New Nissan X-Trail/Rogue teased for a Frankfurt debut

Nissan_X-Trail_Rogue_teaser

This single picture is a teaser of what will be the new Nissan X-Trail, or Rogue in the US, which will make its debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show next month. It shows a much curvier design than X-Trails of old, with a stylish strip of LED DRLs. Nissan says it “push the envelope of CUV (crossover utility vehicle) design.”

Thankfully this isn’t the only picture we have of the new vehicle, as we’ve spotted a disguised test car in the USA’s Death Valley earlier this year. Ahead of that, patent drawings filed by Nissan gave us clear view of the new X-Trail, which was already officially previewed by the Hi-Cross Concept shown in Geneva 2012.

We’ll have to wait till the official reveal to find out the new model’s choice of powertrains, but a guess of either a 2.0 or 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine paired to Nissan’s own CVT transmission would be a fairly safe bet. Also, expect it to be bigger yet lighter than before, with a choice of front- or all-wheel drive.

This new model has big shoes to fill, as it’s set to replace the current X-Trail, the Rogue in the US, as well as the Qashqai+2 in Europe (the five-seat Qashqai will get its own replacement). It’s also the first model to benefit from Renault-Nissan Alliance’s new Common Module Family (CMF) shared-vehicle architecture, which you can read about here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jane W on Aug 23, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Arriving Bolehland in 2020 and by then most of u who are reading this post can afford one aldy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Kimchi SUV kaput liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
  • i can see toyota harrier there ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Look like Murano…..nothing fancy……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Han!h on Aug 24, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Oh, the current oudated-lookin’ X-Trail in BolehLand definitely need replacing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • hafizi on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:11 am

I own a 2.5 X-trail (year 2005), and yes its not a good looking SUV. But the ride and handling of this machine is worthy of a mention that it is much better than the 2.4 Harrier (2005) that I tested. I reckoned the new upcoming X-trail will not only maintain the superb handling, but looks good too. Can’t wait to get my hands on the new one :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0