Mazda3 – ad for the third-gen pops up on oto.my

mazda3-oto-my-3

Goodness, that was quick! The third-gen Mazda3 hatch made its world debut only in June, with the sedan following a week later, but our sister classifieds site oto.my has already yielded an ad for the car that offers indicative pricing and specs.

An estimated price of RM153k is listed for the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G-engined variant, which seems like quite a bit considering the bigger Mazda6 starts at just under RM160k. But don’t start pulling your hair out yet – remember, this has yet to be made official.

Output figures of 155 hp at 6,000 rpm and 203 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm are stated – this sounds like the more powerful i-ELOOP-equipped version of the motor. Transmission is taken care of by a six-speed auto.

Other listed information include a combined fuel consumption of 6.9 litres per 100 km and a 210 km/h top speed. Auto rain-sensing wipers, DRLs, 205/60 R16 tyres and four airbags are amongst the equipment mentioned – again, this is indicative.

So when’s it coming? At present, we can’t tell for sure, but as always, you’ll know when we do. Learn more about the new Mazda3 range here, and feast your eyes on mega galleries here, here and here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Pororo on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:10 am

better than Suprima S… But the price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • its true on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 238
      • Mazda handling is always one of their strength, a proper Asia’s BMW not that waja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Vader on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:03 pm

yaya!!! The Suprima S using Rm200 million for the R&D, u know? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • nierz on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:52 pm

This clown could argue about anything but decided to pick on handling – the very thing that Mazda cars are best at. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Don’t siao lah! P1 always get bash by British Top Gear still want to type junk this word? let me tell u lah Lotus and P1 both r real cheap junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • Tania on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:30 pm

P1? i think P1 is from McLaren

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Don’t ke gau lah! i mean p1 is Potons! what’s the point of bashing McLaren? u siao ah?

• not handling by lotus..just lotus sticker only on car..

• akula on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Suprima S got 6 airbags dan 205nm torque..Suprima S is better laa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 97
    • Mazda is the best looking Japanese car! hey T & H what do u think heh? Nissan also wake up already but both of u r fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Prince on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Pororo dont talk dumb! You compare a 150k car to a 80k car? Stupid

• jolly_idiot on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:14 am

My car has arrived.

But wait…

I just bought a BM. Nah… this comes too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 83
    • kereta_lembu on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm

You want to show off or you want to syok sendiri? Whichever it may be, I hope its the latter coz if you intend to show off, its not working. Happy Riding your BM-X or your Imaginary BM without the W.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • Lancelot on Aug 28, 2013 at 1:20 am

Or BM-L (Saga)

• meng meng on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

If 15+k better dont call it mazda3.
    Call it mazda 6 lite better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…this is just estimated price and is CBU unit price. The actual price should still maintain at $130k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Alex Lim on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:21 am

First to post? Yay.
    I have been waiting for this. Johnthan Tan, you’re funny, because I was about to pull my hair really with that price. I was looking at around RM130k max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Meltsh on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:53 pm

130k max? Seriously? The current h/b model were selling at 136k (CBU), what makes u think that the skyactiv model that includes the HUD, IEloop, I-Activsense, etc.. package would costs anything lesser? I’m looking at 10k more expensive than the current one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Alex Lim on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:52 am

Ya, about there, RM130k-RM140k. I hope it does come with all those tech stuff u mentioned bro. Cuz they always de-spec the stuff. How is Mazda’s depreciation? I really love the interior actually.

• jeremy on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:25 am

153K?? WTF??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Disappointed John on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:31 am

RM153K ..

I should vote wisely in next GE..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 18
  • Sembang Deraih on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:34 am

4 airbags only? come on. Mazda dont care about people safety meh? Suprima give 6 airbags u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • tan sari on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:34 am

price was too high, I would rather buy the soon to be launched new accord for 150k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • Kalimaca Chan on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:37 am

Shut up and take my invisible money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawa on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Hmmm RM153K for 2.0L version…so for 1.6L should be lower price lah…

Oh yeah to make Suprima looks cheaper better buy….I know I know!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Kereta Man on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:39 am

Nice looking car with nice specs..

• Hope this is not the real price. I know this is good but not that good at such price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:59 am

RM153k??? Seriously? I rather wait for civic facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • I hope the real price will cut-off 30k…

• Put high rumors price before launch, but when launch official price is cheaper to lets say, 135k and make the car somewhat looks affordable. but actually a huge increase from previous model.

I see what u did there mazda..
    gg

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • PualTan on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:30 am

expensive…

• I hear someone said before last election that car price will drop? Sudah dicapati?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • wendy on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:37 am

way expensive.. disappointed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • NISSpengAN on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:38 am

I rather buy upcoming new Nissan Sylphy over this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • nixmix on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

when new Nissan Sylphy coming? oh, when they arrive, the next new model going to release soon. anyway, you pay for express service to Bermaz for bringing new mazda to Malaysia.

• Roger Tan on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:45 am

That IS quick! Bermazz has been pretty fast to introduce new models in the market, the CX-5 and Mazda6 were prime examples

I think (and hope) that they RM153K price tag is on the high side, lets hope that this isn’t true

Here’s to hoping for RM125-145K, low/high spec 2.0s?

• Lpost on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:46 am

Expensive!!! After tax of eev n afta with japanese hv bn reduced, the car should be priced below rm115k for 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • MG250 on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:50 am

The specs doesnt sound right. Current 2.0 already have 6 airbags with 17′ rims and 6 speaker. THis one with 4 airbags, 16′ and 4 speakers. 153K just ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Barrack on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:54 am

110k to 130k will be a suitable price since this is a C-segment.

• If that price is real, it’s suicidal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • TooDumb! on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm

I hope that the lower powered 2.0L can make it here. Price it close to RM110K, and you will have an instant C-segment winner!

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Might as well put 199k then the car will look much cheaper on the launch day. But mind u there’re not many sohai out there…

• Kuinosan on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

150k for this C segment car??? Are you kidding me? What’s with these Jap car importers nowadays? They still think Malaysian consumers are dumb enough to buy overpriced cars? Come on man, get real! The pricing should be no higher than RM125k for the 2.0 and RM105k for the 1.6 model. Anything above those stated figures and you can say goodbye to your target sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Storm on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:00 pm

You are right,, Malaysians like you are dumb. Look carefully, this ad is not even from Mazda Malaysia. It’s put up by some silly fella that don’t even know the actual spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Kuinosan on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:40 am

Look who’s talking? Please at least try to understand that this discussion is based on this article and the published facts and specs. Stop being such a MORON and choose to criticize us Malaysian as being dumb when you can’t even understand what we are discussing here!!! Go bark elsewhere and stop pretending as if you know what’s the final specs and pricing for our Malaysian version of the Mazda 3. Another poser spotted!!!

• sudonano on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm

153k and 4 airbags?

Mazda/Bermaz better make sure it is not true. Don’t become like the stingy people who are bringing in the Vios.

• mtbasyar on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:59 pm

almost the same design with mazda 6 .. if im not mistaken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • ncsh88 on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Good car with lousy price…anything more than 125 is a little too much but nonetheless a much betyer option than many japs in the market nowadays..just my humble opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • autoimmune on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Agree with ncsh88. ..the pricing a little too steep maybe…pls reconsider

• it should be at 130k most for its top spec as to remain competitive. But It’s a good car in deed, can’t wait to check it out in showroom!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Japjunk on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Another Jap junk, go for Kimchi or German better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Redwings on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm

This Mazda3 shouldn’t price higher than sibling CX-5. It doesn’t make sense. It was like Civic more expensive than CRV or Altis more expensive than RAV4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • dark wanderer on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

not interested in hatchback, when will the sedan version be here?

• Dr Kervokian on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Totally agree. 153K is a crazy price for a C class segment car. especially one with only 155hp.

I wouldn’t even pay that price for the 1.4L Golf.

A second hand BMW E9X. why not!

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:37 pm

At 153k, its one of the best deals of the year.

Think about it, the only competitor for this in its class is 230k A4, 240k 3 series and C Class. Even these German cars do not have the same reliability of Mazda, so at 70k cheaper, Mazda 3 is definitely the cheapest and best car.

So guys, please don’t look too much in the increase of 40k from the previous generation. In fact, if you look at it carefully the 40k is damn worth it

unlike Cerato increase price from Forte, paying more for a junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 66
    • You deserved a super pusing award!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Coriolis on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:16 pm

You actually comparing this car to the a4/3er/C-class? Wanna hard sell the car also no need until that level lah..

It’s just a c-segment econobox which compete with corolla/civic. Ain’t worth the 153k.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:56 am

you speak as if you have driven Mazda

Mazda of today is totally different than yesterdays.. its engine is one of the most reliable and is eager to rev aka Vtech style

German cars are so old technology wise if compared to Mazda

If you have watched X-men, there is a reason why the X-men team chose to drive a Mazda than a German car. Isn’t that sufficient to tell you how good Mazda is nowadays? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • faraway on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:14 pm

now europeans go for downsizing , less revving engine. Japs also go for it, Honda will intro earthdream 1.6 turbo engine. so now why can’t mazda put the tamer turbo engine into mazda3? let alone mazda3 mps with wilder ones.

• it is 135k not 153k, typo error

• frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:48 pm

This isn’t real, this isn’t real….
    Mazda is the most well priced japs car in Malaysia. Look at CX5, and M6, price and spec is right, they won’t screw it with this maybe.

• Is rather impossible they would bring it at this price, the Mazda 6 would just cannibalise any sales the Mazda 3 would have considerig that is so much better spec for just RM5k difference.

• Higher price than focus n civic…WOW..just wow..i hope its not true coz mazda3 is very good car..

• no regret in buying current smiley mazda 3. :)

• ChrisXJ on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:42 pm

WTF, RM153K?!
    Thn what makes it diff form Mazda6 2.0?!

• Skypirate on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

See? Told ya Mazda is moving upmarket to challenge Volkswagen. The US price for the 2014 Mazda3 increase by at least 5K USD, which translates to more than 15K RM.

• pon pon on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

i cried at mazda bangi last saturday coz the salesman said the currrent mazda 3 sedan is no stock oredi- hatchback only left! hav to wait for this 3rd gen coz i dislike the hatchback one! BUT if bermaz tag the next gen to gila mengarut punya price like this! rm153k for a c segmen jap’s car? go to hell la wit mazda3! baik aku beli vw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Jonathan Ali on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I am FIRST !! oh yes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • mazdameh on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Why current mazda 3 2011 at MAZDA USA website is more expensive than the new 2014 Mazda3. Meanwhile, Malaysia new mazda 2014 more expensive. (terbalik) . What the hell to this country.. I am sick of this

• Sky pirate on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

You high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Sky pirate on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

At launch 2010 mazda3 pricing in the US is 15,345-22

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Sky pirate on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:37 pm

At launch 2010 Mazda3 pricing was 15,345-22,145 USD excluding delivery charges.

2014 Mazda3 pricing is 18,445-26,495 USD excluding delivery charges.

I wonder where’d you get your pricing from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • at that price.. i’ll just get the VW jetta.. although it’s not up there in the looks department

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Even at 153k, its worth it because this car is really really good. Handling and refinement will be awesome.

It is a much better buy compared to the rubbish Cerato and Elantra.

Smart ppl will definately stick to Japanese cars and avoid Korean cars at all costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • No la.. Smart ppl buy INSPIRA.. :) kekekekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
    • jeremy on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Even with its handling and refinement, 153k is too expensive…this price is probably for CBU unit, I expect the CKD price to be around 130k….

BTW, when is your imaginary ‘A250’ arriving?

• noeyesee on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:22 pm

malaysia is a miracle country, just look at the N.paper everyday,court cases,rape cases,MP comments…wow.. is just amazing..nt to say car prices…far mor pahetic than hopelss..

• lol to all those saying i rather buy bla bla bla….y not just say u rather buy the 2020 gtr facelift la…only pandai tok kok

• ahmadjohnson on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm

I hope they also offering a six speed manual as an option

• Jaybond on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Definitely the best looking C-Segment car (except the rear end)..

• Gajen on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Most likely, its typo RM135k instead of RM153k. Its not the first mistake, Ive seen a 32k porsche 911 [RM320k* typo] haha

• Sam Looser on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm

RM153k… suddenly Cerato become affordable haha

• Maaajeeedaaa on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:12 pm

153k….hmmmm… I bought my fully cbu mazda3 2010 2.0 full spec at 135k plus leather seats n curtain airbag… CBU quality is so different from CKD imho cause at the moment zero problem after almost 4 years of driving…

to be frank I prefer my mazda3 smiling design than the new look but the skyactiv engine tech is something I admire most

my car current FC is at 7.2l per 100km urb plus suburban…but got no eloops thingy
    I thought the new car should have a price around 135k to 140k if it is a cbu

So it is true…. janji dicapati

• price hike, definitely.
    RM150K, hmm I doubt so

• old dog on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:10 pm

RM150K??? because of this iDrive similar GPS and control? common Mazda, put it at RM119K and kill the market of Civic + Altis..

• old dog on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Everyone should start worry that:

1) Ringgit appreciate that car price no drop

now

2) Ringgit fall back to before appreciate, now lets see the car price riseeeeee!!!!

• uuy1980 on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:28 pm

If car tax is abolished, the car would be sold at RM 70K. At the same time, Suprima also sold at around 70K.

• Robot boy on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Guys, this is not official price by MAZDA Malaysia. Wait for official price then we can argue.

• Cruise my assss on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Better go for CX-5

• RM153K is typo or it just another way for Vincent Tan to fund his newfound interest in soccer club, Cardiff City. Such price also works best for comparison purposes to justify cheaper CKD unit. Huge saving for the new buyer of CKD as well as better potential residual value for CBU unit.

RM130K-140K more appropriate since Mazda should get fuel economic incentive.

If they really wanna fight Corolla or Honda please bring along 1.5SkyActiv and price wisely at RM90,999-99,999 for decent FC car.

• tanny on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:21 pm

i think it’s bit overpriced, i really hope mazda/bermaz don’t follow toyota/umw measure to sell it expensive.

however this is the highest variant with i-eloop. if you want cheaper and faster than auto tranny without i-eloop, than choose manul tranny.

some specs might be worse than preve/SS but that the cost you have to pay. my guess is the cheapest variant starts at RM125K, that’s for 1.6l engine with manual tranny.

ok some of you might say it’s too high but there are other variants so i don’t think it’ll be too far from 5-7k between each.

• No matter how pretty, how advance u r, price at this confirms will fail.. Camry or accord price..

• totti on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:20 am

Tried out the CX5 last week and discovered that this car is for “Driver” car and not for family use cause the backseat too incline and like seating in the truck.My wife give a thumb down for interior and mazda lost 1 sale.

The interior Designer need to improve the spaciousness of the cabin especially at back seat to match the good engine and exterior look.

An adjustable slide and incline backseat(like latio sport) will be perfect for this car.

I wonder the New M3 also inherit the cramp backseat from the existing M3? If yes, just too bad.

• Mazyota on Aug 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Suprima S RM76k vs Preve RM59k, 17k different and no one complain.
    Mazda 3 (current) RM135k vs Mazda 3 (new) RM153k, 18k different and everyone complain. LOL

You only bash the car when you can’t afford it. How hilarious!

The car price is same as Suprima S IF NO TAX, so don’t blame the manufacturer but ask the government instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Fadzley on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Ridiculous… the price hit 150K!!! better go for CX-5 or Mazda 6… acceptble price must be around 120K maybe…