DRIVEN: Honda Accord 2.0 and 2.4 tested in Thailand

Accord Thai Drive-6

Sawadee-krub. Hello from Thailand, where we’ve spent a day driving the new Honda Accord. Launched here at the Bangkok International Motor Show earlier this year, the ninth-generation Honda Accord will make its official debut in Malaysia next week, as you would have already found out.

UPDATE: The 2013 Honda Accord has been officially launched in Malaysia – click to read our launch report with local specs and pricing.

This first drive report will be based on the Thai-made, Thai-spec Accord, which is identical to what we will get in Malaysia, save for slight spec and trim differences. Malaysian Accords will roll out from Honda’s Melaka plant as a CKD model in three variants – 2.0 VTi, 2.0 VTi-L and the range topping 2.4 VTi-L. The previous two Accords were launched in Malaysia with a V6 option, but there will be no six-pot this time around.

Accord Thai Drive-62

If you’re wondering, no, this is not a facelift but an all-new generation of Honda’s famous Accord lineage. The eighth-gen Accord that we’re familiar with has been around since 2007, and since then, a raft of rivals have emerged in the D-segment.

In that time, Toyota came out with a new Camry, Nissan finally brought the Teana into Malaysia, Mazda launched two generations of the 6, while an awakened South Korea rolled out eye-catching entries like the Sonata and Optima K5. We even now have some European alternatives in the shape of the VW Passat, Peugeot 508 and Ford Mondeo. It’s a brave new world, and the new Accord has its work cut out.

Accord Thai Drive-60

If the new Accord looks smaller, your eyes are correct. At 4,870 mm long, it is 80 mm shorter than the outgoing car, and its wheelbase length of 2,775 mm is 25 mm less than before. Coupled to the fact that it’s slightly wider and lower, the new Accord looks fitter and more athletic in the metal.

It is by no means a small car, not when it replaces a sedan that’s bigger than the class norm. In any case, despite the reduction in outer dimensions, the already limo-like rear legroom is up by 35.5 mm, and the vast boot holds 23 litres more, thanks to packaging magic. Honda adds that overall weight has been reduced by 4.5%, which makes it win-win for all aspects – smaller body, more space, less weight.

Under the hood, the 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine has been carried over, but is now tuned for better fuel efficiency. The Thai-spec sheet reads 155 PS and 190 Nm, which is more (+ 1 Nm) or less (- 1 PS) similar to what our eighth-gen 2.0 made. Also unchanged is the five-speed automatic transmission.

Accord Thai Drive-9

The 2.4 is new. Out goes the long-serving K24A DOHC i-VTEC unit, replaced by a brand new “Earth Dreams Technology” engine. The new twin-cam i-VTEC mill is good for 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The figures may be a touch lower than the K24A’s 180 PS/222 Nm, but they’re made lower down the rev range, and the EDT engine is cleaner and more fuel efficient. Read more about what Honda’s Earth Dreams Technology is all about here.

I started the day driving the 2.4 from Phuket to Khao Lak, and found the new Accord to be improved, yet familiar. It didn’t take long for us to notice that there’s less rolling noise than before, one of the few complaints we had about the old car. Less road roar and tyre noise, but rougher local tests such as the well-worn Federal Highway and concrete PLUS highway surfaces await.

Accord Thai Drive-45

Incidentally, the new Accord is factory fitted with the new Michelin Primacy 3 ST tyre in Thailand, which we found impressive in a recent test. This won’t be the footwear of choice for locally assembled Accords, which will come with Malaysian-made rubber.

The gains in rolling refinement co-exists with an engine that’s typically Honda in character. Ever willing to rev up to the redline, the new EDT engine works with a familiar buzzy mechanical note. Personally, I like the racy sound it makes, even if it’s not hand-in-glove with the executive theme. It’s not unpleasant because we’re talking about character, not strain.

Compared to the K-series 2.4 litre, which starts slow before it wakes up with a scream, the EDT offers more low down pull and less of the “two-phase” nature that’s undesirable in a big executive sedan. It’s better, but those looking for the ultimate silent and smooth operator would do better with a Camry 2.5V, in my humble opinion. The five-speed automatic is faultless, as usual.

Accord Thai Drive-32

The sporty nature of the engine dovetails nicely with a sharp drive, which is as good as it gets in this segment. I have not tried the new Mazda 6, but like the outgoing Accord, this new one is a great tool for a B-road cross-country drive. The steering is light, quick, and feelsome enough for what it is, the car’s mass is well masked, and there’s good body control to boot.

No lurching and rolling around, and ride comfort was good on the 2.4’s 18-inch wheels, on Thai roads. “Drives like a smaller car” may be quite cliche, but true in this case nonetheless. The Koreans may look the part as class athletes, but would do well to match the Honda’s communication and composure when driven hard.

The 2.0 litre model is as good to drive, but has to be worked harder. Not that it feels a lot slower than the 2.4 (it doesn’t), but there’s more engine sound in the cabin for sure. The auto ‘box works well, but lacks steering paddles to downshift for corners when driving hard on the twisties, which means I had to pull the lever (straight-line gate, be careful to not miss your station) down to D3 for the same effect, before pushing it up again. More work, but can do.

Accord Thai Drive-44

Away from B roads, the Accord is a comfortable car to sit in. From the driver’s seat, our range topping 2.4 “Tech” spec tester felt like a Volvo with Adaptive Cruise Control (mirrors the speed of the car in front), Collision Mitigation Brake System (BRAKE warning on the meter and flashing light when you approach the car in front, fast) and Lane Watch Camera.

Lane Watch Camera, the only one from above that will appear in the Malaysian range topper, gives you a view of the left lane when you flick the signal stalk. Captured by a camera below the wing mirror, the visual is displayed on the central eight-inch i-MID colour screen. Only for the left side, LWC can be manually turned on via a button on the light stalk. Very cool, very useful.

Speaking of toys, the Malaysian Accord will finally get keyless entry and push start. Other available equipment include a multi-view reverse camera, LED headlamps, LED DRLs and Active Cornering Lamps. Many of these things are appearing in a Honda for the first time in Malaysia. We’ll bring you the full local equipment list and spec breakdown from the launch next week.

Compared to the eighth-gen Accord, the new car’s cabin is a massive improvement in both design and functionality. Gone is the expansive, swoopy button-fest dashboard, and in its place is a more conventional layout featuring two colour screens.

The smaller of the two is a touch screen for the audio system, while the big one above displays everything else, controlled by the panel on the base of the centre stack. The parking brake is now foot-operated.

The ambience is more intimate and luxurious than before, with the colourful displays and 3D multi-layer speedometer adding to the high-tech feel missing in the outgoing car. Perceived quality is good, with soft plastics (the only hard/shiny piece on the top half of the dashboard is a small panel to the left of the steering wheel) and solid controls.

Feel aside, the dashboard is more user-friendly now, and the driver’s seat is comfortable over long distances. Compared to the main chair of the old car, the new seat allows one to sit lower to the floor, and the excessive lumbar support I found annoying in the old car has been rectified.

The new Accord introduces electric seat adjustment buttons on the side of the passenger seat, close to the driver. Borrowed from the Camry, this is a simple but very thoughtful feature I used frequently when testing the Toyota, one of those things that makes you wonder why all cars don’t have it. Our test unit also had a powered rear sunshade.

Its predecessors only had to duel with the Camry, but the new Honda Accord will face stiff competition from all corners when it enters the Malaysian D-segment arena. That said, with new tech, fancy equipment, smooth new looks and great driver appeal, it’s well equipped for the battle, and even a class win.

http://youtu.be/ScjZCiPXzrs

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Honda on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:18 pm

So how many airbag are they giving?
    LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 8
    • sudonano on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Let’s hope its 6. And they give the Collision Mitigation Brake System. If they do, i think that is the end of the Camry in Malaysia. Cause many people who look at the Camry look at the Accord too at the same time. And when they see the tech, you know la. Plus this looks better (not the best-that is the K5 and the 508) than the box like Camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Aug 31, 2013 at 7:39 pm

2 or 4 airbags depending on spec, no adaptive cruise control, no auto braking in Malaysia.

• jeremy on Sep 01, 2013 at 12:28 am

Hope its 6? I thought Honda Malaysia already announced that its going to be 4 for the highest spec….damn shame really

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Seriously this is one good looking sedan car! Camry pls do something…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • DBA RN6 Owner on Sep 01, 2013 at 6:51 am

4 airbags in 2013 in a 180k car…shame on you honda for your double standard. We asians life are not worth the while?The australian market got the whole 6 airbags as standard how come? why not make it an options at least. whats the point of the other safety gizmos when this basic stuff are still flawed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Langdon on Sep 02, 2013 at 5:02 pm

While Airbags is a must and the more the better. It’s predictable to see the fist comment is “how many airbags”

We seem to fail to ask what are the “Active safety equipment” installed?

Airbags is after the fact, i.e. your crash it saves you, just like seatbelts. What we should ask what are the Active safety features in the car that reduces/prevents expensive/fatal accidents in the first place?

Yes it may not be as exciting as a pyrotechnically deployed balloon, but Active safety like, collision avoidance systems, ESP, lane keeping, Drowsiness detection, Active front lights etc is IMHO just as important as airbags.

We should start asking for these safety tech as well not just airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 03, 2013 at 7:17 pm

The way Malaysians drive and maintain their car, airbags are a must. While active safety is also important, I’ve seen examples of where people don’t understand its limits and still drive recklessly. For example drowsiness detection and lane keeping assistance won’t help if you ignore them or are drunk.

• Fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:28 pm

SAFETY features should be as “GIVEN” for a car with such price..
        nowadays even a car within 80~90K price range equipped with both active and passive SAFETY FEATURES such as 6 airbags, ESC, Traction Control, reactive-headrests, reverse camera, park-assist etc. should be there.. else, look somewhere else..u deserve better guys!

• Manly on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 365
    • do u mean ancap rating?

preve 5 stars rating
      accord 4 stars rating

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 130
    • sure, ur plevey is the best car in ur dream..it’s good to feel proud of what u can afford..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 33
    • Just me on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Preve supporter/owner syiok sendiri.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 59
    • Cant believe some ppl got the ONLY P1 car and think they’r better than the Japan cars lolx don’t siao lah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 37
    • protonsucks on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:18 pm

HAHA !! ONLY CAN AFFORD A PREVE AR ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 37
    • manly on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Ini sindrom gaji kecik. Tak mampu pakai kereta mahal. Jadi hanya boleh angkat bakul sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 52
    • How do you know if he has only one car? Maybe he has more in the stable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • Polo Saga on Sep 14, 2013 at 11:40 am

Pathetic, enough said.

• vicky on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:20 pm

looks having it’s own class…superb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
  • al-Faruq on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Nice..Proton kena belajar buat design yg matang dan nampak rilek sikit..

Kena belajar bnyk dari Jepun dan Eropah.

Mmg usia lebih muda tp apabila ada Jepun dan Eropah sbg benchmark, patutnya dah naik lebih laju.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 10
    • Fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:31 pm

looks wise i can agree with u, but come-on….only 4-star ANCAP for a RM140++ car ?
      we deserve better man! even the rm80K Sup Rimau aso has more to offer..bugger!

• BringTheRain on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:22 pm

What the F is wrong with you people! A car is a package, the safety features does not define a car. And safety features are not defined by the damn airbags alone. You want a safe car go and buy a pick-up. Keep whining and bitching about double standards, about you deserve better. Honda managed to improve the car in almost every way, NVH, FC, Drivetrain, still wanna b!tch. A 140k car then all the safety features must be a given?? This sense of entitlement disgusts me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Hey, does the 2.0 vti version get the double screen or not.

• the next p1 perdana. hehehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 51
    • alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 5:12 pm

last time Proton Perdana.

this time.. Proton Timbalan. hehehe

dont fire me guys…

• enough with all the ANCAP vs Preve and Suprima thing

if you bother to compare ANCAP ratings with preve just because it scored 4 stars while preve scored 5, do you bother to check ratings from other crash test ? IIHS small overlap test ? wonder how many stars preve gonna score with that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • tokmoh on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Yea, this accord is on par with the Volvo S60 by IIHS’ rating. that’s a big compliment to a car’s safety to be on par with a Volvo.

in that test too it is discovered Toyota, kia are seriously weak, even the germans merc, bmw, vw didn’t score too well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • MoFaz on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:03 pm

problem is, what they get in USA is not the same Accord as what we get here. they have 6 airbags as standard, but how many here? similarly, we can’t say Preve in Malaysia is 5 star ‘yet’ because we don’t get the 6 airbags variant as tested in ANCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • dafie on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:55 pm

So boring. The Optima K5 more advance look than this. Besides the korean car more aggeressive looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 144
    • a car is not all about looks. yes optima looks more nice and sharp in terms of design, but accord is not too bad.

safety wise if accord have 6 airbags, optima will lose because accord have blind spot camera and few more advance features.

next is engine and drive train, koreans still need to improve on this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 76
      • dongle on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 156
      • yeap, not just abt looks…try driving a boring looking passat, it will easily trounce both this accord & optima…good handling & very strong 250nm of torque from low 1,500rpm compared to both cars which need to be rev above 4,000rpm only to achieve 220nm….yeap, its not just abt looks…handling is important too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • maybe you’re right for exterior,but you’re comparing a turbo with a N/A engine. They’re totally different thing bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:44 pm

The look on your face will look in an extremely advanced state of hailat when you trade the kimchi in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 12
  • Why already got 2 touch screen panel, but still need separate portable GPS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 2:03 pm

“it’s well equipped for the battle, and even a class win” Camry still sleeping?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Honestly Toyota should really do some ’emergency refresh’ to the new Camry. whan the critcs was out, Honda quickly facelift the Civic within a year. The Camry ain’t doing well; In the US, the Accord already out performs and out-sold its long time rival, looking its sight at the new emerging Korean and American marques. The Camry, or most Toyota for that matter, ain’t ddoing well with the IIHS crash testing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • sexylosers on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Can hardly see the new Camry on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Who cares if Malaysians still want to buy the fugly Camry, T doesn’t have to “beautify” its design, at least for Malaysians.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 31, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Superb car. Dont know who is going to buy junk like k5 or sonata anymore.

This accord looks really good!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 197 Thumb down 195
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 131
      • Maserati(Official) on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:50 pm

The exterior of a 20 year old Accord excites me more than any car that Korean junks have come out with today.

That shows you how much the Koreans are lagging behind.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 178 Thumb down 262
    • Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Actually, Maserati, I would encourage more to buy kimchis brand new so that my kimchi car yard will make more profit.

If you want a kimchi, buy a used one. Very dai mai

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 16
  • ace ventura on Aug 31, 2013 at 2:05 pm

face lift ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • zamer on Aug 31, 2013 at 2:15 pm

this car ftis all the purpose..executive, family car, comfort.

with the passat wrong gearbox, camry outdated design, mondeo less strong, k5 and sonata just korean, this car is a clear match between mazda 6.

to win the heart of the most, put all sort of gadget and it will be a steal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
    • sexylosers on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Just what do you mean by Mondeo less strong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:07 pm

And don’t forget Mondeo. But problem is Aston Martin wannabe, if remove the Blue Oval logo, it will be another Chinese rip off car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Colin Wong on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Mondeo or Fusion in the US shares some Aston Martin features because Ford OWNS AM and it was intentional that AM features are incorporated into the Fusion/Mondeo the same way that Lexus features get incorporated into the Toyota Camry. AM wannabe, you betcha and Ford Mondeo owners should be proud.

Honestly, FrenzyAustin, go do some research including test drive. You comments are not based on facts. In my opinion, the Mondeo is an awesome car. Ford Malaysia need to work on the pricing and bring up the volume. Ford has done a great job with the Fiesta and we can see quite a number of Focus (Foci?) on the road after nearly 1 year of it being launched in this market.

By the way Frenzy, Mondeo is consistently rated top 3 in most reviews in the US for family cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • frenzyaustin on Sep 01, 2013 at 8:30 am

Which sentence I said Mondeo is bad? I know it’s good in every way but Aston Wannabe grill is unforgivable to me. Why world fifth largest car manufacture want to do something so shameful and stupid and it’s not like Ford has any of this grill before. Focus and Kuga grill is much better and sporty, new grill is pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Colin Wong on Sep 01, 2013 at 9:47 am

Instead of being given the answer, maybe you may want to clarify what you intend to communicate to other by the phrase: “if remove the Blue Oval logo, it will be another Chinese rip off car.” as Chinese rip off can mean many things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Aug 31, 2013 at 7:42 pm

In terms of safety features this car is far behind the competitors, except for the Camry.

And where on earth is the Mondeo not strong? 240 hp is more than 175…

• Mondeo less strong??!!
      My Mondeo met a Accord 2.4 in North South Highway yesterday, it could’t even touch my smoke..only the Passat could hardly catch up..

• wiraturbo on Sep 02, 2013 at 7:48 pm

I tapaued all with my old wira turbo 400whp, apa cer?

• Fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:34 pm

jgan takabur bro..
          tapau all maybe i can belib u…but how long can u maintain cruising pass 200km/h with ur wiraturbo? with all the wind/ cabin noise from ur old car…get what i mean?

• Kelvin on Aug 31, 2013 at 2:53 pm

This car looks clean and elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • mystvearn on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:26 pm

A sort of unrelated question.

Foot handbrake is fine if paired with Auto. No Hill-hold assist is fine. What about countries which have manual transmission? Is there a hill-hold assist? Cannot park this on inclining road and need to manage brake, handbrake, throttle and steering at the same time.

It looks like the handbrake removal was an afterthought? I see a hole next to the drinks area?

Trying to convince those in the 50s+ to change their current Accord to something that looks similar is going to be hard. They don’t care about the toys that much. Especially since the new car looks a lot like the old car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 31, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Manual transmission cars get a traditional handbrake

http://paultan.org/2012/09/07/2013-honda-accord-full-details-and-specifications/honda-accord-26/

• mystvearn on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Thanks for letting me know

• offbeat on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:40 pm

That’s funny, I mean it’s like been a long time to read about handbrake when everyone nowadays says about all those tech things in the car

• Lolipop on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Sound promising from the improvement over previous gen.. About the improved ambient noise, hopes Paultan crews to give a clear facts rather then just feels on the improved noise insulation. Most of the time media should use how many dBs improved among its rivals or over previous generation..

• frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:09 pm

It featured Active Noise Cancellation, means it produce a sound wave through speaker to cancel the unwanted noise in cabin, like what they use in a flight.

• Katak on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Same speakers that used by audio system or a different installed speakers?

• Mozilla Chrome on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Unlike the previous gen, this new generation rear design is so pleasant to look at..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Its a relly good car but like most Hondas in Malaysis is only 2 airbags away from perfect. Anyways, equipment, specs and IMO, looks to go toe to toe with the new and improved boys. and is nice to know that the NVH, a significant weak point in an Accord or any Honda for that matter, has been improved. Put it in other words, it’s a significant improvement over the old model, unlike its smaller bro the FB Civic. and just because it dosen’t have the curvy lines of newer cars but regains its traditional outlooks and a familiar badge dosen’t mean its a awful car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Thai made model already has range topping 6 airbags, but Buatan Malaysia is clearly behind the league.
      Isn’t Honda won’t care about our safety, but our own company (DRB-Hicom) rip us out to profit themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Yeah its really a shame, looks aside, Honda is praised as one of the brands that excels in safety for a low end car in the USA. Most of their cars are already IIHS top pick. It’s just DRB, and maybe because they are trying to give some favorable sales boost to their newest ccollection, Proton, I really don’t see why, its only 2 airbags short in the top spec, matter of fact, in almost all Honda cars. Honda made improvement with the Accord, looks aside, its better than the last in almost all respect, but sigh….DRB. But it wasn’t a surprise, remember the Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD.

• granfia on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:43 pm

I wonder uncles will think again to buy because it’s like recycled design from the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • maybe, it’s nostalgia for them. I like it thou, looks clean and simple, for the type that wants to be inconspicuous

• frenzyaustin on Sep 01, 2013 at 8:34 am

Volkswagen Beetle also recycle old design and people say it’s a trend and what bullsh*t. When Honda did it, lazy designer etc…

• Looking at the past comments you must really hate Volkswagen or something. To be honest, in America, VW drivers have a mindset of acheiving an ‘Holier than thou’ attitude don’t know why along with Toyota Prius drivers and BMW drivers, and over here, its the cheapest way to achieve German perfection…..and as far as the comment goes, some people are determine that it is the only choice if you got the money, and to be fair, a German car for the price of an Accord sounds like a very sweet deal. But in the end.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 01, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Because VW is boring, overrated and overpriced. German perfection failed when DSG can’t work in a hot country? VW tends to fail a lot in SEA and also Australia. Their car is boring to look at, interior is so so but price is sky rocketing high but still people go crazy for it because “German” makes you cool. Currently, there is NO exciting model from VW brand, Focus ST drive better than a Golf GTi, Evo X and WRX STi is better driver car compare to Golf R. At least the most hated car company launched some very exciting model such as GT86, upcoming Supra and over-engineered super mini, Yaris Hybrid R.

• Fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:40 pm

frenzyaustin,
            seriously? EVO X & WRX STI better driver than Golf R?
            errmm…. i’m confused here, i got a friend driving a golf GTi on weekdays plus weekend and also another friend with a limited edition WRX STi but only drives during weekend…Myvi for a daily driver for him as he claimed its difficult to drive the REX on daily basis….errr… can u enlighten me please..ur statement is contradict from my understanding

• Mail Lambung II on Aug 31, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Sure can tapau Camry easily……good work Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • fourwheeler on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:01 pm

…simple and safe… sure H already knew their target customers … for late 40’s and 50’s i think…my current uni t had a problem with windy noise inside the cabin since first month when i bought it ten yrs ago, till now the sc can’t detect why!

• tkhengong on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Looks better then current version. But Camry sports a more classy look especially the black ones. Anyway, Camry outselling this model in the USA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • daniel on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:42 pm

beautiful. but why honda make their Accord look the same as their EU/US spec brothers this time? should have 2 different looks (e.g. Toyota Corolla 2014) to let people have more choice…

• Pat San on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Hi Danny,

I would be most grateful if you could kindly advise if airbags need any maintenance?

Thanks.

• Hontua on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Overall look goes back to 6th Gen especially front, rear and height. And this car is a sure winner in dashboard LCD count. But wait until journalists road test when results normally gave better mark for the uncle T, spirited handling to mr M and mr N for alternative choice.

• This accord looks somewhat american.. No wonder the looks remains the same for worldwide market. Would be nice if honda offers both UK accord n US accord here in malaysia. To me, UK accord is kinda small, but looks sportier than the civic.. But too bad, only japan gets both accords as inspire n accord.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:28 pm

You mean Accord Euro? And new generation of Accord Euro is currently under development and won’t be weird if it suddenly appear in Frankfurt Motor Show.
      Weirdly though, I prefer more exciting Honda Inspire than more conservative Accord Euro.

• salambangi on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Pl get Hafiz to review the car. I need more info to decide whether to buy the new model.

• jilbaber on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:43 pm

reminiscent of Accord CG (6th Gen)…must be hired same designer or his son..

• astroguy on Aug 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

what about handling?
    8th generation front double wish bone vs 9th generation mcpherson trust?

• from my perspective, the previous accord much better in design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
  • A boring car for boring people. I consumers got out of their ‘Honda’ and ‘Toyota’ mentality, they would see that there are much better options available in this range. Cue the lemmings who will now vehemently stand by their brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • PassatFan on Aug 31, 2013 at 7:50 pm

One thing about DRLs, are every car on the road copying the Germans? Since when they intro DRLs in Japs and Koreans. I believe the originals are that of Beemers, VWs and Audis. The rest are copycats. Worst are those Wajas with self modified DRLs installed.

Also I noticed the new Accord had no handbrake lever? Again, this must be copying the Passats. the new Accord side view, see carefully, and u notice it does look like the Passat B7.

How much is the 2.4L selling? RM190k? Don’t waste your money. Get the Passat Sportline. Why? Cos it’s the original while the rest are copycats. U can never beat the handling and ride feel of a Conti car. Thr Passat definitely feels more involved and the 18 incher comes with CSC 5 Conti seal tires, while u get Sime Tyres on your Melaka CKD Accords.

The Passat is definitely a smarter car with all it’s safety features and driver assist functions. I can only say this, the driving feel of it, Accord and the rest definitely loses.

Sufficient horsepower with early kicked-in Torque is the thrill u won’t find in the Accord, Camry, Teana, Sonatas. I would rather buy the 508s of this French world. seriously it’s the ride and handling and THE torque.

Experience it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
    • DRL started on Audis, the Koreans start popularizing it and made it mainstream, now almost every car on the road has DRL. I heard somewhere that is an EU safety implementation, not sure about that.

• jilbaber on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:17 pm

I thought UK first implement DRL meh…increase visibility during heavy winter..also I think DRL on japs car is not new, some their 1980’s model car have yellow fog. that actually function as DRL (use during winter too)

• frenzyaustin on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Porsche invented Hybrid in late 1800’s, yet after 100 years when Toyota successfully selling Hybrid to mainstream market, VeeDud copy them by making a Jetta Hybrid, A6 Hybrid and XL1. Veedud should stick to their rattling diesel engine and don’t follow what the Japanese doing.

• Katak on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:04 pm

1800’s? I think you meant 1980s.

• Early 1900…actually 1900 itself, Ferdinand Porsche and some other guy came up with the ‘Mixte’. The thing actually works like an REEV because only the motors is powering the wheels, gas engine is there to only power the generators. Porsche spearheaded the idea so much so that when war came he came out with a tank for the Germans that ran with this powertrain, the ‘Ferdinand’. But at that time batteries were heavy and low tech, and Porsche’s hybrids were heavy, offers lower performance, were maintenance-intensive and they were even bigger fuel guzzelers than their petrol counterparts. The idea didn’t pick up until the 1980s Audi Duo concept and the Toyota Prius.

• Not copying..that bcoz there law in most europe country that require drl must be installed as part as safety equipment…so automatically many car maker who sell or wanna sell there equip their car with drl

• Colin Wong on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:58 pm

DRL… Hmmm… In the late 70’s, Volvos (240’s, I believe) already had their headlights on during the day for safety. You have an option to turn them off but Volvos then were running around with lights on.
      Sweden was one of the 1st countries to make it into a law, unsurprisingly. Read on people: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daytime_running_lamp

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 01, 2013 at 2:54 am

My guess that most readers here are not even born when DRL started. Scandinavian countries have been making DRLs mandatory due to thier climate and weather location.

Even cars with no dedicated DRLs had an additional module/relay that ran the highbeams at lower voltage during the day. Alternatively these countries also mandated side market lamps as position lamps both front and rear.

• once drive on turbo,i think i wont go back to NA.
      Bro, well said.

• Fahmi on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Doesn’t look bad in my opinion, especially for the interior… Looks quite luxurious for a mass-market car… Well appointed interior compared to 8th gen which looks cluttered and messy for me…

Still my favorite Accord generation is the 7th gen Accord Euro R..Type R sportiness with practicality of a mid-sizer… That 200hp K20A is a screamer, sadly is this “emissions” driven world that kind of engine has been sort of “extinct”…. 6 speed manual is sweet and 7 sec 0-100 is not bad indeed for me, good enough power for normal Malaysian roads…

• Kuinsan on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 127
  • Colin Wong on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 278
  • Let see how much will they be priced at, if the spec/price concept still similar to current gen, then not much surprise.

My guess:
    2.0 lowspec 140-150k <- really poor spec like current camry 2.0 compare to camry 2.5
    2.0 full spec 150-160k <- still lesser spec than 2.4
    2.4 full spec 180-190k <- has everything but pricey as well

If you have budget of 140k, i think you know which one to go for.

Let's see. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • albag on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:37 pm

looks good and handsome as usual for a Honda… Camry design can really saupei dy..

• fayusoff on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:56 pm

the look is cleaner. the last accord is a little bit messy with the look. this one improve in terms of the direction of the design, looking simple but yet elegant. my father loves it… he said so.

• Colin Wong on Sep 01, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Your father like? I am beginning to see the trend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • lithium on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:43 pm

This kind of comment is really irritating.

You seem to think just becos a car doesn’t have swooping lines its for uncles and aunties?

What is wrong with uncles and aunties? A lot of them are car enthusiast! I assume you are a young fella and a car enthusiast since you read paultan …… say its 20yrs later and you are officially an UNCLE/AUNTY, so will your car be ugly, boring and your brain no longer function in deciding what car to buy and you become totally ignorant when you choose to buy a car?

Sheesh…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Colin Wong on Sep 01, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 115
          • lithium on Sep 02, 2013 at 10:52 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 131
          • youbodok on Sep 02, 2013 at 7:30 pm

what’s this? uncles vs youngsters discussion? LOL

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 120
  • is it just me? I thought it was a saga flx when I saw the 1st pic..a flatten (widen) saga from the front..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • taiwan spec…… 2.4 , cvt. 188 hp & more, full US SPEC…….here we r getting diffrent spec .

http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=13694

• Polo Saga on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:39 am

Better design than outgoing model, especially rear tail light, simply elegant. If would be better if the price could be brought down lower, or maybe local assemble here, like Honda Jazz?

• John Tan on Sep 01, 2013 at 7:42 am

“The Koreans may look the part as class athletes, but would do well to match the Honda’s communication and composure when driven hard.”
    @Danny, is there something wrong with this sentence?

• Gegary on Sep 02, 2013 at 2:03 pm

I hav no prob understand.

The sentence is saying: Korean cars look sporty, but cannot yet match Honda’s driving feedback and handling at higher speeds.

• carbonman on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Cleaner and sleeker design inside and out, yet it spells Accord in every angle. Respectable amount of gadgets, appropriate use of LEDs in the rear and front makes it looks up to date. Coupled with the good reliability and resale value, it will sell well in Malaysia. Not to say its the default choice to go to, but it will certainly be competitive in the D segment market. On another note, D segment in Malaysia caters for mid 30’s to 40’s. While being sporty and have the urge to speed, they also appreciate a touch of elegance in their daily ride. Achieving this balance is rather tricky for car manufacturer.

• shawal on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Why the US accord 2.4 EDT is mated to a cvt, producing more hp (185) and torque (246) , izzit because the quality of fuel? Or the ommission of direct injection? Why ours still mated to the old 5 speeder?

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Man, this is great news for me, as there will me more Sonata/K5 trade ins happening for me.

Supply vs demand. So sorry to tell kimchi owners that their RV has just fell again, by 5 percentage points

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 457 Thumb down 454
    • shame_Loo on Sep 02, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 157
  • i think it is one of the few honda’s that gets LED brake lights pre-facelift. last gen accord don’t even have any, both pre- and post facelift models.

like the cleaner and simpler look, a bit like going back to how accord used to look like.

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Yes, this Accord indeed has the Accord looks which repeat buyers would love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • danedz on Sep 01, 2013 at 3:41 pm

it will be grateful if honda bring over station wagon model into ckd…

• R u sure this is an ALL-NEW model and NOT a facelift?

1-the C pillar and overall shape looks suspiciously the same (i suspect H just shorten the old platform)

2-the same engine and gearbox for the 2.0 model

The Japs eg Toyota has been using the same platforms and enginhes/gearbox for several generations of models, i highly doubt it is “All New”

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 01, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Yep. New model > facelift > slightly modified and branded as new > facelift > actual new model. Guess where in the cycle we are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • and if u look closer, the front grille, the lamps, even the rear light shapes retains the same basic shape albeit with some facelifts…u should be more specific and avoid following all those car mags out there claiming every model as “all new”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • setscrew on Sep 01, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Hmm…looks like Honda is following the VW strategy to keep the DNA of its Accord design. Though the new look is not bad at all, the million dollar question is, will the 2.0 variant gets the VSC, I cannot imagine if it’ll come without, when even the Jazz gets it as standard equipment…let see.

• pondok ajip on Sep 01, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 146
    • It’s very difficult to change most of the malaysian car buyer mindset to accept kimchi, too used to sushi regardless of lower spec yet with high price, but japs will learn, can see that their models are better spec-ed now as there is threat except Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
      • susha on Sep 02, 2013 at 7:18 pm

What? If 11km/l i better go for vios

• pondok ajip on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Hi susha,
          vios is a 1.5l car while the K5 is a 2.0l car. Of course a smaller displacement car will be better in fuel consumption. Pls compare the 11.5km/l fc with other 2.0l models.

• Fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Its ok Ajip, its obvious that Susha doesnt belong to this segment..or he/she was driving a diesel car currently…please pardon he/she

• Sam Loo on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:42 pm

So sorry to tell you that your K5 is only worth around RM50k now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Rotary head on Sep 02, 2013 at 7:55 am

Mazda 6 is way ahead of this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • In the US the ninth-generation Accord offers three powertrains: A new direct injected “Earth Dreams” 2.4-liter 16-valve DOHC four-cylinder engine rated at 185 hp (138 kW) to 181 lb·ft (245 N·m) of torque paired with either a six-speed manual or continuously variable transmission(cvt). Why in Malaysia and Asia version 2.4 Earth Dreams Engine is 175hp and 225NM torque??

• Honda Malaysia please equip Malaysia Accords as US version as it come with standard an 8-inch 480 x 320 pixel WQVGA resolution LCD display screen, single angle backup camera, Honda’s i-MID system which includes Bluetooth hands free calling with SMS texting and streaming audio, USB connector, dual zone automatic climate control and alloy wheels. The available navigation system adds a 6-inch touchscreen and the 8-inch screen uses a higher 800 x 480 pixel resolution WVGA display. A tri-angle (normal, wide and top view) backup camera and wide angle passenger blind spot side view camera are also available. New safety features include an optional forward collision warning system, lane departure warning system and blind spot monitor. Highline models (EX, EX-L, and Touring grades) offer Smart Key, LED daytime running lamps, headlamps, and tail lamps; and an adaptive cruise control system.

• sepuct9a on Sep 02, 2013 at 11:45 am

Honda did it again,
    last time when replacing the SM4 with SV4, the design gap look hugely apart, CF4 which replacing SV4 somehow really look like replacing SM4 design instead of SV4. Now this 9th gen just nice to replace the CF4 in term of design and the 8th gen was just an alien.

• Greeny on Sep 02, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Seems like they are unloading the new accord at the sg long honda showroom now!!!! The front and back are taped.

• I’m alright with most of proton exterior design but not with interior. I think Proton should send their designers for more interior training/ awareness/ convention.

• Better buy small cc car since fuel price is going to increase

• Buy hybrid/ small displacement turbo car, fuel car increasing today.

• Zorro on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:27 pm

and upgrade from the 7th gen accord rear, and simillar with the camry….nothing Boombastic factor accept of interior…

• Zorro on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:28 pm

and upgrade from the 7th gen accord rear, and simillar with the camry….nothing Boombastic factor accept of interior…waiting for the next sonata..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:43 pm

And I am waiting for you to sell your rotten cabbage 1 year later.

Many Sonata/K5 owners feel so much happier and proud after trading in their rotten cabbages and switching to a much smaller Jap car.

• tokok on Sep 03, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 186
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 9:30 am

I would encourage more sorhais to buy kimchis new, so that when they trade it in, I make money.

Sui Kwan euros? Buy if you don’t mind having the tow truck operator in your mobile speedial

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • Ricky on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Honda accord is well known for the noise cabin and sluggishness. Based on the review , i would say it’s still sluggish esoecially the 2.0. Sluggish car is boring and imagine driving in the city , traffic light , roundabout and slopes n hills. I still dont understand why can’t they make a smooth pickup car. no point having so many functional buttons but your car is sluggish. It’s like old woman with lots of makeups but cant do much in ………!

• Colin Wong on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:54 am

Went to see the Accords in the flesh. My opinion about it being the choice of RV fans is finally confirmed. The quality is lagging behind Euro makes. The read window screen was flimsy and the reinforcement rib was a joke. The buttons look like they are made in China. Don’t believe, please go but wait, drop by VW and Peugeot first. Get a feel of the quality. The doors feel light (is that another reason why 4 stars only?) Anyway I walked away unperturbed by the sales agents remark that my 508 won’t fetch good price after 5 years. For goodness sake, don’t get a D segment in Malaysia if one is forever obsesses with RV. Then what is the motivation for an Accord? Space, get an Innova, performance, get a Euro car, looks, common, current gen Accord unless you are 40 plus, safety, you give hit your head against the tree or TNB pole and may never regain consciousness to lodge a complaint (where are the curtain airbags!) So the only thing I can think of are, one, loyalty, I can understand. Otherwise, I don’t see a reason why this Accord. Don’t be short changed. Shop around. Unless and until Honda blinks and treat us as respectable consumers who can think, walk away. Getting 4 stars in ANCAP and then stripping away 2 critical airbags is an affront to customer intelligence.

• Pug 508 hybrid4 is going to be launch soon..if wanna trade in with 2012 pug 508 is the RV okay?..

• lookingforanewcar on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:48 am

this design reminds me of the 90s…
    quite plain and but got 90s exclusive vibe…
    suitable for people with very strong normal taste..
    i can imagine people who drive this car looking very normal and age above 40…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 73
  • Hey guys,need opinion here. I’m in dilemma whether to take the mazda 6 or this accord. I prefer the 2.0 and pricing around 150k. Thanks

• danedz on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:14 pm

currently what car are you driving?

• Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:55 pm

If you are concerned about safety, don’t bother about this 4 star car that does not bother to protect your head and your rear passengers’ (most likely your family member or friend) head in a side slam against a tree or TNB pole. Go for a CRV instead with 6 airbags or Mazda 6. If you love resale value more than your head, yeah, this babe is fine. Colleague, friends and relative will praise you for choosing Honda. They will ask you lots of questions if you choose safety over resale value. Why Mazda? RV good ah? Etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
      • hahaha i’m driving a 2007 CRV now. Planning to trade in either mazda 6 or this new accord. The reason why i put these 2 cars in my list because of the design of mazda 6 and i’m kind like honda fan boy hahaha. As for honda, the 2.0litre version has the same engine and transmission from the previous generation of accord while the mazda 6 is completely new with all the skyactive technology in it. So i’m still in doubt about the reliability. And 1 thing for sure i dont care about what resale value blah blah blah. Car is not an investment.

• Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Well, looks like it is going to be either Mazda 6 or CRV 2.4. Mazda 6 is RM154K OTR while CRV 2.4 is RM170K. I then strongly recommend you to have a look at the 508 as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 33
          • Went to both mazda and honda showroom today. To bad they dont have test drive unit for Accord yet. Here is my opinion. Exterior wise, mazda 6 have that aggresive look that wont get bored after years OTR while Accord is a little boring but not too bad. Interior wise i prefer the Accord. Accord have that kind of luxury feel especially the dashboard and the steering wheel design. I dont like the mazda 6 steering feeling. It is like the diameter is too small and i hardly find any grip and that kind of sporty feel. I dont know how to say but it just feel weird to me. The leather surface is to slippery. Will wait until next week test drive the accord then only make decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
        • Sam Loo on Sep 14, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Pls, 508 is in the same lower class as kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • truely malaysian on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:31 pm

The add truly depict Malaysia scene- got snake at your garage, plenty of smoke/haze everywhere, crazy motorbikers coming from LEFT… every cars need a watch lane camera… Proton please put one on Suprima S

• extremeauto on Sep 10, 2013 at 12:52 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 150
  • Silvia13 on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 134
  • aminlife on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:17 am

Suprima S :http://www.ancap.com.au/results?make=40&model=355&vehicleyear=1
    and

Honda Accord 2013 : http://www.ancap.com.au/results?make=25&model=353&vehicleyear=1

• ancap 5 bintang ke..6 airbag ke.. kalau malas nak pakai seatbelt,takde fungsinye benda2 tu semua…

• this is an excellent car. Lot of thoughts have gone into the manufacturing.
    Kudos Honda!!

• J J C Rajan on Mar 30, 2014 at 10:47 pm

I bought the new 2.4 Accord last November. I have been a Honda man from the year1982 with my first Honda Civic 2nd Gen. The new Honda Accord is my 5th Honda Accord I have owned. This model is the worst of all the earlier models I have owned. Just sold the car which is 3 months old. I am really disappointed with this model. Extra fancy gaggets does not make a good car.
    It feels very light and especially on the highway. Petrol consumption on the earlier model was better and you feel more confident driving the earlier model than this new model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Honda Fans (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:31 am

I am Honda fan since 8 years ago when I have Honda City Vtec and then last years I bought CRV and last month just get my Accord.
    Was so thrill after reading all the reviews and unfortunately, I felt disappointed.
    CRV do not have alarm and reverse sensor warning sound, that I have to be extra careful while reverse, but 2014 came with reverse censor warning.
    Now, Accord came with GPS and what is the use of GPS when you not even to get to the address entered?? Called customer service and only found out that they only have solutions to update by September.
    I thought the well-known and reputable Honda company will ensure Accord came with useable features that paid for. Now, only I know the GPS is for display only.

Anyone have same experience??

• Adam bin Muhammad Nadzir on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:39 pm

The new Honda Accord is very impressive as the US-Spec
    model.It’s supposed to have Pandorra Internet Radio and
    Sirius XM Satellite Radio as found in the US.