SPIED: Mercedes A 45 AMG Black Series out testing

Mercedes-A45-AMG-Black-Series-002

Just when you think they’ve hit the fringe of what’s possible, Mercedes-Benz goes and proves that when it comes to having more power, the sky’s the limit. The A 45 AMG’s 360 hp 2.0 litre mill is already the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world, and now comes the first sign that there will be an even quicker version of it – the Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Black Series.

Our European spies caught this odd-looking A 45 AMG lurking around the Nurburgring (where else?) wearing heavily blistered wheelarches, modified exhausts and, squint and you’ll see them, prototype rear suspension arms with development codes on. There’s no hiding this test car’s darker motives.

AMG has had a knack of rolling out even more hardcore versions of their ultra-quick machines. The previous-generation SLK 55 AMG, CLK 63 AMG, SL 65 AMG, and current-gen C 63 AMG Coupe and SLS AMG have all received the Black Series treatment, each getting more power, aggressive widebody looks and even more focussed suspension setups.

Next in line, the already boiling-hot A-Class AMG will push the performance envelope even further, with output of up to 400 hp being rumoured. From a 2.0 litre engine! Who would have thought that the next stark raving mad, all-wheel drive, turbocharged hero would come from Germany of all places, and more specifically, from Mercedes-Benz at that.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• This will be as ‘hot’ as hot-hatches can go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Alpha on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:55 pm

But I thought the Black Series name is reserved for hardcore 2-doors AMG models? So this will be the first non-2-door AMG Black Series then?

Merc should consider a 3-door A-Class.

• VW Fanboi on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:13 pm

This is for AH PEK, young guy prefer Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 76
    • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Heh. More like you dont have money to buy, can only afford GTi and even that mintak duit from mommy & daddy. Pirahh mabuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
      • VW Fanboi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:08 pm

mintak duit from mommy & daddy? You are the guilty dog bark first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Joe Radzif on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Butt hurt ka bro?

• BLUR SOTONG on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:44 pm

VW FANBOI,
      You must well say Golf is better than M3 and C63 , or even Ferrari !!!!!

• teamsleepnine on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:44 pm

mercedes superior build quality anyday dude!!not to mention the car sound is just sex!!!
      i dont care apek car or anything(apek also human ok!)…i buy car to drive..and enjoy myself doing it..im not shallow arsehat that buy car to impress or gave impression!!

• shame_Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:15 pm

VW Fanboi, correction to your statement. Young guy buy Golf because most of young guy can not afford Benz. This AMG baby A can easily smoke the boring Golf or even Golf R. Respect the AMG guy and their product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Hey! ppl who buy the Golf does not mean he cant afford Benz! my house got 1 VW and 2 Benz!

• wow..your house so rich…what does it do? it sell itself?

• Only Drive Continental on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:35 pm

let me guess

1 benz for daddy
          1 benz for mommy

and vw for the spoilt brat son who cant score a chick without his golf?

• VS-suck on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:06 pm

inb4 : face defect
            inb4 : bool story cro (cool story bro)
            inb4 : poorfag

LOL

• queen on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:07 pm

VS you are a driver

• Jefri on Sep 02, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Yeah sure, Golfs are for ahbengs. haven’t you heard? cry more fanboy. those tears of yours feeds me.

• kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Is the Black edition made specially for the Black Man? Isn’t this racist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • foxtrot on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

LOL nice pun
      well the SLS AMG black edition is not black…

• Barrack on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Be a wise customer and buy whatever car you like… Don’t simply bash a design created by a designer.. All designers deserve respect.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Golf killed?

• Tumbi on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Golf gti: “I’m the king”
    A45 AMG: “bitch please…”

• droll on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:11 pm

road tax will no longer be a problem! :) but can’t replace the beautiful smooth purring of a V8 engine :(

with 4WD, can we hope for a black series AMG car that can finally corner properly???

• VW Fanboi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:17 pm

To all the AH PEK who drives this car, please keep to the left lane, that is where you belong.
    Golf GTI driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • mr_em on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:44 am

A de-restricted AMG A45 is faster than any Golf GTI and R included… So how to keep to left lane? Oh sorry forgot Msian drivers drives ‘sloowwwly’ on the right lane… Hence AMG drivers have to undertake on the left lane, is that your point?… Hehe.. Chill ya bro!!!

• mr_em on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:48 am

Btw, see autocar test this week for this AMG… 0-60 in 4.2sec!!! Is that ‘slow’ enough to be beaten by any production spec GTI and R Golfs?

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:59 am

will sign papers for my a250 tomorrow :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Neutral on Aug 24, 2013 at 9:35 pm

While I’ll agree the a45 itself is already a beast… The black is going to be able to take off at klia..

However.. Gotta remember these aren’t exactly factory.. These are tuning companies..Where their main purpose is to bump up power fr stock cars..

So.. To be fair.. Take a golf r bump up with Apr, unitronic stage 3…then please compare the dyno charts again..

And to haters and bashers.. I know yr black will have warranty and stage 3 golf Rs won’t . Heck even my stock gti has problems with warranty.. But we aren’t discussing about that right?

• VW FanBoi aka Budak Kipas aka Asam Boi,

Please visit here and see how Merc A 4AMG smoked Gaff GTI:-

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-video/video-mercedes-a45-amg-vs-golf-gti-vs-bmw-m135i

and here for the survey on VW Gaff GTI number one car choice :

http://www.drivearabia.com/news/2008/04/10/vw-golf-voted-gay-number-one/