Perodua Myvi – no recall, news report inaccurate

Myvi

Perodua has issued a statement clarifying that the report titled “New Perodua Myvi May Be Recalled” published in The Malaysian Reserve today is not accurate.

The article, which appeared on the front page of the publication, reported that Perodua stopped production for three days, which the automaker said was inaccurate.

The automaker stated that there has been no recall on the Myvi or any of its other models. It said that there was a suspension in operations for a day at its plant on Monday, August 26, citing issues with certain aspects of the car that didn’t meet specified standards during the normal testing process.

Production resumed on Tuesday, August 27, after the issue was successfully rectified. The company also added that the Perodua manufacturing plant was on a scheduled shut down for the company’s ’20th Anniversary Gala Raya Celebrations’ over that weekend.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Sounds fishy. Perodua trying to cover their share market?

Btw, why The Malaysian Reserve would report such so call inaccurate news at first place? Where do they get the source from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • like all people said mainstream media not reliable n like to tipu….

• the company that control TRM oso control bernamaTV…if u don trust bernama y should u trust TRM?

• azrai on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:30 am

At first, I thought the news come from Utusan. :-) Sue them Perodua.

• farghmee on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:41 am

http://otomotif.kompas.com/read/2013/01/16/6198/Daihatsu.Indonesia.Recall.All-New.Sirion

• sudonano on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Since they say “issues with certain aspects of the car that didn’t meet specified standards during the normal testing process”, and it was fixed, why not share with us what was the issue and what was the fix taken? No harm, if they are confident right? Berani kerana benar, takut kerana salah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • which company don stop or halt production if there is irregularity in production and then told all people bout their down time problem?

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:26 am

But then again, this is Perodua. They did have some issues with their cars, even the early batch Myvi which was incidentally recalled at the PDi stage, so the dealers fixed them prior to the delivery. I got a copy of the letter (which coincidently the dealer used the reverse of the paper to print the price list of the 1.5l.

• Ini semua kerja red bean army

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
  • pencak alam on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Lolz..perodua line really stop from crack issue of drive shaft during drum test..I myself went to the supplier to verified this isaue..other company such as volvo and proton also raise their concern if their part effected. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • so that mean p2 tell the truth bout quality issue n the plant stop for a day rite? u already confirmed it…

• kacimara on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:35 am

This issue was not new even my car (myvi lg best) had inspected for the brake issue. or maybe on the paint job i guess, but this not the safety issue.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:05 pm

No recall…? I’m not surprised… Just look at Alza, so problematic especially gearbox… Once they issue recall order just for this issue alone, Perodua will definitely stand a chance for one thing – TUTUP KEDAI INDEFINITELY…!!! No way they can survive a major recall a la Toyota magnitude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • joanna on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:34 pm

All aspects of Myvi actually didn’t meet required standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • powershot on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:19 am

most of our local supply vendors to car manufacturing companies do not actually meet the required standards they’re supposed to.

notice the difference in build quality of local assembled cars & CBU?

• WhiteFox on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:57 am

ya my supplier who buy a korean car only trust CBU unit. He say he will no put any risk/trust on CKD unit.

BTW i do heard abt Myvi steering issue during slow driving. Not sure how many effected

• Mantot on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:59 am

http://otomotif.kompas.com/read/2013/01/16/6198/Daihatsu.Indonesia.Recall.All-New.Sirion

I always wonder about this, as we all know….the Myvi is exported to Indonesia as a Daihatsu Sirion.No recall have been done here, kan?

• Celicazz on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:44 am

Myvi ESP recalled la last year…

Haiyya, do ur study before commenting, makes u look stupid if make allegations.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:01 am

There had been a “Preventive Measure Campaign” recall for the Myvi here in Malaysia, involving the same Electronic Power Steering (EPS) column issue addressed in the Indonesian Daihatsu Sirion recall.

We reported it back in January this year:
      http://paultan.org/2013/01/16/perodua-myvi-preventive-measure-campaign-74k-units-made-from-march-2011-and-march-2012-involved/

• momotarojaroo on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:28 am

1.P2 wont let suspicious car to customer.thats better than another one who ‘buat bodo’ jer and claim’ biasa la kereta murah’ bila complaint at service centre.
    2.Do we think other car maker announce dgn ‘jujur’ for their internal issues? please check Google for VW DSG gearbox,Toyota airbags issue and many more.Those cars are double triple price than P2 and also play silent game.
    3.News portal is place for facts,rumours,advertisement and many more.dont simply think it is an encyclopedia or text book.

• whatever…

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:32 am

Perodua still much better than Proton. After more than 10 years, the cars Proton are producing is still a piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:11 am

Wrong…! Perodua is heading down the old ways of Proton…

• azrai on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:18 pm

I agree on this. Same old tech and only facelifted model. They are as comfortable as Proton under Tengku Mahaleel’s era actually this 2-3 years.

• Celicazz on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:42 am

It was recalled last year, u didnt remember ah?

• taboogen on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:42 am

my 1 old day Alza.. rear wiper stuck at the spoiler.. now have long scratch…hampeh

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:10 am

This one is an outstanding issue 3 years ago, and they still never learn… They fit in a MyVi rear wiper on the Alza… P2 oh P2…!

Go claim from P2 SC to repaint…

• pirlo on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:56 pm

it is because their favorite practice: carry-over!
        nevermind if it doesn’t fit, carry over!
        then, will have high volume for the part contributing to low price.
        Low price, then sell high price to customer.
        Equal to bigger profit margin.
        Bigger bonus for staffs and bigger profit for daihatsu japan.

p/s: do you know that daihatsu is hardly survive in Japan? Luckily, the are owned by Toyota, that’s why they can survive. Plus, ASEAN region is the biggest profit contributor for them.

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:36 am

test drive alza with 7 mid size adults.. so the very underpowered..

• Go get a bus..it doesn’t matter if you want to carry more than seven fat guys or your whole kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • cheap car like plotong and pelodua always have problem.. better buy VIOS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 68
  • Never admit your car at anytime…always tells this is my wife car…then you are happy enough if your friend complaint about the car you’re driving !!

Ladies only know how to drive..but never knows what she drives !! Jumping Q like DOGS…parking flaw, honking , road hogging …

P2 is lucky though their market share is lady driver !! as well as Vios…ladies car

• Promosi Perodua on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:59 am

Still make money..

• Fallguy on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:41 am

My Myvi 1.3 2008 has gearbox problem. Their technical staff from HQ have test drove it in Nov 2013 and confirm verbally the gearbox has some problem. Still no news from them till today. Service center in Puchong Jaya says says they can’t assist even though I have been maintaining the car service with them since day 1. They ask me to call direct to HQ without even giving me a contact number and person to look for in HQ. The manager at the center lacks knowledge about cars. She is more suited for office admin job. Lousy after sales service. My car RPM with stick at 3700 at 3rd gear even though I try to drag the gear to overtake before changing to 4th gear. I have been complaining about this since 2008. DON’T BUY PERODUA.