Peugeot 208 GTi sighted at JPJ – will it be CKD?

Peugeot-208-GTi-JPJ-08

Our regular ‘JPJ correspondent’ Anol Alias has sent in pictures of the Peugeot 208 GTi at the JPJ car park, which pretty much sets its Malaysian arrival in stone. What’s interesting is this car had a piece of paper on the passenger seat, reading “Pre-Pilot Production” and “Unit for VTA” (Vehicle Type Approval).

This implies that the three-door hot hatch will be assembled locally, which goes some way towards explaining the competitive RM128,888 indicative price stated by the oto.my ad we showed you three weeks ago. The ad also suggested a launch in October or November this year.

Peugeot-208-GTi-JPJ-01

This is a quick car – the century sprint is accomplished in under seven seconds, and top speed is an impressive 230 km/h. Its 1.6 litre THP 200 engine feeds 200 hp and 275 Nm of torque to the front wheels via a six-speed do-it-yourself gearbox. Hot hatch fans, your prayers have been answered.

We’ve put the pocket rocket Pug through its paces in the south of France – read our comprehensive test drive report here. Or you can feast your eyes on a huge official gallery here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Fanta on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Wonder when fiesta st will come. If its made in Thailand, then can compete against this 208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Actually thi little sissy is not that ugly but just cannot beat up Polo GTI bcoz Polo GTI is a oldest king!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 69
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 215
    • Great! Buy Suprima then! Less queue for others!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • in this kind of car less is more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • its true on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 277
      • sambalbabi on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:57 pm

pijot no power window problem worrrr. proton nearly quarter century still power window problem ahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • so what?
        peugeot has its own handling and no need to put badge “Peugeot Handling” on the car.
        if anything special also need to put a badge on it,come on lah, this car will be full of badges!

Proton got no confidence, thats why put ‘Lotus handling’, instead of ‘proton handling’.
        and why bother to put all this nonsense in the first place.
        really sound inferior to put another brand name on the car, where you know that car is not from that brand.

Camry with ‘Honda Handling’ badge.
        Ford with “Ferrari Handling” badge.

image on camry and ford straight away spoiled.

suprima with “Lotus Handling’ badge does not turn it into a Lotus sportcar, and people bought it really syiok sendiri thought they are driving Lotus, instead of a pathetic suprima.

can suggest more badges on in

‘Mitubishi MIVEC EVO tuned”
        -let people thought they are driving EVO
        ‘Citroen Engineered Suspension”

“Honda Partner Cooperation”

sound cheap right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 8
        • nkh-suck on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:38 pm

butthurt proton basher,
          if you don’t care about the badge why you bash, you jelly ah? haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Pikes Peaks record, Proton got what record? Power window record?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
        • slanf on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:45 pm

No records? lol. Just google it out, so easy:

1. In 2013, Proton Preve R3 clocked the fastest time in history for a Malaysian Touring Class race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford in under 2:39 minutes

2.Proton Satria Neo S2000 won 7 awards championships, and finished top 3 in all 6 tours at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2012

3.Proton Preve is the only ASEAN car to achieve full 5-star Australian ANCAP rating

4.Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles!

5.Discovery Channel featured Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant, calling it the “most advanced modern car plant”

6.Proton adopts various technologies from LOTUS’ vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering and handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
          • Ultimate Jagung Kampung Award!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • then give us no.7: engine of the year, or car of the year, or at least one car being praised in top gear UK. i know jeremy clarkson sucks, some of u may say. but if proton can make a car he likes, then all malaysians with brains will be proud.

• slanf on Aug 27, 2013 at 4:31 am

who cares, JC is only a clown. no proud with his praise, no regret with his stupid bash. even COTY is not practical enough for malaysians. it’s like buying car that is much more expensive than house. it’s nearly stupid spending.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • peYno on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:01 am

yeah Proton ke arah kuasa besar dunia!!!

• neutral on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:14 am

woooooooooowww….never knew proton achieved so much. Proud of our local car maker! After 20 odd years stll the best selling brand in MALAYSIA. At least Proton selling better than Hyundai or Kia here! Take that Koreans! We’ve achieved more than the Koreans in the same amount of time. But…wait a minute…why so many Kias and Hyundais in every single country outside Malaysia?? Dimwit…shut the fuck up!

• funky on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:09 pm

kia/hyundai estacblished looonnnngggg before proton. pls get your fact right

• tikus on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Neo S2000 is not using Camtakpro or CFE engine right??

• _xXx_ on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:22 pm

LoL x500

• nooniez on Aug 27, 2013 at 5:49 pm

ya ker? most advanced car plant but why car coming out not advanced at all. advanced in disappearing money and black out issit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • slanf on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Wow I just gave few points so many butthurt ah? You can google it yourself for more. Oh, for those who bashed without brain, it just showed your stupidity.

LOL

• Pikes peak record was driven by Loeb who drives the Citroen Ds3 in the WRC series

• WaJib on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Jgn Buat lawak bodoh.. pakai proton murah kau tu…

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:33 am

Peugoet got multiple World Rally Championship series.

• sewar on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Pug joined rally long time before proton, nothing to shout about

• Cannot compare with Citroen WRC record-Loeb has won it the last 8-9 times previously

• Lmfao on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Lotus handling booosss!!! I manage to peel off the lotus handling sticker on the suprimau butt just for the fun of it hahaha. How to trust the claim if the sticker itself is easily peeled off. Everything looks cheap on this so called proton premium model, i bet it will end up the same fate as the almost forgotten Jaguh.

• intess on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:32 pm

you prolly test car by closing door sound. if good then it gets 100 stars safety rating, lol

• rajaGlobal on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

can ask Naza to put this manual gearbox to the normal 4 doors 208 kah???

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:40 pm

sub 7 secs to century?

this is a Golf GTI killer!! takes TSI twin charge and polo GTI for breakfast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • Bigeyepug on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:33 pm

In that age of google, I’m surprised morons still exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
      • And this one is the mother of all morons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Bigeyepug on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Go ahead and enlighten me how this will outrun a golf Gti either on the straight or around the track.

You guys speak like all of you graduated from uitm and drive satria neos. Going down the road saying yea it’s a rally car! This lotus handling is the dogs bollocks.

I digress. Go ahead and tell us how it’s a Gti killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
          • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:37 am

dig deeper and you will understand.

golf GTI is 220K and fast.

peug 208 is 100K lesser but ONLY a fraction slower.

of coz la golf GTI is extremely faster on the straight and corners but 100 grand more for less than half second faster in century sprint? that is just humiliating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
          • I'll take the 208 GTi on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:06 am

I agree it will not eat the Golf GTi… But for 80k less and a manual stick… I’ll let the Golf win 0-100 by a mere 0.3sec… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • @alldisc, with all due respect, when you say it will be a GTI killer, what most would understand is that it will munch and smoke GTI in terms of performance, which it just can’t.

In terms of price in Malaysia (just in Malaysia), of coz the pug will be undisputed value buy (performance/ringgit).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
          • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:19 pm

@Name – with all due respect to you too… a lighter car can lap a circuit faster as it is nimble around corners due to better power-to-weight ratio.

agree, yes?

Golf GTI is easily 150kg more which heavily affects is entry and exit speed around corners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • Chris on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I think a better way to say it is “The 208 gti will give the Germans a run for their money”?

• why not i buy this car and u buy golf gti, then we race at sepang circuit.
            see who is faster?
            if i won,i will get my 208 gti for half price from peugeot(publicity),if loss also loss with dignity.

want?

• nkh-suck on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:16 pm

@nkh
            drillz or it never happens, not to mention going to sepang, haha!

• Bigeyepug- in the real world driving there is not much difference in Pug 208 or golf gti—BUT rm 100k price variation makes a REAL difference!

• do'oh on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 108
  • Datuk on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:53 pm

why proton suprima s dont have this kind of performance? same 1.6 litre but less hp than this pug? more torque also. its difficult proton???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Proton Staff on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:46 pm

limit by the cvt gearbox. 1.6 campro NA can deliver high hp and torque. Just look at the R3 Neo with 1.6 NA. Tapau all cars in Sepang race.

The target is always at which price you are selling. The benchmark is 2.0 NA. The CFE is more than enough for everyday use. Therefore CVT is more feasible.

If want more power, wait for Preve R3 and Suprima S R3. 6MT with higher torque and more HP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 129
      • that’s more like it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
      • v-power on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Can you provide details of the R3 Neo with 1.6NA that ‘tapau’ all race cars at Sepang (event & date, etc)…maybe it’s a one-make race like the MSS?

Not hating, just curious…because we already have the official Satria Neo R3 with 1.6 Campro NA with a century sprint of 9.2sec(the ‘old’ Satria Gti R3 with 1.8 4G93 was 8.2sec)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • That R3 Neo you mentioned is the production model..He mentioned not the production model. A Neo race car built by R3 hence the name Proton R3 Satria Neo Racing Car..

Not much detail as it is a race car..
          Check out the 1000km Sepang race.or the previous MME…MSS is not a one make race..

Similar to Nismo GTR..the race version for Super GT is different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
      • peYno on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:03 am

Last year Proton Neo S2000 already win the rally championship, Peugeot not even in top 3.

• intess on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Shut up! Later proton bashesr, not pug owners will get butthurt to the max! haha!

• peyno- wake up son….Proton neo compete in lesser category of rally-like masuk tanding M-league bukan Liga Primera

• proton king of world on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:19 am

more power? not just bodykit only? although proton never tune the engines for their r3 cars, the bodykits already make the cars more slippery through the air. The leather recaro seats hug on to the driver’s body, enabling high speed cornering/accident-ing. Add on R3 spoiler…really can fly….bye bye golf gti…welcome Suprima S R3

• I wont wait for the Suprima S r3 – its all about shout but no substance….pls market proton in UK and see what the motoring expert or journalist there say about our cars…sorry to be blunt about proton but i love Malaysia

• jules on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Proton don’t have Direct injection and twin scroll turbo?

• the engine here is the prince engine, co developed by BMW and peugeuot citroen. had been rewarded as engine of the year for consecutive dont know how many years until last year beaten by the Ford Ecoboost engine.

how can campro compare to it?
      even campro turbo can be tuned to produce such output, how much the fuel consumption you think ?now already 9.1L/100km. not to mention the CO2 emission, and campro can withstand that stress for years or not?
      what happen if all preve and suprima buyer come back and claimed the engine within the 5 year warranty period?proton bankrupt then.
      thats why VW dare to put until 220hp 350nm, coz they are confident with their technology.
      proton tepuk dada, tanya selera. they at least know how good they are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • shane on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:34 pm

it’s no GDI engine, and single charger. why have to compare with more boosted engine? at least it’s better than those japs engine which is only good with light weight load in/out cabin.

• jimihendrix on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Hi guys, car rookie here curious bout manual turbos(overall turbos too actually) and disc brakes. 2 quick questions tho regarding this model;
    Q1: Any idea when the turbo kicks in(which rpm/gear etc)?
    Q2: Why is there 2 different disc sizes, the front being bigger than the rear?
    Thanks!

• Q2, it’s normal cars have bigger front and rear as when you brake, the weight of the car is transferred to the front and therefore you get more grip at the front = brake works better at the front = bigger brake in front.

Q1 you have to ask someone who owns this car. Turbo should kick in constantly at low rpm range (~2k) in any gears.

• jimihendrix on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:20 pm

thanks a bunch, much appreciated

• Furqan on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:54 pm

also the timing of when the turbo kicks in varies on different cars. If it starts at a high rpm then it has whats known as turbo lag.

• AlBeCh on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Although I don’t really know the first question,I did manage to find out about your second question. The front needs bigger brakes because when stopping,the vehicle shifts forward,so the front brakes carry the majority of the braking load,so the bigger the better. Btw,Im feeling an excitement coming on! =D This will surely be a hit!

• jimihendrix on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

thank you, appreciate d feedback

• Thts why superbikes have twin disc brake upfront compared to just a smallish disc at the rear. Brake force are concentrated at the front more due to the weight distribution physic under hard braking.

• JHLoh on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Q1: Turbo Kicks/Spool in base on RPM, not gear!! Which RPM subjective base on manufacturer, Tune, turbo size or simple to find out is get the Turbo car to a Dyno test to find out the exact RPM Turbo Kicks/Spool in.

Q2: All car is Front Disc brake size bias/bigger over the rear is to avoid oversteer or simple to say tail happy. For better control of car in braking and etc

• jimihendrix on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:25 pm

ah finally the Q1 answered. thanks buddy for enlightening us.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:50 am

one weird thing though… proton gen2 rear disc brakes are bigger than the front one.

still cant think why until today.

• damnit on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:45 pm

if only someone else in my household other than myself enjoys a manual transmission…damn!

• Japankiller on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

first glance at this car was nice, see a few more eyes, feel bit cacat at the front look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • Hukaka on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:23 pm

This car in Australia it’s actually cheaper then a 5 door luxury version.
    The price are near in here and aus for a 5 door hatch price.
    1.6 vti 4 speed selling at 27K Australia dollar and the premium version are 29K aus witch its include moon roof.so the gti price will be near 29K.
    But event Taiwan are also selling similar price at rm 83500 if convert into Malaysia ringgit.for the 5 door vti version.
    The gti version Taiwan price are selling rm 119K.
    And three door price 79.8K.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:53 am

its all the same in almost every market in the world. go check UK (as reference to europe) and USA.

malaysia is unique when it comes to pricing.

• Coriolis on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Can’t wait to test drive this car!

I’d love to own a megane rs265, but this will certainly do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • civic2000 on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:21 pm

yes…. Golf GTI alternative….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • prio the launch of this car, the most valuable car for the money is 308 turbo, but now change soon.
    200hp 275nm.
    for people who dont know how much is that,just think those NA 2.4 car (camry, accord,mazda 6)only around 180hp and 230nm, now you even have extra power in a lighter body.

Golf GTi at 210hp and 280nm(not the recent generation) already damn powerful,eventhough heavier.(those who drive golf GTI know what i mean)
    this little peugeot will make you the king on the road, until u meet the new Golf GTI, or Focus st or megane RS.
    no worry,there are so few around.
    only at 128k! those who wanna buy, must act fast. coz the price might rise after that,like last time polo GTI from 136k to 170k.
    even with poor service and no resale value,still worth to buy.
    hah, i am driving peugeot too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • sepuct9a on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Really envy with new models keep progressing day by day, half of me telling to keep updating with these new kings but the other half telling me to keep enjoying my childhood dreams car which i have now. Dilemma..

• the first car you bought is the car to bring u from a to b.
        after that, any switch of car must be a reason behind it.
        just make it “for fun” every time.
        but fun come with price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:14 pm

A 120K hot hatch with manual box…. today was a good day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Oh my god.. This car is just so sexy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • MasakRoti on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Before you get initimate with the peugeot car, do wary about the infamous depollution system fault which plague this prince engine like some cheap hooker in chow kit.

Getting AIDS is so much easier than asking Sam Loo to buy and own peugeot.

I am not saying this car is not value buy, it have it’s merit. But unless they fix the stupid error fault which pug engineer still scratching their butt, your king of the hot hatch happiness may be a frustrated experience. You will more likely being label “King of Car in Workshop” (same goes to poor dsg vw fans).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
    • T.H.P. on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:51 pm

I’m driving a 3008 with the 1.6 THP prince engine now and i totally agree with you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • then be King OF Resale Value by getting VIOS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • thing is, this is a matter that many owners of direct injection cars face. so, it is not just peugeot. yet owners of other brands that face this issue are less vocal but the issue is still there. but if you want to be safe, then go ahead with the traditional asian brands.

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:35 pm

130k? What?! The Clio RS can go home then, with its 190-200k price tag…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:03 am

Nasim is being smart again just like when they launched 308 Turbo.

they know they cant win with peug horrible reliabilities nor poor after sales. so sell at unbelievably super low price.

bargain.

• cosmothegod on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:39 am

In order to compete(performance wise) they will have to come up with at least a Suprima with 210hp and 300Nm. How much? SatriaNeo Lotus edition is RM115K already. Proton will have to build it themselves instead of letting some third party manufacturer outfit like R3 build it. Factory stock race day weekends, anyone?

• intermilan on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:32 am

First, i must applaud nasim for bringing this car to our shore.
    Secondly, a louder applause for bringing it in under CKD disguise.

I sincerely hope it will get sold by the tons.
    When it does and when Peugeot finally introduce the 208 gti-r, do bring the gti-r in CKD disguise too. I will most probably opt for it.