It’s a Volvo! Mystery concept car identity revealed

We were right – the mystery concept car that we showed you over the weekend is in fact a Volvo. The shape of the grille and the shape of the hood was unmistakable! This teaser video was released today on the Volvo Cars News YouTube channel, which features the same concept car.

The video shows a design sketching the same ‘letter T sideways’ design that we saw in the concept car’s headlamps, and somewhere at the 11 second mark we see a split-second flash of a concept car. The flash is really too brief to see, but since we can pause the video we managed to screencap it for you.

The badging on the rear says Concept C Coupe, so we’re guessing that it could preview a future C-segment coupe? It looks like the Volvo C70 2-door coupe is making a comeback! The teaser video’s description mentions Frankfurt, so we’ll probably see this in the metal then. Until then, have a look at the 5 screen captures from the video in the small gallery below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i actually hope that the design stays the same on the production model, volvo has a habit of watering down their concepts to the point it looks like every other car on the road.

• You meant Proton kah.. hahaha.. The last S60 concept really became a near copy of the current S60 (The front and rear; the silly roofline wasn’t going to make it anyway).

Funny that some one say this is the Perdana replacement concept art.. LOL! We all know P1 doesn’t have this kind of caliber of designer. Albeit, I believe they are still better than the japs designer (exterior).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • driver on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:32 am

With various innovations on the line (especially safety oriented), having responding to the outer shell is a good move indeed. Am looking forward for the flavour they would put in to replace vanilla..

• pooyu on Aug 27, 2013 at 7:23 am

i think pt already know fr the beginning it is a volvo… saje to create story…and draw attention?

• kington on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:22 am

And let’s hope this car will be used should anyone do a remake of The Saint for the screens.

• its true on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:43 am

Teaser 2 look like some concept car from Proton which I can’t remember the name.

• Jaybond on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:15 am

The first few details of teh concept car look quite neat yet sharp looking without any strange/fussy lines. Something that you could see in a some of the Audi cars.But the Volvo concept has its own design language.This has the potential to become the best looking Volvo model todate.

• Mr Mac on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:28 am

kalau macam dlm teaser…damn i will buy one BUT please make it RWD at least….Dont do FWD..FWD sucks.

• kan dah kata volvo

• Chris on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:20 pm

The last picture in the gallery reminds me of Clarkson and his gang.

• Jaybond on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:07 pm

The new Volvo design languange is a welcomed departure from the current bulky and fussy-looking Volvos..

• Joe Radzif on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Why not Proton…..
    huhuhuh