ASEAN NCAP second phase results for 11 cars tested – Toyota Prius, Honda Civic, Subaru XV get 5 stars

asean ncap

Following a successful first phase at the beginning of the year, The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has released the results of the second phase of the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) at an open day held at its Taman Kajang Sentral office.

Eleven models were subjected to an offset frontal collision test at a closing speed of 64 km/h (exactly the same procedures as in the first phase), yielding the following safety ratings:

• Toyota Prius built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 86%, Airbags: 7
  • Honda Civic 1.8 A/T built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 5 stars (4 stars, no VSA), Child: 82%, Airbags: 2
  • Subaru XV 1.6i built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 67%, Airbags: 3
  • Suzuki Swift 1.4 GLX built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 77%, Airbags: 2
  • Mazda2 1.5 MZR sedan built 2013, MY 2012 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 78%, Airbags: 2
  • Mitsubishi Mirage GLS/GLS Ltd built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 43%, Airbags: 2
  • Toyota Avanza 1.3 E M/T built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 38%, Airbags: 2
  • Perodua Alza 1.5 S A/T Standard built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 46%, Airbags: 2
  • Nissan Almera 1.2 E CVT built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 52%, Airbags: 1
  • Daihatsu Xenia R 1.3 M/T built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 33%, Airbags: 2
  • Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GT built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 40%, Airbags: 2

asean ncap honda civic

To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control (VSA in Honda’s case) and a seat belt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars. Note that ‘MY’ above denotes the safety package introduction year.

The cars were tested over a period beginning May 21, 2013 and ending August 2, 2013. All of them were tested at the MIROS PC3 lab in Melaka except for the Pajero, XV and Prius, which were tested at the Japan Automobile Research Institute (JARI) lab in Tsukuba, Japan.

Although the Civic, XV and Almera are produced in Malaysia, the models tested were not – the Civic was a Thai-built Indonesian-market car, the XV was built in Japan for Brunei, Singapore and the Philippines, and the Almera was built in Thailand for its own market. In keeping with ASEAN NCAP procedures, the lowest spec available in the region has to be tested.

Unlike the first phase, which only involved hatchbacks and sedans made in Malaysia and Thailand, the second phase introduces vehicles built in Japan and Indonesia as well, including MPVs and SUVs.

Also, all tested cars have been voluntarily sponsored by carmakers this time (as opposed to MIROS having to buy them previously), although they are still picked at random from the assembly line. The third phase will involve a combination of both procurement methods.

MIROS director-general and ASEAN NCAP steering committee chairman Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon said that the completion of the second phase was “good news” for ASEAN consumers as more cars would be NCAP-rated to help them with their buying choices. He added that sponsored testing will encourage carmakers to bring their best products to ASEAN.

Although it was previously reported that side impact testing as per ECE: Reg. 95 would feature in the second phase, we were told to expect it to happen next year instead – watch a demo performed on a Honda Civic here. Learn more about the test procedures, MIROS and ASEAN NCAP here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Until to date, which car scored less than 4 star?

• viva maybe… they should try it…

• SixthGear Msia on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:36 am

wow, as I can see ..
        Perodua Alza is safer than TOYOTA AVANZA ,
        that is remarkable.
        Malaysia beat the Japs on that segment.
        Good job Malaysian, Happy National Day.
        MERDEKAA !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
        • jolly_idiot on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:02 am

Are they trying to convince us that 2 airbag is good enuf for 5 star rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Lawrence on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

They had only done the frontal test, hence even with 2 airbags it’s enough to garner 5 star rating

• do'oh on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:44 am

are u sure that perodua is not rebadge from toyota?

• artworks on Aug 30, 2013 at 1:06 pm

avanza is just for 3rd world country . u cant find avanza at JDM. perodua beat japan?

• Jonathan Lee on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:26 pm

You do realise that the Alza is pretty much a rebadge of the Japan-only Toyota Passo Sette, while the Avanza is designed and built in ASEAN, right? So actually, it’s the other way round — the Malaysian-badged, Japanese-designed car beat the Japanese-badged, ASEAN-design car.

• Are they serious? What the heck Mazda 2 achieved Euro Ncap 5 star but they gave 4 star for ASEAN?? Can you trust whether they know what they are doing? Subaru XV is 1.6cc? Almera is 1.2? Stupid rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
      • SafetyWarden on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Check out the safety specs of the Mazda 2 in Europe and compare that against ours and you will find your answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
      • Errr, Mazda 2 in europe is has 4 more airbags than the one sold here(and weirdly no VSC, or as far as I could find) and the XV is actually Brunei and Singaporean spec, otherwise known as the lowest spec in the region while the Almera is Thailand spec. Hence the lower engine capacity. is written on the result sheet(Image ID – 195412 and 195392).

You know its interesting that we are having the same problem as other countries, not trusting the test result after seeing that the cars folded like tissue paper. From a commentor in Autoblog regarding the Honda Odysee IIHS crash: ” I find it funny when people see a car gets a good crash rating and see’s pictures of cars crumpled up and automatically assumes its not safe just from the “looks” of it. Cars should come out looking like KITT does after turbo boosting through a wall I guess.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • that full crash test…this one offset frontal collision oni…the euro 5 star mazda using pre-2009 crash test which not include esc as point increase or decrease

• MoFaz on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:44 am

bro, please check which variant being tested in Euro NCAP and which variant tested for Asean NCAP… first question, how many airbags in the one scored 4 stars compared to 5 stars? if you check Euro NCAP properly, they have 3 results for Mazda 2 and only 1 of it scored 5 stars. the major difference is the number of airbags.

• Suzuki on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:45 am

Almera produced in Malaysia is horrible, that’s why they don’t dare to test it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • almera is higher spec then thai made almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • dont believe go check urself at nissan thai page…brochure from thai nissan..it clearly say no speaker, no 2-din audio, no power window, no central look, no keyless entry, no abs+ebd+ba

http://www.nissan.co.th/~/media/Files/Nissan/Asia%20Pacific/Thailand/Brochures/Specifications/Nissan_TechSpec_Almera_Eng_02.pdf

• SixthGear Msia on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:29 am

Almera is a good budget car for non-national.
          pull-stop.
          got more money, buy better car ..
          Proton Preve got 5stars Asean NCAP , :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Jonathan Lee on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:31 pm

At least they’re not assuming that Subaru engineers have managed to power a full-sized car using an engine with a cubic capacity of just 1.6cc.

Try again.

• saga flx+ got 3*, saga pre flx+ 1*, myvi 3*, hyundai i10 1*

• Proton Saga??

As far as I can remember, Proton Saga only awarded 2 stars. Not sure if they had improved the quality for the later products.

• 1 star only la

• Jonathan Lee on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:32 pm

One star before structural improvements, three stars after. Sagas made in 2013 are pretty much three-star certified.

• Almera Tin Milo on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Daheck?
    That rubbish almera with 1airbag qualifies for 4star?
    What a joke frm miros

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
    • driver on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Swift, avanza, alza, almera.. they are all have deformed A pillar!! How can they are qualified as 4 star? Is this test really reliable?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 3
      • SixthGear Msia on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:34 am

ANCAP already have their standard and quality control
        as long as the passenger is safe at certain speed to a frontal crash, it consider a good car.
        the dummy had lots of sensor on its body,
        they already calculated the impact on the dummy.

If u really want a good car, go for IIHS test . They have higher standard of crash testing, even the car’s seat. :)

• u must understand that ASEAN-NCAP 3, 4 or 5 star onli apply for offset frontal collision onli not overall crash test…

• Almera Tin Milo Yang Rubbish on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:35 am

Takde airbag pon boleh dapat 4 star bang kalo result dummy bagus. now sapa yang tak reti???

• eugene on Sep 08, 2013 at 11:03 am

What do you expect dude. It is “asean” ncap, not “euro” ncap.

• sudonano on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Dummy wearing Wayfarers also? So stylo. Lol.

But serious mode on: How can they award the Avanza when the A pillar has clearly bent. Euro NCAP gave the Waja a 3 star in the less strict pre-2009 testing when the A pillar bent. Now under the new system it should be less, as it indicates the body didn’t hold up. You won’t be able to open the doors in front too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • So VSA actually contribute a star to the ratings, So than who is interested to seeing how the Vios performs.
    I’am a little skeptical with the Alza’s performance, yes there is no VSA, but 4-stars? It feels like its built with recycle Milo-can for the chassis whenever I’am driving it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:28 pm

No. You need to get a certain amount of points to get 2 stars, 3 stars, … But even if you have enough to get 5 stars, if you don’t have VSA/ESP that means you’ll get 4. The maximum a car without VSA/ESP can get is 4 stars. But for a 3 star car it makes no difference, it would get 3 stars either way.

• Thanks for the clarification. But one thing is weird. as Sudonano states bent A-pillar is dangerous, u can’t opened the door(and the chassis is not up to strength) Although he’s fury is at the Avanza, the Alza’s bent is much worse from the look of it, and it still gets 4-stars ,or as u state, maximum for a car without VSC. I still don’t feel safe in that car, after all these 4 years.
        The Mirage and Mazda 2 did rather well thou, shame they dont have VSC. perhapse with this ASEAN-NCAP, the manufecturer will be force to standardise VSC. If a good but imperfect 4-star rating can caused people to be at fury at the new Accord, perhaps it will pressure the standerdisation of VSC in Malaysia in the future. After all, crash test result has a distinct history on affecting sales. Hopeful.

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:24 am

Yea. I didn’t notice the Alza initially, But after seeing the video, I shall add that and the Daihatsu (aka Avanza’s less glamorous sister) into my fury. And the Swift too. All these have clearly bent pillars. But the Alza was amazing. It could take off so high also! Not very balanced the weight I’d reckon.

• samlok on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:24 pm

is this suzuki swift local made? i remember it scored 5 star in euro ncap test without any pilar bent

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:08 pm

The idea with the VSC to get 5 stars was clearly that. To make sure this important feature is standard on all cars.

The bent A pillar worries me as crashes at slightly higher speeds could already mean that the structure collapses and gives in.

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Precisely. At 50 odd kmh the pillar deforms, at 80 odd it will crumble like Apple Crumble.

• Jonathan Lee on Sep 01, 2013 at 2:35 pm

There have been cars that had their A-pillars bent in frontal crash tests and still managed to earn five stars before, even in Euro NCAP.

http://www.euroncap.com/files/Citroen_C4_2010_Front—0-22cef2dc-065c-4982-9811-623967210bc5.jpg

A little deformation is fine, as long as the hard points in the cabin (steering wheel, dashboard, pedals) stay away from the occupants inside.

• kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:27 pm

I’m surprised, as the Avanza was tested in China some 5 years ago or so, and achieved 3 stars in the CNCAP test. CNCAP tests at lower speeds (56 km/h vs 64 km/h) and is relatively easy to pass… some say it was designed to calm down Chinese car buyers by showing them Chinese cars are safe and can get good ratings (though they are not safe, at least back then the ones).

Perhaps the last facelift was more than just some makeup for the Avanza…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • that full test…asean-ncap not full oni frontal onli

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:09 pm

CNCAP in 2006 or so wasn’t doing side impacts IIRC… correct me if I’m wrong.

• farghmee on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:25 am

i believe Asean NCAP passing points or requirement is different from other NCAP.

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:22 pm

The 3 star result I mentioned. Tested 2007.

http://www.c-ncap.org.cn/app/cncap/pzsj.jsp?pzid=2306

• Fahmi on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Honda Civic looks good here… Even USDM version gets Top Safety+, “good” small overlap rating…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Honda isn’t really good with the safety features as compared to Ford and Kia, but they are certainlly better than most of the peck, they have VSC throughout the range bar the base spec City, is only their Airbags count needs to be boosted abit, Come on just 2 more curtains in most of their cars.And praising a Honda is rather sacrilegious in this site.

• meng meng on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Not bad alza got 4 star and child protect 46% better than avanza. Good perodua try get 5s star giving us better safety and protection. Hope perodua car not a milotin any more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • every car got 4 star at least ? useless testing …

• that bcoz they don do other test yet…

• NotOnTheRoadCars on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:12 am

I heard from internal sources that car makers are allowed to review the result first and make modifications to the cars before submitting the car for the crash test again.

This means that the result is not representing the cars currently on the road and only valid for newer production batches.

Last time PROTON did not want to review the result first until they found out in the last minute that the Saga only got 1 star rating. Then they made modifications to the Saga and they managed to get 3 stars under Saga FLX+.

• farghmee on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:30 am

that is really fishy.

while Euro NCAP bought available cars for testing themselves, Asean NCAP got sponsored cars?

unless the Asean NCAP testing criteria is made known, i find these tests do not reflect the OVERALL rating of the crash test.

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Initially ASEAN NCAP was supposed to be the same as Euro NCAP, but then I don’t know, after some bribery or sweet talking they now allow sponsored cars.

I do not mind sponsored cars, as long as it does not have ANY influence on the car picked. For example MIROS could randomly go to a dealership and pick a car, and then offer the car maker the chance to supply that car (the car maker could give the dealer a new one in exchange).

Picking the car from the assembly line is ridiculous, cause that just means the car maker has to produce a couple of higher quality cars…

• walaweh on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:35 am

saga already get 3 star rating from australia ncap in 2010, with only 2 airbags without abs,ebd n whatsoever. so,its the same as asean ncap version,standard dual airbags.

the one star version, only 1 airbag ,which isnt available for 2013 production. and if u look closely, the mark was low due to serius injury to the passenger dummy. but i agree,saga without airbag is worst.

• Kalun on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Those cars are advertised as 5 star and now they got 4 star instead.

Should get 3 star to be fair.

• kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Weird. I thought the Almera in Malaysia comes with 1 airbag? Weren’t they supposed to test the base spec car, which means the one with the fewest safety features? Why wasn’t the Malaysian Almera tested then? So what if the Malaysian one has ABS and the Thai one doesn’t… that makes no difference to the crash test result. Thus the one airbag car should be tested… even if only to nudge car makers into not offering such cut throat low spec cars. It worked with the Proton Saga FLX…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • bystander on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:20 pm

the Almera tested *does* have 1 airbag…look carefully

• the rating not apply to all asean market..as for almera..the model use using thai spec

• thai base spec even lower in safety…not just safety but other thing is even more barebone than base spec of boleh spec…no armrest, no radio, no power window..that alone how low base spec of base spec thai compare to boleh

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:16 pm

So what. In Europe cars can come in very base spec… no alloy rims, no power windows, no aircon, no radio, … but still have 6 airbags and ESP. The same car in Malaysia may have huge alloy rims, bodykit, touchscreen HU, power windows, but no ESP and only 2 airbags.

But yes, the Almera tested did only have 1 airbag. I guess the dummy had enough distance to the dashboard to avoid injuries. But what with passengers that sit further in front? They may need an airbag… So I suppose in an Almera with 1 airbag you better slide your passenger seat all the way to the back, just to be safe.

• kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Another thing I noticed: In the first round the cars were randomly acquired by MIROS (which is how EuroNCAP etc. do it). One car got 1 star, and there were a couple below 4 stars. Now the cars were provided by the car makers, and suddenly all cars got 4 stars or more?! Even if the cars were picked at random from the production line, that gives the car makers the chance to build a couple of cars to higher standards for testing purposes, and to then lower the build quality again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • driver on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:20 pm

they should really pick up the car from the showrooms, then the test hold more credibility.

• the article clearly say miros take it randomly..not pre-choose by car maker…most cars test here thai built…

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Randomly from the assembly line though. So basically on one (pre-announced?) day a MIROS official goes there to pick a car. Even if it is without bribery, that only means the factory needs to produce one day worth of higher quality cars with improved materials and better strengthening.

Sponsoring the cars is fine, as long as there is really no control over the cars picked. i.e. the cars are taken from ready stock that was produced long before the testing was done. If the car maker objects due to improvements made after the production date of the car, that is ok and a different car is chosen. However that has to be noted on the test result, i.e. next to the star rating there must be the exact date of production for which the rating applies, clearly noting that earlier cars may not be as safe.

• Most probably car they choose r one that already at warehouse or yard….i dont think any company can produce 1 day quality product if every part of that particular product come from many sources..no company will buy low volume part just for 1 day n supplier of that part might not able to do that either..it will cost a bomb

• marina mahadir on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:01 pm

stupid rating…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • there’s no need for Honda goes for more than 2 airbags to show how safe it is…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:26 pm

To get a good frontal impact rating, yes. Which is not surprising, cause airbags 3, 4, 5 and 6 are there for side impacts.

The Toyota Prius II was tested with and without side airbags, they did side impacts. Both cars were otherwise identical. Guess what. The one without side airbags did very bad in the side impact test, the one with was perfectly safe. It makes a huge difference.

• jebon on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:21 pm

only 2 airbag in civic is quite outdated for cars that have price over rm100k nowadays…harga mahal mesti kena ada bnyk airbag…cikai2 suprima pon ader 6 airbag…

• armandd on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:03 pm

I bet Suprima S has no problem scoring 5-star in this test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • dugong on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:03 pm

viva also can get 5-star in this test

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • even preve were test…it might be barely get 5 star for asean-ncap…Ancap offset frontal collision test preve onli score 14.53/16…asean-ncap need 14-16 point to get 5 star plus those safety equipment

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:27 pm

It has managed to get enough points, and it has the required ESP (in the case of the CFE). The lower spec cars will only get 4 stars, but the CFE gets 5.

• useless testing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • alldisc on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:19 pm

in europe cars that have excellent safety features and also security (to deter theft) enjoys a cheaper premium.

they are rated in groupings. example – a car with high theft and accident rate like Satria GTI is in group 18. means, high premium.

cars like kancil 660 (also example) which doesnt attract thieves and unlikely to crash at 140kmh (simply because it cant) will have a cheaper premium to pay. maybe group 2.

• supkima on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Suprima will get 6 star then

• its true on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:04 am

Should be easily score 7star as it have 6airbag compare to milotin Civic 2airbag still able to score 4star

• Malaysian on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Why waste money with creating another Asean Standard? We have European, American, Japanese, Australian Crash Test? Which one do you think is more reliable and accurate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • powershot on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:01 pm

it is just another excuse of making money. imagine that every car sold within this region must be tested to this ASEAN NCAP regardless of the previous test done anywhere else. each test is not cheap.

this is a money making machine in the works

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • SafetyWarden on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I haven’t really thought about this but great insight!

• hah…how that can be? more money come out ade la..miros have to buy car la…car maker have to sponsor la..both not making money

• powershot on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:14 am

Think further; that’s only because for initial setup to form the required standards for it. once the ASEAN NCAP is finalised and regulated. it might become mandatory for every car manufacturer to send their cars for every model they intend to sell here in the asean region for testing. & they will have to pay for it.

Same with what is happening with Euro NCAP & ANCAP.

or in any other industrial standards that apply in our world today.

• no Euro ncap is choose by best selling model(member sponsor) or voluntary by maker(car maker sponsor)or public choose which car test..not mandatory..it is clearly stated in the euroncap website faq

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:34 pm

That is just plain wrong. EuroNCAP isn’t mandatory. You can buy and sell cars in Europe that have never undergone EuroNCAP testing. The only EuroNCAP tested Proton was the Waja, yet other Proton models are on sale in the UK.

• Proton Staff on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:00 am

Because, car manufacturers give different spec and sometimes different chassis from EU or US. So the same rating cannot always be apply for local spec cars. That is why ASEAN NCAP is very important to drive local industry to be more serious in providing safety.

• driver on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:26 pm

I think it is necessary. As you know, manufacturers have becoming cunning by having double standard cars despite holding the same batch or name. I don’t think viva’s equivalent in Japan is as Milo-y as the one we got over here. Same goes to avanza, almera, etc.

So, yes, the test is necessary, but it got to be conducted in a way that public have confidence on the results.

• that bcoz the safety spec is different…what if a car with 10 airbag get 5 star in euro using euroncap…n u buy same car with 1 airbag..do you really assume those car has 5 star euroncap oso? if u do that car maker already won ur money

• Because sending our jaguh kampung to test crash at Europe is costly and they are bias against us.

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:31 pm

That is nonsense. A car can be manufactured to different standards. Even though 2 cars may look identical and perhaps even have identical specs, one can be made with thinner sheet metal, saving cost. It can be made with fewer, not so hot/long welding spots, saving electricity and time (i.e. save money). It can leave away strengthening elements or make them smaller/thinner, again, reducing cost.

This is commonly done, see the Latin NCAP results for example. The same car in Latin America can be much worse than the car that is sold in Europe.

That is why every region needs their own crash tests, testing cars that were acquired in that particular region. Also, specs are usually very different. A Toyota B segment Yaris will usually come with a minimum of 6 airbags and ESP even on the 1.0 liter base spec car in Europe. In Malaysia the same car, as a sedan, with 1.5 liter and much higher specs, comes with 2 airbags and no ESP.

And finally there are cars that are only being sold in ASEAN countries, like the Avanza. Why would the Europeans for example test it?

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:56 pm

At first I thought, Perodua Alza known as Kereta Mudah Terbakar, how can that even qualify for 4 stars…?

Then I read the title again, it reads ASEAN…!!!

TROLOLOLOLOL…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • May be they alter the test result or they forgot to calibrate the machine..

• proto-type on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:35 am

They tested with proton preve & suprema with smart dummies. Unfortunately, just b4 the crash, all the dummies jumped out of the car. Proton ohh proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Blaze on Aug 30, 2013 at 1:36 am

“To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control (VSA in Honda’s case) and a seat belt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars”

Two airbags can get four star? Five if equipt with stability control and a car with single airbag manage to get four star? Come on man, as an organization regarding road safety, with tonnes of money spent, they should push car manufacturers/importers/distributers on improving safety kit. Five star rating should be reserved for cars with ,frontal, side, head/curtain airbags and stability control.

• spyshotX on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:04 am

I think what it meant was minimum requirement for 5-star rating is to have ALL of these features i.e. 2 airbags, ESC/VSA, seatbelt reminder in the LOWEST spec variant. If the particular model didn’t comply with the requirement e.g. has ESC & seatbelt reminder but only 1 airbag, it can only still score maximum of 4-star only. Even if the highest spec got 6 airbags & ESC but the lowest only got 1 airbag, no ESC it will not improve the star rating by having the higher spec.

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Which is problematic cause the City was awarded 5 stars even though the low spec cars don’t have ESP…

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:27 pm

They look at the injuries you’d get. So if a car without airbags manages to protect you as good as a car with airbags, why should it be punished? Likewise, what if a car has airbags but the airbags fail to protect the passengers?

However, yes, side airbags and curtain airbags are crucial for side impacts. While for frontal impacts there may be enough space in front of the passenger to make an airbag not absolutely necessary, there is far less space during side impacts. You WILL hit something, so that something better be “soft”.

But since side impacts weren’t tested so far the cars can get away without these airbags. Hopefully the ratings will be adjusted and all cars will be subjected to side impacts, not just those equipped with side airbags.

• Colin Wong on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Simply unbelievable. A car with 2 airbags can get 5 stars? Is this for real. I think the results from ASEAN NCAP is therefore not adequate for the purpose of choosing a safe car. ANCAP would be a better choice. ANCAP will NOT award 5 star if a car does not have curtain airbags.

• kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:29 pm

ANCAP mostly won’t award it because a car without side airbags would fail badly in the side impact and pole impact tests, so on average it simply couldn’t get 5 stars. For example a car could get 5 stars for the frontal impact, but 1 or 2 for the side impact. Then at most it can get for example 3 stars.

• jebon on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Cars that have below than ncap 5 star are crap….don’t waste your money on those crappy-popular cars…even Suprima S have ncap 5 star maaa…

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:25 pm

kia and hyundai is so bad that they didn’t even make the list.

shame on u korean junks

• NCAP..ANCAP…nowadays tested car with frontal and side impact only…pls try watch late 80’s crash test in US and EU …they tested frontal, side, back , top , rolling over and side frontal crash…the chassis structural very very good eventhough no ABS , airbag etc at that time. They test braking distance…slippery …wet tracking cornering with all on mechanical system and body balance…

you may search youtube on cars crash test like Volvo 240…Nissan Maxima…etc

The test is holistic. Real test.

• I don’t quite get it. Some cars don’t seem to have any A pillar flexing and they got 4 Stars. But other cars like Alza clearly have some A-Pillar flexing can also get 4 Stars?

• old dog on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:53 am

if you check youtube, others is crashing not only from the center, but half side of the car to the object as well..
    Asean people live is cheaper, thats why we need a lower standard ANCAP…pity us..

• mohd azro on Sep 01, 2013 at 9:38 am

no small overlap crash test 50% & 30% like IIHS conducted?

• document on Sep 01, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Glad to hear about this ASEAN NCAP. I truly hope that our Government will make a rule in future that all cars sold in Malaysia must be tested with ASEAN NCAP and rated.(but no corruption invovled. :))