Honda considering Accord Hybrid assembly in ASEAN

honda accord hybrid

Some brief news regarding the Honda Accord Hybrid, which made its Japanese debut in June. A report last week on how Japanese automakers are looking to increase its luxury brands’ presence in ASEAN markets revealed a bit of interesting news about the car.

The Nikkei report mentioned in passing that Honda is “studying the idea of building a high-end hybrid vehicle in Thailand and Malaysia,” and that it was considering localised production and sales of the Accord Hybrid in the two markets. The automaker already assembles the Jazz Hybrid here.

The Accord Hybrid is powered by a Sport Hybrid Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) system consisting of a 137 hp 2.0 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder Atkinson-cycle engine and an electric CVT enclosing two motors, a 166 hp unit for traction and a 141 hp unit for generation, as well as a lithium-ion battery.

The vehicle has a quoted fuel economy of 30 km per litre on the JC08 cycle, and EV operation is possible up to 100 km/h. In its domestic market, the car is available in EX and LX trim grades – the LX is priced at 3.65 million yen (RM120,000), while the EX goes for 3.9 million yen (RM128,000).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Andrew_sow on Sep 03, 2013 at 12:59 pm

2.0 liters hybrid engine.. So is consider tax free car in Malaysia. Wonder if it come to Malaysia, how will it be pricing? See the Audi A6 hybrid, it even cheaper than it’s 2.0 sibling!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • ABTguy on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:59 pm

The logic of A6 hybrid selling price is quite different from Accord vs Accord hybrid. Whereby A6 2.0 CVT was in CBU form, which comes with very high import + excise duty. So when Euromobil launched the A6 hybrid, they could price the high manufacturing cost A6 hybrid even below its siblings. This is because the tax waived is more then enough to outweight the cost of better 8AT gearbox / MMI + / Sunroof / Li-on hybrid battery.

For the accord the story will be very different as the CDK accord is already taxed at a much lower rate. The saving from the tax exemption might or might not be able to cover the additional cost of manufacturing so many components. So, it may not be even cheaper than the CKD accord. But hopefully it does.

And the gas mileage of 30km/l is quite awesome !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Wisdom on Sep 03, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Why not comparing the estimate price for this Accord Hybrid with the ongoing civic vs civic hybrid pricetag.

Civic hybrid price is in the same bracket with Civic 1.8l.

There u go. The Accord hybrid will be sold @ around RM150K, if the tax exemption continues beyond 2013.

• kadajawa on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Considering how NAP works, that price RM120K-128K surely become RM180K even with zero duty policy….big joke lah NAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • right on brother.
        since we’re already cheap cheap for petrol, diesel, food prices, house and everything else which is dirt cheap compared to our neighbors, it only makes sense to buy cars extra expensive.

right? right…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Sang Saka on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:10 pm

What are you hinting at? are you saying you agree on the pricing structure of our cars in Malaysia? How can you compare, we are paid peanuts compared to our peers in Singapore, Taiwan, Brunei, Thailand so how to afford a 150K car and also pay high income taxes , GST and now also coming with increase in petrol prices for RON95

• odi862 on Sep 03, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Hhmmm……maybe all automakers in Malaysia should offer hybrid option. Preparation for when the fuel price is more expensive in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Toyota should downsize the Camry 2.5 hybrid to 2.0 hybrid to enjoy tax free status and also fight against Accord hybrid.

• wow 30km/L is great

• wiralution on Sep 03, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Just ‘do’ la… don’t ‘consider’ anymore. 30 km per litre is quite cheap. Furthermore, fuel price will never drop. It’ll definitely help to ease the burden of rakyat.

• collin92 on Sep 03, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Hybrid is the best option car in MY right now, because it is cheaper due to the exemption of import duty and excise duty and also save fuel.. But the exemption will be end by December 2013, that’s mean the hybrid car become expensive again.. so after this, people need to pay more to buy a vehicle that save fuel??

• Hybrid is an answer to us all at this very moment. But realistically, would be better if the would have offer a full EV in the future. This would definitely benefit us if only the government would abolish excise duty for all hybrids starting 2014. But, it wouldn’t happen due to the government fare share of the market. Sigh. By right, depreciation value should be set at a lower cost, as most of the rakyat are losing value of their automobile due to the wear and tear item. Oh well, this is the fact that we have to face here in Malaysia.

• Chris on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:51 pm

EV is nice but we need facilities. It’s likely the targeted market for EVs, congested cities, will have the biggest issues in charging the car.

There’s no electric outlet anywhere near my car either at work or home (apartment). Unless Tesco start providing charging service while I shop, I’m out of luck haha.

• Datuk on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:14 pm

if this hybrid version sell lower price than normal accord, its will around rm120k – rm130k? its a same normal civic price. myb it will effect normal civic sale i think

• win-win solution on Sep 03, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Come built in Bolehland instead of Tomyamland, here we got zero tax for hybrid car below 2000cc and LYNAS to supply your lithium cell for your battery.

You may use our high-tech Proton’s plant in Tanjung Malim as show in Discovery Channel’s “How Do They Do It” to built your Accord. And eventually rebadged your Accord to more Rakyat friendly price as Proton Perdana. Then Government will purchase minimun 1,000 unit of Proton Perdana from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Rambler on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Are the two electric motors really THAT powerful? (166hp + 141 hp) Seems odd that both electric motors are more powerful than the 2.0L engine.

• prius also have 2 motors. but only 1 motor is use to drive the car. another 1 is for charging

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Question is, if it is assembled in Malaysia, are they going to strip it down and sell it more expensive like the did to the Jazz Hybrid?

• Domond on Sep 03, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Check this Website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Prius_Plug-in_Hybrid
    Able to charge the hybrid car at home.

• valeo on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:10 pm

The message that I see in this piece of news is that Honda is considering either Thailand or MY for its production facilities. We have seen many car production facilities already set up in our neighbouring countries already. I am sure these countries economies have gained a lot from these set-ups. MY cannot loose an opportunity like this again or else very soon our country go bankrupt and our RM weaker than Thai baht. Ministers, wake up and buat kerja. Make sure we get this contract

• innosera on Sep 03, 2013 at 5:49 pm

But how? our Minister only know to take bride but they never bride others.

• Wah…i oso wan to take many “bride”..but i dont like “bribe”

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Our Ministers take many “brides” and “bribes” as well. They also have many unofficial “brides” as well.

• pissleo on Sep 03, 2013 at 4:32 pm

finally,
    honda gets atkinson cycle hybird….
    no more otto cycle FAKE hybrid…..

Insight, Jazz, that’s just sucks.

• Nap sceptic on Sep 03, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Does it mean that the hybrid exemption is going to end this year?

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:45 pm

We will just have to wait for the budget announcement next month for this piece of news.

Unfortunately, expect them to use the budget as an opportunity to bribe UMNO goons into voting for them in the party elections.

• Whatever on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:23 am

just bring the car into malaysia… considering the economics of today, many people will be looking forward to buy this accord hybrid.

• somehow because of many element , cost , tax , market competition price …. Honda MY will not price the car cheaper despite they could …. so well , sorry to say don’t carry high hope for low price accord

• Ashari Abd Jalil on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

Hybrid is the way to go. The govt should also think on ways to minimise pollution in the urban areas. There should incentives for rakyat to change to hybrid cars. Malaysia will at the same time reduce the trade deficit by reducing fuel import.

• iron man on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:41 am

The car is good but the price eeeemmm! gonna same as stated or else….