Interview with Masao Nakano, Assistant Large Project Leader of the all-new ninth-generation Honda Accord

Honda-Accord 0023

By now you’d have read our comprehensive Malaysian launch report of the all-new ninth-generation Honda Accord, as well as a test drive review of the new D-segment contender prior to today’s local reveal. Do check them out if you haven’t already.

Technical details and model specifications aside (all covered extensively in the launch report), there’s more to be known about Honda’s latest Toyota Camry-fighter. For a more in-depth look, Honda Malaysia arranged for us to meet and interview Masao Nakano, Assistant Large Project Leader of the new Honda Accord.

Here’s all you need to know about the new Accord, from the man who’s largely responsible for its overall development process. Read on and check out the full product presentation slides in the gallery below.

Honda_Accord_presentation_ 031

Why has the new Honda Accord been made smaller than before, when going larger is the trend that the rest of the industry is following?

The outgoing Accord was already the biggest Japanese D-segment sedan. While developing the new car, our customer surveys concluded that perhaps the old size was too big. General feedback suggested that the car was not swift enough, and lacked manoeuvrability.

Today, a car’s function has become more defined and specified. Exterior size is not everything anymore, and it has to meet the purpose of its usage. Just like the current Civic and CR-V (both are smaller than their predecessors), the new Accord follows Honda’s formula of “man maximum, machine minimum.” That’s to say that we offer maximum interior space, with the minimum exterior size.

Yet, the reduction is size is carried out without compromising interior space and comfort, both of which have been improved on, in fact.

How has Honda managed to deliver a roomier interior, despite it being encased in a smaller shell?

The seat structure is newly developed to improve interior space. Without jeopardising the quality and comfort of the seats, the thickness has been reduced to gain extra legroom. The seating posture plays a part in this too, as it has been moved back.

Our cars are designed and built for specific purposes, catering to specific needs of a wide demographic. We take serious considerations on the ergonomic comfort of customers from all over the world, to ensure that our cars are suited to all its target markets.

The new Accord looks the same here as it does in the American markets. Why not have more styling differentiation like before?

For the Accord, it has always been almost the same everywhere (looks wise), except for slight changes, which are mostly done because of the need to adhere to regulations of different countries. The main structure is the same, and the practice continues still.

It has to be said that the new model looks very similar to the outgoing one. Some might even mistake it as a facelift, and not an all-new model. It also appears to be styled as more of a comfort-biased executive sedan rather than a sporty one, which Hondas have traditionally been known for. Any comments on this?

We launched the previous-generation Accord in the US and subsequently introduced it to Malaysia. Based on our American and Malaysian customers’ feedback, the Accord is used primarily as a means of transport, and not necessarily as a sporty vehicle.

Their main concerns were luxury, quality and comfort. As such, the new model adds luxury features to the Malaysian market. But, as with our stance regarding the move towards a smaller exterior, we have managed to incorporate these additions without compromising the car’s sporty nature here and in the Asian market.

Honda-Accord 003

On to the engine. The Earth Dreams Technology 2.4 litre mill is not the new direct-injected motor with Idle Stop we’ve seen in Japan last year, which has since then been launched in the US. The transmission we get here is also an older five-speed automatic instead of the EDT CVT gearbox. Why is that?

The 2.4 litre Earth Dreams Technology engine is brand new, designed under our EDT umbrella. The main focus of this new engine is to provide improved fuel efficiency, and yet offer a fun-to-drive experience, while at the same time being friendly to the environment.

It’s much lighter than before – by a significant 6% – and is the main contributor to the new model’s weight loss. Fuel consumption has improved, from 11.5 km/l (8.7 l/100 km) in the outgoing Accord 2.4 to 12.2 km/l (8.2 l/100 km).

We have considered both the use of CVT or auto‘box, but again from our studies, we have found that Malaysians prefer absolute drivability and performance. That is why we have chosen to use the more widely accepted traditional automatic transmission over the CVT here.

Developing powertrains for the US, top priority over in that market is fuel efficiency, and not drivability, hence the use of a CVT there. Honda R&D continues to suit every application, where we study the specific needs of different markets and countries.

Honda_Accord_presentation_ 010

Any plans to introduce the DI 2.4 engine and CVT in our market anytime soon?

Moving forward, if the market changes to reflect the need for it, we will definitely consider introducing the same powertrain and drivetrain package to the Malaysian market too.

Moving on to the 2.0 litre engine. It has been retuned for better fuel consumption. Can you detail the changes made to it, and is there any quantifiable improvement in its fuel economy?

The main structure of the engine is carried over, but the internals have been finely refined to achieve less friction. The fuel-injection ECU settings have been retuned too, as well as the use of a new engine oil and material variation within the motor.

Changes to a lot of areas have resulted in better fuel efficiency, in this case improving the consumption from 11.9 km/l (8.4 l/100 km) to 13.1 km/l (7.7 l/100 km) in the new Accord 2.0.

The current five-speed automatic is seen as sufficient, but wouldn’t a six-speeder (or more) be better in keeping up with the current competition from other car manufacturers?

We are developing a number of new transmissions as well, and hopefully soon, we can bring this to Malaysia too.

Honda-Accord 007

Can you explain the move from the older Accord models’ traditional double-wishbone front suspension setup to the new one’s MacPherson struts?

The main reason why we have chosen the MacPherson strut over a double wishbone setup is to save weight, as the new design saves 15.2 kg over the old one. On top of that, the change also reduces vibration in the car. We understood that by using the MacPherson strut, there would be some areas that could be jeopardised, and we countered that by using electronic power steering (EPS) for all models.

In terms of the cost of the total package, including the EPS, there is not much change. Simply put, the MacPherson strut and EPS is the combination that provides the ultimate results that make it better than the previous double wishbone setup.

One of the outgoing Accord’s major shortcomings is its road noise. What changes have been made to improve this?

The car has improved body rigidity as well as more sound absorbing and blocking material. Together with the standard Active Noise Control (ANC) and Active Sound Control (ASC), we have reduced cabin vibration and noise to now have the quietest cabin in the class.

ANC and ASC will cut off undesirable cabin sounds like vibrations and road noise. Microphones fitted on the rooflining pick up unwanted background noise, and the control unit will then play an inaudible track through the car’s audio system to counteract the said noise.

The system is effective even with the audio unit turned off, given that the engine is active.

Honda_Accord_presentation_ 027

Why is the Honda LaneWatch feature only on one side, and why isn’t it on the ‘overtaking’ (right) side?

It was initially developed to be used on both sides at first. During our test procedures, however, I personally found it to be confusing when applied to the right side, as the camera feed is always displayed on the centre screen, which is located to the driver’s left.

So you’d be looking left at the screen, while attempting to turn right. Confusing, no? As such, we’ve implemented it on the far side only (left, in right-hand drive cars).

Normal blind-spot indicators work on both sides, but overall, our Honda LaneWatch gives a more useful information as there are guide/estimation lines for you to judge the distance more accurately.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Denaihati on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:34 pm

very nice exterior. improved fuel efficiency is a good point now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • why the interior must in beige color? so outdated..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
      • Earthdream engine needs 2.4l to achieve same torque (~200nM) with CFE/turbo campro 1.6l. Shame. It should be enough with 2.0l instead.

Earthdream left only in dream. Don’t compare it with GDI twinscroll or twin turbo or twin chargers like those in 1.6l prince / TSi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Jonathan Lee on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:46 am

Well, at least it doesn’t use 9.1 litres per kilometre just to achieve that figure.

• im pretty sure it’ll be available in black as an option, sedans normally use beige to give the interior a more airy feel. Bmws, mercs, lexus have beige interior so i dont see whats the big deal.

• Chris on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Tbh beige are way classier and more luxurious. Have you seen top end luxury cars like the Panamera? The teana’s interior looks way better than the accord’s,and the dsi’s looks better than the vtec. But of course.. Sure someone say preve better.

• seancorr on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Hmm he didn’t mention about the direct injection and idle start stop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • alldisc on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:50 pm

start-stop function not ideal for our hot weather. naturally it works at night time, but of course there is fewer start-stop incident due to no traffic jams.

• honda on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Nvr ask why give only 2airbag for 2l engine and 4airbag for 2.4l engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • The CVT equipped DI earthdream engine in the US has a rather healthy performance, keeping and sometimes beating the competition. So does our variant actually compare with that, considering that power output is not far different from the US? But It’s good to know that new transmission are being develope and I seriously hope that we see the DI-engine in our market in the time to come. Thou i have to say that Honda should at least be boulder with their design like they did with the FD Civic. Toyota is doing it with Lexus and to some extant, their own cars(thou the end result isn’t much eye pleasing, but its different). The Accord is definitely a step-up over the last unlike its smaller sinling the Civic, and they’ve did a rather good job in keeping with the competition.
    Now about that airbag count……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • fayusoff on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:52 pm

there is no doubt about the performance of the car and also its credibility… the look is smooth and elegant… i really like the car. the modulo version can catch lots of young fans…

• why still no curtain airbag?

• Will Honda be bringing in the Accord Hybrid?

• Kuinosan on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:23 pm

A handsome looking car, especially the model with the Modulo bodykit. Overall packaging rather decent and value for money wise, have gone up rather significantly too. Now if Honda can bring the techs for the US market to M’sia, then I am convinced that Honda have finally woken up and am selling us good value vehicles. Good effort Honda Malaysia!!!

• nice also no use lar..petrol price increase…talk also no use…

• New generation with similar look !!? What ever reason they give, it cannot justified their failure to produce a TOTALLY NEW car. If there’s no more good designer in Japan, please go look elsewhere. Theophilus can give some advice.

• Fahmi on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Suspension change? No issues for me… Its a family car btw… My only gripe is no DI “Earth Dreams” engine and lack of airbags (should be at least 6)… Design wise interior olay, exterior could be better, but not bad… Otherwise good buy for the money…

• Much better looking than the current Accord. The rear end looks less radical.

• Carfan on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Sales will overcome Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:54 pm

since 1999, honda accord lost to camry in terms of sales. every year.

• sonyman on Sep 04, 2013 at 9:15 pm

i got one question for Masao Nakano San, Thank you for the great pricing and fantastic new features of the car. I do really respect the new Honda Accord. It passes the IIHS Small side step, great results.

But why Malaysia 2.4L accord come with only 4 airbag ? Can Explain why ? Can offer 6 airbags a not?

Wishing Honda beat the shit out of Camry.

• but…but…but it got 4 stars in ANCAP safety rating. Even chapalang preve/SS got 5 star

• 5 stars or 4 stars… when hit a truck XXX no more star rating *

• You better say no need safety rating, airbags and other gadgets.

*sarcasm*

• the darkside on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:30 pm

of course la no more star…but when u hit a truck…its the chances of survival that counts

• BS! 5speed auto instead of cvt, macpherson instead of Double wshbone…hahaa..just be honest laa,u wanna cut cost,dont giv some lame,BS excuse~

• Cyberranger on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:38 am

Buy buy buy…this model will becoming Proton Perdana next time…just like Mitsu Lanser was became Inspira last time. Malaysia Boleh…Proton pun boleh!

• This bloody jap’s reply is just bloody, just BS

• D-segment cars can be concluded as below

a)Exterior Handsomeness
    1)Mazda6
    2)Pug508

b)Interior Luxurious
    1)Accord 2.4
    2)Pug508

c)Comprehensive Active & Passive Safety Feature
    1)Mazda6
    2)Pug508
    3)Mondeo
    4)K5

d)Comfortable Drive (low speed)
    1)Camry
    2)Teana

e)Fast & Steady
    1)Mondeo
    2)Passat
    3)Pug508

f)Super Fast
    1)Mondeo
    2)Passat

g)Feul Saving
    1)Mazda6

h)Balance Chassis & Suspension
    1)Mazda6
    2)Mondeo

i)Dynamic Movement
    1)Mondeo
    2)Pug508

j)Resale Value
    1)Accord
    2)Camry

k)Full load of gadget
    1)K5
    2)Pug508

l)Passenger Preference
    1)Teana
    2)Camry

m)Silence
    1)Teana
    2)Mazda6

n)Engine Technology
    1)Mondeo
    2)Mazda6

o)Driving Enjoyment
    1)Mondeo
    2)Pug508

p)High Price & Overvalue
    1)Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Your forgot to mention the sales chart for D-segment below RM200K sedans, which should be as follows:

(1) Honda Accord
      (2) Toyota Camry

The rest of them. including Mazda 6 & Peugeot 508, are too far behind & not worth mentioning !!

• ayamxxx on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:28 am

proton should hired this guy and improve suprima ass cfe engine

• heybadigol on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:42 am

I like how he avoids answering why no DI on the Earth Dreams engine. Hehe. But I do hope that the DI engine comes here eventually. Looks like an additional 15hp and around 20nm of torque more for the DI engine, compared to non-DI. But at least, it wont have the irritating clackety sound of a DI engine.

• check local forum for accord got switch at the side of front passenger seat for person sitting at the back can adjust the front seat, howcome at showroom this features does not have for the 2.4?

• Paul Tan on Sep 08, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Those photos you saw in forums are probably from the Thailand test drive.

• Thanks Paul, loan already approved today for 2.4 VTi-L…who knows will get that features and also rear Audio Control upon receiving my Accord….

• Foong on Sep 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm

In the US market, the good fuel economy of the Earth Dream DFI engine is a big selling point. Does anybody know what is the fuel consumption of the Malaysian version without DFI?

Is there a test drive review of the cars being planned in Malaysia for the motoring fraternity/critics and when?

I was informed that the 2.4 VTi-L is only available for delivery in Jan/Feb 2014. Is this true?

• Thomas on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Dear guys,

Any comment to decide on Camry 2.0G vs Accord 2.0 VTi-L?

Thanks!

• hondacrazy on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:08 pm

honda said US people demand fuel eff while malaysian prefer driveability??you go tell honda to sell accord hybrid in malaysia and i can assure you the sales will jumped up than this car!!