn exora turbo. haha!

• S.Roma on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:34 am

though no performance aspects were displayed.

(Cos the performance if u wanna compare is sux compare to them)

• When the buying stops, so does the killing!

• ai ai chiepp on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:30 am

Some of us set a side 1/3 of the salary for travelling related (hire purchase, maintenance, petrol,toll, summon, parking, road tax, insurance).

With rising standard of living and price of housing sky rocketing, the population deserved more with their hard earned money. Driving a good reliable car could be therapeutic to some of us. For some it could be to feed their ego. Nevertheless, we do have a pre-set of objectives or wishlist or expectations at each new car launching.

Why don’t as a local manufacturer Proton be more appreciative to the local buyers. Tax monies from us does go to you in different forms. Appreciate your potential buyers, be frank, be humble.. go back to your root of formation.

Maybe one day when the (middle income to lower income earner)population will become so stressful with their current life, they might change order of things. Who knows? It just a matter of time and the right trigger.. Read carefully all comments in here.. so much anger and frustration.. it’s just an automotive blog..

• After my hard earned basic salary is deducted with PCB (income tax) and EPF (employee provident’s fund), I am being taxed again by Government Service Tax when I go for fast food like Mac’Donald or KFC. Whatever I buy from supermarket, I am taxed again by Sales Tax (which you don’t see in your bill but imposed and included by retailer/wholesaller/manufacturer in selling price). When I buy a local car, I am taxed again (again?!) by exercise duty or import duty if I want a imported CKD/CBU car. How much am I left to pay for housing loan, toll, petrol, car/housing/personal insurance, car maintenance and tyres, house assessment/quit rent, medical card insurance, child living expenses, groceries, dining, shopping, mobile phone, funiture & fittings, electrical appliances, allowances for senior family members.
    Who said Malaysia taxes are lower than US?!
    I’m broke and I have credit card loan, car loan and housing loan that never paid off!
    After paying off long and tiring 9 years car loan, I need to buy new car again, it’s never ending nightmare!
    I can’t lose my job.
    Without my petty salary earned, I’m homeless and I can’t feed my family and myself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • fazron80 on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:05 am

the price is too high. which segment is proton targeting for suprima. at that price i think the targeted segment will chose honda jazz. bringing in manual doesnt change anything since the price already high. maybe proton should have considered developing suv based on preve. put the manual for preve cfe and exora too. price does matter. comparing it to world class cars doesnt. it will only matters if the independent review said it. not the car makers self claim syok sendiri

• i saw preve cfe for 67k!! it’s getting cheaper, so do this SS

• By urban living standard, RM3K gross family income for couple with a or two kids is considered poor nowsadays.
    How to afford a 9-years car loan on a RM77K-80K car?!
    My god!

• essesse on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Saga SV 33k is adequate

• Yes. Adequate.

But, need to pay more in maintenance.

Spend your holiday (even worse take leave) to go to workshop.

SAGA SV is not a safe car. Some people will still insist PROTON cars have higher safety equipment compared to Toyota Vios.

The life of a poor person in Malaysia is not appreciated by certain people especially those corrupted.

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:18 pm

gua rasa, lots of thing can do kasi duit masuk, online busines, done it for suka2 only but get 1k to 2k profit per month! (i got the barang2 from china, so murah2). put some money in trust funds/amanah saham wawasan, can get a bit annually also. some jual kuih raya also can get thousands of profit maaa. my gaji only 5k per month but add that 2k or sometimes 3k.. sudah jadi 8k..

• syok sendiri on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:59 pm

.. if Proton think this car good enough.. let all the minister, their deputy and senior officer use it first instead going for Accord.. save budget as well as give good example to poor rakyat.. Then after 1 year rakyat can decide ourself..
    i go for better and affordable car first, nationality pride second..

• syokblindbashing on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Accord is normal car, not cayenne or bentley…
      proton has no D segment car right now, so rebadging is the way. Perdana is in D segment but too old ady.

Preve/SS is in C segment where waja/inspira is used now in government.

• Peyno on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Acoord honda is under drb crony… Of coz umw pnb n tan chong crony not happy gomen choose drb instead of camry n teana

Prffthhh

• nopain on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Healthy competition is ok. I hope TC brings in new sentra/sylphy faster. Always late to update new cars here.

• Overhead the radio commercial this morning for this Proton “Stupid-Ma **S” Are they targeting Ah Beng ? Like if you think so.

• Ya heard it in the morning, is like ah beng just read through a script from a paper and bash in as many words as possible in a minute !

• namanama on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:45 pm

after reading all comments here at PT (on every post)I’m curious to know how bad as claimed by basher and how good as mention by supporter.I going to test drive this weekend.

• Agaknye berapa harga selepas diskaun janji diitepati…huuu..

• Peyno on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:21 pm

I noticed so many umw, drb, tan choong salesman and ppl who cant afford real JDM car n end up with jepun celup low class jdm wannabe sooo butthurt loooking at urban ppl comparing suprima with mazda, ford n peugeot n not jepun celup crony umw, drb n tan choong anymore

But the best thing to see umw vios salesman vs tan chong almera salesman fighting
    Prfffthghh

• A recent income survey found that a household earning RM3,000 a month could spend up to 50 per cent of its income on maintaining a car.

Some elites say we cannot close proton to save 20,000 employees. As a matter of fact, this issue can be resolved if government takes initiative. No need to close proton at all. Some elites just use this as an excuse to make them –> they are heros to protect proton employees.

Another way of thinking is we cannot allow protection of PROTON make the cars expensive. Don’t let few people sucking our blood slowly. At the end, these people never drive PROTON, they drive Ferrari.

• It’s like you tell Tony Stark to drive kancil instead of Audi, lol

• Guan Yin Ma on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm

The money is out there. The only problem is how you find IT. There is no poor people, only lazy people , coward & people who refuse to use their brain.

• Jakaal on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:27 pm

I just hope that they can produce a Turbo Intercooled version.If can with BorgWarner VGT Turbo.With bigger ventilated brakes of course :)

• lauyiachia on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:03 am

Nicknames for the station-wagon already (non-exhaustive) :-
    1. Adult Diaper Car (based on popular brand called Suprima Diaper)
    2. Sperma
    3. Soup-Free-Mah
    4. Stupid-Ma(ma) Ar(S)e
    5. Sodomy Car (after the Sukma-Anwar case)
    6. Sue-Me-My “S” (same as no. 5)

Ada Lagi Best ????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • medic on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:14 am

P.R.O.T.O.N=Power window Rosak Oh Tidak Oh No!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • you gave 10000 bad names i still don’t mind to buy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • medic on Aug 28, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Having nightmare owning Saga,wira 1.5,perdana..i can tell you 1 thing,don’t ever spend your harn earn money buying a proton.If you calculate the time/money spending repairing your proton,not forgetting the amount of hair you’ve pulled out due to frustration.

• dulu cikgu ekonomi saya selalu kata proton ialah keta termahal didunia.. saya tak berapa paham.. sekarang baru paham…

• bagus la kalau dah paham. ikut harga thai, honda pun kalah kat proton. honda city segmen B je, preve segmen C, pasti segmen C spesifikasi lebih bagus.

itu baru kereta yang mahal spesifikasi, murah harga. GO PROTON!!!

• Tau ceti on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:45 pm

what buy comparing that for what? u mean to say people who are deciding between Focus and Gold is going to consider Suprima? Give them free also they duwant!

• woilon on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:35 pm

are you sure? lol. if there is such thing as free car, people don’t say it’s expensive or cheap! your argument is invalid

• norman on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Dont just slap a R3 bodykit,rims,enblem,leather like the recent Neo,Pls tune the engine output to at least 150hp/230nm else just waste time

• Mat Cendana on May 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

So, it’s been more than 6 months after the Suprima came out. I’m curious to read some feedback from those who are driving one. How has it fared? No point grousing over the taxes, and of how much cheaper it could or should be. Things are what they are and it’s beyond our individual control. If you’ve bought a Suprima and have been driving it for at least a few months, what’s your honest opinion of it, please?