Volvo V40 launched in Malaysia – RM174k to RM199k

Volvo_V40_Malaysia_Live_001

As previewed yesterday, the Volvo V40 has just been launched in Malaysia, in three model variants ranging from RM173,888 to RM198,888. It’s a mid-sized hatchback aimed at both the semi-premium Volkswagen Golf segment as well as the true blue upmarket Mercedes-Benz A-Class and the upcoming BMW 1 Series market.

The three variants available are the V40 T4 (RM173,888), V40 T5 (RM188,888) and the V40 Cross Country T5 (RM198,888; all on the road prices, excluding insurance). All three are assembled in Malaysia, alongside the rest of the Swedish brand’s range (S60, V60, S80, XC60 and XC90). Notably, the Shah Alam plant is the only facility outside Europe to assemble these models.

Clearly related, the V40 Cross Country is an SUV-styled spin-off of the V40. It gets a raised ride height, honeycomb grille, plastic body cladding all around, roof rails, black-painted side mirrors plus bespoke brown/black cabin upholstery and ‘Copper Dawn’ dashboard trim. The rest of the car is identical to the V40 T5.

Volvo_V40_Malaysia_Live_030

Powering the entry-level V40 T4 is the familiar Ford-sourced 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine already found in the current S60 and V60 T4. It gets 180 hp and 240 Nm of torque (plus an extra 30 Nm on transient overboost), paired to a six-speed dual-clutch PowerShift transmission. The 0-100 km/h sprint in 8.5 seconds, on to a 225 km/h top speed.

The V40 T5 and the sole V40 Cross Country gets a brand new 2.0 litre turbocharged five-cylinder engine with 213 hp and 300 Nm of torque. It’s built off Volvo’s own 2.5 litre five-pot motor and gets a different six-speed Geartronic torque converter auto ‘box. The T5 raises performance to 6.9 seconds and 230 km/h (Cross Country is limited to 210 km/h).

All three variants are front-wheel drive (all-wheel drive is unavailable at launch), with the V40 T4 managing a combined fuel economy of 6.1 litres per 100 km and the quicker T5 and Cross Country models rated at 7.5 l/100km. Euro 5 emissions classification is met across the range.

Equipment list varies depending on model. On the outside, the T4 makes do with 16-inch five-spoke ‘Matres’ wheels, while the T5’s are an inch larger in ‘Segomo’ design (pictured on the grey car here). The V40 Cross Country meanwhile gets its own 17-inch six-spoke ‘Larenta’ wheels as standard (optional 19-inch ‘Alecto’ items are fitted on the display car).

Volvo_V40_Malaysia_Live_014

The T5 and Cross Country is equipped as standard with a digital instrument cluster with an eight-inch Adaptive Digital Display (with three modes: Elegance, Eco and Performance) and a premium sound system connected to a seven-inch colour screen. The base T4 model has a smaller five-inch centre screen and conventional meter dials. Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity is standard in all models.

On the convenience front, there are electric front seats (with memory function for the driver), automatic climate control, auto wipers, flexible boot floor and fold-flat rear seats. The T5 and Cross Country models add keyless entry and Park Assist Pilot (auto park) features.

You’d expect nothing less from a Volvo in terms of safety. The V40 achieved a five-star Euro NCAP collision safety rating, getting the highest ever recorded results by the institute. Do note though, that in Europe the car comes equipped with Pedestrian Airbag (pop-up hood) as standard – a feature that is omitted in our local cars.

Volvo_V40_Malaysia_Live_035

Otherwise, Cruise Control, BLIS, Cross Traffic Alert, City Safety (now works up to 50 km/h, up from 30 km/h in the S60), Dynamic Stability and Traction Control, Torque Vectoring, and Active Bending Lights are all standard active safety features. Seven airbags (with a knee airbag on the driver’s side) complete the safety kit.

The Volvo V40 in Malaysia is offered with a market-leading, full complement of after-sales coverage. Five-year free servicing, inclusive of parts, five-year factory warranty plus Volvo On-Call service for the same period; you get them all. Refer to the official brochure in the gallery below for full details.

So there you go; a premium-badged Golf rival with competitive pricing at one end of the range, and a cut-price alternative to the Mercedes-Benz A-Class and Golf GTI at the other. Volvo is back in Malaysia and is back in style. Fancy yourself a sexy new Swede, anyone?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• no one on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 159
    • gynaecologist on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:24 pm

kiasu ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • TechnicalQ on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Is it direct injection or not?

• Jimmy on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:20 am

Ok, so it’s 5-year factory warranty, not he 2 + 3 under insurance which you and I know la.
          But is it all too easy to just tell you that nothing is wrong with your car, or the part that you suspect to be malfunction?

• Service Contract? on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:52 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 139
          • khairi on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:39 am

Hey the free service is for 5 years or 100kkm, which ever comes first.. And only for normal oil change, gearbox oil still we need to pay… But it is not bad then, rather than nothing

• FreeService on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I can’t find any reference in your gallery about 5 years free service including parts…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:35 pm

It’s not listed on the brochures, but “five year free servicing, inclusive of parts” is mentioned in the official Volvo Car Malaysia press release.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Tanah Merah on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:27 am

I check with volvo, they said it’s actually 3+2 warranty like VW ,though for VW it’s 2 + 3

• kadajawa on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 179
      • Yea yea yea go buy ur cheap Suprima and no one to stop u! already looks cheap so is not Volvo fault!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
      • WaJib on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:10 am

Nak banding Proton dengan Volvo??
        Proton can only be compared with jaguh kampung brand like perodua or Naza la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 12
  • Joe Radzif on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 233
    • CKD Master on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:31 pm

suprima s jadi sup ass kat volvo….hahahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 15
    • the grey area make bumper too high n look odd…too ahbeng..better they use body color better maa…..it has one big ass

hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • kadajawi on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:55 pm

SUV style la… think Nissan Livina X-Gear and Cross Touran etc. Actually grey plastic is quite useful. Bump here, bump there, no scratches.

• 中山郎 on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:12 pm

A class or this v40? the answer is so very obvious. visit ur nearest dealer today!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
  • Polo Saga on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Hard to resist this beautiful designed car!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 2
    • gynaecologist on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:26 pm

nice design. ppl should buy this car. 5 + 5 + 5 = incredible value. well done volvo malaysia. UMW? hak tuih!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 4
  • 5 years free service with parts? Meaning that only need to pay for wear and tear items + fuel. Very competitive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
    • koochai on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:16 pm

i think they will also change your wiper blade for free (ford malaysia did that)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
      • JimContiCarsOwner on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:31 pm

not just wiper, brake pads are free too! but that’s for Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • kentji on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 106
      • klguy on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:20 am

u want RV, go get ur vios la. volvo is in a diff league

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
      • I don’t think people who buy Volvo look at RV. Volvo for Life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
        • tokmoh on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Oh wait, i just figure out how to reply comment like this using ipad hoho

Anyway, aye to that. Volvo for life!

Volvo shows hypocrisy of most msians. Always like to claim safety is important, concerned about safety, blablabla safety.

Rubbish. The truth is msian cares more about RV. Safety? with attitude never give signal, drive like arsehole, i puke hear people trying to sound kononnya concerned about safety, but never wear seat belt, drive like sohai, lansi cuz drive high RV car. Ptuih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
          • Have you actually drive a volvo car before you come out with this comment? ? People who buy volvo dont care as much on RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • IlikeSUV on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Very sexy car indeed with excellent safety features + all sort of goodies!!

Love it!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:35 pm

I like it. But I won’t buy now. Maybe 5 years later, used unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
    • Majuperak on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Buy one after 5 years and there’s where all the problem pops out ….and you spend RM10,000 just on maintainence half yearly … lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
      • _xXx_ on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm

it will be 60-70k a piece after 5 years. Big margin for maintenance so no prob at all lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Drive Your Way on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Well said bro. Only if I could afford it, I would like to get it new as I have voted it as one of the top three out of 8 nominees of the European Car of the Year award, other than Mercedes A-class and Hyundai i30.

• stealth on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:35 pm

nice & powerful! good alternative to the VW Golf which almost like MyVi on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:12 pm

VWs are starting to be as irritatingly-driven as Myvis too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 5
    • yup, if u want a cheap conti …get the golf at around 150k, surely can get additional 5k discount….more or less civic 2.0 high specc’s price, guess that’s why lots of golf is seen nowadys.

• I will chose this V40 over A class… A class specs is a turn off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
  • NeoLover on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:37 pm

What the hell with the RM xx8,888 pricing? every car price is structured to meet that number. whats wrong with RM xx3,456 or RM xx(any other digit in numbers)? any superstitious believe behind this? Nice car though…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
    • _xXx_ on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:55 pm

racist pricing lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 77
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:12 pm

You can tell which superstitious ethnicity they’re targeting with stupid numbers like that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 25
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 301
        • Aww.. 200+ ppl are butthurt because im telling the truth. Im just wanna justify the statement made by someone which consist heavy racial sentiment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
        • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:11 am

Yeah but those superstitious buyers are only thinking about resale value and spare part prices, so they won’t even consider a Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Yes, I have to damn agree with u. out of 10 superstitious ethnic, oni 2-3 will buy Volvo. But still still consist one of the main buyers group. To me, safety caution Malaysian (Chinese, Indian and Malay) will buy Volvo. Thats all. This car doesnt reserve to one specific ethnic group. To those who love to give racial comment, pls take it to UMNO fan page. thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 14
        • _xXx_ on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:57 am

kalo gitu konfem itu apename SUV keranda kenot sell here!

• boomBoom on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:25 pm

the number 8 is somehow related to luckiness i think… agree with your last sentence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • dodgeviper88 on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:48 pm

If the population is so superstitious I believe this car wouldn’t sell at all with the ‘4’ in the model name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Datuk on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Goodbye VW Golf. Hello volvo V40! interior and exterior looks good! No more Uncle and Auntie design. The V40 T4 i think its value for money for those who want to but hot hatch conti car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • Audi sure are coming in late. Or maybe not at all?

• TS.LIm on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Who really needs Golf GTI while the V40 T5 offers similar performance with much lower pricetag ?
    Good job Volvo! Nice V40…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
    • Sky pirate on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm

The GTI is overpriced in Malaysia, it shouldn’t sell above 200K, the R is even more over priced. Hopefully with the launch of Merc A250 and T5 V40 will bring the MK7 GTI price back where it should be.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
      • medic on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Merc A250 costs 238,888 lar,so damn expensive.Projected MK7 Gti is around 220k max.

• medic on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:48 pm

But MK 7 GTi got 350 Nm of torque wor,Vs volvo 300 NM…somemore got DSG.0-100 is 6.5sec,faster ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:12 am

But if speed is what you want, would you really buy a Golf GTI? Megane RS is the real hot hatch here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nice. Specs as good as golf, but cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Wow, that pricing is rather good for this rather well spec, and extremely good looking car. Rather heavy thou, wonder what the FC would be like.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

http://www.volvocars.com/my/all-cars/volvo-v40/specifications/pages/technical-spec.aspx

T4 alone beat the crap out of Proton Sperma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Let alone the price can tell

• WaJib on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:23 am

Different segment la bro.. u think everybody can afford a v40 ah… if kerani gaji Rm 3000 can afford V40 meh.. Suprima can afford lah..

• Alamak, kerja sebage kerani of coz cant drive Volvo la. Dude, same as in Europe. Even though cars are dirt cheap in europe, but only professionals drives Volvo. Professional as in real pro in a specfic field not like Malaysia half pro oso can earn good money.

• it has ambient lights just like ford focus?

• thayalan on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Volvo V40, A Class, BMW 316i, Alfa Giuleatta.. hmmm.. which one to buy?????

• Terence Leong on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Giuleatta look more sexier…. haha!

• Gracke on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:06 pm

A very good consideration of those choices….it would be either Volvo V40 T5 Cross Country or BMW F30 316…it’s hard to make decision!!

• I would go for A-class. In fact, asked my dad to consider the A250. its really beautiful compared to other conti hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Blabla on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Nice features overall. Safety wise no one can doubt volvo. Engine and fuel consumption looks promising. Price is acceptable being in Malaysia. RV is not an issue ’cause I think people won’t be selling their sexy v40 unless it’s spoilt (bad luck). Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Another Volvo with the floating center console….
    It has been a while eh?
    Volvo said you can put stuff behind the center console, but it wasnt big enough to put handbags for the ladies….maybe a wallet will fit in there?
    But on the other hand, I rather keep it in my pocket…better opt for the Germans or Lexus instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
    • Razibar on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Im currently driving volvo s40 2.4i since 2004 and I used the area behind the floating center condole to put my tissue box. Easy to retrieve it when u need it. When i bought it, they gave only 3 years warranty w/o free service. Problems started after 3rd year but no sweat for me as i got the juice. With 5 +5+5, i think its worth it. Im gonba get myself the t4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Yes, maybe a tissue box …..and that’s all!
        I still consider the German cars have better interior, or even Korean cars have more space and cubby holes to put your stuff compared to what volvo layout offers….
        Good to look at but not practical enough…something like IKEA furniture, the fall apart! Sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • dude, for 9 years? wont you be bored? and im surprised that Volvo can last that long..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Razibar on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Dude
          Volvo for life. If u like it, u wont be bored by it. Frankly, im still enjoying my current ride. Go for a test drive and maybe u hv a different picture of volvo

• mambang on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:39 pm

yes!i had a doubt on volvo but last week i test drive the T4.wow.fall in love!

• kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:14 am

The floating center console is sexy. It looks cool. Yes, maybe it is not so useful, but it makes for a pretty interior. Nothing wrong with that…

• Ju-Lian on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:18 pm

is this CKD or CBU?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 55
  • Najib on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Lets just hope Volvo does not issue a statement “re-evaluation of pricing by the authorities” (Most probably by MITI) in the near future. Like what they did with VW Polo GTI.

• tokmoh on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm

VOLVO FOR LIFE!

A tad bit pricey at first i thought compared to its rivals, but when u factor in the 5+5+5 after sales service offer, not bad actually. Let this sexy Swede conquer the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Terence Leong on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm

aiyo~! y not come together with paddle shift?? should be more fun with it! ;)

• Blackjkx on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:40 pm

I buy this for my wife and kids! InsyAllah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • rm 2 billion for suprima s R& D N come out with super shit car……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • Wtf got idiot here, where got suprima s cost Rm 2 billion in R & D… it costs Rm200 million lorrr… but it still not justified to me compare to end results.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • taiko on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:48 pm

just went to honda dealer SR. there is a discount for city.8k.grab it for 1st time buyer.poor for the previous city buyers.
    open question:what is the reasonable price for recon wish 2009 new fc,x spec, jb area?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:53 am

8k, really?? wow! just as desperate as toyota and proton to clear stocks as year end coming up fast!

it always pay to wait. 8k is like 6 mths free instalment (consider mthly at 1.2k)

• bandwagonesque on Aug 20, 2013 at 3:50 pm

good looks…good performance…competitive price with the HP n Nm given…much more safety features…reliable gearbox/transmission…5 year free inclu parts..not bad at all..revamped interior…i loiikeeeee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • AlBeCh on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:03 pm

“Do note though, that in Europe the car comes equipped with Pedestrian Airbag (pop-up hood) as standard – a feature that is omitted in our local cars”.Coz if it comes with this feature,people would be running in front of this Volvo while its on the move more often,heheh =P

Hopefully it’ll still be at MidValley over the weekends.Pewdiepie,Ikea and Volvo – my top 3 Best Stuff to come from Sweden =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:58 am

volvo is coming up with pedestrian airbag soon, to deploy from the wiper area upon a low speed collision

• SpareTyre on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I see the Malaysian V40 gets spare tyres and not a tyre repair kit like other countries, gives peace of mind knowing you won’t get stuck somewhere with a flat burst tyre…

Just like VW’s pricing, the prices shown are without insurance?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Yes, all prices listed are on the road figures, excluding insurance.

Quoted prices for Volkswagen models in Malaysia however, are “nett selling prices” excluding registration and inspection fees, road tax, number plate and insurance.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 171
    • oilworker on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm

I guess that’s why they are giving 5 yrs warranty?

• alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:45 pm

business strategy lah.

buy chicken rice, get free soft drink of coz ppl buy compare to buy chicken rice, get chicken rice.

• Sky pirate on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:49 pm

228K for a GTI? My God! VW Malaysia can kiss good bye to the sales of one of the best sellers. Most of the readers here curse UMW for their fat margins, but I’m sorry, the one that is greediest is DRB Hicom. What are they thinking? So GTI buyers are basically subsidizing Suprima S buyers LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Maserati(Official) on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Go drive it ,then u know why it costs 228k. Its one of the best cars I have ever driven (MK6). So the mk7 will be even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • Sky pirate on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:58 pm

My sister is driving the MK6 GTI, if you think just stepping on the gas pedal and putting the gear box into D is fun, well you can have all that fun.

• alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

the problem is… Golf GTI cost only 49K (for Mk6)… we understand about the import tax and such. but why the threefold increase? that is huuggeee margin!

• Swedish? You mean scandanavian? on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Volvo is scandanavian. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • chizzu on Aug 20, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Volvo is by Swedish. Sweden is one of the Scandinavian countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • its actually owned by Geely now, so its chinese lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • Jaguar and Land Rover is owned by Tata Motors.Does that make those cars Indian?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
          • alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:51 pm

in JLR case,

Tata only poured in capitals. they did not bother with design engineering or car features – leave it all to the British

• u go, AVD!!! dont bother look or read abt volvo cars if u hv the geely mentality…go for the other “genuine” conti cars lah!

• Than LOTUS is?

• koochai on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:20 pm

the correct spelling is SCANDINAVIAN

• WRONG !!! it is Chinese !!!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • AbeDinds on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:33 pm

is it both on planet earth?
      dont correct me if i’m wrong, just ignore.

• Wonder of 5 years free servicing of peace of mind and 5 yrs warranty. We wont get this peace of mind if getting any Japs exec saloon at 160k !! Japs saloon nowadays are not cheap to maintain !! expensive parts also !! no ordinary shop can service properly !! Good bargain rather than Japs saloon with lot less safety gadget !!

5 years is about 150k kms …peace of mind…no worries !! might be my next car !! drreaming to own Volvo with price about Japs Saloon !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • gorgeous!

• Ian CHEONG on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:22 pm

I wonder if it will come with the Year old PARK ASSIST PILOT technology like Ford, Kia, Nissan, Mercedes and Land Rover. Being locally assembled, I guess no sunroof.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKW4rv9ynHo

Others with parallel park assist:
    http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2012/12/06/self-parking-cars-challenge/1743199/

• superfai on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:37 pm

V40 = 5+5+5+CKD
    A class = 4+CBU

How ler

• Bobot on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Dear Volvo,
    Why lar u put the handbrake on the passenger’s side. Next time put some thoughts on the conversion process lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • alldisc on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:34 pm

i noticed the same. is it because 75% of world car market is LHD and minorities are RHD (commonwealth countries)?

thats just too bad.

• Richie on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Kekayaan ‘Bocor’ Kerana Kereta.

Biasa dengar org gaji 5k, tapi pandu kereta yg installment 1.3k-1.5k ?? biasa dengar kan….? gaji baru 4k dah berani beli kereta 1k per month. pun biasa dengar kan?? biasalah darah muda. darah muda akan cari kereta yg downpayment paling rendah, loan yg paling pjg. janji kereta best, harga diri seakan meningkat sama. dlm fikiran graduan yg baru dpt kerja ni cepat jer ternampak kereta2 spt honda civic, elantra, forte, cerato, golf, accord, sonata, jetta dll kereta yg nampak ada ‘standard’ supaya imej bertambah di mata org sekeliling. tapi apa yg ramai tak nampak bhw 1.5k instalment tu tak abis di situ saja. angka yg sebenar dia akan spent tiap bulan ialah 2k ++ per month. iaitu separuh dari gaji dia jadi habuan utk kereta, eksesori keta & pakej2 lain yg dtg dgn kereta tu.

installment mmg la 1.3k. tapi petrol? katalah petrol rm400 sebulan (melainkan dia pakai keta hebat tapi most of the time keta tersadai kat parking keta, jarang2 drive tak cukup duit utk petrol.. he he he). keta mahal dah tentu minyak injin pakai fully sentetik, brand elok …takkan nak pakai minyak injin hak murah ye tak? sayang la injin keta tu.

keta hebat takkan nak pakai brand tayar murah right? keta injin laju ni bahaya pakai tayar brand murah. gamak ke nak pakai brand tayar yg teksi pakai. jatuh la stendet. or takkan drive Camry tp pakai tayar seken hand? malu la kat budak2 kedai tayar. hehehe…. kereta2 hebat ni biasanya tayar rim 17 or 18. satu tayar jer dah rm350-400 ikut brand. So byklah ‘kebocoran’ sana sini angkara kereta nak hebat & nak maintain pakej yg datang bersamanya.

kebocoran tanpa sedar. kerana bila motokar hebat, takkan gamak bagi duit raya 3 ringgit letak dlm sampul ye tak. malu la kaum. malu la kat kwn2 yg pakai kereta perodua bg duit raya sama mcm yg memandu Civic/Accord. so bila dah berkereta ‘hebat’ ni, secara otomatik mcm2 lagi tekanan sekeliling yg meminta supaya keluar duit lebih utk sustain gaya mutu keunggulan. keta mahal kena hantar car wash selalu, keta dah ler mahal takkan nak biar comot. kena hantar polish kasi kilat. service keta mesti kat designated service centre keta tu, mana blh service kedai sebarangan. so caj pun mesti la mahal sikit dari kedai biasa. bila keluar dgn kwn2 or ipar duai takkan yg pakai proton nak kena belanja makan ye tak. malu la sikit. hehe… maka byk la benda yg menyebabkan kekayaan ‘bocor’ angkara kereta… sbb nak jaga gaya mutu & keunggulan.

ramai org suka kereta. sbb utamanya ialah keperluan utk bw dari point A ke point B. sbb2 yg lain ialah kereta represent tahap ekonomi seseorg, imej, hobi. namun utk keadaan hari ini, jenis kereta blh mengelakkan dari dipandang rendah oleh org sekeliling, terutama masa balik raya & masa nak attend reunion dgn kwn2 sekolah & kwn2 uni. walau mcmn sekali pun kita nafi, kereta tetap 1st impression bila org tgk kita sampai. bila attend reunion kwn sekolah cthnya, amat berbeza penampilan bila seseorg tu sampai dgn brand new Accord berbanding Pesona. cash byk, saham byk, emas byk, rumah byk org tak nampak. cerita pun org tak caya. dan sikap segelintir masyarakat… ada rasa hormat bila sembang dgn org2 berkereta besar bbanding dgn mamat berkereta saga BLM.

normally klu dah pakai kereta D segment tu tpaksa la jaga penampilan yg lain tu… which is very costly. hehe …

cuba tanya mana2 org muda, majoritinya target nak pakai keta hebat bila grad, bila dpt kerja krjn or swasta. buat hutang 9 thn sudah pasti, so terperangkaplah for the next 9 yrs. kereta tu selepas 9 thn akan jd besi buruk, susut nilai 90%. hilanglah potensi investment sepanjang 9 tahun tu krn cashflow habis ke instalment kereta & pakejnya. byklah investment opportunity lost for the nx 9 yrs. lepas 7/9thn mesti nak tukar kereta lg. sbb keta lama dah hilang gempaknya. berhutang lagi 9 tahun. klu dulu mula2 beli kereta umur 28, lepas pakai dua kereta umur pun dah cecah 46 tahun. masa tu baru terpikir berapa lama lg nak kena kerja, umur patut pencen tapi saving ciput, simpanan tak cukup utk tanggung family, tak cukup utk sustain life style yg ada. org lain dah boleh pikir utk relax di umur 50-an, kita masih pikir tpaksa kerja utk tanggung hutang.

dan yg paling malang………………………………. byk kes berkereta hebat tapi hujung bulan pinjam kwn2 opis. yg tu tak pulak rasa malu. pakai Pesona seken hand malu, pinjam duit merata tak malu. sanggup skip duit yg sepatutnya bagi org tua tiap2 bulan. malah pinjam pulak duit org tua. pinjaman yg liat byr balik. selalunya buat lupa nak byr balik.

ramai sanggup spend beribu sebulan utk kereta, tapi tak sanggup bagi org tua hatta rm500 sebulan. rupanya kereta hebat lg penting.

Proton Saga is a value buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 25
    • Essay on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Wah, write so long essay only one guy gives a like? Is that you yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 50
    • Ripped Off on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Reason I pay high prices for cars is because of Proton! Outside of Malaysia Proton can’t sell even though I subsidise their exports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:33 am

Reason for high car prices is cause other taxes are pretty low. Cars are financing the government, health care and what not. Proton is just a scape goat and also subjected to high taxes – that’s why in Australia Proton is cheaper for example.

And why they couldn’t sell? Well, Protons before the Exora and Preve weren’t exactly good, were they? Not competitive. And those cars ruined the reputation of Proton. We’ll see if the newer models can get traction, but if attractively priced I think the Preve could do well in Europe (economic downturn, Dacia is cheap but, well, cheap (think Toyota… no equipment, not so good safety, but at least should be reasonably realiable), the Koreans have increased their price as the quality increased so that they may be a bit out of reach).

• Yes, but i think we can give Proton a break. Its the stupid AP system that caused all these price hike. AP’s main objective is to help Malay to venture into car dealing business but those chap usually will sell them to Chinese car dealer at high price and untung from there. easy money. And chinese car dealer bringing in car without tax, but sell back to local at market price. If want a cheaper car. Take down tat AP system, but im afraid this will not happen.

• AP that u talk bout AP for grey import, recon, unofficial import other than distro or maker…not many buy those AP car..AP use by official distro n maker are different..

• Charles on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Hello Ripped Off think wisely! Ritchie is CORRECT. DONT TALK politics. You are in Malaysia soe get used to it! That is the fact!. If you dont like it move elsewhere.

• saladin on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:34 pm

ni lepas geram ni. dah lari topik….. jgn marah yer. selamat hari raya. anyway i saw this car at midvalley.. damnnnn hot. especially the cross t 19 inch rim. 225/40/19 superb rim design. can i buy from volvo?

• Ungrateful on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:39 pm

The high prices we pay for the cars we like is mostly a levy collected by the government & AP and franchise cronies. Criticize the freeloaders instead of the poor buyers of their dream cars.

• SteadyAje on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Good points. I earn more than RM10K+ of being a salaryman and getting good rental (combined annual income of 160K excluding wife’s). I only recently changed my old ’99 Wira with Nissan Almera. For me, car is not an asset, it is a liability. With a depreciating value and over-priced due to govt tax, my taste to own a better car (like c or D segment) waned. I rather invest in something that will grow in value that a rusty machine that depreciate with age. Do I feel ashamed to drive old/B-segment car during balik kg? Sometimes yes, but i dont dare as I have deep pocket. I totally agree with you that we still have people with “biar bergaya asal papa” attitude.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:34 am

Buy a second hand car then. Most of the depreciation was absorbed by the previous owner, and you seem to earn well enough to be able to pay for repairs and a bit more expensive spare parts.

• Dude, u can easily afford something like entry level luxury car la uncle. no worries. Mayb after a few years u can drive something like 3 series.

• MaserratiJKC on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Ah boy john, 3 series is only a normal better car but not a luxury car.

• kelso on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:51 am

Richie,

am with you all the way with the exception of the last sentence.

There are too many cars on the road and not enough public transport.

Loans are given out too freely with deceptively low repayments over ridiculous periods of time. It is a trap of which many have fallen. Running costs are relatively low in this country of ours with subsidized fuel.

Driving is no more fun, it’s a chore, a droning necessity…

But nope, I don’t think buying a Proton is then end of our problems.

• Datuk Jack. on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:30 pm

well said bro..

i think this situation is happen to all Malaysian younger/middle age generation, regardless races.

no one to blame accept our self, we driven our self on branded product since we are on primary/secondary some when college or Uni, we always like to show off among our friend that we are came from rich family or try to proved that our parent afford to provided us with branded items. instead of our parent are juz came from normal middle class family n not the silver spoon.

its not stop there, its become more critical when we grad and gets job, we force our self to show to society that we are success. at the end the attitude is killing us softly and when we realized the mistake we did sometimes is too late.

not to say all is like that, but majority are like that. the mindset need to be change, we need to be a well educated society in term of how to value hard earn money and how to spend it wisely.

• Hazelnuts on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:18 am

wah dude,

“ada rasa hormat bila sembang dgn org2 berkereta besar bbanding dgn mamat berkereta saga BLM.”

Terasa I….

• Adamate on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Now I understand why so many car thefts going on, because everyone looking for cheap parts to service their more-than-they-can-sustain cars.

I figure that it’s more-than-they-can-sustain cars, cars below RM300k (authorized dealer and parallel imported cars) is all susceptible to be stolen for parts, right? And since they are chopped down, hence untraceable…

Eg. RM90k 2008 Camry rear-bumper from SC cost RM1400 whereas stolen parts can be found between RM350. Both includes paint and installations. It was a very difficult decision so I fitted a TRD Aurion bodykit with matching exhaust system… Not acc just dumb me reversed into a pipe and when moved forward it pulled off my rear bumper… quite amusing, and I was laughing when it happened…

Then there’s the RM290k 2011 E-class, where some jerk decided to smash my front windscreen to steal my smart-tag, went to SC and they quoted me RM3100 excluding tinting but includes service and whatever else, a dodgy shop/lot/space :S i found underneath Loke Yew fly-over who can sell to me for RM1200, I was eager but then my wife happened… Sigh…

• Mahal la bro. Berapa percent orang Malaysia yang boleh afford kereta nih?

• Hei, there are many Malaysian are able to buy. Just that ppl with that kind of money will go for more popular car like golf, rocco, A-class and other continental brand. This is typical Malaysian mentality that buy stuff based of brand. Quality teruk tak ape.

• ahdTJ on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Very nice car. I wish i waited longer. Good for brand new buyers. After 5 yrs warranty ends, maintenance may cost a bomb. Most owners will sell at a very drastic price drop. Subsequently, 2nd hand buyers will bear all those hefty maintenance without any warranty left.

I got experience in 2007 bought used s60 frm a friend. Not much knowledge. Prob here & there. Service & repair higher than installment. At last sold the car in 2010 n only this year i managed to purchase new volvo with warranty. For those mid income like me, buy new volvo now n sell when the warranty is about to end.. Its not like a mercedes where u can keep for ages.. Unless u got extra time n money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:37 am

But you don’t spend so much on that second hand car. Think of it as installment then and include an anual budget for repairs in your calculations. Buy a car that is much cheaper than you can afford, then repairs won’t hurt nearly as much, and if there aren’t any, you’re lucky and save money. Can go on holiday or buy a nice new TV set…

• Spotted Spot Spotted on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Today i went to federal auto glenmarie. There is 3 unit of V40 on display and few for test drive. The 3 unit model consist of T4,T5 and T5 Cross Country. Overall it is nice looking cars from Volvo. The rear seat feel bit tight with clearance for headroom just a few inches from my head. Car boots is average (Proton Suprima S offer better in term of size…just the size and of course not the rest of car technologies). But i found there is no rev camera and the is no panaromic glass roof like what the european fan was offered (even for India market). So i think if they really want to competed with VW Golf, Audi A3 or MBenz A Class, they should bring in the Volvo V40 R-Design.

In a mean time, i did saw 2 Golf GTi MK7 one in Red and the other one in White on the next building. It seems like they are preparing for the soon to be launching events or maybe for press trip!

• Pug408 on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Hey hey, stil there’s cheaper contis that offers similar pots – Peugout 408 1.6Turbo or if price alone go for
    2.0NA!!

• zamer on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm

i say wow for the performance for both T4 and T5. the T4 is already powerful while the T5 getting 300nm and 200+ hp is comparable to gti

only drawback is, the interior seems a bit recycle from previous generation such as steering, center console..they could have evolve totally on these

• the interior is rock solid though, go take a look, it feels younger than many other volvos although the layout is almost the same

• b.v.d on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:50 am

Very disappointing… Better wait for the s60 facelift then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Essay on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:35 pm

My grandpa Volvo 240GL used for 30 years.
    That car took me to primary school, secondary school and airport when I left boleh land…

But not sure why Volvo reliability dropped so bad these days. Hope they can make their new car more reliable.

Anyway, the plastic in the new Volvo is kinda cheap feeling, hardly feel the premium in the cabin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Al Gorilla on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

I think putting this on the same class as a Golf is insulting to Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • protonsampaimati on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:15 pm

my blue suprima S+R3+E+cfe+etc+etc+etc can smoke this thing anytime..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 32
  • Henry Ford the XII on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:02 pm

I’ll say – bring on (the new) Mazda 3 MPS!
    Woot-woot!

• neutral on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:51 pm

viewed the car at midvalley….i found the interior space comparable to golf…i’m 6footer and i just about fit into the back seats with the driver seat set into my position…boot looks a bit small. Overall, comparing the normal V40 to cross country, i like the CC better as the interior feels lighter with the brown/black combi seats as opposed to the black interior of the V40. Doors solid as expected from a Volvo. If anyone going for this model, go with the 19″ wheel option, really changed the whole look. At 198,888, it’s tough…there’s the DS5 at almost 4k cheaper.

• kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:39 am

True, and the DS5 sits a segment higher (though the platform is C segment). But for performance/spirited driving I think the V40 should be better, the DS5 is more of an allrounder with a very nice interior.

• If not bcos I bought the Mondeo 240ps last year, I would certainly seriously consider to get this car.

• bloody.volvo.driver on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:22 am

Hi Paul,

Is the V40 equipped with queue assist? That would be useful for the balik kampung crawl along plus hway..

Volvo/FA chaps if youre reading this, pls have some promo so i can trade in my old s60 at a good value… Tq

• Nope. Only City safety and no pedestrian detection or pedestrian airbag to safe on cost.

• Just a thought, it would be sweet if u r driving this sexy V40 with a blonde Swedish gf beside you. Damn, everyone will be envy of you. Complete package of Swede inside out. Owh yeah. Go to work enjoying Swede taste, at night sleeping also enjoy Swede taste.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:26 am

Yea, and go drive ur v40 visit ikea and have swedish meetballs ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:58 am

So I expected this car would be priced slightly lower than the Golf but nooooo was I wrong, they played around the Merc A-class’ territory instead.

Nice car though.

• Tanah merah on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Just to confirm, No reverse camera ?

• Why nobody bring in recon volvos?

• turboman on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:20 am

I see all this talk about performance and price. Anyone notice the T5 engine has 5 cyl? While the competitors only 4cyl. Engine refinement at high revs would be much better. That to me is a huge differentiation factor. Tuned correctly a 5 or 6 cyl can sound like a nice turbine engine purring and its a very intoxicating sound

• tokmoh on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:49 am

Indeed, having driven the V50 T5 a bit, gotta love that 5-cylinder smoothness. That is despite the car done over 100,000 km, and 8 years old, but my God it feels so good, thanks also to its diligent owner, showing with proper maintenance, it can be very reliable and so fecking good to drive!

• turboman on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Checked out today at Volvo Glenmarie.

Waited 2 hours and yet still no test drive. Not sure if the queue was too long or the sales didnt bother to give me a test drive cause i was wearing shorts and slipers. Saturday la. Wear suit meh.

Looking to replace my car and really eyeing for this one. Seems like it has everything i look for in a car.

1) Smooth engine ( no 4 cyl can match a 5/6 cyl in terms of smoothness )
      2) Power. >200hp.
      3) Upscale interior. A bavarian make that i have makes lots of creaking noise when i drive. Absolutely hate it. THe quality of the plastics in an expensive vehicle is simply appalling. This is the reason i didnt go for GTI or the other high powered hatch. Simply not upscale enough. I will not entertain any “you cant afford it” comment.
      4) Fun to drive. Volvo cars although not as good in this department as a certain bavarian make, but its close. Coupled with number 3, this should be a winner.
      5) Uniqueness. My old ride was a smart roadster. Bloody rare car. This should be rare as well and would be a unique car on the road. Unlike some cars which are like “uniform” and every tom dick harry is driving it.

• shawal on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:10 pm

T4 comes with adaptive cruise control and city safety ?

with these two working in tandem , you can relax in traffic jams

• limlim on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:06 am

this car is better equip than Nissan Teana V6 with around the same price RM170k

• badger on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Nice car but I do have some questions. Would appreciate if someone could answer.

1- None of the trim levels are factory fitted with GPS? I believe the new S60 and V60 are. Why? This is just so disappointing.

2- City Safety means?

3- No mention of HID lights anywhere on the website and brochure, but the lights look HID. I know there are DRLs though. Can anyone confirm?

4- The Cross Country is supposed to be 4-wheel-drive. Why isn’t it?

5- The V40 is supposed to have an adaptive cruise control that uses the radar for queue control. I’m guessing it’s missing too?

6- No reverse camera? Really??

7- The handbrake seems to be on the wrong side? Bad conversion or supposed to be that way?

7- Will the diesel V40 CC be coming?

Other things I notice missing are the sunroof and pedestrian airbag on the hood, but that’s ok.

Lastly, even if the features I mentioned are not standard, I would deeply appreciate the option to add them on. A lot of people may say that malaysia is too small a market to warrant customization, but the truth is lexus does it and the other premium brands do too. Seeing as the v40 is made here (the only assembly outside europe, in fact), i don’t see the issue.

Hope the guys at volvo are paying attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm

@badger:

2. City safety is the auto brake feature

4. Federal Auto decides what specs they want to bring in. I believe all XC60 CKD are fwd too, despite looking 4wd-ish

6. Not really critical for small car. At least it has reverse sensor, unlike golf gti 3 door

7. Bad conversion, been like that in v50 too

8. Unlikely. They brought in XC90 D5 before, hardly sold/seen

All your other points are too specific, best answered by FA salesman.

Ipad can’t reply comment, hope paultan can fix this

• Brian on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Sure the Volvo v40 T5 has powered with AWD system??

• Emkay on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:12 am

Volvo KSA is selling the cross country version of this car with a T5 engine at SR179K almost RM160K. Considering Malaysia Tax n duties structure, I think the Malaysia price is quite reasonable…

• stealth on Aug 24, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Paul, please make a test drive review for this V40 please. i am sure many readers will be interested

• SK Tay on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:13 am

I was there yesterday and the show girl gave all the wrong information ><

• Thomson Fletcher on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:00 pm

After owning a Volvo S60T for 5 years, I sold it for many reasons. Although I maintained the car as per scheduled maintenance…the engine oil became sludge (Castrol 0-30) and I was required to pay for a re-conditioned engine from Volvo KL. My car’s engine was exchanged. I had to pay around RM4600.00 After a few weeks, the reconditioned engine arrived in Penang and I had to wait for a few weeks for the guys in Federal Auto to fix it up. A month later after I got my car on the road again, the @#%&* air-conditioner decided to blow hot air to my face. All these problems that I had are on record with Federal Auto, Penang. I decided that Volvo is not for life……. it sucks your life !!!

• not a fanboy on Jan 08, 2018 at 11:03 pm

sory to hear ur problems.. i know that s60 t5 uses the 2.0t engine from ford and its not very reliable. my foreman in federal auto confirm that fact. this v40 t5 5 cylinder is volvo own engine and its very reliable as the same engine was used in v50 t5.. they only make its displacement smaller to accomodate our roadtax price.. so when choosing volvo make sure its a 5 cylinder and ur good for at least 200k km..

• @ServiceContract, do some studies la b4 giving ur one-sided biased comments. Volvos are made in Belgium and not China… It irks me reading such comments from another freaking brand whore who blindly follows those so called market acceptable marques and stepping on other non-german makes.

• a big v40 fan on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:55 am

these pics are misleading..

the malaysian v40 CC does not even have the side skirtings.

• RealTime on Nov 04, 2013 at 12:11 am

Does the T4 model comes with three modes: Elegance, Eco and Performance?

• Test driven it last week, booked it today, getting it in early February next year, In Shaa Allah.

Compared it with other cars too.

So glad i made this choice. It is an awesome car.

Can’t wait to drive my V40 T5!

• wakaka on Nov 28, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Any end-year deals? I just refuse to pay full price for a new car here, knowing it’s just to protect certain other makes..

• if we like or capable to buy our favorite car just buy it….no need to talk rubbish….no need to condemn our malaysian car… we shuld proud we got our own car…patriotic la sikittt….we cant compare our car with conti car ma…pakai la otak….why dont just compare avantador with savi? just enjoy your car la….proud to be malaysian….