Audi S3 Sportback offers 4G LTE in-car internet

Audi S3 Sportback

Audi has become the first carmaker to offer 4G Long Term Evolution (4G LTE) internet in a production car, amidst the launch of the high-speed network in the UK by O2 and Vodafone. Available in the Audi S3 Sportback, the technology will reach all other A3 variants in the British line-up by November.

To use 4G LTE, MMI navigation plus with Audi connect is required (available as part of the Technology package) and a SIM card with a data flat rate simply needs to be inserted into a slot in the Audi S3 Sportback’s glovebox.

The MMI navigation plus with Audi connect in the Audi S3 Sportback uses 4G LTE for services including navigation with Google Earth and Google Street View, Audi music stream web radio and online traffic information.

Audi S3 Sportback

Facebook and Twitter gain a text-to-speech function and a status function with prepared text modules. There’s also a fuel station locator which offers distance and pricing information, as well as a local parking availability and pricing function.

Unveiled in February, the Audi S3 Sportback’s turbocharged EA888 2.0 litre motor pumps out 300 hp and 380 Nm of torque, pushing it to 100 km/h from a standstill in five seconds flat (with twin-clutch S tronic ‘box). Top speed is electronically limited to 250 km/h.

The engine is shared with the current Volkswagen Golf R, which has just been unveiled for the upcoming Frankfurt show.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• azrai on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Is Suprima has this internet whatsoever..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • hondaman on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Suprima S also provide this feature in collabration with YES/no?

• kadajawa on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Yes so proud even Audi now follow Proton to offer 4G in-car wifi….bravo lah Proton…bravo…clap clap to you muah::muah::muah::

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Finally Proton made something that’s inferior to a German luxury marque. What’s next Proton?

• No P1 Inspira the first to put 4G not P1 SS..

• So now it’s means Audi copy our Proton Inspira YES 4G into their A3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • ft360 on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Doesn’t proton have this already?

• what so special ? just buy a battery powered 4g router , then place in the car …I mean any car …

• heybadigol on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:35 pm

This article is factually incorrect. Proton did it earlier, but not sure if they are the first. Anybody know? Anyways, Malaysia beats ze Germans in zomething. Malaysia Boleh vorsprung durch technik!

• ft360 on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Meanwhile, proton only have 3G

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Thought Malaysia did it with the Inspira 4G edition, Preve, and Suprima S?

Did we just beat Vorsprung Durch Technik? Should be on the front pages.

• dzulx on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:45 pm

The idea of this is fundamentally flawed. As a mobile user, I am not willing to fork out more money for another mobile line when I cannot even used up the data allocation I paid for my main line. Unless the carrier is having some sort of package where you could have secondary sim card/mobile line that will use up your primary data allocation without extra monthly commitment.

I would rather have and ICE which could seamlessly integrate with my android/ios devices connected to the carrier network.

Thats one the reason Proton’s Yes initiative is not really taking off in a big way despite the novelty..

However the application that Audi is launching does make sense unlike Proton which is merely connection in the car. But Im expecting connected car can do more stuff like telemetric, service appointment etc..

• I think this car not for you. This car is not for any user who is not willing to fork out extra money for car dedicated line.The data used by the car computer to gather navigation/traffic/parking/petro n price directly to the MMI

• Jimbo on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Proton only provided 4G services (not the real 4G which refers to LTE – Long Term Evolution). Don’t be fooled by YES & P1’s supposedly 4G services. It is not fully LTE. Just a marketing gimmick. We have just only got a taste of real LTE from Maxis and Celcom, that too at selected areas only. FYI, Proton’s 4G services is not integrated into the entire car or ICE system, its just from the dongle. Audi’s ICE & 4G is fully integrated. That’s the difference. Still, I do commend Proton for being the first car manufacturer (in Malaysia) to provide that service.

• venven81 on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:07 pm

guys, please differentiate between YES/P1 4G (WiMAX) with LTE. They are distinctively different. peace…

• U guys make mistake.. Both wimax n lte is not consider true 4G…the actual 4G r “Wimax2” n “LTE Advance”…the actual 4G…has special name “True 4G”..current wimax n lte is just called “4G”

• “True 4G” has peak speed at 1Gbit/s for stationary reception..both current LTE n Wimax not fulfill those speed

• what is the big deal got LTE inside car? I also can access maxis 4G inside my beautiful vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9