SPIED: F20 BMW 1-Series in Malaysia, 125i M Sport

1er-spy-01

We already know that the F20 BMW 1-Series is coming to Malaysia, thanks to BMW Malaysia’s Society of One teasers on its Facebook page. Now, reader Aiman Abdullah has spotted an undisguised unit of the F20 in Cyberjaya, where BMW’s local headquarters is located. This means that it will be launching very soon.

The blue five-door 1-Series we see here is a 125i M Sport, the most sporty petrol-powered F20 below the full-fat 320 horsepower M135i. M Sport clues include the black kidney grille slats; unique, more aggressive front bumper over Sport Line and Urban Line cars; rear bumper with a diffuser that envelops the license plate; M alloys and the trim exclusive Estoril Blue metallic paint.

The 125i is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine from the N20 family. It makes 218 hp and 310 Nm of torque, which is good for 0 to 100 km/h in 6.5 seconds with the eight-speed automatic gearbox. Certainly competitive against the RM238,888 Mercedes-Benz A250 Sport (208 hp, 350 Nm, 6.6 sec) and RM227,888 Mk7 Volkswagen Golf GTI (220 PS, 350 Nm, 6.5 sec) with Tech pack.

The new BMW 1-Series will be launched soon, and you’ll get full info when we do. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:29 am

Baru terima berita petrol increase, no mood to shop for high power cars! Especially 135i sigh**** the G spoil 85% M’sian mood on Sept Monday Blues

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • Wisdom on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:01 am

I rather buy suprima s and get the savings for fuel & maintenance.
      Enjoy driving here and there, rather than having expensive big cc cars but stay under the porch…

Looks not that different summore. Hatch vs hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 60
      • If you’re stressing yourself about fuel & maintenance, then these cars are obviously outside your capable reach. Which you are right, you should stick to Suprima.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
        • Don worry. He won’t understand the pleasure of driving luxury cars coz the only car he can afford is a Kancil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
          • Wisdom on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Yeahh.. thats the spirit..

• you suck! on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:48 am

and you driving what..? ooo a 1987 Mercedes..? ok.. still a luxury car right.? okay maa..

• ahmad on Sep 03, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Don’t waste our time listening to such people who keep on barking bout this. If you cannot afford it, shut your mouth. If we can afford it, why not reward our self with something enjoyable to ride? I do agree there are a few bimbos who buy BMW for showing off, but please respect those who buy these good cars for driving pleasure… Those who knows how to make full use of the car’s performance. But for me, why suffer ourself save money only for future generations? You prepare for your life so tht you can have money after 10 years, do u know u might die after 5 years?? I am not urging you to splurge like hell, but be wise according to your capability, find the best balance so that you can also enjoy life…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • youarefunny on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:52 am

“wisdom”, what a name when your comment tells otherwise.

if i can afford a 700k car, i would not feel a thing even if RON95 is RM4.00/L.
        But then, I would be using ROn97.

• Wisdom on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Haha..

Spot on. That’s the opposite truth of malaysian. Some rather buy expensive car and cut off their daily expensive just for the sake of showing off and prove to others that ‘im there’..

Thank you for getting the message…

• Clearly you haven’t got enough “wisdom”. Please use your brain and compare actual rich people, you are thinking people with base Vw polos. Do you think that a “wannabe” rich guy driving a 1 series, he is able to pay for his monthly installment and monthly expenses, cant afford GODDAMN PETROL???
            Also, you just said spot on, and then disagreed with his statement. Are you high or something?

• BMW = banyak masuk worksyop. Everyone knows already.

• U think everyone thinks like u? tats y Malaysia wont improve. When ppl drive nice car, u should admire and learn how to earn more and reward ur self. Not be a sour grape and condemn ppl are not rich but wanna show off. There are many rich Malaysian who drive luxury car and change cars like no body business. But on the surface, they may seem like making fast money or doing illegal business. But actually many are legal business owner who wakes up in the morning to work when most Malaysia are sleeping. They work on saturday and some even on sunday. Of coz, u will never see it. and of coz, they are too busy to even bother what ppl comment in paultan.

• Typical Malaysians are funny people..they rather spend on a Mercedes or BMW but stay in a terrace house- i prefer a nice house than a nice car…but if one can afford both , why not?

• you suck! on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:55 am

Agree.. Complaining about how expensive their RM150000 three room apartment but never a word to their so called RM300000 cars.. typical malaysian..

• theanswer on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:24 am

suprima S fuel saving? lol.

• Datuk on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:16 pm

this 135i cannot be compare with suprima s laaa

• aaron on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Unfortunately if you take a closer look at their technical sheets, Proton Suprima S has a Combined Cycle of 9.1L/100KM, whereas these continental turbocharged cars hardly have combined cycle of above 7.0L/100KM. For instance, BMW 328i F30 which has 2.0L turbocharged with 245HP and 350NM have a combined cycle of 6.3L/100KM. So now it’s for you to judge, Proton Suprima S is really that fuel saving?

• aaron on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Unfortunately if you take a closer look at their technical sheets, Proton Suprima S has a Combined Cycle of 9.1L/100KM, whereas these continental turbocharged cars hardly have combined cycle of above 7.0L/100KM. For instance, BMW 328i F30 which has 2.0L turbocharged with 245HP and 350NM have a combined cycle of 6.3L/100KM. So now it’s for you to judge, Proton Suprima S is really that fuel saving?

• not fuel saving.. but cost saving..

• muahaha on Sep 03, 2013 at 7:36 pm

You can say it’s fuel saving too because you can save the price difference to fuel filling. So the cost of fuel is much cheaper in long term. Oh, not that long because the beemer is far more expensive.

Do i need to elaborate the cost saving thing? I think most people know beemer maintenance and spare parts are way expensive. Banyak masuk worksyop. (BMW).

Luxury? Even Suprima S has that bmw oem leather seats. lol

• This is the most ugliest Europe hot hatch! but here is the most beautiful if u compared with those super ugly Suprima and Savvy!

• achong on Sep 03, 2013 at 12:48 pm

better buy mazda mps with 250 over hp..with recognised handling easily can smoked this, merc a also golf gti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • wakaka on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Or the Renault Megane RS Cup, with proper handling.

• its true on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Better buy 3 unit of Proton Suprima S with 3 different color.

You get Lotus handling, 415bhp, 15seat, 12wheel, 18 airbag and 18 speaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • achongaa- dont compare that piece of Jap crap with BMW wei!

• I see the ass is ass lame ass suprima ass.haha..please don say it beautiful

..huhu..

• The backlight is so 90’s…n the boot gap look to big..it look like cannot close properly like certain national sedan……

Hehe…

• Does azlano team design the ass?

• PauKaya on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:54 am

price it well. and it will sell. RWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawa on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Yes to those cannot afford the real 1-series, they can always go buy Suprima….fake 1-series pun fake lah :D

• this car looks sad from front.rear like polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • ABTguy on Sep 03, 2013 at 9:07 am

This car looks sorry from the front, rear is ok.

I really feel sorry for the owners of this 1 series every time I see one. What an ugly face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Avian on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:22 am

The front looks like the pigs in the Angry Bird games. Hahaha!

• gillt on Sep 03, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Shut up! You have to bash Suprima instead. This is BMW you know, proton only fake fake fake!

• Suprima S! Not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • So much torque under the small turbocharged engine!

• Awesome car.

• Looks cute but A-Klasse more handsome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • M135i is a superb car. Test drove it in Germany. But its ugly and it will not be cheap. So i doubt both variants will sell well here in Msia.

As usual, BMWs are always overpriced. At least with a Merc A Class, the price is much more reasonable.

• i guess 125i will be ard 240k while 116i ard 190k, both variant will be a250 and a200 strong competitor. jz my 2cents =)

• Because Merc A class is for cheap AH PEK.

• KillBox1Alpha on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:29 am

An ugly car but will sell any because its a bimmer and by the way,those who can afford this will not be bothered by the RON95 increase,they’re most likely to use RON97…so those complaining Gomen unfair la,spoil mood la..dream on

• foxtrot on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:45 am

i hope this is below 200k
    but oh wait, gahmen butthurt & raise petrol price d
    GST coming soon too

so kayuh basikal better sial

• Gracke on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:53 am

This is the hot hatch which handling and performance are much much more better then the A Class and most important it’s a ‘rear wheel drive’!!!!!! FANTASTIC!

• cosmothegod on Sep 03, 2013 at 12:12 pm

The ugliest BMW in recent times. Wonder what the design team was smoking when they agreed with this. Even a boutique manufacturer from South East Asia can design a better looking 5 door hatch.

• I think this car looks ugly, Merc A-class is much more attractive than this BMW. Performance might be good but i can’t imagine looking at it everyday !

• Black Dog on Sep 03, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Now we can have a shooting brake later for this 1-series against A-class, GTI and Volvo

• csdordor on Sep 03, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Can’t deny it’s a sad looking front there. Looks like a sad pug.

• Guys, its ok if everyone whines about the increment of fuel price coz its ridiculous. but after that, life goes on as u all know how competency can our G be. Not much competent. And ppl please dont come here to leave sick comment like petrol increased, no point driving this car.. I would be pumping RON97 or V-power f i were to drive this car.

• seancorr on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Looks better than the old 1 series but the a class looks better. This baby should best the a class in terms of driving dynamics though. Hope the price is around the same level as the A250 to stay competitive.

• Luqman_HKM on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:09 pm

YES!! YES!!!! This car is EPIC!
    I wonder if it comes with manual

• Furqan on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:24 pm

IMHO, i’m willing to spend up to 245k for the which is about 6k more than the A250 considering this is a RWD car

• drchan on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Hello Audi, when will you launch the all new A3 Sportsback to complete the hot-hatch segment??

• Fahmi on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Its ugly but it is the only rear wheel drive car in its class… Very sad, why cant they make a better design?? Good car let down by design…

• van driver on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:55 pm

dont talk about fuel saving proton,proton dont know how to make a fuel saving car accept the savvy.

• Seriously speaking, even Suprima is better looking at this car. See it is the brand that matters. So ugly yet people still like it because it is a BMW. So imagine if Suprima logo is BMW, people will praise high and low for that car because it is the brand…hahaha

• no matter how good the reviews is, most of them don’t touch the appearance of this car .

All i can say this is the ugliest BMW.

• to me, this baby is hot and sexy! but the price is like a hard rock knocking my head tell me stop dreaming…. better get back to work.

• So many ppl barking and condemning that BMW driver are bimbo who wanna show off, car is ugly and expensive. But mind you, BMW just have to price it right, and u guys will see it sell like hot cake, usually will be driven by young exec and hot milf. LOL.. Many other brand like the so-called “Toyo Lexus” IS, ppl non stop insulting the car. And now, I’ve seen more than 3 otr in a day. M6 grancoupe, stil rmb when ppl talked about how expensive and no one will buy, but one week after tat. I saw one parking outside my office and its white in colour. sexy sial..

• norman on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:27 am

Well my neighbour using the 1 series 316i hatch 1.6 turbo with 137hp/230nm with great fuel saving almost 3 years without much issues albeit the slightly high maintenance.

• Rm 250k but no leather seats?….cmon BMW Malaysia, you can do better!