Honda Accord launched in Malaysia – from RM140k

Honda-Accord 001

Honda Malaysia officially launched the new Honda Accord this morning in Setia Alam. The ninth-generation Accord enters the D-segment sedan market as a CKD locally-assembled model in three variants – 2.0 VTi, 2.0 VTi-L and the range topping 2.4 VTi-L. The previous two Accords were launched in Malaysia with a V6 option, but there will be no six-pot this time around.

The outgoing Accord (ASEAN gets the same body as North America) had a very large body, and Honda’s surveys pointed them to the path of a smaller footprint – at 4,870 mm, this car is 80 mm shorter overall than the outgoing Accord, and its wheelbase length of 2,775 mm is 25 mm less than before. Coupled to the fact that it’s slightly wider (+5 mm) and lower (-10 mm), the new Accord looks slimmer and more athletic in the metal.

Honda-Accord 05

Despite the smaller exterior dimensions, the new Accord’s cabin is bigger than the already capacious interior of the eighth-gen car, thanks to improved packaging and redesigned seats. Rear legroom is up by 35.5 mm, and the vast boot holds 23 litres more than before – the space on offer is really impressive.

Under the hood, there’s a new powerplant in the form of the 2.4 litre Earth Dreams Technology engine, which makes 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The new DOHC i-VTEC unit replaces the long-serving K24A engine, which made 180 PS at 6,500 rpm and 222 Nm at 4,300 rpm in the previous Accord 2.4. Both max power and torque figures are now made lower in the rev range (300 rpm lower in both cases) and the EDT unit is lighter by 6% and more fuel-efficient by 7%, according to Honda.

Honda-Accord 06

The 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine is a carryover, but it has been tuned to offer up to 10% better fuel-efficiency. Max outputs are almost the same at 155 PS and 190 Nm, which is more (+ 1 Nm) or less (- 1 PS) similar to what the eighth-gen 2.0 made.

Both engines are paired to a five-speed torque converter automatic gearbox. If you’re asking why no CVT, Honda reckons that Malaysians prefer ‘drivability’ over CVT qualities. The ECON Mode button, which optimises fuel consumption when you press it, makes its debut in the Accord.

Honda recognises that the outgoing Accord wasn’t very quiet on the move, and has included Active Noise Control and Active Sound Control systems in addition to a “strong insulation padding package” to improve NVH. Also new is the use of front MacPherson strut suspension in place of double wishbones.

Honda-Accord 009

The steering system is now electric (Motion Adaptive EPS is interlinked with VSA) instead of hydraulic, an expected progression. The front strut + EPS combo saves 15.2 kg and reduces vibrations.

Moving on to tech, this is a much better equipped Accord than the somewhat spartan outgoing car. Standard across the board are LED daytime running lights, auto headlamps, LED rear lights, steering wheel audio controls, two colour screens on the centre stack (smaller one is a touch screen dedicated to audio controls, while the bigger i-MID above shows everything else), dual-zone air con, rear AC vents, front/rear parking sensors and 17-inch wheels (225/50 tyres).

From there, the 2.0 VTi-L adds on keyless entry with push start, cruise control, Bluetooth with steering buttons, black leather seats (beige fabric in the VTi), eight-way powered driver’s seat with lumbar, navigation, DVD player, HDD audio and reverse camera.

Also added is a temperature sensor for the automatic climate control, so that the appropriate blower speed can be maintained to achieve the requested interior temperature. The base model’s dual-zone air con also has an auto function, but the blower speed follows a pre-programmed schedule.

Honda-Accord 010

On to the 2.4L, which is very well stocked. The 2.4 VTi-L further adds on Honda LaneWatch (more of that below), auto-leveling LED headlamps (also a first for Honda in Malaysia), steering paddle shifters, auto dimming rearview mirror, wood grain trim, powered front passenger seat, premium sound system with subwoofer and 18-inch wheels (235/45 tyres).

Honda LaneWatch (LW) displays a visual of the left lane on the big central screen once you flick the indicator. It can also be turned on manually via a button on the right stalk. LW gives the driver an 80-degree view of the left lane (standard wing mirror range is 20 degrees) as far back as 50 metres. The camera is located under the left wing mirror. Why only on one side? It would be strange to look left (where the screen is) while turning right, don’t you think?

Safety wise, the Accord gets Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD and ISOFIX mounts across the board. The airbag count is two for the 2.0L models and four (dual front + side) for the 2.4L.

The new Accord is available in five colours – Modern Steel Metallic, Champagne Frost Pearl, Crystal Black Pearl, Taffeta White and Alabaster Silver Metallic (the first two are new colours). Prices start from RM139,800 for the 2.0 VTi model, rising to RM149,800 for the better equipped 2.0 VTi-L. The range topping 2.4 VTi-L is priced at RM172,800. Prices are OTR with insurance.

The after-sales package includes a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage, plus a new service interval of 10,000 km. Also, there are three Modulo accessory packages available, and the list of what they include are in the gallery below, as well as the pricing.

Click here to read our review of the new Accord, and view more pics. We also had a chat with Masao Nakano, Assistant Large Project Leader of the new Accord, where we dived deeper to fish out more details – click here to read the interview.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tyler Durden on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:49 pm

RM 140K is well worth it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 345 Thumb down 69
    • i agree, honda’s new pricing strategy is superb, it proves that new cars don’t need to be expensive.
      i dont know why 8 idiots disagreed with you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 238 Thumb down 49
      • Absolutely this thing is way nicer than 8th gen!
        More sleeker and masculine

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 14
        • Sorry my Avatar not working today. No idea why its not coming up. This car will sure wipe out the Camry. Camry sales have plummeted so bad because of the VSC issue. Though they are giving now, people cannot forgive UMW for putting their lives at risk and treating human lives like dirt. Malaysians cannot and will not forget that UMW consciously took out the VSC to reap more profits at the expense of more deaths on the road. Now it is not who has a better car between Honda and Toyota. It is a matter of ethics and principle. If a company can put your life at detriment, like what UMW has done, it goes to show they have no ethics at all in the first place. Why buy from a company that is so irresponsible?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 54
      • OMG…nice car with reasonable price…the spec & features better than camry. Well done Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 6
      • I thought i have made a right decision to change from camry to accord but i was wrong. The 2014 accord body parts especially hood is too thin. The door trims similar to saga blm. I cant wait to sell and will not buy a honda again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • nyayanya on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Protonkan dia jadi PRM dengan harga semurah RM89,999.00

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 26
      • Protonkan dia? Sampai bila mau rebadge?
        Proton’s collaboration with Honda is not for platform sharing or rebadging projects, but more on production management such as process improvement, discussion on market competitiveness, something like that.
        Correct me if I’m wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 28
        • ongbek on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Reskin also can, but D segmnet is niche market here, it cannot reach the economies of scale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • The collaboration is solely for pure re-badging of 8th gen Honda Accord as Perdana replacement model for Government use. Hence, it is limited to a couple of thousand units.

Further, the cars will be fully built by Honda in its Malacca plant, and NOT by Proton in S Alam or T Malim plant, with only 4-5 items proposed to be changed – front grille, front & rear bumpers, rims, steering wheel. Hope they remember to replace the Honda emblem on the rear boot too.

Now that Govt has decided to replace Perdana & Inspira with new 9th gen Accord (per letter dated 29 July 2013), Proton has counter proposed to “Malaysianise” the re-badged 8th gen accord by using the Petronas engine, previously rejected by Proton under Tg Mahaleel back then.

If this crazy plan materialise, expect to see some cabinet ministers and dep ministers to be stranded by the highways & by-ways of malaya. Pity that the PM would have to travel in this “mix & match” official car while his wife is ferried around in style!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • hellhole on Sep 06, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Dream on lay

• ARIFFIN on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:16 am

Keep on dreaming…………

• Pontiac on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Mazda 6 better

2.0 got 6 airbags, 6 speed automatic, Daytime running lights, leather seat, 2.0 skyactiv engine with 6-7L/100km FCs, and new young look. I will smoke this accord 2.0 easy like hell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 219 Thumb down 161
      • How much is that M6 2.0? this acccord 2.0 starts from abt 140k. which is quite decent for a full size sedan, but if dont need the size….can get a discounted golf wt a smaller engine (less road tax) but more torque (250nm from 1,500k – 4,500rpm). But for size, this accord quite attractive priced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
        • Storm on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Yes Mazda6 2.0 is more expensive but looking at spec to spec, Mazda 6 is clearly ahead not to mention new skyactiv engine with 6 speed vs same old engine and old 5 speed from Accord. Fuel consumption also way better on the Mazda. Above all Mazda being CBU against CKD Accord. My money is on Mazda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 20
          • guysR on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:52 pm

mazda 6 dashboard is fugly. even mazda3’s is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
          • Steve on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:21 pm

should I be surprised that a more expensive car is more equipped? lol.

• But mazda 6 is not cheap, 2.0 costs 160k on the road. But do agree mazda 6 is a great car in and out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 16
      • Aaron on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:14 pm

I agree the M6 is definitely a great car, however the 2.0 is priced almost 10k higher than this. And also if you compare the dashboard of this Accord and M6, you will notice the difference. The dashboard of the new Accord looks great and luxurious.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 10
        • auditor on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:28 pm

stop using M6 la.. type full lah mazda 6.. m6 kunun! puuiii!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 97
          • pakahabara on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:03 pm

m6 is the code name given in the factory. as it is called m3 for mazda3.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:02 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 167
        • fredo on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:27 pm

bro, this is D-segment, the priority for this segment is surely not the performance alone…i agree Jetta has more torque but it is very plain n not well equipped..
          it doesnt even have an electric powered driver seat adjustment…let alone active headlights and lane watch features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • jockey on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:23 pm

i agree Jetta has more torque but it is very plain n not well equipped..
            ———————————–

Jetta plain?…its got full safety specs including 6 airbags including curtains, ESP,ABS..etc. Safety wise its better….or its more important to have electric seats compared to curtain airbags??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
          • Bob_B78 on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Dear fredo, Jetta has auto headlights n lane watch is for 2.4l accord only. FYI I am a Honda fan. I had a tough time choosing between accord, civic n Jetta. I was not impressed with civic after test drive. Between accord(Not the latest Gen) n Jetta, I choose Jetta because it offer slight better safety feature and was impressed with power. Anyway, road tax is cheaper and FC is acceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • D segment car and you here talking about cucuk here cucuk there. Jetta by the way sales are way below expectation and I m not surprise looking at the ugly interior. Happy cucuk to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Jetta? Good luck to the GB, and its a C Segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
          • sam loo fanclub on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:31 pm

this is 1st time i press like button for sam loo :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Bob_B78 on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:36 am

At this price range, one can consider Jetta. Sure it looks boring, smaller interior space, low RV and probably less reliable. But engine performance outguns 2.0l of Mazda6, Teana, etc
        In fact, it matches 2.5l version of these cars.
        Makes you wonder if 170K+ is well spent on these car if you are into performance, let alone 140K+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • Jetta is only a “c category” car lah bro..
          the same as civic, altis, preve..
          not D category which includes accord, camry..

so for that, Jetta is very very expensive for its kind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
        • Bruce on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:05 pm

If you are going to buy a car, go for one that you like with the features that you are looking for and not going for a car base on RV and may not like it. Anyhow you are definitely going to make a substantial loss when you are buying cars. You will be driving the car for a few years so go for one that you like and enjoy driving rather than going for a car that have a better RV (difference may just be a couple of thousands) and at the end of the day regret buying it. The important thing is keep your car in tip top condition with regular service, you will most probably sell it for a good price.

• AcerMan on Sep 06, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Keep in mind that Mazda’s RV will be a heartache when you decides to change ride. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • bawang on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:24 am

do you think honda accord is better R.V..?stop dreaming..for D segment car..R.V is drop too much.

• Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:53 am

Honda Accord will have much better RV than Mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • CKD Master on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Bad timing for official lunch this new model despite hike in fuel price recently…need to study to more on price which way to high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • If you can own a >140k car I don’t think petrol price will be a concern

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 17
        • Nope, it is still a concern. If not, why people go for expensive prius?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Luqman_HKM on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Well its a D-Segment mid-size car. Soo…for this class, it’s affordable. Rather than a RM90k supermini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • sirim on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Good car overall, but can this complete farce of only giving two airbags at a price tag of 140k and four airbags at 170k stop.
      Why is security such a second nature in Malaysia and why are local distributors and assemblers taking Malaysians for idiots.
      Same goes for the beautiful and pricey SantaFe, but just with two airbags.

How disappointing of Sime Darby and DRB for stripping down essential security features for profit in Malaysia.

I’m outraged.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
      • miris on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 145
      • dugong on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 184
    • salambangi on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Thinking of replacing my 8th-gen Accord with Camry. On the second thought, I think I will still stick to the same model. I don’t think I will join LGE. Too ‘Taukehish’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
    • salambangi on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Thinking of replacing my 8th-gen Accord with the new Camry. On the second thought, I think I would stick with the same brand. Sorry LGE I’m not not joining you. Camry is too ‘taukeish’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • Value for money and it looks great! Camry u ugly bitxh is so expensive and go back to Mars pls!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Saw many units in Bangkok recently.

This will be strong competitor for Camry (this coming from a die hard Toyota fan)

Good Luck to kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Danny on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:27 pm

When are HONDA going to install more AIR BAGS? For a high end model like this, it is a damn shame HONDA Malaysia is cheap about this safety features. Come on, this car in the US and Japan has 8 to 10 airbags! Malaysians lives are cheaper? HONDA, don’t be a cheap bastard and give us more AIR BAGS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Chai KL on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:36 am

I will not buy any type of Honda Cars in future.

• Andrew_sow on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Very well equip.. Even the 2.0 have vsc n navi!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawa on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Better wait next year if rebadged as new Perdana…much cheaper too…muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
      • Rebadge previous gen Accord only la… ahhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Fahmi on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Pro-Tun rebadge Honda Accord for government use only I suppose… Else it will kill current generation’s sales and its prev generation’s RV…

• kadajawi on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Navi can buy from Garmin for RM 300, got more up to date maps somemore.

VSC is a good addition, I agree, but the Jazz Hybrid CBU had VSC plus 6 airbags, and cost way less than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • carlies on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:53 pm

No “wow” feeling at all. 90’s Accord feeling! No more Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 121
    • ya proton preve does not feel like the 90’s at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 29
    • tolesux on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:59 pm

“wow” feeling now all go to Korean car, now Japanese car only have “haih” feeling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 161
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Please go to Hyundai or Kia showroom to buy now. Buy another for the spouse.

Just remember that all your friends and family will give you a funny look at gatherings. That is because they know that you will be hailat not too long after

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Please buy kimchi brand new. Love the look on your face when you sell.

Maybe by next year, I will have taken another 1 acre of land next to my yard now and have 2 extra Hilux to show kimchi owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Well done by Honda accord, this time Toyota Camry will sure tapau very soon !

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 147 Thumb down 140
  • frenzyaustin on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Is the dual screen standard across the range? If it is, 140K isn’t so bad except for dual airbags, well, no car is perfect yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • Along with the Ranger 3.2XL ans the new Santa Fe, I wish they’ve good sacrifice some of thosse new tech for just 2(4 in the case of the base spec) more air bags. But than again considering the increase in spec with no increase in price, the Accord certainly makes a very good alternative over the Mazda 6 for those who wants to be more inconspicuous.

So Camry, lesser spec and still higher price than your long time rival, what are you gonna do?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • neutral on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:58 pm

looks like the barrage of new rivals from peugeot, mazda and other brands forced honda to reconsider the pricing and specs…much better. Meanwhile, UMW is still ignorant. The rear of the new accord is not that nice imo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Critique on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:24 pm

I agree! It’s good to see the Accord with a much improved kit.

Too bad torque figures are not up to the 508’s 240nm. But then again the Accord is NA while the 508 is turbocharged.

I’d get this over the Camry any day! :)

Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • tolesux on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Too bad there alot tasteless car-nerd think Toyota is the greatest automotive car on earth and worship it like god.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
        • Critique on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Well everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

Personally, when I part with my hard earned cash for a D Segment car, I do expect some form of excitement. If not, y bother upgrading? :)

Besides, I can vouch that Toyota service ctr’s are NOT PERFECT! I’ll trade the creature comforts of the svc ctr for ah meng’s workshop cuz the chap understand’s wht my daily drive needs better. :)

Cheers :)

• theanswer on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:59 pm

508 is kinda underrated. but to be safe, this accord is worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 205
  • Peter How on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Looks loaded with tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Looks Accordingly haha. Good entry pricing to opt for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • jammerlee on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:02 pm

no CVT? Untung or Rugi??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • Kent Loh on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Untung,at least is not 4 speed like what Malaysian Camry does.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • untung..definitely

• Steve on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:23 pm

I think it depends, coming from a CVT Honda City I do like the smoothness and fc of it, but when it comes to driving a proper 6 speed auto will definitely be better.

• Berann on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Good Job Honda.. Even the lowest specs come with VSC, dual scree, more space, better millage, Better specs, improved NVH and cheaper by 3K. Although the exterior looks old but still way better than 150k camry with 4 speed & no VSC..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
    • Kent Loh on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:17 pm

But airbag number is 2 instead of 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Camry also 2.0 2 2.5 4. I guess this is the main reason why Honda isn’t eager to put 2 more balloons in. Save it for the facelift =p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 241
    • Kent Loh on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I prefer the 2014 facelift version,more gorgeous looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 220
      • Darren on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 199
        • Kiansom on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:49 am

Proton Suprima S is also almost same level as the K3 already…

Btw, Proton dun recall cars… so cars no problem?

• I always wonder, even with the better spec and cheaper Optima K5 in the market, why do I still see more lesser spec and cheaper Hyundai Sonata on the roads?
      I know the reason of you guys buying Kimchi over a respective Sushi, but why more went for the lesser Kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 49
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:48 pm

I would love the look on your face when you sell the K5. It will be more Hailat than Sonata owners coz Kia will typically fetch 10% lower.

Good Luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:55 am

Would love the hailat look on your face when you trade it in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Just be prepared for the Hailat shout when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
    • No doubt the korean car design are way better than japanese car, but come to the engine refinement and smoothness korean car need to be catch up fast.

• Same engine,same gearbox.earth dreams engine no direct injection.hmmm still behind competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Only those who can’t afford for Accord and Camry will say it’s uncle car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 39
    • Colin Wong on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Can’t resist this… I can afford T&H but I still think they are quite uncle :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:49 pm

That grape over there, sour one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • superdriver on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:15 am

Bro Thats like saying only those who can’t afford to buy Lady Gaga’s concert ticket will call her ugly.

Difference between 2.0 leather and 2.0 non leather seats is RM 10K , i dont think this is a good buy.

• shawal on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Hmm… i guess the 2.4 is d way to go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • superdriver on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Just to add , the RM150K version does not include the paddle shift control and LED headlamps.
      The “cheaper” (“only” RM140K) does not include the satelite gps and dvd player. These days even the new RM50K Myvi includes these things and more.

Forget about the airbags and sensors, the basic pasenger power seat is not given to the RM140K version, I guess like a 10 year Kia spectra, the driver has a lever that you pul up an down to adjust the backrest.

As far for looks, the car is not a head turner like the previous models but the price all honda accord owners, lovers and future owners will have to pay for these cars with these limited specs especially the RM140K versions are extreme. Almost like highway robery. I was looking forward to the car but I dont want to be conned too no matter how good the resale value is.Its a sin. I want an awesome car to use for RM140K. RM175K for a car with way better goodies than a RM140-150K version is just discrimination and sterotyping people.Seriously.

• well done honda malaysia, this car is bound to be a hit! and to my surprise, eighth gen accord actually sold less units than seventh gen?? really??

• with the rear lights LED turned on…. the rear doesn’t seem bad at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:49 pm

intresting with new service interval of 10,000 km. save servicing cost and time.

• New? Hahaha.. Honda Japan’s recommendation is 10k. It’s only the idiots here implemented the rule of 5k or warranty void policy.

• hondaman on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:22 pm

agreed, SC asked me to change to full synthetic oil for better performance but still need to service every 5000km. My sis using Viva & her service interval is every 10000km using mineral oil. Honda SC really cekik darah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I really think the design is too close to the outgoing model. Although I think if we were to line them up side by side, one could probably point out the differences. Not starkly different then, perhaps.

Price wise it would seem Honda Malaysia has got it right. The more capacious interior will be welcomed by those used to less accommodating cabins of Accord’s competitors.

As for kit count, it looks really value for money. The blind side camera for the left side is really a plus! I would pay extra for that alone. Airbags? Well, you really can’t fault a manufacturer for their choices can you? Add some side airbags or curtain airbags and the price may be then criticised. To each his own I guess.

This should see the 508, Optima and Sonata lose some sales, but its all good for the consumers. More choices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Well said, but it’s only 2 airbags away, why stop there, even their website page, they photoshopped out the side airbags in the picture, and cosidering the CRV 2.4(a cheaper car) has 6, its really weird. It’s a well spec, decently price car, and its still is competitive in the the much heated up D-segment market. Thou I won’t say the 508, Optima and Sonata will loose some sales, they are also comparable cars and has their respective USP over the Accord. Agreed , there are now more choices in the market now, there is no divine command that say that you absolutely must choose Brand M over brand H.

• kadajawi on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid CBU also 6 airbags, right? But the flagship only has 2 or 4?

If it had 6 for the 2.0, it’d be great value. If it had 6 and cost 150k, still great value. But with 2 airbags… hard to recommend.

• Honda Jazz hybrid is no longer CBU, it’s CKD and there is a significant spec drop on that model including the omission of 4 of those airbags. But the CRV 2.4 and CRZ does get 6 airbags which is strange.

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:50 pm

This would see Sonata and K5 owners more Hailat coz their rotten cabbages will have poorer RV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 8
  • I’m expecting “Thank god i bought K5” “Seeing this and Camry, i didn’t regret that I bought K5” Some sort of those. Man go over a hole and compare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 67
    • sonyman on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:47 pm

at least you smart enough to buy K5, if you bought a Camry, you will like Ai Yo, i should have waited for this one, murah lagi bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:52 pm

If you had bought the Camry, the RV after 1 year will not be 50% of purchase price. It will be at least 80%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
  • Certainly an improvement over the outgoing model in specs and size (and honestly, against most opinion, the looks) with no increase in price. Not all sweet news thou, I really wish they at least ditch some of the equipment for more airbags, like that dual screen infotainment. But its a real strong contender in the D-segment market. Great job Honda Malaysia, but more still can be done.

• i think this is what we call holding punches, test the water 1st. if all the rivals are gearing up for the competition, and the competition has grown so stiff that accord’s sales is affected, then we might see the increment of no of airbags in facelift or even next gen.

malaysians in general don’t really bother about how many airbags you have. granted, most of the cars in malaysia are only equipped with 2 airbags anyway, and it’s not like all the people need 4 airbags, unlike VSC/VSA, which can cause serious danger and harm under certain circumstances if the car is not equipped with it.

• Bye bye camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Eddie on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Just bring in the V6 and euro…

• Nachos on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:05 pm

What’s up with the door interior?? It looks like its half way done?

• QChan on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Yep. Noted that too!

And it doesn’t look good at all! An unkind half-cut, eh?

Overall a decent package and clearly Honda is playing it safe by not veering off too much from its previous generations….

• RoKie on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Yeh, Honda Malaysia ! Max of 4 airbags ! Woot ! When will 6 airbags be offered ? Debutting on the 10th gen ? Can’t wait !! Woot !!!

• Datuk on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:09 pm

not bad for new accord, price and spec given are fair enough i think, just ad another two airbags and it will completely value for money.

• vincent on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:10 pm

It is sad to see Malaysian doesn’t understand the what they are getting for the price they are paying. Even Rm140k sounds like Good deal to them even though they are offered a very low spec car for the price they are paying.

Why can’t they start questioning that they have to pay 10k extra to have 2 more extra airbags? Why can’t Honda give 4 airbags for the 140k version? It is understandable they want to sell slightly higher for the similar spec due to their brand name but not higher price lower spec right?

Malaysian just have to wake up, in USA, even Camry need to offer 10 airbags to secure their sales, if they only offer 4 airbags, I am sure they will take a big hit because American buyers look at the ‘Value’ (not resale value) and safety. Only the consumers can force the car seller to up their spec.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 8
    • Perhaps 6 airbags for next gen accord.

• Darren on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:08 pm

We cant do anything because malaysian are jerk, they see resale value instead of value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
    • Steve on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:47 pm

You hit the nail on the head. I feel offended that Honda dumbed down the Accord for our market. In other countries the specs are so much higher. Whatever happened to the Global car concept? Is Malaysia so stupid that they think by telling us we don’t need CVT and 2 airbags is good enough we will still buy their products?

I have been a Honda fan, always eagerly awaiting the next car launch. But what I have been seeing is disappointing. No wonder VW is winning. VW is not holding back when it comes to specs. They put it all in. Granted, we get charged more for it, but heck, at least we get what the Germans and Americans get. The real price difference is because our eff-ing Government wants to bleed us, not VW.

The Koreans see this as well. Their prices are not low anymore, but they are putting in the best specs they have. So is Ford. So, when will Honda and Toyota wake up? The auto industry is not just Honda and Toyota anymore. At this rate, VW, the Koreans and even the written off Americans will rule the market.

I have enough of waiting to upgrade my current Honda. Going to look elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • kimchi on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 264
    • lol only K5, sonata still 2 airbags no premium sounds system also, 2.0 sonata facelifted i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:57 am

Kimchi is a better buy if and only if you buy it used.

1st owners will definitely hailat, but 2nd/3rd owners will smile

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
  • Gajen on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:18 pm

This Accord is very good compared to Camry. But still not as good as the Mazda 6 and 508 in my opinion.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:54 pm

508? Have your heard about the horror stories of owners? OMG, this car will not even fetch 30% of purchase price after 1 year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 249
        • beruk on Sep 24, 2013 at 4:24 pm

lion,

respect one’s name. don’t make fun of people’s surname!

• Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:29 pm

It’s OK, he made the mistake of buying a sui kwan euro. It will be the last one he would ever buy

• Hi Danny,

Any news from HM on the hybrid Accord 2.0L ? Will it be imported to Malaysia in the near future or has to wait for its CKD program ? On the earth dream 2.4L engine, why is it not equipped with direct injection ?

• Paul Tan on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 412
      • Hi Paul,
        based on your response:

(1) does it mean that the Euro 2 fuels being sold here have prohibited HM from incorporating direct injection (“DI”) into their earth dream engines ? If u check the Honda S’pore website, it seems that the same engine being fitted into the Accords sold over there is also not equipped with DI even though S’pore have better grade fuels !?

(2) if our govt. does extend the import & excise exemptions on hybrid engines below 2000 cc during the 2014 budget to be announced next month, then will HM import the hybrid Accord 2.0L without further delay ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 433 Thumb down 4
      • Why my F30 got direct injection

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Well, after 40,000kms, your direct injection will be choked up so bad that the whole injector assembly and nozzle will need replacement.

Pray to God that it is under warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 30
      • If its fuel issue, why did we have Mazda Skyactiv direct injection? Volvo, VW, BMW etc are all direct injection. Probable their direct injection can’t last and will face reliability issue with our fuel?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
        • Paul Tan on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:38 pm

1. Could be they want to play safe.

2. It could be just a cost thing, since the target consumer will accept normal port injection engine, perhaps save direct injection for the facelift?

Our interview with the project manager kinda hints an answers towards the second possibility actually.

Read it here: http://paultan.org/2013/09/04/interview-new-honda-accord/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 106
  • Now, camry has VSC. Accord coming with 4 airbags, good.

• Hazard on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Don’t the rear lights look like the Mercedes E-Class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • mystvearn on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Annoyingly for 8th gen owners, the new gen is actually cheaper than the model it replaces…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • “Both engines are paired to a five-speed torque converter automatic gearbox. If you’re asking why no CVT, Honda reckons that Malaysians prefer ‘drivability’ over CVT qualities”

Actually, the real reason hongdah downgraded back to normal autobox is because, exactly like the time they did the same for the new city, is because they make sh*t CVTs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Cost saving la.. or else how to price it so low.

• actually CVT model better or worst? Thought ppl trying to avoid CVT normally? Honda accord CVT any difference?

• shawal on Sep 04, 2013 at 2:40 pm

The showgirls looks a bit old
    prolly suits d car’s target audience…
    LED headlamps looks tempting…

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 187
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:59 am

I will be happy, coz there will be more and more Sonara/K5 buyers trading their rotten cabbages in after feeling inferior driver a Korean Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 74
  • Not much fancy design, every look familiar and mature…not bad at all!

• Polo Saga on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Pricing looks attractive, I believe it might boast up the sale of Accord.

• trust me(saw it in Thailand)…go and see the real one instead of photo..its not bad looking at all…at least nicer than camry

• anba DSP on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Kia Optima K5,Hyundai Sonata,Toyota Camry,Honda Accord,Peugeot 508,Mazda 6,Nissan Teana…
    NO MONEY NO TALK.ITS ALL DEPEND ON WE EFFORT OR NOT?
    TAX ARE KILLING MALAYSIANS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:57 pm

But kimchis and sui kwan Euros will depreciate so fast that you wished that you could turn back the clock and get a sushi instead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 103
  • and 4 Star rating for recent ANCAP crash test!

• WATEVER on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:04 pm

BORING LOOK ENOUGH SAY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • kenot on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:05 pm

RM140K for 2.0L base model is very attractive price for D segment. i believe, Honda will try to attract people to buy this accord.

futhermore, spec for base model is not really bad. safety equipment wise. only seat is not leather which is u can can easily upgrade if you have more budget.

• abcdefg on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:07 pm

4 star ANCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • NeoLover on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Why does always the bigger capacity engine get all the maximum features?some people like to enjoy those features as well without having to burn more fuel. especially when fuel price is rocketing high nowadays. but this time Honda played their card right..

• Keris Jawa on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 116
    • pencacaibn on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:47 am

ya, boring.. then why waste ur time to read this post n comment here.. i dont think u can afford for this car, go drive ur saga sv..

• Keris Jawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Well, I have harsher words for Honda actually but I will exercise restrain or I will just degrade Paul’s great blog. But you, Mr. Shallow, is just plain silly.

• keris lawak on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:22 pm

ya ya ya, boring, shallow, silly.. dah agak ape u nk ckp. standard macai mmg mcm tu. puiii..

• Dr Mamak on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:15 pm

It reminds of the previous generation Euro Accord. Taut and athletic. Only the rear lights need more work.

• Are the prices quoted correct? They seem to be from Honda Malaysia website, but I get the feeling only the main page has been updated on Honda Malaysia website all other links are related to previous model?

• azhar on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:41 pm

UMW & toyota still sleeping..more & more people will stay away from your under spec overpriced car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Kamujita on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:44 pm

beauty is in the eye of the beholder; and to me this generation of Honda Accord….. nothing to shout about (wanna to use ‘ugly’ tapi tak sampai hati)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:26 am

Sonata and K5 owners will should out loud the word Hailat when they sell their cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 47
  • gOOsh on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:46 pm

honda ckd???
    thanks… no thanks….

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:12 pm

At 140k, why not purchase Mazda 3, which can outperform this outdated Accord in many ways?

Having said that, this outdated looking Accord is still miles better than the junks coming out of Korea.

Honda has played this right, right pricing, right specs. Just a shame that it is launched too close to Mazda 3 which will outdo Accord in every way possible, bar the sales figures.

Good job to the Japanese carmakers

The sushi is tasting fresh and good again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 312 Thumb down 210
    • michael on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 123
    • mazda-suck on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 112
    • medic on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:36 am

Why you’re heart so black have to insult other car brands?Mazda 3 & Accord is different segment lar..

• teana on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:14 pm

better buy teana…superb car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • sonyman on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:53 pm

er, i selling my teana to get this leh, teana really boring boring drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 3
  • Fahmi on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Undercuts the Camry on price, with better specs… But still not quite the bargain of the segment… By the way, good job Honda!!

• Lpost on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:48 pm

As honda malaysia received R&D tax bracket incentive, the price should be lowered.

• kadajawi on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:52 pm

What is wrong with Honda? Instead of 6 airbags it comes with bling bling rims, electric seats, and other not so important nonsense. Safety features should be included in all specs, the luxury items should be reserved for higher specs then. Airbags can’t be that expensive when overseas A segment cars come with 4 or 6 airbags in the base version.

But as long as Malaysians will buy this they will continue doing it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • Fahmi on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Airbags is compulsory there, not a luxury… That’s why we see some cars with full safety specs (airbags, ABS, ESC, TRC) but very spartan in luxuries, no aircon, bluetooth, not even remote key (just use turn key)…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
    • sonyman on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:54 pm

bro at least they dont increase price like Toyota, yes 4 only, but at least better than Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • wow accord at rm140k
    with this i hope kia will offer rm20k rebate for k5
    k5 should be cheaper than japs car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:58 pm

K5? the early 2012 model now trading in for less than RM60k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 142
  • Pondok Ajip on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 263
    • Colin Wong on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 411
    • Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Good luck when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • RvKing on Sep 16, 2013 at 12:45 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 221
  • omg why the rear lights have to be so boring looking, for this reason alone i would not buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • KameenRider on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:02 am

The shape of the rear light is so similar with mercedes e250

• IMHO, among the Japanese cars,

Mazda 6 > Honda Accord > Nissan Teana > Toyota Camry

New Accord is a big improvement over the previous in all areas except safety.

Although I’d like to warn all prospective buyers of the new Accord to PLEASE WAIT until Proton and Honda announces which Accord they’re gonna rebadge as the new 2014 Perdana. If it’s the outgoing Accord, no problem, but if it’s this new one, then your resale value will drop like a stone. Remember what happened to Lancer owners when Proton announced the Inspira ?

• medic on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:33 am

Highly unlikely Honda will let their new accord be re-badge.It will be 1st in history for them if it’s true.Of course,better wait to eliminate all possibilities,after all this is Msia with ‘Endless Possibilities’

• I drove behind this Accord in Thailand. It doesnt look great but direct rear view not bad…LED arrangment looks neat, much better looking than ugly camry.

• All Proton staff are praising this car for their master. Same people, same style.

• farizY on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:57 am

Looks miles better than the undisputed champion of ugliness, Camry.

• Very worth the price, no sunroof, no memory seats for the top variants. Good job.

• hanssen on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:02 pm

SKYACTIVE VS EARTH DREAMS, I WILL GO SKY…MOREOVER ACTIVE RATHER THAN EARTH THEN ONLY DREAMS

• reyust on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:41 pm

belakang mcm Sonata NF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 46
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:00 am

Please, comparing smelly rotten cabbage with blue fin tuna sushi shows that you have the brains the size if H5N1 virus

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 88
  • walid on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:14 pm

The rear door pull out curtain is suprisingly “kodis”

• I think there will be new 2.0 earthdream engine on it way, maybe this new earthdream engine will use on this 9th accord next facelift.

• Jeff Wong on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:04 pm

most likely will be rebadged by proton as price is lower compared with previous model.

• Keris Jawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Guys, what about Peugeot 508?

• cekodok on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:03 pm

The article above says both vti-l models come with 4 airbags but Honda Malaysia website only states 4 airbags for the 2.4 vti-l model. Could someone clarify?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:13 pm

You’re right, two airbags for the 2.0L models and four for the 2.4L. Corrected.

• PracticalityMentality on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:21 pm

The car look much better in the flesh… The pictures some how makes it look squarer. Interior build quality has really improved. Didn’t get to test drive it though. SA said only available for test drive next Monday.
    Was contemplating 508/Mazda 6/K5/Mark-X/Odyssey RB3/Nissan Teana as they are all withing this price range. Made my decision to go with the Accord after viewing it. With the 5 years unlimited mileage warranty and Honda’s track record for quality ( Besides the occasional hiccups) I know i had a peace of mind driving this car, and the RV isn’t too bad either.

In my humble opinion, Go see the car in the flesh. Touch it, feel it, drive it before making your decision. Buying a car is like falling in love, when you know you’ve met the right one, you will not even hesitate another day :)

P/S I made my booking 2 weeks ago, When i went to finalize the color yesterday SA said that waiting period till delivery was roughly 3-4 weeks. If you hadn’t booked 2 weeks early, it might take up to 2 months. That’s what the SA said, can’t verify how true is that though.

Regards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • MaserratiJKC on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 188
    • Dude, This isn’t about which car SMOKING which car. It’s a tad shallow when all you talk of is about my car can SMOKE your car…

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:02 am

Your K5 will definitely be in smoke if you try to race with the Accord.

You wallet will be hotter than molten lava when you trade the rotten cabbage in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 383 Thumb down 210

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 168
      • Bunga Kubis on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 123
      • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:24 pm

I have had kimchis. Using it for a year feels like a lifetime.

Why? Because of embaressment. To be seen with friends a family driving a kimchi made me feel cheapskate.

That’s why i am using a Camry 2.4V now, and trading kimchis for a living.

Found out that ALL kimchi owners regret buying the car not too long after paying the deposit and 100% of owners regret it 2 weeks after driving it home.

As such, I know that trading kimchis will be very profitable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 322 Thumb down 228
        • fbook on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 148
        • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:09 pm

You are obviously an instinctive kimchi buyer stuck with the rotten cabbage.

Sell it while you can

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 133
        • MaserratiJKC on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 178
        • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Wow, you hacked my bank account?

Stop whispering dixie from your ass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 335 Thumb down 214
          • MaserratiJKC on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 330
          • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Thanks to all the sorhai kimchi owners that buy them new and trade to me at less that 50% of purchase price, my biz is doing very well.

You must obviously be one of those sorhais stuck in the viscious circle of low RV.

Look for me, I give u a lesser hailat price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 332 Thumb down 193
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:02 am

K5 is a car that is worth roughly 10% lower than a Sonata in the trade in market

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 378 Thumb down 243
    • K5 is not a sport car, i own a K5, things i appreciate from it are the safety features and specs given at this 140k price range, i would say accord is catching up this time, very good move from Honda compare to toyota. No bashing and peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Obviously, you are the less smart sorhai for buying the K5.

Smarter sorhais buy the Sonata, which has better RV.

These 2 rotten cabbages are essentially the same car with a different skin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 71
  • Mou Mou Ren on Sep 06, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Nice accord. Anyway, want to see the Saudi Arabia doing Drifting on this NEW accord… huhuhu

• Honda on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:11 pm

compared to US version, Malaysian 2.4 Accord don’t have direct injection, 185hp / 245Nm torque (malaysian accord 175hp/225Nm), 2 position memory, lane departure warning, front collision warning, tyre pressure monitoring system, sunroof, etc.

• Keris Jawa on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Like I said before, Malaysian consumers are the pariah of the autoworld industry :-(

• Jeff Wong on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:20 pm

generally direct injection engine requires RON97… if 2.4 use DI engine, the sales will be affected.

• The Timer on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:09 pm

How does the new Accord fair against VW Passat?

• Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:07 pm

The most obvious is RV. Passat owners also yell hailat when they trade in the sui kwan fella

And the famous DSG tranny that will never fail to fail. This is the worse design in the world, at least Ford is smarter using wet clutch instead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 287 Thumb down 172
  • A few people commented about Honda’s CVT shxtty that’s why they went for conventional auto. Just wanna say the latest CVT on the Accord (in US) is actually very much improved on driveability and reliability. Go read yourselves… Sad to believe in M’sia 5-auto chosen here is due to cost-saving as well as ignorant/uninformed public perception on CVT. I for one will chose the new CVT anytime!
    Still a great car though! I must say when I saw first saw this last year I wasn’t so keen but seems to have a design that slowly grows in me…

• Also, why are we getting the non-direct injection 175hp 2.4L engine! Not the direct injected 185hp? Is ours actually the proper earthdream engine, or just a gimmick name?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • MaserratiJKC on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 194
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:34 pm

I love to eat sushi, its my staple diet.

Kimchi trader using a Camry with 3 Hilux on display.

Good to know that there are still instinctive sorhai buyers out there

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 326 Thumb down 194
        • MaserratiJKC on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 240
        • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Its ok to feel sorry for your wallet.

Suppose sorhais like you will have to learn the hard way.

Its not the end of the road. I am recruiting new salesman, coz more and more kimchi owners are trading in their cabbages.

Send in your CV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 344 Thumb down 196
          • MaserratiJKC on Sep 08, 2013 at 9:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 195
          • sam loo fan on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:41 pm

maseratijkc – why so butthurt??get a life dude

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 20
  • baru booked on Sep 07, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Hi all… no matter what people said… T & H always malaysians choice… n I just booked my Vti-l… tired of my ‘ Lancer wanna be’.. I hope this will not fail me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Your should try used kimchis. Great value for money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 179
  • seyyed on Sep 08, 2013 at 2:59 am

My money is on Mazda 6…you must drive to believe what im saying

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 3
  • baru booked on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:18 am

Yeah… I know.. used to be mazda 6 fan. N my wife really die hard fan for kimchi K5.. but in the end.. the RV wins…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 9:38 am

You are indeed a smart man. Does not matter if its Toyota, Honda, Mitus or Mazda, go for Jap if you want to prevent your wallet from having fever.

However, if your wifey does like the K5, get the used model, coz the 1st owner would have lost an arm and 2 legs within the 1st year

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 437 Thumb down 245
  • baru booked on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:26 am

Hopefully mr. Paul will do some shootout between new mazda 6, accord, camry and teana.. it will be interesting to see who’ s actually the most value for money.. and if possible.. im gonna give my commentto my new ride when I get it.. really cant wait mr. Paul for his professionals review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Yeah. Agree. Please include the passat too as they are in the same price range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
      • Fahmi on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:01 am

I hope for a Japanese 4-sided (T,H,N and M) shootout, but if u want to include Passat, do include 508 also to be fair… But a shootout is tiring to conduct, 2-3 reviewers, many cars, gonna take much time really…. But its a good idea that may help car buyers with money $$$ to spend…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Halo, Pijat and VW selalu baring atas jalan one.

Can compare these Euros with CHina and India cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 26
  • KF Tung on Sep 08, 2013 at 7:49 pm

What extended service interval?
    Honda Japan has always maintain normal service interval of 10,000 km (actually 12,000 km) its only the local service center that insists on severe service interval of 5000 km to improve business.

• David Ng on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:09 am

I’ve argued with my mum to buy the accord over the crv after i had visited the showroom to take a look of it, it is a lot more better than the CrV, but hell, she is my mum, well… Have to go for CRV.

• baru booked on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Dude.. the meter panel is identical to accord.. so u still get the accord meter.. hehe.joking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 21
    • medic on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:45 am

Accord dashboard is made softer material compared to CRV.Accord also has a more modern dashboard design with touch screen.It is a known fact that woman prefer SUV then sedan car.Also mom is always right.

• MaserattiSamSuck on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 182
  • MaserratiJKC on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 234
  • Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:22 pm

When you sell your rotten cabbage, I will give you a price that is so rock bottom that your face will look so hailat that your mother cannot recognize you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 65
  • Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Actually, I am so glad that sorhais like yourselves fall into this trap.

When the selling time comes, I will give you a price that will make your heart miss a beat, your face looking so hailat that your mum can’t recognize you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 57
    • MaserattiSamSuck on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 301
    • Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2013 at 4:12 pm

I only trade used kimchis. And yes, I do need help from UMW Toyota to loan me a few Hilux to arm my showroom for the ever increasing kimchi owners trading in their cars within a year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 17
  • KEITH on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:18 am

O~YA, I book my accord 2.0 already.
    hope it can come asap. chrees ^^

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 17

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 113
    • Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Actually, Accord/Camry/Mazda6 owners are alright.

Its a pity to K5 and Sonata owners. Paying RM140k for a rotten cabbage that will be worth less than RM70k within a year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 70
      • StupidCarl on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 392
    • Haha… didnt know you can judge a persons class by what car they drive… not bad.. very insightful information, Gov use = lower class…
      who really cares what the government servant drives? They drive camry and mercedes too, and higher officials can even drive better cars, so is almost everyone in Malaysia on the road low class? I am really excited to know what kind of high class car you drive dear sir.
      Please do not ever breed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • which one better? kia optima k5 143,888 otr price…with t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Buy used K5 would be the best

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 86
      • MaserratiScukS on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 713
        • maserratiShameLoo on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 321
      • Johan on Sep 19, 2013 at 2:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 261
        • stupidSLoo on Sep 19, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 301
      • Sam Loo on Sep 22, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Trade in price is not equal selling price.

Try trading in a kimchi and you will be shown a Hilux faster than speedy Gonzales.

Used kimchi command a very low trade in price, as the dealer may stand a chance to lose a fortune as well.

Also, kimchis have a poor repo on quality, reliability and durability. That’s why it will never have the RV of Toyota and Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 20
        • maserrattiShameLoo on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 349
          • maserrattiShameLoo on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 275
          • maserrattiShameLoo on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 201
  • Foong on Sep 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

In the US market, the good fuel economy of the Earth Dream DFI engine is a big selling point. Does anybody know what is the fuel consumption of the Malaysian version without DFI?

Is there a test drive review of the cars being planned in Malaysia for the motoring fraternity/critics and when?

I was informed that the 2.4 VTi-L is only available for delivery in Jan/Feb 2014. Is this true?

• Jeff Wong on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:18 am

yes, 2.4 only avail. in Feb. bcos government booked 800 units of 2.4

• Jeff Wong on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:19 am

most likely accord will be rebadged by potong

• Hyundai Fan on Sep 25, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 299
    • Keris Jawa on Sep 25, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Generally, I don’t buy Korean products, but yeah, some of their goods are brilliant and value for money. We use Coway in our house, that’s about it… I like the LG 84″ TV, but have to take up loan to own it… :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 65
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Cars and Electronic and Electrical products are not the same. It apples and oranges here.

For example, Singer was great at making sewing machings. When they ventured into household electricals, they flopped

Another one, Siemens is well known for making Bio Medical equipment, Systems and Controls, High Speed Trains. They used to have mobile handsets, That flopped altogether

Another one, Philips, great Consumer Home Electronics, but flopped at mobile handsets, televisions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
  • maserrattiShameLoo on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 508
    • maserrattiShameLoo on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:03 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 417
      • maserratiShameLoo on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Congratulation loser, you hit lots of Bodoh Thumb down for yourself. Pls continue bodohying. For 1000 bodoh thumb down, you can trade in your old 2.0E for a LG 84″ TV

• Keris Jawa on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Emak saya cakap tak baik cakap orang bodoh, walaupun orang tu sememangnya bangang tahap gaban…

• pondok ajip on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Wow….i got 264 dislikes in my earlier comment for commenting that this Honda Accord still have room to improve in it’s safety aspect. I personally think that we, as a consumer is able to use this type of website as a mean to tell the car maker that our safety must not be taken lightly. A 4 star rating for crash is honestly something that can still be improved upon. If a lot of people keep on accepting mediocre result, the car maker, which in this case Honda, will never learn. I hope that we as a consumer can go hand in hand to make an impact on this.
    Well, I bought a K5 nearly a year ago because it is able to offer me and my family peace of mind due to extremely good safety package…..some food for thoughts…

• lordscorp73 on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Just received the White 2.4L today. Insofar handling and cornering is superb for the car. Comfort is not bad considering it is Honda vs Toyota. I have a Toyota Camry 2.0 at home as well. The gizmos inside is amazing for Japanese car. Michelin Pilot Sport 3 is a let down. A little noisy. Once it is due I will change it for bridgestone or falken. Sound system is not bad. Navi is so so. It comes with build in HDD so you can rip CD to the HDD. Single DVD Player. Love the large LCD Screen for viewing and the small touch screen for basic controls. All in all good package for the price. This will make a dent to the Koreans. Let’s see how the new Nissan Teana (Altima overseas) and the Ford Mondeo Aston Martin lookalike. I am aiming for the Ford Mondeo 2.0L Ecoboost when it comes next year. 240hp and 350nm…

• Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Great choice for you. Its really great that you did not choose K5 or Sonata.

You are indeed a succesful man not taken on by the accessories in kimchis that drives their resale value down even further the more they have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • stupidCarl on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

so what, what do you want to tell here, please explain loser?

• Constante on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:02 am

What’s the latest news about Proton Perdana replacement model? Are they rebadging the Accord? For this new Accord, is 2.0 or 2.4 a better buy/value for money?

• Consumer on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:53 am

I believe we have to recognize that safety comes with a price. I am sure Honda makes cars with a range of safety standards to meet different customer needs. It is not a case of Honda not giving importance to safety. It is more of a case of balancing the price of its cars with consumer acceptance. It is correct to say that if consumers do not buy the new Honda Accord because of inferior safety standards, then Honda will do something about it. However, in doing so, it may increase the cost of the car to the point that it becomes uncompetitive. This would mean that while Honda Accord has 5 stars rating, the cars will not sell well because of pricing. This will not be acceptable to Honda and is an issue that all car manufacturers have to grapple with. In conclusion, there are cars of various degree of safety standards available in the market. It is up to the consumer to decide what his/her priorities are in choosing the right car to purchase. I am not against improving safety except that we have to recognize that increased safety means increased pricing.

• Thomas on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Just buy it and you will have only positive point of view on your own car. Stay neutral to comment. Whatever it is, we all still stupid to buy a car in Malaysia. That’s the fact!!!

• our lives are impt on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:35 am

there is a reason why Europe and us have laws on airbags, coz it saves lives!

pls understand this…

no one wants to be in an accident but if u do end up in one u will wish your Honda accord had at least 6 airbags instead of 2.

lets start thinking and moving ahead with times!

• Richard Foo on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Went for a test drive in a 2.4 Honda Accord. Specs wise, this car is impressive. Driveability is not to my expectations. Fresh from driving an Audi A4 yesterday, I will put my money in an Audi over Honda. 230k with S line body kit and push start, 18 inch rims and B&O sound system sure is a bargain.
    Btw the sound system in the Accord is horrible. Will go for Audi anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
  • Velaithan Atchutha Nair on Dec 02, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I just bought a Honda CRV on early November, 2013 and found it , its really worth for the price. The car is super nice

• ayamas on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:41 am

baik beli rumah lagi baguih daaaa

• Lack of comfort compare to camry..

• ivtec on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:26 pm

my accord vti already almost a year. yea..it less comfort than camry. it just that being an earlier buyer u will be treated as rat lab. n the salesman in honda sg.buloh was so typical selfish salesman

• New Honda Accord Buyer on Apr 22, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Dear Brothers,
    I bought a new Honda Accord and after 3 months the rear light quality became very bad (Frosted and unclear). Honda Malaysia claimed it is not a manufacturer defects and insisted I pay for the replacement. What kind of customer satisfaction and services do you expect from Honda Malaysia to pushed their customers around for their own poor product quality controls? I can only feel disgusted with Honda Malaysia attitudes towards their customers who put their trust in buying their poor quality cars. This is a total nonsense. I hope whoever wishes to buy a Honda, please consider it carefully. I will not recommend this to another friend. I am still awaiting their response in despair and would appreciate any assistance from brothers here to help me get the right person in Honda Malaysia to addressed my problems. I hope more Malaysians are aware of this Honda Malaysia problems in after sales services.

• morgan on May 17, 2015 at 11:51 pm

I have been an Accord fan with my previous cars of 1995,2004 and the 2009 vtil. The present 2014 vtil is the biggest disappointment. The ride is horrendous as it is so bumpy and jittery and the back will sway on uneven surfaces especially on bends. Seriously it is more sensitive than a seismograph. You will feel every ripple on the road surface. I wonder if the harshness is due to the 50 series tyres and the new MacPherson struts? The steering wheel feel is very hard on the palms as if the manufacturer has added sidenafil to its ingredients. This Accord is not a joy to drive. Do take a test drive if you plan to get one. The only positive is the engine which is more responsive to the previous model. Luckily I still have the old model to serve me.

• Ada Chen on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Hi there, i have recently bought a low spec honda accord and i would like to install the GPS/reverse camera. Can you advise me on this? Thank you and best regards.