Mystery concept car goes viral – what could this be?

mystery-concept

This is supposed to be some kind of mystery concept car that’s been making its way around forums and other automotive websites.

The key phrase hinted by Wallpaper* magazine in a tweet is ‘a surprising makeover from this car brand’. It doesn’t have any badge on the front grille, and the logo on the alloy wheels appear to have been Photoshopped off, if there was one there in the first place.

The design language feels to me like a more refined, closer to production version of the various concept flagships that Volvo have been putting out lately. It would be a pleasant surprise if this previewed the next generation Volvo S80. Some are also speculating that it could be some kind of new Chrysler/Lancia.

What do you think this concept could be, if it’s indeed something by a car manufacturer?

UPDATE: This concept car has been identified as the Volvo Concept C Coupe.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kadajawi on Aug 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm

That looks like a rather steep and sharp front end… one that could get into trouble with safety regulations around the world (pedestrian safety…).

How about a Perdana replacement?

Lancia/Chrysler is probably the most sensible choice though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Perdana ??? They can’t even draw a decent looking car on paper let alone a concept. Most likely a Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 49
      • Not Volvo/Citroen cuz shorter overhang means rwd which is unlikely from these makes.

• design language cries volvo… but ur point is valid though the caliper placement in the front suggest it could be a fwd

• LOL you pwned him

• ajsuck on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:57 pm

either you have odd taste or blind bashing. tuah got may praises last time. preve and suprima s have their own fans too.

• Tuah was suppose to be Preve. Concept to production fail. Or P1 succumbed to crowny’s demand. Choose your own poison.

• 20 years gone and Proton can’t even produce a decent local-made car. Eat, take Rakyat money, baby-spoon feed, destroy economy and sleep is what they can do for you.

BTW how to spot local-made car: rectangular-corner-weird shape, Ah Beng style, and “cheap” feel.

• AJ

Super agree!

• No steeper than the Tesla Model S or a dozen others…

• Smart Buyer on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:46 am

New Perdana?

When can you stop become a Proton goon? Stop fooling yourself lah

• definitely a volvo or citreon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • BMW-Z Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • wow..superb desing..the front grill suit the volvo emblem..

can somebody measure the PCD of those wheel..if it 108..then confirm volvo…lol..not many car used 108 right? ford..

• DonkeyKong on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:06 pm

There are no wheel lugs visible on the picture, and from this resolution can you even tell between PCD 108 and PCD 112? That’s a difference of 2mm in radius. Good luck trying to accomplish this easier-said-than-done task..

• definitely Volvo. design clue same as Geely Emgrand, Volvo parent company

• Looks like a volvo to me.. Sharp looking thing, the stance, bodyline, arrogant.. Hmm.. Perfect..

• noname on Aug 24, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Obviously is a new Subaru concept. LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • probably new perdana replacement concept..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 24, 2013 at 7:59 pm

A boxy Volvo, but with a lot of style.

• Osamu on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:13 pm

The front grille looks a bit like the next gen mustang?

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Could be French.. or could even be the Koreans!

• Muddy on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:21 pm

From VW group.
    Audi based rims.

• ohusa on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:52 pm

It is citreon Symphony

• Keris Jawa on Aug 24, 2013 at 9:15 pm

I think I just saw a faint hint of Volvo DNA near the grille area… You might be right Paul

• Could that be the rumoured Proton Durex?

Durex = Durable/Reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Proton..? I mean, come on guys, nothing’s impossible :b

• Car lover on Aug 24, 2013 at 9:35 pm

It is BMW 7 series

• Looks like a maserati, that grill…

• policeman on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:00 pm

I say it’s a Kia.

• There’s lots of hint of VW group design in the picture. Passat’s bumper, Audi headlight and rim. And it’s not like One of the VW group has not used this teaser shot before, when the Panamera was launch, they used the exact same background setting (albeit in a factory) and shot angle. And the background setting looks like Mediterranean Europe town. So if I can put a finger ill say Seat. But Citroen is also very probable.

• Toyboata on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Its a new Proton…

• presna on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:17 pm

ermmm, jaguar anyone?

• PROTON EDAR on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Dear folks,

This is the next PROTON !!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Yeah right. Proton’s been going downhill ever since DRB-Hicom took over. And I don’t think Proton is special enough to make it to a magazine like Wallpaper.

• Kia?

• Mienzz on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

The all new ‘Proton Perdana’ >_<

• At first glance i thought it was a jaguar b99 bertone but the side lights dont match…

• definitely not BMW or Audi or Mercedes Benz cos these 3 maintains a unique front grill for their cars. And looking at the above picture, it does not fit to all 3 brands. I take a guess , it might be American brand.

• Big Bong on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:22 pm

The masterpiece under development by Caterham and Alphine (Renault)?

• I say Aston..

• Only Drive Continental on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:33 pm

grill copy bmw
    front bumper copy mercedes amg
    rims copy audi
    front lamp copy volvo

aiyo just another copy cat move along… nice attempt at grabbing some attention. real car maker like mercedes do not need to come up with such gimmicks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Wow, since when did BMW have that kind of grill, or Volvo have that kind of lamps? You must have really special abilities to spot this kind of stuff.

• ryuki on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:50 pm

I hope it’s a Skoda!

• 0.02$ on Aug 24, 2013 at 11:51 pm

THIS IS BMW 7 SERIES coupe aka BMW 8 SERIES !

• It’s a volvo concept car

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:10 am

Citroen DS9 Concept! Confirm :)

• henshins on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:21 am

uh, i’ve seen the lamp elsewhere…mybe it’s an AUDI or BMW. AUDI seems solid bcos they are always pioneer in innovating new trend-setter for new lamps

• This is the next Rover, isn’t it about time? and the Britishness in the design says it all.

• Jeffrey on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:23 am

Saab

• SpongeBob on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:36 am

Citroen DS9 Concept*

• farncis on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:38 am

It has the merc cos look at first sight, but the front grille doesn’t show any sign is from merc.. looks like volve front signature grille.

• francis on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:39 am

Sry, typo mistake,
    Looks like merc cls at first sight.

• I can’t find any other website except Paul Tan with this image. My guess is that it’s probably a Proton concept and Paul Tan was told to build some hype and excitement for it.

• kcsoo on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:18 am

I guess it is 4 doors Aston Martin.

• Mitsubishi Lancer front

• I bet it’t a new Peugeot

• jaguar

• engston on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:41 am

Could this be the next BMW 7series? Because of it front grille. It has the big iconic nose.

• It looks something like the Geely KC concept, yes? No?

• I think you’re on to something here. Lot’s of people thinking it is a Volvo, but of course Volvo is now owned by Geely. There is a good chance Geely will use volvo design elements in it’s new cars. I’m betting this is the new Geely concept.

• Well…

the overall looks unmistakably german…

the headlamp has sense of Audi design language there… (common, they had millions of employed people to design a led sets)

that grill unmistakably a Maserati flavor….

that bumper air dam wings are s60-ish….

and the front short overhang is BMW…..

…..

maybe its the Audi’s new design language….
    oh waittt….. We have forgotten the China……

• pkchau on Aug 25, 2013 at 5:47 am

first look i’d say it’s a bmw 7series.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:58 am

The new Hyundai Grandeur!

• i think it’s BMW..

• droll on Aug 25, 2013 at 8:30 am

i’ll say it’s from audi :P just to be different and piss people off hehe.

• old dog on Aug 25, 2013 at 8:42 am

If this is a Volvo, then Volvo is heading into a very interesting and right direction…

• nighttrain on Aug 25, 2013 at 8:45 am

I love this charedes game.. It’s definitely Southeast Asian. Er, maybe not. First impression grill design is classic Volvo. But could be anything. Could even be an Alfa sedan..

• I would say a citroen, but front grille really look like volvo’s

• Azahari Ismail on Aug 25, 2013 at 9:20 am

Not impossible if its a Proton. I like Proton latest design like Suprima, the MPV and the Preve. I test drived Proton Suprima and it impressed me. Far better than previous non turbo generation. Design is as good as other top world manufacturer except few small interior cheap material. Proton with turbo engine definitely in my next car shopping list. So I think its not impossible if the concept in that picture above coming from Proton.

• Well, I’m gonna take a swing at it; something from China ?

It’s more than possible.

• Ah Boon on Aug 25, 2013 at 10:22 am

I guess this is Audi.

• Farhart on Aug 25, 2013 at 10:24 am

Maybe its the new, cheapest-on-the-market Perodua that everyone is talking about in our local news…

• Dru-Zod on Aug 25, 2013 at 10:38 am

Qoros

• Aston martin lagonda.

• Sharfox on Aug 25, 2013 at 11:50 am

Chevy’s?

• qwerty on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:18 pm

If it’s a makeover from a car brand, could it be Saab? It’s making its car again in September.

• najib on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Fools!…….it is the new kancil.

• Radzmund on Aug 25, 2013 at 12:55 pm

I guess it will probably be the Mercedes-Benz SL Concept.

• KillBox1Alpha on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Its a BMW, cann see the kidney grille and the corona head lights.

• 4g63t dsm on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:18 pm

New Alfa Romeo sedan.

Profile points to a rear drive layout. Likely based on the Meserati Ghibl sedan and platform mate.

With plans to re-enter the US market, they need more than just the 4C and the new Spider since the 159 /166 is discontinued and they lack anything else that might appeal there. With Alfa publicly stating they are moving to an all RWD layout, this might be the new RWD sedan based on the Ghibli.

Either that or a new Lancia or Volvo.

• gOOsh on Aug 25, 2013 at 1:31 pm

sure it’s not a toyota…

• Well….I think its the new Volvo S80….as it looks like design concept volvo showed in Geneva Auto solon years ago…

• JustWannaSay on Aug 25, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Might be LADA..Due to the title of the pic “A surprising makeover from this car brand”…and one more post by PT last time LADA is taking over KIA step to change people look at LADA…

• Xajel on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:06 pm

When I saw it, I remembered the Hyundai HCD-14 Genesis Concept, but the later is different

• works on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I think it’s for one of china brand and design by european..

• volvofanboy on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Looks like the Geely SC, source from top gear malaysia July 2013 edition page 34.

• Jacksonkua on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Citroen DS9 Número.

• Coriolis on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

I’d say it’s at least a new bmw or its concept.

1. Short front overhang – rwd. Definitely not Volvo.
    2. The front grill has that double kidney look. Just need something to split it into two. Not shield shape so it cannot be Alfa.
    3. Wing mirror looks F30 ish.

• suresh kalaimony on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:46 pm

hahaha well the car looks good..i wonder is its peroduas first sedan :P

then again i might be wrong :)

• gavin on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:10 pm

I’ve never seen it before

• apamau on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:21 pm

I would this is the hyundai concept for the next 3 series fighter from the korean badge. If not, then would be kia. any of this two is most probably.

• faisal on Aug 25, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Mitsubishi for sure hehe

• Gary Yap on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:49 am

It’s a Jin Bei TQ1688488…

• Proton? You guys really good at making jokes! Look at the rims, you really think proton can go with that design?
    Probably an Audi..

• whk9988 on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:05 am

I shound be the next generation on BMW 7 series

• v-power on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:10 pm

The grill screams Maserati…but the caliper in front, as pointed out by alex suggest fwd…so that might rule them out…but then anythings possible.

Citroen/Volvo most likely, or might even be lesser-known conti-makes such as SEAT and LADA…but I don’t think it will be KIA though, since Peter Shreyer have already established the tiger-nose grill as the signature KIA ‘face’…

• Ken Young on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm

BMW!

• Next generation Kia Optima K5

• electron scope on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Now…now hear ye all P.T fans who have not really analyzed
    the pic then i will share with u the answer:

If you did care to zoom real deep into the blurred mirrored
    image right above the front car hood, then you can see it.. ….. …… …………
    a blurred mirrored image of a mystery concept car.

But in truth, it’s a Jaguar.

• Sam Loo on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

I believe this will be an Opel. Trust me.

• maverick on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:13 pm

fisker?

• Farhat on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Since everyone else is saying Volvo/Geely/BMW/Audi, i am going to guess that this is a Skoda. New Superb concept?

• ah lock on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:18 pm

new perodua? hahahahahahahahaha

• carjunkie on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:38 pm

It’s ‘Volvo Concept You’ debuting at the 2011 Frankfurt auto show…picture re-emerged balik lor..sudah lama ada…

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Wrong.

http://paultan.org/2013/08/26/volvo-mystery-concept-car-identity-revealed/

• party bot on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:36 am

Probably the C70 replacement since it is discontinued and the top of the line coupe.