Proton Suprima X – how a crossover could look like

Proton Suprima X
Click to enlarge the photo.

You’ve seen Theophilus Chin‘s unofficial artist impressions of a ‘Proton Suprima R,’ or a souped-up version of the recently-launched Proton Suprima S hatchback. The ‘S’ suffix in its name opens up the possibilities for future Suprima-badged variants, and Theo now gives us an idea of how a Suprima S-based crossover could look like.

The SUV/crossover trend isn’t showing any signs of slowing down, with lots of carmakers offering high-rider spin-offs of their (largely hatchback) models. C-segment examples include the Volvo V40 Cross Country, Peugeot 3008 and Volkswagen Tiguan – could Proton make a foray into this section of the market in the future?

Proton Suprima X

The master automotive manipulator fittingly dubs this a ‘Proton Suprima X’. Apart from the raised ride height, his vehicle gets a more rugged-looking front apron (borrowed and modified from the pre-facelift Volkswagen CrossGolf), black plastic cladding on the sills, wheel arches and lower body, five twin-spoke wheels (from the Audi Q3) and roof rails.

Look round the back and you’ll see the Suprima S’ diffuser-like insert has been replaced by a wrap-around bumper with a huge contrasting skid plate and integrated twin tailpipes. We quite like the way this looks – let us know what you think in the comments section!

See our long string of Proton Suprima S-related posts to learn more about the car of the moment.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• rajaGlobal on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

looking decent enough..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
  • Why not? At least a model that doesn’t have a direct competitor. And as it should be easy to build: Just bring it out!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • Yeah.. PROTON should be more daring to produce more car in variety segment.. Dont get fool from your fool basher..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 5
      • I am waiting for proton to produce MPV same class as the Estima.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
      • Yeah Proton Malaysia !
        I also support bius on his statement .
        Good job proton and continue to produce more exciting models in near future !!!

GO GO PROTON MALAYSIA !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
        • chong on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

don’t get too syok lar..may be 2050 baru keluar, tu pon kalau kerajaan malaysia ni ade lagi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 65
          • NARROW MINDED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
          • Ninja Siam on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm

haah kan…2050 pon kalau ade lagi Malaysia..ntah-ntah dah kiamat ke…jepun takde..singapore takde…korea takde..german takde..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

many ppl eat chicken rice, even so many stall selling chicken rice – the size of the cake is still huge.

compare to making cakes that very few will buy to eat – the risk is even higher.

it may not be worth it for small time car manufacturer like proton. suzuki and daihatsu tried the same formula with rocky/feroza/vitara/jimny but the main bulk always remain passenger car models (charade/mira/swift)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Suzuki is a quite bad example. Wikipedia:

‘In November 2012, Suzuki announced that its US division would file for bankruptcy and would stop selling automobiles in the United States.
        The combination of a strong yen and Suzuki’s own limited offering of models has been blamed for the downturn’
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzuki#American_Suzuki_Motor_Corp.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:26 am

because they spent a lot of money trying to develop models that are different and has no market. cars like SX4 (hatchback but crossover like SUV?) and Kizashi (D segment power and price at C segment+ size?)

suzuki is a good example of failure at planning and executing. Proton will be another if they cant see lessons learnt by other manufacturers.

• Skoda sold 11,018 Yeti SUV/crossover in 2009, 52,604 in 2010, 70,300 in 2011 and 90,952 in 2012.

No market for such a car?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:02 pm

if skoda fails with Yeti, it is ok for them since they belong to one of the largest automotive group in the world.

you did not remember that fact. unfortunately for suzuki as it is standing all by itself. the same goes to proton, should that model fails it is very hard to re-cover all the cost of development.

• Alson Pang on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Yep…. Škoda became a wholly owned subsidiary of the Volkswagen Group

• driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Powertrain is always a constraint to Proton. E01-based for this one?

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:02 pm

NO COMPETITORS!?

I think someone forgot the Naughty Car

• juosss on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:41 pm

very good looking car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • I think Proton should’ve already know who they could consider if they want to add more designer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

theo maybe more suitable in the so-called styling department, instead of design engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • bvc100 on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Wow! Loving the overall looks. Especially the front end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • looks incredible… lets go, proton.. bring the power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Jane W on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Then pray-way face will be around for at least 15yr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • the darkside on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:11 pm

their next car will be a city car…surely will use different face

• WALASiZO on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm

looks tough.

• BMW X6 clone. cun lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Very good PS. But I think all these artist made picture should make a clear statement somewhere just to indicate its not from official real model, else for sure someone will thought its official product. My 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • The front lamps look very ‘lazy’.. Tweak it a bit to make it more aggressive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Way too many aggressive looking cars nowadays. For Gods sake we need some variety.

• driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Perhaps they need to ‘sepet’-ify it abit like Audi does.

• Bob Sam on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm

I WILL BUY THIS. It will be my 1st Proton, just as I m bout to retire. My plan was to get rid of my C Class once the CLA comes to Msia. But now I could be tempted to buy the “X” and keep my C Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Black Dog on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm

They should come out with this instead of the hatchback. By the time they really make an SUV, either the trend would have died or the market have already been flooded with other cheap SUV.

Proton…’masih tidur…!’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
    • clutch_plate on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Agree with u bro.. they should come with this idea 1st instead of hatchback..

• Looks good. Hope that this will be stepping stone for Proton to change it’s fortune overseas. Pray…
    & finally bringing in money so that we can waive off those excise duty to local cars which should not be there in the first place.

• spark on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

nice design though. btw, where are all proton bashers? busy jual almari ke?or vios dugong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Saya penentang dasar NAP, bukan proton.
      The problem is NAP, not proton. Nak jaga proton, tapi jual pulak Proton dengan TAX. What Malaysian need now is affordable car.
      The victim goes to Proton, whereas the culprit is the tax itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:09 pm

the culprit is not the tax as it has no “free will”.. feel me?

• downsys on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:03 pm

No. What we need is better public transportation, which I hope is coming soon. Remember the quote from the mayor of Bogotá: “A developed country is not a place where the poor have cars. It’s where the rich use public transportation.”

• kah kah kah on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:58 pm

If basher comment you will rage. When there is no basher around you feel boring. LOL funny people…

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Gua jerit wow!!! this is really great looking crossover! Proton, amacam? ada berani?

• Mr Gray on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:28 pm

When Paultan is gonna publish the review for the Suprima S? I thought you guys had a test drive preview for media last weekend?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:11 pm

I’m also waiting for it. Have been refreshing the site the whole night last night. Hopefully it’s worth the wait. Perhaps it’ll come with video? *wink*

• If nissan can simply come out with livina x-gear, why not proton. That ‘x-gear’ name sounds overrated for grand livina though..

• yes, love to see proton move forward from suprima S hatchaback to crossover to wagon to cabrio. that is a successful company’s healthy progress.
    just… please change the fxxked-up engine and sell them below 60k, and make the quality and reliability on par with toyota. then proton is grown up…

• BribesForCompromises on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:57 pm

A bit of a question, how long would it take for P1 to come out with this when it took that long to come out with Suprima- Preve chopped tail. This X version would have a substantial mod to its suspension to cope with it designated powertrain.

• Peter on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

The Proton P3-2xx is already a very complicated family: same look different name. If the abv’s anything close to real thing in future, the ‘gene’ is getting more complicated -> Forcination! (so much for the cross over).
    Not sure I’m the only 1 feel so, it seems that the Preve design is more suitable for cross-over due to its tall bulky design. Some how the proper candidate don surface.

• its true on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:05 pm

God this look so nice, I’m going to trade my Land Rover Evoque for this nice and cute SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • lotus suprima on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Suprima x is much better looking than evoque ,
      But u must notice that the evoque fuel consumption claimed better than suprima .
      8.7l/100km versus 9.0l/100km.

• Toon899 on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:15 pm

This is way better looking and more logic for Proton to venture into! Why Proton still not offerring any job to TC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Proton should be worried about making better interiors first. Even if a car is as attractive as a Ferrari and has an interior made of rubbish plastic it would be useless, that being said the person who rendered this has serious talent. Looks gorgeous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • betul la.. try tengok finishing bhgn dalam bonet belakang tu…macam x kena je…

• Painter on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Theopilus Chin as Proton Head Designer? Anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • clutch_plate on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Just take a look at Suzuki SX4 1.6L. It comes in two variant – Sedan & Crossover. For me nothing wrong with this idea (Crossover). Me personally own one (SX4) and think if Proton would produce this X model, It’s a good move and will became a direct competitor to this SX4 1.6L and give more choices to users. Please consider this PROTON!

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm

‘diffuser-like insert’ huh Jonathan? very smart indeed. ha ha ha

• no matter what you do to cheap plotong its still a cheap plotong. not worth to buy. better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Datuk on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Suprima S its almost RM80k, if this crossover going for production, it will be almost RM100k?? no one will buy this crossover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • kenken on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Looks ok. can imagine this to be my first proton. but the preve face is getting a bit boring..howabout changing it for another design to make it a completely new model? hope they don’tuse the preve head for another 10-20 years in all model like how the wira came about..

• Being proton, it needs to have a different name, despite being just a hatchback preve or crossover suprima

• Joe Radzif on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Not Bad!!!

• honestly, i think Suprima is a good buy looking at the spec versus the price. Macam boleh, I’ll wait until end users review come along to decide. I learnt from the mistake buying a continental car back then.

• cool..looks nice..very talented indeed..

• Ah Beng on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Yeah, now a suprima sai for outdoor rural use.

• Sasar on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:21 pm

There are other things that should be concentrated than putting more variants!

• the darkside on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:08 pm

why not proton? just do it!!

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:31 pm

anybody here bought Proton Suprima S?

• proton probably having their glass shattering moment right now after seeing this image.

Call for meeting!!

• zzzzzzw on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:03 pm

To be frank, I actually really like the looks of this SUV version of the suprima S.

Looks like a pretty decent clone of the Coupe-on-steroids look of the X6. Hopefully Proton decides to make this a reality and bring this to the market someday. I’ll be impressed!

• Cruise my assss on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:42 pm

It will be a great SUV if they can improve and touch up the front part. Way to go!

• downsys on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Does anyone else thinks this look a bit like the Subaru XV? Nice design, no doubt. And a worthy competitor to the underpowered XV, if this ever comes to fruition. Kudos Theophilus.

• I always bash Proton, but looking at this crossover, somehow I start to get impress with esker design.

• I always thought of why Proton doesn’t produce a SUV using the Exora Platform?

• momo lover on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:36 pm

good design from theo chin…again teo chin design a very ggod car…proton must hire him of one of designer proton.so looking to the market is very competetif now to be a good player…now proton must have all kind of car and all segment of car…SUV,CROSSOVER…PICKUP..SPORT CAR..LUXURY CAR..COMPART CAR…then he can sell wherever countries that he want..now in proton showroom in oversea is very scary.2 or 3 model….nothing to actracting….proton must go fast and fast…

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

theo can always apply to proton and there is always a room to squeeze one more person.

but the problem is – does he really interested to apply or prefers doing his current thing which has little pressure.

and if he applies for the job, proton needs to evaluate whether he has complete package including proven track record and experience.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:31 am

let me add another point. to be an excellent designer, one needs to think 10 years ahead. the sketches that he draws today is not going to take place in 2-3 months.

no one knows how cars will look in 5 years time and the designer have to have a very imaginative thinking of how cars should look in future. successful designers like Chris Bangle or Peter Schreyer (Kia tiger look series) or Walter de Silva (Alfa 156) – they dont draw the cars to be produced in the same year.

this is one reason proton found out after designing Waja, Gen2, Savvy and Satria Neo. which explains why Persona rear end, Saga BLM, Exora and Preve were designed by 3rd party from foreign countries (LG South Korea, Bertone Italy)

thumb me down, but this is the truth. Proton doesnt make their own cars anymore. not for the past 6 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
      • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:44 am

one last thing as a conclusion – capabilities to draw attractive looking cars to compare to current actual cars on sale today does not prove anything. even though I do believe theo is capable of pushing his design skills beyond the boundaries.

too bad he is not a student anymore or else he could join NST-Peugoet design contest. but he can also be a tutor to a team or 2 and polish the design with his skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Theophilus Chin on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Well said. Thumbs up.
        Never turn your interest/passion into a job/obligation.

• hahaha

• ethan592 on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:28 am

Teo please take over the position in Proton and be their head of design team.. with your renderings i think the Malaysian public were except the cars more..

• Then government sector will change all X-trail to this car. Support made in Malaysia… Proton! Go for it..

• Warren Kuan on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I think it’s not so bad.. i wish i could buy this car soon!

• Had my Estima and a Saga blm for my daily use for the past 5 years, My saga is still doing her jobs well with almost zero problem what i did is to ensure to follow up my saga services schedule, feeling of upgrade her to Suprima S as i believe in Proton.

• Drage the time since introduction of elder “sister Preve”, i honestly believe that you guys (designers) could have done better in the rear end. Quite politely I would say its not enough. Tail lamp and rear diffuser should be more “dramatic and stylised” for the poured out development budget. Coupled with the current trend of LED usage, it can be exampled from VW,Audi and Korea cousins. But anyway, Congratulation for over-spread additional gadgets.
    My opinion : “Turbo and Lotus Handling” badges did not match the bodystyle…

• izzat on Aug 28, 2013 at 6:44 pm

a more handsome cousin to the “suprima s”…Kia Rio. But even the old Rio was just a better comparison. Feel sorry to Proton…

• I think even Preve has better specs than Rio, what more Suprima.

• crossover?? it will look like toyota harrier.. currently suprimaS already look like harrier.. look at the C pillar of suprimaS compare to harrier..

just my 2cent.. :D

• Zanmad on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Im a new user to proton suprima..(just bought it cash 1 month ago)..to tell the truth im very impress with this model..my 1st car was a proton savvy which i really disappointed with ..(maintenance quiet high,many problem especially the gear box since im used the AMT..etc..) but this new model suprima really surprising! Feel smooth while driving & easy handling ..etc.. Plus the price is reasonable since u will get 6 airbags..reverse camera, sensor rear & front..etc.. Compare to other foreign car definately u can not get that price ..

I must say Proton did a good job to improve especially the quality..