Kia Niro Concept – B-segment crossover for Frankfurt

Kia Niro Concept-04

This is the Kia Niro Concept, a crossover style B-segment showcar that the Korean brand will be bringing to Frankfurt next month. The Niro was designed at Kia’s Frankfurt design studio – less than a kilometre away from the IAA show – under the direction of Gregory Guillaume, Chief Designer Europe.

To be used to gauge potential customer response for future showroom models, the Niro hints at a possible future B-segment contender “ready to take on the urban environment with style and tenacity”. The showcar will also preview an innovative new powertrain, according to Kia.

Born out of Kia’s determination to seek new compact-car options for the individualistic and demanding driver for whom size is an issue, Niro features elements not always associated with smaller cars. The fast growing brand says that the Niro has been created in Europe with European tastes and expectations in mind.

A compact, cut-price Range Rover Evoque anyone?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No offense but i wish Proton will design something like this. At least it has a good look even it has a crappy quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa on Aug 30, 2013 at 1:01 pm

No offense but boleh mimpi lah Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Carnut on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Its entirely possible if they outsource their car design to European car designers. Kia and Hyundai had lousy car designs until they started hiring and outsourcing to world class designers.

I am not sure why Proton does not do it, but maybe its politics where they must have a Malaysian to head their design team. While Proton is improving in their designs, competitors have moved much further ahead.

• hav u ever heard that preve are designed by Italdesign giugiaro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
        • hav u ever heard that the Proton design concept by Italdesign giugiaro deemed to expensive to produced by Kroni vendors…

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Look at Lotus car, can’t Proton just told one of the British designer to design a car for Proton? And British designer are the best in the world. Proton just hire some third rate designer to do because no matter how bad the car is, it will eventually sell because we forced to buy it anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • k ya su on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:58 am

Have U heard that the Sesto Elemento Lamborghini model was developed base on a concept penned by one of Proton’s Designer?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 54
          • somedude on Aug 31, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Exactly!! I don’t understand how proton as the parent company of lotus CANNOT simply use the lotus designers. Maybe as someone said in the comments, it might be politics/ego but at the end, they’re just turning out crappy car designs compared to their competitors

• This will fly if it goes through, especially if its hybrid. Kia is listening to customers.

• ss427 on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:19 pm

another great job from the Koreans :) Seems like a next gen Kia Rio ‘Crossover’ with AWD. Very nice indeed. And hey who said Kia can’t come up with great designs without Peter Scheyer? This Mr Gregory Guillaume can pull an equally great job too.

Of cos, things eg gullwing doors and that unpractical seats that merge into the central console will not make it to production.

• Developing Stupid Gearbox (DSG) on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Except the brand, I can’t see any Korean here. You mean German?

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Kia is one of those brands, like Ford who have really turned around. Even Hyundai is not up to Kia’s level, though they are in the same company.

But I don’t think it is in the same size category as the Evoque. Evoque is more of a C segment, like a Focus size.

• ss427 on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Its quite obvious it will be based on the next gen Rio. Notice those toggle switches in front of the integrated SatNav, trip computer screen? The current Rio already spots such styling cues. The size looks ike a Rio too

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Hyundai and Kia is essential the same devil in diguise.

• William on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Rising star, good job – KIA.

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I would not even give a trade in value for this rotten cabbage.

If i do, I will be more hailat that the original buyer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Mackaroni on Sep 01, 2013 at 10:49 pm

no offense but i think if the front lamps get closer to the grill which is like how k5 does, it would be a lot better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11