SPIED: Malaysian-designed Zero-Emission Transport

ZET spy 01
Click to enlarge the photo.

Something along different lines – while we’re very much car-based in what we report, this one is definitely worth a bit of a shout. A reader who has chosen to remain anonymous has sent in these two shots, and it’s of a mid-sized EV shuttle.

What makes this one different is that it’s very much a local effort – the Zero-Emission Transport, as it’s badged, is the work of DreamEdge, a Malaysian engineering and solutions provider.

Last year, Bernama reported that the company was due to unveil three new self-developed innovations this year, and one of these was the Zero-Emission Transport (the others are reportedly a DECSY Dental CAD/CAM system solution and a Formula Four car).

ZET spy 02

In the automotive sector, DreamEdge is engaged in a strategic partnership with Nissan Japan, as well as with Tokyo R&D Japan, the latter in developing motorsport R&D capabilities for racing cars, according to the ETP annual report for 2012.

The Tier 2-rated company began operations in 2007 with just three engineers, the number which has since grown to over 100. Aside from the automotive sector, the company is involved in rolling stock (monorail and MRT) and shipbuilding/ship design, the last with Boustead Heavy Industries.

Back to the ZET shuttle, or minibus if you will – no idea how far the development has progressed, and whether the prototype is a fully-working sample. Looks cool though, the ZET – it’d be perfect for short-range point-to-point transportation in airports or between MRT stations to park-and-ride areas, no?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• can it work?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • do'oh on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:00 pm

wait till the monsoon season

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
      • MycarMylife on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Maybe 1st customer at SunGeo project at Sunway project on elevated tracks so no wet dreams prolems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Blabla on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Do you really have to be pessimist all d time? Typical Malaysian. Excellent in condemning. The best in d world. Shame on u. Meh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 2
      • come on giv some support as this is really a good sign as compare to P1 junk. Its amaze tat msia also can do it. Just tat i wonder y they din hire a better designer to improve the outlook of this transport?

• Storm on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Yes, no engine only human power. Sure zero emission!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 62
    • Ah Beng on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:42 pm

the real question is…can it pass bumpers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • jun jun on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm

ini bus akan dimenggunakan rapidKL di bandar Sunway untuk sistem BRT…ia mempunyai lah laluan sendiri…

• heel-and-toe on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:49 pm

And what’s with the 1Malaysia logo there? Oh this project uses PM’s pocket money? I see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
      • hailaaaaa 1malaysia logo seems to be a big problem to u ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • thayalan on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:30 pm

anyone can say what they want. i support 1Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • flat_tire on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:36 pm

1Malaysia was a failed campaign.. even Pak Jib doesn’t want to mention it anymore.. just like Sayangi Selangor campaign.. all gone down the drain.. might as well just scrap the logo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • CKD Master on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:32 pm

i though its was a roti van…..going to sell like hot roti…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Peter on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:47 pm

The body & the wheel is out of proportion… and it’ll overturn when running in full load when cornering.
      Best of all, it looks like a bread.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:45 am

I can feel the future….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Mozilla Chrome on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:49 am

Woa..that is one huge moving CPU..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawa on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:56 am

Looks like a stretched Proton Juara….:D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 96
    • why dot you say this way..”looks like a stretch Toyota Alphad”?

• zarid on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:58 am

wooow. cute by the way. ahaks.
    thumbs up to our engineer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • mr_em on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:59 am

Even at slow urban speed (below 50kmh) can this ‘thing’ pass the elk test? Small tyres high CG… Hmmmm….

• Gu Ru on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:01 pm

minion punya bas…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • kikimaru on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Good one Mozilla Chrome!!! haahahahahahahahahaha..
    color already like ironman

• Roy Mustang on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Oh. Hopefully this could work and implemented. Go Malaysian engineers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • thats nice, but maybe too low for malaysian roads?
    malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Chris on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Please please put these mini buses to work in all cramp cities in Malaysia. If a bus comes every 10 minutes I’ll gladly use one.

I could just sleep in the bus on the way to work instead of torture myself in the morning rush hour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Adrian on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Looks like my bread toaster. Nevertheless, I’m proud to see something like this coming from Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawi on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:39 pm

The first one looks quite nice, the second one is a bit too boxy. These things would be great in places like KL… lots of stop and go, which is what EVs are good at. And less polution, no black smoke, no noise, …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • driver on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:35 pm

what do you mean the ‘first and second’? both pictures depict the same entity.. just from different angle.

• I think the first picture is front view while the second one is back view.
      you can see from the position of the white lorry :P

• Looks great.. Something moving on the road without contaminated emissions…

• frenzyaustin on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Supr1Ma S Still a better tech, LOL!
    It’s nice to see there is innovation still available in our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • ondam on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Lets see which local car maker will release their EV to the market first.
    Good one mozilla chrome, maybe it is a super computer :)

• look at the tire, im afraid i couldnt even accomodate more than 10 passangers n then never pass over the bump ps/: i think it will look better in silver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Sam Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Will the the giant glass be life threatening in an event of a collision?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Imagine that lorry hit the bus on the side.. A bigger, higher ground clearance lorry would fit it’s head inside the bus

• itammanis on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Hi Sam Loo,
        No interest to figure how’s RV for this thing?

• how about the RV mr sam loo?you are the expert in this

• Green on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:43 pm

This EV, as i heard.
      only travel @ about 40km/h.

just the matter for transportation within city. no need worry crash too much. 40km/h can brake immediately.

• I wonder can it get pass the road bumps, and pot holes. It will be even lowered when it is loaded with passengers.

• James Doodlebug on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:12 pm

oh..no wonder,
    they’d start from three engineers..
    now grown over to 100..
    they are pretty much here.

• Boboboi on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Adudu???

• vincent on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:15 pm

The wheel is a bit too small for such a tall and huge bus, worry it will topple when doing corners

• shawal on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Better hv a range extender on board , u duwan to run out of juice in traffic jams
    Those new london buses are diesel hybrids

• Ecobus. nice!

• no name on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:46 pm

malaysian people are so funny…belum cuba lagi dah mula komen benda2 negatif,..just let the engineer do their work…jangan asyik nak condemn produk tempatan…give positive feedback so that they can try to improve this thing…btw kudos to them for this kind of effort..keep suprising us with more tech for our beloved malaysian citizen..thumbs up :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 0
  • Jimmy Dean on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Knowing the CEO, company background and track record I believe they can deliver this product. They’d done engineering work for Nissan if you have any doubt of this local company capability (although they do get alot of support from a Japanese technical partner).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Malaysia Boleh !!!

• art appreciator on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Well now! What an eye-opening bit of news. That is impressive, and interesting! Even more so that this is a local effort. I agree it looks kind of cool, too, albeit a little strange. But in a good way. Definitely an eye opener. Hopefully the work of this company goes smoothly.

• zet pro on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Vellfire brothers

• JustWannSay on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:34 pm

whenever Malayasian makes things. . . .”Looks like a stretched Proton Juara”..”Will the the giant glass be life threatening in an event of a collision”. . .always criticize wat our own people are doin. . .when outsider do…”looks futuristic”…”elegant and sleek design”…why so fast judging. .=(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • ridza on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm

yeah double standard. if malaysian product always teruk la for them. haih la -__-

• However you think about it, the superiority of white people is undeniable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Einstein on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:34 pm

This vehicle might never roll on our road but instead on dedicated elevated lane. Truestory.jpeg

• mizzuddin on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:45 pm

only bunch of idiots that never learn now commenting in paultan

so sad…

the shuttle is that interesting, knowing about the DreamEdge is even stupendous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Joe Radzif on Aug 21, 2013 at 2:59 pm

er…
    what is the top speed?

• the wheels are tiny! one pothole will seal its fate.

• Ahmad on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Aku penah pegi dreamedge ni.. ok la kompeni dia. semua org muda. takde yang tua2. tapi setau aku semua macam cad operator je. takde pun engineer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • wiralution on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Kotak. Proton juara berskala besar…

• Looks like a desktop PC

• ahmad on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Good innovation though. nice to have things like this in Malaysia. will make Malaysia look advanced. But from what i’ve heard, this thing is not even local made. Its made by a company in Thailand from scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Gua support this great project.. and the design is so cute!!!

• DKBOSS on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:34 pm

I’ll be worried about those small tires on a big vehicle like this, just image if it has a capacity of 15 or even 20 passengers, fully loaded and taking those corners on Malaysian roads might prove to be more hazardous even throughout its Zero-Emission but good on them for trying to go eco all the way hopefully.

• diamjer on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:52 pm

guy’s stop commenting on the insignificant issue!!
    every prototype will look ugly. full stop.

look at how they starting with just 3 engineer and now “strategic partnership with Nissan Japan and Toyota motorsport R&D”

Thanks anthony for true “Malaysia Boleh” spirits news. love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • efficient my ass, drag coefficient of 1000

• i know most of engineer at DE…they study in same Uni & faculty with me, even some engineer also my housemate at Uni…sokong laa sikit produk tempatan, jangan tau kondem je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 64
  • cipon on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:20 pm

this is just more like an electric cart (mcm golf cart), but it just been designed to look like a bus because there is an aircondition system inside it as well as it want to provide more space for 8 passenger inside it, plus luggage as well. Who cares about the areodynamics if it can provide a comfortable space, anyway the speed is not going to be skyhigh as it only operated in a park not on normal road.p/s i admit kalo design macam nie jalan on normal road, comfirm lori lalu sebelah boleh tbalik.

• since it is msian made so can bet the quality is sucks. high possibility of electric shock to the passanger. Better stick to ur vios, almera or vw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Nieko on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:14 am

dear Mr Abon

please remember that the quality of all the public transports in the world are bad ,A passenger of any public transport does not really care about the quality of the dashboard/interior which are in contact by the driver ,they only care about 3 things which are 1)A safe commute 2)comfortable seating 3)A really good timetable……..ok lets put it this way even The famed Meglev Transt system in Germany has a very basic plastic interior ..

• I wonder if this bus can pass the higher speed humps without leaving a scratch mark….??

• kapak on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:13 am

kereta roti pound…

• Khairil Adri on Sep 01, 2013 at 12:26 am

Let me tell u all da truth..we are some of the DE staffs. We are here not to kondem our own company but we dun want all Malaysian kena tipu. U must make a research about Dreamedge 1st, how big this company? Is all their software is original? is it have their own factory to make a part? to make an assembly? then how this car was manufactured? it comes from thailand, the manpower, the idea is 98% from thailand engineer & technician. The only 2% is coming from DreamEDGE CAD operator, who just only go to Thailand factory to learn and make a report. Concept drawing?? is also from Thailand engineer. Then y not put DreamEDGE logo?? y 1 mlysia logo? because this is not 100% Dreamedge project, means Dreamedge dun have enough budget n money to do this project behalf on its own company. Dreamedge was signed an agreement wif gov to have this publisity. if u all want to tke a look the showcase of this car, come to PICC 4/9/2013. I dont care wat logo will use but the main thing is, why must we have the proud & tell the other ppl we did dis project but we never how to make it by ourself from 0 to 100%. No need to proud la DE. Besides, U never treat ur staff kebajikan. Seriously, we are staffs DE is regret to join dis company and wat u have did to lie to every clients.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 7
  • Hei the person using “khairil Adri” name.

For your all information, this person is not khairil adri. Obviously because I know this person.

So, if u so dare to use other people name to talk dirty to dreamedge company, why not u give ur real name. Scare? Be gentleman…

And by the way, maybe u were one off the person who “kecewa” because cannot get what u want from this company. If u are still working in dreamedge, and u are muslim, do u think salary that u get is halal? With all this bad thing u said to your own company.

And if u already not dreamede staff, shame on u bcoz still say u are dreamedge members. And why u really care about all the thing u said? What u want to prove?

If u are gentlemen, meet me. Of course i know that u know who i am

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 77
    • Counselor of Consultant on Sep 02, 2013 at 1:17 pm

I think wat kharil adri said is true.
      No need to provoke him mr.ali.
      If u are one of the big guy who has big position in DE, u should handle and take it as professional & open minded.
      Why u must afraid? unless there’s got something lied between DE & public ppl. Sometimes, spoken of staffs is true.
      Staffs will love their company if company love them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Ali no2 on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Sorry to interrupt, i think u also should use ur real name la ali….

Why not u give ur real name. Scare? Be gentleman…(copy ur words)

Now i know the truth,
      Hmmm, so lame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • N1….fuel price hikes up 20cent…thank god we have zet lol

• Nik Ahmad on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:02 pm

I’m not hiding behind fake identity.That’s my real name…I was at PICC on the evening of 4 Sept to witness the unveiling of ZET, Zero-Emission Transport by Y.Bhg Tun Dr.Mahathir Mohamed our former premier for 22 years in the presence of government representatives, foreign dignitaries from Japan and other distinguished guests. Congratulations to the real Khairi Adri Adnan, CEO of DreamEdge and all his enterprising engineers and designers on this great innovative achievement.

Seorang negarawan seperti Tun tidak mungkin hadir jika produk yang hendak beliau lancarkan bertaraf ‘kampung’.

Adri & DreamEdge…you have done the nation proud!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Zubaidi on Sep 19, 2013 at 3:02 pm

No need la..proud to wat? we think better put Thailand flag la on dat car, sure thailand ppl also come at PICC. Not care la who coming, why not invite Obama & Bush also? the main thing, the real thing, the truth, ZET is 98% made by Thailand ppl, made from Thailand…
      Next time if you want to make proud giler babeng, DIY ok. No need tiru2 la. The valley of Silicon? Huh, how shame…

Adri & Some staff of DreamEdge…you have done the liar proud!!