2014 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado facelift pics leaked

prado-leaked-01

These have been circulating online, supposedly leaked pics of the facelifted Toyota Land Cruiser Prado. There’s a shot of an actual car as well, so they should be legit. Also making its rounds are sketches of the Lexus GX, the Lexus version of the Prado sold in the US.

We’re talking about the fourth-gen Land Cruiser Prado, the 150 series model that debut in late 2009 (not to be confused with the bigger V8-powered Land Cruiser). Counting from then, it’s about time for a facelift.

The fourth-gen Prado’s vertical strips on the grille has been exaggerated for the facelift, which has quite a scary face to these eyes. The headlamp cluster drops down to match the enlarged grille, and LED DRLs fill that extension. Bold, for sure.

At the back, the tail lamp cluster is now inspired by the Jalur Gemilang and the shape of the area surrounding the license plate has been changed. As for the Lexus GX, it predictably sports the luxury brand’s new spindle grille, as seen on the rest of the range.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vincent on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Look like some cheapo Chinese/Indian made SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 28
    • Childish on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Typical childish toyota hater who vowed to himself to hate whatever toyota produces. Go back to riding your ‘kapchai’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 106
      • Typical blind toyota fan who vowed himself to love whatever toyota produces. See what you got yourself into?

It’s hideous, no doubt about it, but still I will still admit that it has a tried and tested reliable mechanical design. But just not the design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 10
        • Lawrence James Naughton on Aug 24, 2013 at 4:14 am

This may come as a shock to you,but aesthetics are a matter of taste,not an indisputable fact.
          “It’s hideous, no doubt about it, ” Oh,but there is plenty of “doubt”. It’s called other peoples subjective opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • diamjer on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:08 am

bleh…. its not subjective opinion anymore,

if the majority thinks it is ugly, then its really ugly.

• Mahindra alike… Hmmm ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • ss427 on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:46 pm

well unfortunately this is what Toyota is doing these days. The front end looks really like some rip offs pirated cars from China… but wait look carefully, its the ever famous T badge on it!

OMG. did Toyota hired those faceless Chinese ‘designers’ for the FL?

1st it was that damn Innova… ok so some say the Innova is a low cost model for 3rd world countries for it is not sold in 1st world countries eg USA and Europe nor Japan itself…

Then what about this POS!? The Prado is sold in Japan and Europe… this POS wears a Europe licence plate. Honestly would any Europeans buy this over say, ML350 or BMW X5? Or the Kia Sorento/Hyundai Sante Fe??

FYI the Prado is a lux version of the Fortuner too (yes its also the Innova) That tough ladder frame chassis may be suitable for rock climbing duties, but on smooth paved road, this thing is a big POS… Ride quality is next to impossible. You will get tossed ard at every little nicks on the road. Handling will be frightening too

This is Toyota for you guys these days pple… Oh wait our Maserati bro will surely say this new Prado will be the best seller in the world. The Koreans will never beat Toyota no matter what they do. Toyota can use a mid 80s ladder frame chassis and mid 90s engines and still be able to beat the Koreans whose engine produces almost 50% more power at smaller capacity.

Because Toyota will have excellent resale value! :( @#$%^ TMD if I’m the used car dealer I wont touch this with a 10 ft pole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:07 pm

To be fair if you buy an offroader and only use it on perfectly smooth roads you’re an idiot. This thing is meant to go offroad it seems, that the chassis is meant for that is perfectly fine. If you want a road car… here’s a tip. BUY A FREAKING SEDAN OR MPV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Looks ok… in Asia Japanese car is the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • dugong on Aug 24, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Please don’t insult china car. Coz even china car got better design than this piece of shit prado.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm

What a waste of time coming out with an ugly facelift that is both cheapskate in looks and technology. Enough is enough Toyota, stop insulting our intelligents. Better still, stop producing cheapskate vehicles all together. We know you can do better than this and it is time for you to start spending on producing new and pleasant looking vehicles. Cheers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 3
  • indomee on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Thats an ugly piece of shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Datuk on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:02 pm

what happen toyota? looks so weird at all, no idea kah? haihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm

That grille reminds me of one of those older Hyundais… when Hyundai didn’t have designers yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 175
  • gOOsh on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm

really hard for me to digest the design…

• Julian Lee on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:19 pm

BMW X5 better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • On one hand, they have Lexus which made some interesting looking cars lately, on the other, they have the big boss, making things that is just rotting throu every protective layer of my eyes.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 119
    • Jimmy on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm

How is the small-overlap crash test of Camry?
      Which vehicles turned turtle most often?

• Kuinosan on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Kia and Hyundai must have hit your Toyota sales pretty bad for you to keep bombarding them like you do… By the way, you can stop bull shitting about buying a Merc A-Class. Going to Merc showroom to see and touch the A-Class only is it? Just be contented and get hold of the A-Class brochure and maybe you can dream about owning one tonight in your dreams! Real poser!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 1
      • Pardon him, he just mistakenly mistook a Vios as the A-Class. :)

• Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Kimchi Koranda, Tucson can’t even sell more than 5% of the units sold by Toyota in theSUV range.

I would not even take these rotten cabbage in as trade in, coz its really hard to sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 90
      • Oh my.. why you say the Toyota Land Cruiser is a rotten cabbage?

• Scooby on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:52 pm

If i’m an industrial designer at Toyota, i would be boring compare to Range rover…

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:33 pm

How to compare with Range Rover when it so often sui kwan and kwai tai?

• This car is not mean for bling bling on the city street,
    put some aftermarket parts like ARB air locker on Prado diff and you can go extreme 4×4.

• bvc100 on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:30 pm

This is what Bane would look like if he ever turned into a car…

• Simply speechless… i believe this model only can penetrate into India market, bacause it is similiar to Mahindra, TATA…

• Jimmy on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Thank you, I was trying to recall, it seems like a deja vu when I first saw the face.

• miskin on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:30 pm

tukar la logo tuh… taruk Mahindra

• frenzyaustin on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:14 pm

That Toyota is really bad, but Lexus is really not bad.

• Gonna see this SUV on Sabah’s road sooner, LC 200 series, FJ cruiser, Prado…

• Mael Lontar on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:12 am

Hmmm, nice front grill. Its like been inspire from some kind of alien vs predator movie. Good job Toyo….

• What a crap..

• Bobomarley on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:45 am

Typicsl uncle ..any rubbish with toyota logo sure buy one I cant believe someone could say ok on this ugly bar riddle besar tak tentu arah that someone might use it to rammed a jail wall.

This 4×4 is a product theme should be Bandit on wheels..its soo ugly it scare little children or little man.

Toyota probably hired an a stylist from catapillar company or plastic basket company..fuglyyyy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • hanssen on Aug 24, 2013 at 3:07 pm

never buy this even for the tukun…ugler than zombies

• Han!h on Aug 24, 2013 at 3:41 pm

What an outrageous face!

• Trying too hard to be unique but turned up fugly.

• oh emm gee!! my all-time favourite Prado went to plactic surgery and found out the silicone just melt on the face.. why the handsome prado has become fugly? T_T

• i really missed that handsome looking CKD prado. it’s wwwaaaayyyyyy better looking than the facelifted one oreven the pre-facelift one….

• Cruise my ash on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Please people, you are driving a fat ass hippo on the road

• I’m a Toyota fan but I must admit, this look hideous… lucky for me i have an old land cruiser for myself… for daily driving and off-road purpose :)

• Beetle Nut on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:36 am

It’s supposed to drive the fear of god into terrorists so who would otherwise be shooting at UN peacekeepers riding in these Land Cruisers. It’s a scary face indeed.

• Luke Dietrich on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:12 am

It’s the coolest looking SUV I’ve ever seen! How can you people say it looks ugly? WTF already! If I had the money to buy one I’d be in line with everyone else hoping to get one. Toyota is the only car company in the world who has never built an ugly car, truck or SUV ever! Rock on Toyota!