Honda, Nissan and Lexus entrants for the 2014 Super GT series pictured together at the Suzuka circuit

honda nissan lexus super gt

Just in case you missed them, here are pics of the super trio that were recently announced for the 2014 Super GT series’ top GT500 class.

The Honda NSX Concept-GT, Nissan GT-R Nismo GT500 and Lexus LF-CC racer were photographed side-by-side on location at the Suzuka circuit over the weekend, where they underwent shakedown tests amidst Round 5 of this year’s Super GT season.

From next year, cars taking part in the GT500 class will adhere to the same new technical regulations as the DTM (German Touring Car Championship), with the exception of engine-related regulations. Turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engines are to be used, with hybrid help allowed. The limit is 500 hp.

honda nissan lexus super gt

So far, only Honda has officially revealed that its HSV-010 GT replacement packs a mid-mounted 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder turbo engine and a racing hybrid system. It’s based on the NSX Concept, which in turn previews the production 2015 Honda NSX – listen to the sound the running prototype’s hybrid V6 makes here.

In a strikingly similar vein, the Lexus LF-CC racer is based on the LF-CC Concept, which in turn previews a coupe-bodied Lexus IS (which we now know to be called the Lexus RC) that’s also due in 2015. The racer will succeed the Lexus SC 430 next year.

The Nissan GT-R Nismo GT500 is the only racer here to be based on a production car. It’s set to replace the 3.4 litre VRH34B-engined GT-R, and points towards the upcoming production Nissan GT-R Nismo, which could surface at the Tokyo show in November.

Orange, white or black – which is your favourite? Let us know in the comments section!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Damn they all looked like serial rapist, espacially the NSX, that rape face. But I will definitely miss the banshee shriek of the HSV-010, the 2.0l 4 sounds good, but theres nothing like a high revving 5.0 V8

• Chris Ong on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Can’t agree more. I really miss the day where hi-revving V engine rules the race track.

One worth to mention is the 3.0L V10 revving at 21,000 RPM..

• frenzyaustin on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:37 pm

But this new 4 cylinder Turbo sounds 70% as good as HSV-010, and is the best 4 cylinder Turbo sound till dates. What do you expect from a real Honda?

• flat_tire on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:43 am

the GT-R looked more like a pedo though..

• Please, Honda JP….. MAKE A ROAD LEGAL VERSION OF THE NSX ! PLEAASSSSEEEE ???? The Nissan GTR has been king since 2007 with no real competition !

Just do it Honda, JUST DO IT !!!

– Sincerely,
    Every human male born between the late 80s and mid 90s who’ve watched Initial D or played Gran Turismo.

:D

• It’s coming out in 2015 in the form of the Acura NSX….sold elsewhere as the Honda NSX. made exclusively by the people of Ohio, which is rather a shame.

• Well they’ve been saying things for some time already, but yeah, I looked it up and it seems to be for real this time !

Since it’s not designed by Honda JP, I’ll have some serious reservations. All of the great Japanese sports cars were designed in their homeland, the new NSX will be the first to break the tradition.

Still, I will believe it when it happens. xD The new NSX and Supra are like Half Life 3…. it’s just there, but isn’t ! lol

• frenzyaustin on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Three Japanese musketeers from Japanese largest car maker, Toyota/Lexus, Honda and Nissan. Since it’s basically a shared regulation with DTM, hope there is some cross over race between these 2 series.

• John Tan on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:44 pm

In terms of appearance, the Nissan looks a bit Beng-ish while the Honda is way too futuristic and the Lexus looks like something in the middle.. just my HO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:09 am

Yang Nissan tu paling cantiq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • jaybond on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:05 am

The main component that will be commonized between the SuperGT and DTM is mainly on the base carbon fibre chassis structure design, although Honda will be have to suit the chassis with mid-engine configuration (the chassis structure is designed around front engined layout).

• U tak suka U keluar on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:38 am

Meanwhile in 2014 SuperGT calender
    SELAMAT TINGGAL Malaysia
    SAWADEE KA Thailand
    ANYONG HASEHYO Korea

• i couldn’t judge my own preference because all of them are way too superb!