DRIVEN: New 220 PS Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 tested

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_006

Writing about the new Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 doesn’t need justifying the length of War and Peace. In Europe, this thing is a legend. Here in Malaysia, though it’s beginning to attract the wrong kind of buyers as of late, it’s well on the way.

In recent years, the Mk5 GTI came to Malaysia first as a grey import, kept by a few fanatics. It was the first GTI, after a near-flood of greys, to come officially. The subsequent Mk6 – largely the same car, but with a new, more aggressive body and bigger dimensions – quickly became the default hot-hatch purchase here.

Now it’s time for the latest Golf GTI Mk7 to shine, as it has just arrived here, priced from RM209,888. It sits in another new shell, an even sharper one to keep the driving experience as intense as possible. The look is square, hard, clear of eye, jutting of chin and vast of mouth; a design theme lying somewhere between aggressive and superficially sporty.

Volkswagen modestly claims to have improved every critical aspect of what is already a great car, and that the new version goes, stops and corners better. After long miles of pelting about in it in beautiful sunny Saint Tropez, I can’t say I found any way of disagreeing.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_019

First up, the basics. The Golf GTI Mk7 is based on the modular MQB platform. Compared to the previous model, the wheelbase has been extended by 53 mm to 2,631 mm, with the front overhang shortened by 12 mm. This visually moves the A-pillar backward, giving the GTI a cab-backward effect to suit its sporty nature.

Elsewhere, the new GTI is lower by 27 mm at 1,442 mm, 13 mm wider, and total length has grown by 55 mm to 4,268 mm. The change in dimensions appears more drastic than it actually is, and coupled with the 15 mm lower ride height compared to the standard Golf Mk7, the GTI’s proportions and stance have improved dramatically.

There’s now a red trim strip on the radiator grille that extends into the headlights, parallel to the bonnet seam and bumper. Also typically GTI are the additional honeycomb air inlet openings, vertical fog lights, larger rear spoiler, twin tailpipes and unique alloy wheels. The visual effect of the 18-inch ‘Austin’ alloy wheels and their interplay with the rest of the car is breathtaking at first sight.

At the back, you’ll find a new roof spoiler. Considerably larger than those on the standard Golf, it sits flush to the roof, with blacked-out aerodynamic elements running along the sides of the boot lid. More black is used on the diffuser too, with 80 mm diameter chrome pipes sticking out of each end. Smoked LED rear lamps complete the GTI persona change, though unfortunately our local cars don’t get these for now.

Climb in and you meet a combination of the extraordinary and the mundane. There’s nothing oddball about the doors or driving position. Five adults can fit in relative comfort. You can all see out. The cabin is a clear step forward from the old GTI, more interesting in design and of better quality. It feels tough and Germanic as well as Japanese-precise (that’s a compliment).

Ergonomics have been improved, with better pedal placements, revised seating position and a steering wheel column with a broader adjustment range. The tartan upholstery (paired to optional Alcantara in these pictures; local cars get standard fabric tartan or full black leather) look brilliant, as do the contrasting red decorative seams, GTI-specific black roofliner, red ambience lighting and sill covers.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_066

Less successful is the ‘Checkered Black’ dashboard inserts. It’s a cheap-looking faux-carbonfibre lookalike that spoils the whole serious, menacing, GTI feel of the interior. At least the instrument graphics are new for the GTI, with pointers that perform a show when the engine is started.

The turbocharged motor of the GTI is from the third generation of Volkswagen’s EA888 engine series and has a completely newly-developed cylinder head. It has a unique water-cooled exhaust gas circulation loop to the turbocharger that is fully integrated in the cylinder head, giving a crucial contribution towards fuel economy at full load.

The 2.0 litre motor features variable valve timing with dual camshaft adjustment, with valve lift on the exhaust side that is adjustable over two stages. This enables optimal control of the charge exchange process for better performance, fuel economy and lower emissions.

Put on the road, the new motor now generates 220 PS at 4,500-6,200 rpm, a modest 10 PS more than before. Incidentally, that’s exactly double the amount of power that the original Volkswagen Golf GTI had 37 years ago. Getting a much more significant bump is torque, which is up from 280 Nm to 350 Nm over 1,500 to 4,400 rpm.

More power and torque, paired with 42 kg less weight translates to more speed. Zero to 100 km/h sprint now takes 6.5 seconds, and top speed is 244 km/h with the six-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox (0.4 seconds and six km/h faster than the Mk6 GTI). The manual version (no, it’s not coming here) is just as accelerative, but has a higher top speed, at 250 km/h.

Also improved is the GTI’s fuel economy, now rated at 6.4 litres per 100 km in the combined cycle. That’s 14% lower than before, it using one litre of fuel less to travel 100 kilometres. Paired to a manual gearbox, the gains jump to 18%, at just 6.0 l/100 km. Not bad at all, considering the car is now much quicker than before.

Offered for the first time is a factory-installed Performance Pack that adds an additional 10 PS to the engine, making a total of 230 PS. More than just a power boost, the pack also includes a mechanical front differential lock (the standard GTI has an electronically-controlled diff), and larger brakes.

With 230 PS, the Volkswagen Golf GTI Performance DSG hits 100 km/h a tenth of a second sooner (6.4 seconds), and travels four km/h faster at top whack (248 km/h). More significant are the other upgrades, which improves upon the GTI Mk7’s already outstanding handling properties.

The only visual giveaways of this Performance Pack are subtle GTI letterings on the red brake calipers (painted plain red on standard models). Unfortunately, we won’t be getting this option here in Malaysia, at least not in the near future. That’s just fine though, as the standard 220 PS is plenty to have fun with.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_007

Right from the start, it doesn’t feel like the sort of car you’re going to upset. In the first metres, the first kilometre, the first minutes, it feels solid, weighty and precision-engineered. Everything about it says ‘cleared for take-off’.

There is, as promised, real urge in the mid-ranges. Yes, there always was in the old, but it’s more pushy again this time around. But here’s a funny thing. The old engine was a keen revver, but you seldom took it to the edge because the top end was ever-so-slightly rougher than the rest of the range. The new motor doesn’t suffer from that strange sense of strangulation.

In third or fourth gear, the urge is seamless through the fours and early fives, then towards 6,000 rpm there’s another upward step in the force fed to your back. And it keeps going, on that same heightened level, all the way to the big red seven. Excellent then, given that the engine now has a broader working rev range.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_012

It soars away under power, the smooth, hummy noise crackles and prickles with an urgent racy hammer. It has found its sense of purpose again. Compare the GTI motor with a powerful naturally-aspirated engine, and you find more sheer turbo poke at accessible revs – and there’s no sign of having to trade away instant throttle response.

In a straight line, the Golf GTI Mk7 has so much blastaway force that picky matters of throttle response just don’t mean a thing. But in bends, there is a difference. The GTI’s turbo punch give you the legs as it punches you out of a corner, but earlier in the curve, a more precise right foot metering of the output would make the experience more joyous.

But don’t underestimate the joy. The GTI lives for corners. And in the GTI, so do you. Technically, it’s as much as before in the electronically-controlled front-wheel drive system, the multi-link rear suspension and lightning quick wet-clutch DSG gearbox; God love ‘em all.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_033

What’s new is a stiffer yet lighter body, better aerodynamics, smoother and punchier engine and a vastly better balanced chassis. Subtle improvements they may be, but taken together, they matter. A lot.

The GTI Mk6, you remember, is a rather big, heavy car capable of arriving at corners extremely quickly. The new one doesn’t quite feel like that. Through a string of apparently endless third-gear corners that curl right back on themselves, the new GTI somehow sheds mass going through it.

New to the Golf GTI Mk7 is the electrically-assisted Progressive Steering. It now takes 2.1 turns of the wheel to reach the end stop, compared to a standard Golf’s 2.75 turns. This perceptibly reduces steering work when manoeuvring and parking, and on country roads with lots of bends, feels more direct in both response and speed.

This results in more precise and relaxed driving in the middle steering range, with smaller steering input required. The system offers significantly greater agility and more fun on roads with lots of bends. At lower speeds, on the other hand, the Golf GTI Mk7 is much easier to handle thanks to the lower steering input angles – offering a perceptible gain in comfort.

In action, it peels into a corner more quickly than a front-driven hatch has a right to. There’s little feedback, but loads of precision from its new steering, but it isn’t exactly a lightweight, so it doesn’t dart in. It goes in hard, deep and early, and tremendously progressively, just as you ask.

Nor does it do so by piling on layers of dim-witted, stabilising understeer. The car stays balanced, but it tells you what’s up. Put on a bit of extra power and it’ll gradually start sliding outwards; ease off and it trims in. It’s perfectly planted and stable.

Get to the end of the arc, pile on heaps of power and it just rockets away. That’s part of the GTI brilliance; no fear of sudden understeer or lift off oversteer that would slow you down or break your flow. Always, the GTI communicates. It feels so direct, you can touch it.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_016

But what if you want oversteer, for the drama? Well, if you brutally insist, sir. In the Golf GTI Mk7, Volkswagen is offering a new ESC Sport function for experienced drivers, accessed by pressing the traction control button for more than three seconds. In this mode, the ESC system reacts with a delay, which allows the driver a greater degree of control.

Say you go into a bend on full power, feeding more and more lock in and abruptly lift-off the throttle to unsettle the car. It’ll go into a lurid slide, sure, but it’s uncannily easy to balance and catch it on the way out. ESC Sport doesn’t mean off, of course, and it’ll still save you if it believes you can’t do so yourself.

Also adding to the enjoyment is the XDS system that was first introduced in the Golf GTI Mk6. Now in more advanced XDS+ form, the electronic differential lock improves agility and reduces the need for steering inputs by using targeted brake interventions at the wheels on the inside of the bend of both axles, significantly reducing understeer while aiding traction.

This cornering virtuosity is achieved despite the new GTI taking on a more approachable chassis setup. It feels less harsh now, its body vibrating less. Stick it on its harder damper settings and it scampers around over harsh surfaces, but it’s now a deep, controlled slam rather than a cheap clang.

The ride, which was particularly unyielding in the Mk6 GTI, is now much more resolved. More than the way it drives, it’s in this department that the new car shines the most. Few would say it, but the Mk6 was a hard-riding machine. This one isn’t.

A second-generation Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) system is at work in the Golf GTI Mk7. It offers three driving modes: Comfort, Normal and Sport, which are now selected and displayed under the new Driving Profile Selector feature on the centre screen.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_113

The Comfort mode is new, and is a complete revelation. Set as such, the Golf GTI Mk7 rides as well as a conventionally-sprung Golf TSI, and still offers enough dynamism to keep things GTI interesting. It adaptively regulates the damper valves according to road conditions, with forces selectively applied to the four wheels individually.

Excellent refinement, five perfectly habitable seats and those Volkswagen and GTI badges. Is this the most rounded hot-hatch ever? I think it is. There’s immense cornering security, the intimate feel, the wonderful brakes and gearbox, the turbo rush. Even the hot-hatch bits are better than ever too.

The rest of the world’s fast hatches have caught up and moved on from the peak of the go-faster Mk6 model, but so has the Volkswagen Golf GTI. In its latest Mk7 guise, the GTI is back in front, offering more of what makes a hot-hatch hot in the first place. It’s the perfect everyday performance car.

The Golf GTI Mk7 has just been launched in Malaysia, priced at RM209,888 for the three-door, and RM217,888 for the five-door, before options. Read our full launch report here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• no sunroof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Only Use At Night Car on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:24 am

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away. VW Germany already admit on May 08, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white.

There is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner is inherently defective.

VW fansboys will say that this Gti’s DSG is different and all that, but trust me, its the same problematic DSG. Anyway, do you still want to trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, this car CANNOT be sold in Malaysia. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. Unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam. Truly Knight Rider (KITT)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 28
      • foxtrot on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:24 pm

pls show us the whitepaper on DQ250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Tow Truck Assocation on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm

We, the tow Truck Association of Malaysia, would like to thank all VW owners in Malaysia. Because of you owners, we are able to send our children for higher education overseas, have bigger houses and eat better food. Thank you VW owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
          • medic on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:13 am

Then shouldn’t you be saying how good Vw is,so Vw sales will go up & you’re bisnes will prosper.I’m a bit confused by your lack of bisnes conscious here…or are you just TROLLING around.Hmmm…

• Kennath on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:12 am

Thank God the service of VW in Malaysia stinks. If not all and sundry will be in one no matter what the cost. Sit in the VW service room and hear the rumbling of dissatisfied VW owners. Advise to VW Malaysia: GET SOME COMPETENT SERVICE ADVISERS

• Fredo on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:58 pm

In my humble opinion, as long as its covered under the warranty, what the car offers will outweigh the hassles of visiting the service centre to get the car fixed every time we encounter such DSG problem.
        Else, get yourself a manual version…i bet we can bring them in via grey imports…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
        • dextromth on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:32 pm

sorry mate..had to retaliate..it covers by manufacturer warranty only for the first TWO (2) years..the next 3 years is by insurance..as u and i know what a hassle it is to claim from insurance company, you’ll feel like winning a lottery if they cover you..
          that plus the ignorance bulls*** service given out by service centre that is full of incompetence service manager, to sly service advisors, and untrained technician, i would advise all of you to think really hard before buying any vw cars in Malaysia..
          believe me please, i owned one, enjoyed the ride, but fast losing patience and trust to people managing vw after sales in malaysia esp a company name starts with “W”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:46 am

Only a dolop would say so long as warranty covers, its fine. So, you don’t mind having breakdowns in the middle of Karak higway at 2am in the morning and wait until 8am for the tow truck to come? You don’t mind every other month going to the service centre because your DSG has failed? You don’t mind having a head on collission with a on-coming lorry because when you were going to overtake a car infront of you, suddenly, your DSG loses power completely? (as reported always in Europe)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
      • Ah Beng Kia on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:32 pm

I heard that a lot of Tow Truck drivers are very grateful for the support that VW DSG transmissions have given them. Because of this, they are offering a 10% discount on all towing costs as a token of appreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • You need to know the diff between DQ200 and DQ250!

• csyap on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

if you are right then VW very soon will close shop? that means our Proton is still better?

• Ken-with-a-working-left-foot on Aug 28, 2013 at 10:06 am

That’s why VW should bring in the manual box. It’s the simplest and cheapest form of car transmission that simply works. How often do you hear people constantly yapping about problems involving manual boxes besides them complaining about having the laziest of all left foot and traffic jams? Besides, nothing beats this form of old school driving fun. It tones your left foot as well, something you don’t or probably won’t do. Traffic jams? I get annoyed driving in traffic jams even with an auto box. What annoys me more is not having a manual box when I have such a car when i wanted fun driving. What ticks me more is that many great cars aren’t brought in with the manual box thanks the huge amount of Malaysians who should’ve given their left foot to those OKU who deserves it more.

• medic on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:14 am

Then you better stick to that sperma car…your loss.

• Kennath on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:20 am

Well Said. I like VW to comment on this.

• Kereta Mayat on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:33 am

Although the design is just like a Proton Tiara, but the performance is great. Unfortunately, we don’t need this kind of performance to drive in Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
      • Although u looks like shit compared with that Ferrari wakaka get bully by VW owners huh poor boy?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • lampar on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Then why you buy ferrari ? Or you are just a valet boy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Excellent but too bad it’s way too expensive here! hey we want this,Volvo and Mercedes but not the Suprima ok?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • fireball on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:04 am

butthurt proton basher, SS handling is comparable to some VW, even if not as fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Yea, Suzuki SS definitely one of the most nimble car ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Not SSS but Suprima S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Performance Pack pls on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Seriously, have any of these people driven a VW? Of course I can also say the GTi handles better than the La Ferrari.

• fireball on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:35 pm

pls read more. if SS is on par with Golf, no one gives a damn coz at the end of day, it’s inherited from Lotus.

• I test drove a SS and a golf mk6 (and we can assure that mk7 is better than mk 6), i do not think the SS come close to the golf at all. SS only winning point is huge load of accessories for a 80k car. If we remove that car tax…hmm.. do you think people will still buy SS?

• if you can afford those cars why you metion 80k car suprima? lol

• OMG…the exterior design getting ugly…I still prefer MK5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • csyap on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:48 am

can someone out there commenting tell me which car make is perfect? No problem and no recall?
      You guys speak like you guys are better off those german engineers doing the DSG design?

Speak what you like one fact remain – VW cars are selling in the world. One over million users cannot be more wrong than a few lot of bias mindset in this Boleh Land?

Before you guys comment please do a survey of all the repuatble carmakers service center in Msia – Toyota, Honda, BMW, Audi, Merc,Porshe, Lexus, etc See what the customers have to complain and they problems they had encountered. If you have a clean list tell everyone. Be more mature in your comments…please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • sanysan on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:26 pm

No retract side mirror, no curtain airbags, no reverse cam, no leather seat? Better get evo 10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
  • Wait for it. Gearbox is broken but its normal!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 21
  • ptuih on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:01 pm

dull interior!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Chris on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:12 am

Might be so if you prefer to just look at them.

Have sat in cars with more exciting looking dashboards, Koreans, Ford, spaceship-like-crz, but every time I get in the driver seat of a VW, I stay longer inside. Might look dull, but they “feel” better.

Sure it’s no BMW or Merc, but I can’t afford those.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:15 pm

It ok for a normal Golf but this is GTi, Renault Megane RS has a very cool looking yellow safety belf but this GTi has a granny design pattern on this seat. I just can’t get over it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Chris on Aug 22, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Sorry mate. A GTI without the “granny” tartan pattern seats is like a Subaru WRX without a hood scoop, or superman without a cape. It just feels wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • alldisc on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:17 am

clearly you do not know the history of original Golf GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • ptuih on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Malaysians don’t need to know the history. VW should customise the seats to Malaysian preference, not generalise it like this one. Why? Because Malaysians will spent 200k for this car, that much more expensive price than in europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • They hv their own design philosophy. They won’t change for us just because we don’t like tartan pattern. You don’t like don’t buy. They don’t care. They have their target market. They know who will buy their cars. They can afford to be snobbish…after all they won so many Car of The Year titles.

Not like us Proton. We go to other countries we have to change…we were forced to change…because our specs are so much lower compared to foreign cars. We are not in the position to be snobbish….unless Proton Car is voted Car of The Year in Europe or somewhere else.

So for VW, despite problems they have no problems selling. It does not mean you are a sucker if you buy one….after all they are using their own money to buy what they want…no amount of bashing will deter them from buying…Golf GTI speaks for itself.

• ptuih on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:17 pm

1.Car of the year?
            Yes, for Drivetrain Selalu Gagal (DSG)

2.They can afford to be snobbish?
            Wait till they are forced to change like Toyota that includes VSC in later Camry. Show them how to respect buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • zizou on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

u need to learn its history to know why they hav that tartan seats

• mamek on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:20 pm

they have tartan seats coz once mamak donates his old kain pelikat to VW, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • medic on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:06 am

You must be a living example of what the famous car journalist Chris Harris said when testing the new GTi..’I think many people out there quietly admire the Gti’..

• podolski on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Instead of this new mk7…u can get urban package of merc A class..of course that includes extra cash

• And why shall I get the A-class?

Autocar: ‘Massive boost in the mid-range, but the Volkswagen Golf GTi is a better hot hatchback’

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/mercedes-benz/a-class/first-drives/mercedes-a200-turbo

• Coz firstly, A-class don’t have that horrid DSG failure so common VW fans is living in denial.

Secondly, the GTI is attracting too many bengs like myvi owners (4 roda rempit).

Thirdly, Benz had better badge snob value than VW. Oh not forgetting Resale value too.

Lastly, the interior is seriously ugly. Wtf with the checquered seat cloth. It reminds me of some 60’s cloth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • But actually the GTI is DRIVONG better? ;)

• u are useless on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:06 am

maybe GTi has better drive than A180 but i doubt they have better driving dynamic than A45 but then again A45 price almost doubled GTi so GTi still win lol

• medic on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:00 am

First,Vw Gti uses 6 speed wet clutch code name DQ250,which isn’t affected by any DSG failures.Don’t be bias &generalise.

Second,what you mentioned is your personal opinion,where is the proof.I would say VTEC like B16A attracts more Ah Beng than a 200k car like Gti.

Third,Yes Merc has a better snob brand..so i give you credit here.

Fourth,if you’re not a GTi fan,or a newbie here,you can always choose the leather version,pay a bit more only.

Lastly,though A250 looks better & has a better badge then the Gti,it is the Gti who rides better(due to DCC),handles better(due to new E-Diff),smoother,faster gear changes in DSG,doesn’t lack as much as the A250 in acceleration…in short a better driver’s car.This is testimony of all forummers who tested both vehicles.

There are areas to improve Vw,espescially their service quality at SC.

• highway on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:47 am

guys! the review its for the old A class…. previous model la… GTI fanboys try to troll us

• mason on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:47 pm

the only thing i like about this gti is FC and HP.about the exterior,just a plain small hot hatch,and yet it is quite pricey.

• unforgiven on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:13 am

A-class anytime, drive it then you’ll understand, unfortunately the waiting period is over a year now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • medic on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:57 am

The ride &handling in Vw is better then the merc,but the exterior &interior look wise,merc is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Lol, drive the GTI and you’ll forget about the A class. However, like medic said, the A-Class has the better design.

• kewkew on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:13 am

TBH, if the badge is of Proton… The exterior is totally dated. Guess in Msia, rm50k is just for established badge, only if the performance can out-stand rm100k++ japanese/us brand or else, badge can be up to rm100k..

• haha… without looking on the badge already know which car cost below 100k and which is above 100k lolx…

look at the interior design
      http://bit.ly/183OgNY
      vs
      http://bit.ly/13RsVG5

so much different! If Proton can do something like that and sell at RM80k… nobody will complain it is bloody pricey!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • rcpro on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:47 am

excuse me, this is 200k car, why proton have to make it looks like 200k car? simpler buttons and controls don’t distract driving much.

compare it to more expensive vios, i’d rather choose proton anytime. it’s waaayyyy too different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
        • because some of them complain the interior design sucks… quality sucks! they dun 1 see cheap plastic in local car and not worth for RM80k…
          If Proton were to make simple design… follow VW design.. And give some premium feeling in interior.. Since Proton has the European DNA in it hehe
          Vios… that toy car hahaha.. Die laughing … all plastic lagi worse … Dun want say much about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • rcpro on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:21 pm

again this 200k car, if you want to compare with suprima, pls find car around 70k-90k. and you don’t read enough, suprima has leather seats and finishing in front and the plastic is soft touch material. unlike this kain pelikat alike fabric pattern. it’s disgusting.

• Then again, 200k golf is only that expensive due to the tax. If the government pull out all car tax, i doubt people will choose a proton over a continental car.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:47 am

Forget it!!! bye-bye GTI,
    To: VW Marketing, all of you are such a “failure”. Mercedes A-class, U R my next purchase!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Tanah Merah on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:46 am

The one Hafriz drove got 8″ screen and ‘Dynaudio speakers which we don’t get …Damn

and no LED tail light either IIANM

• frenzyaustin on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:29 am

This car can’t really make me feel exciting when look at it. It got great performance, but the design make me feel sleepy. A250 looks better, has better badge and drive well too with the same price, or get a Focus ST for a hardcore driver. MK7 GTi feels like a sissy machine now. And our road is flooded with GTi, a yellow ST would catch people’s eye easier than a GTi.
    And one more thing, German car love to make a pig noise when shifting gear, lots of European love it but IMO, I hate it, sounds very annoying. Fast and Furious BOV sound are much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Kelly on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:43 am

This is not a show-off hooligan boy-racer’s car who annoys other ppl with blow-offs even in reverse.

Still, it is poorly spec for the price.

• neemfa on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:18 am

“Here in Malaysia, though it’s beginning to attract the wrong kind of buyers as of late”

I agree with this statement, though I’d like to hear Hafriz elaborate more on this from his perspective.

:)

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:29 pm

What does “the wrong kind of buyer” mean?

• He is probably implying that too many bengs with yellow hair purple hair are getting this gti.

And don’t you realise nowadays, gti drivers are bunch of small dick and drive like they are F1.

• what to do. the gti is the new evo/sti. gti and audi a4 has totally killed those 2 japanese sedan. nowadays people into conti and lazy to shift gears already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • worker on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:36 am

this is a legend….
    for its breakdown gearbox ,lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 13
    • i pity those of u who dont know anything about the dsg recall.go get ur facts right before posting.it only affects the seven speed(dry) dsg.the gti uses 6 speed wet.ive been driving my mk6 gti for more than 3 years without any problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • btw, my so called bad dsg dry clutch dsg 7 is still running smoothly for the past 2.5 years….much bttr than wt my previous city’s cvt, broke down within a year…plus so many SC visit w/out honda even bother to do any recall..that is really my worst experience wt honda’s CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Chill bro, haters will just gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Jerung on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Ditto…My 2011 Golf GTI mk6 hasnt had any problems either. Same thing with wifey’s 2012 polo dsg. Really dont understand what the fuss is about..

• No problem for my DSG gearbox as well. done 60k mileage

• If the Peugeot 208 GTi really priced just below 130k,this Golf here will have a bad time. Surely VW will still have some loyal fans, but i must say 80k more for a car that does 0-100 at almost the same time (6.5sec for Golf and 6.8sec for 208)is just not worth it.

Ps: plus the 208 is more fun to drive (manual) and no DSG problem… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • LoL I bet 70% of you all never drove a GTi before. The remaining 20% are probably sales people from other makes.

To the remaining 10% who understands. lets chill aa it wont matter anyway as the only view these people are ever going to see is our tailpipes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Alex Lim on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:00 pm

I own a GTI Mk6. The car itself is a joy to drive (WHEN EVERYTHING WORKS, THAT IS). It is my deepest regret to own this car thanks to their horrible after sales service. This, ALL MALAYSIANS need to know! It is actually a 2 YEAR WARRANTY and 3 year by insurance. So if anything busts after 2 years, you’re gonna have a tough time. Leaving your car in there for 3-5 days and no courtesy car. It is a RM200k+ car. Not a RM2.00 car. I am deeply disappointed with its regular breakdown. I now send the car to be serviced out there and not the dealer. If I were you people out there, I would stay away from Audi/VW. JD Powers stated Audi/VW is one of the world’s most unreliable cars. The 5 years warranty is a con. Every part in the dealer is hiked up too. And they are more expensive than Mercedes or BMW parts as VW claimed the parts are fully imported and not CKD.
    Don’t say you have not been warned. If you really want this car, you better do more home work or know one or two mechanics who deal with VW/Adui. Buying any car should be a joy. And motoring should be a pleasure, not a chore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:51 pm

i had mentioned abt these all from 2010/11. but many did not believe until exact poor thing occured to themselves.

1. Golf TSI landed price was 47K. GTI 49K. TSI sold for 155K, GTI 210K.
      2. manufacturer warranty is only 2 yrs. additional 3 yrs only for engine and gearbox, not from VAG nor VGM but a 3rd party company.
      3. DSG 6 speed is wet clutch type (like honda ex5 or rxz), DSG 7 is dry clutch.

actually in many european countries, DSG is not very popular as consumers prefer either manual GTI or manual+diesel combo. this is reason even VW not aware of DSG weaknesses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • vwdrivereatsardine on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:01 pm

baik beli proton je kalau takat untuk point a ke b je. spare part murah, bengkel pun tau nak repair. beli mahal pastu stay kat SC buat apa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • tokano on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:24 pm

If you noticed, lots of VW cars (gti,passat) are being sell right now in used car shops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • dunso on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Yes, who wants problematic cars? Even it is still in warraty period, owner doesn’t want to go to sucky SC many times!! Their times are their lives and money. Why have to waste it on unreliable cars?

• They dont make the Golf like they used to anymore.

I used to drive Golf GTI Mk II. Damn good car. Extremely reliable.

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:20 am

i still remember.. VW made 2 versions of GTI MkII. one is 8v, the other was 16v. dunno what was the reason behind that.

• 2 versions:
          16v straight four GTI
          8v supercharged GTI

But at the time 205 GTI gave Golf a strong competition.

• dextromth on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:50 pm

well said bro..very well said..
      let me offer you a tip or two, tiaw them n tiaw them hard..the give you the replacement car before you even asked for it..than lanyak the replacement car hard..refuel just enough before sending it back to them..
      make a fuss of everything, i mean every single details of repairs and service..asked them why never gives back extra engine oil after service..n wait for their stupid answer before u tiaw them again kaw kaw..
      have a nice day bro..remember..you are not alone

• What’s the point to torture yourself into that situation when paying RM200k for a car? Getting angry is only hurting yourself, and you pay RM200k to hurt yourself?

What’s the point? It is not the only car available out there. Mercedes A250 sure looks more tempting.

• medic on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:59 am

I beg to differ on the price of spare parts.Merc is definately more expensive,coming from experience.As for after service,Merc provides more personalise & quality service.Think Vw is over loaded as there isn’t enough SC to deal with the sudden increase in Vw cars.

• Alex Lim on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:30 am

I think it depends on which part bro medic. Cuz I have been charged RM1200 for the waterpump leakage by the dealer. A similar waterpump for Mercedes E200 would cost around. I drive a VW. My dad drives the E200 W211. He checked with his dealer and was suprised why a VW part is more expensive than MB. It’s really a joke.

• Alex Lim on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:31 am

around RM800*

• Creator on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:42 am

For boys who were always men…GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • VW Malaysia should just take the sticks out of their asses and bring in the manual version as well – let the consumer choose.

• Holy GTI Owning on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm

This car is way more powerful than those jap craps. Way to go VW!

• Blaster on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Driving a mk 6 GTI now…..done 30000km, about 3 years old. Rattling from the rear shocks…rm1600 per pc, need to change 2 pcs of course….dsg lately have the clunking sound when engaging and disengaging. VW tech says the clutch plate is not good…..putting in for claim, adjuster need to see car. Are adjusters qualifed transmission expert? Wish me luck….someone made a good comment….what do you need the hassle ESP if you pay 200k!!!! Just booked a A250…..

• Now that is what I call a great “Car”. Proton should emulate the German technology and design. Stop being so stubborn thinking they are smarter then those who has been spending billions of dollar for R&D and has been in the market for so long! See where you are now… not even the local is supporting you if they can afford to buy others, except the Taxis.

• at the end of the day people are free to buy whichever cars that they like..people with cash can do whatever they like..it is up to them how to spend their money not your business..and some of you that keep mentioning proton is better LMAO have you even driven the GTi? or just some below average/ average person making a bias remarks because you are jealous that people can actually afford it and not you?..regarding the gearbox problem, if 10 out 100 cars fail is a high rate, i have nothing to say lol..please do tell me which car manufacturer that has 0% fail rate..

• sad but true on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:58 pm

I own a 2010 TSI and from day 1 had been having problems with it. The supercharger clutch pulley was changed within a month (due to noise), then the doors start to creak, dashboard rattles and the “famous jerking and juddering” on taking off at roundabouts or lights and finally the MU just died on the road. I was luck it didnt happen the day before when I was on the Federal Highway in very heavy rain. After much complain to VGM and VW AG (in Germany) they brought a replacement MU apparently from Germany. The car was off road for 10 days and I had use of the courtesy car only on the last day. VGM did recall for car to replace to MU (again. Was told it was the latest (May this year) and the last two weeks have been experiencing jkerkiness on “kick-down”. Sent it in for servicing and to check today. Service seemed to have improved but not sure of the work. Previously service really sucks ith service advisors/technisians not bothering or not knowing how to rectify problems. Am interested to trade in TSI for GTI but unsure as to how reliable the 6 speed wet clutch will be. I really do not want to go through the same experience as with my TSI. Any advice please