RON 97 to go up by 15 sen to RM2.85 per litre tonight

RON 97 petrol

The price of RON 97 petrol will be increased by 15 sen effective midnight tonight, bringing the price of the unregulated premium fuel to RM2.85 per litre.

This increase comes just two days after it was announced that RON 95 and diesel would be hiked to RM2.10 per litre and RM2.00 per litre respectively from September 3. No change has been announced so far for LPG.

According to The Malay Mail Online, Petrol Dealers Association Malaysia (PDAM) president Datuk Hashim Othman said the price increase was due to various factors, including the impending US strike on Syria and the poor performance of the Malaysian Ringgit’s exchange rate.

The last time RON 97’s pricing was revised was on May 23 this year, where the per litre price was reduced by 20 sen from RM2.90 per litre to RM2.70 per litre.

Ron95_diesel_up_3

Reports earlier today revealed that the government was mulling reintroducing the lower octane RON 92 fuel – which was replaced by RON 95 in 2009 – if it is viable for local vehicles, but no decision had been made yet as the proposal was still in early stages and still undergoing studies.

We do not know at this point whether RON 92, if it’s indeed reintroduced, will replace RON 95 or RON 97. Three different fuel grades would be hard to maintain, as a lot of existing petrol stations do not have enough tanks to support that many variations of fuel grades.

If the octane rating choices are switched back to RON 92 and RON 97, a lot of users might have to upgrade from RON 95 to the more expensive RON 97, and RON 97 availability is already an issue now. If the fuel grade choices are set to RON 92 and RON 95, some performance car owners might possibly face problems with reduced engine performance at best, or worse, engine issues in the long run.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Rumour said bn planning to bring back ron92. Is that true? Can our macampro support that fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • Increase our salary and economy first lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
      • Floating Price on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I thought that there is no subsidy for RON97 anymore so no subsidy rationalization here.

The oil price is currently on the reducing trend isn’t it? What was the reason behind this RON97 price increase again?

Oh ya, the fuel was still delivered by lorries which are using diesel, so they need to compensate for the increased transportation cost isn’t it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 11
        • Wait until RON95 oso no subsidy and you’re left with RON92 that you can’t use. Undilah Barang Naik!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 21
          • kadajawi on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Malaysians are so stupid. Government ask to eat berak, we eat berak. Don’t know how to use our brain to demand for our rights. After 1 month, all will be forgotten and life resumes normal. Poorer. But the politicians and cronies will be buying their Ferrari and Porsches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 129
          • I sense a lack of knowledge and obvious naivety…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
          • KAMARUL ADLAN on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:54 pm

MANA ADA SUBSIDI, ONLY STUPID GOVERNMENT KATA ADA SUBSIDI SEBAB ADA ALASAN NAK NAIK HARGA PETROL DAN NAK TIPU RAKYAT. MALAYSIA HAD 80 OIL RIGS ( 50 FOR CRUDE OIL AND 30 FOR NATURAL GAS), AND BECAME THE LARGEST OIL PRODUCER AND EXPORTER FOR ASIA PACIFIC REGION. MALAYSIA DO NOT IMPORT A SINGLE DROP OF CRUDE OIL SO WHY MUST WE COMPARE WITH OTHER COUNTRIES SUCH AS THAILAND AND SINGAPORE WHEREBY WE EXPORT TO THEM. STUPID BN. THIS NATURAL RESOURCES IS NOT BELONG TO PETRONAS BUT BELONG TO RAKYAT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
          • Low Budget on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Like your last sentence. T.D. Mahathir also comment that the British pay RM7 for a liter of petrol, may be the Gomen can workout something to make us earn as much as the British.

• hellhole on Sep 06, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I like Meg’s comment on naivety. Not sure if he is naive himself. About time for the govt to reduce all forms of subsidy and reduce the budget deficit. Otherwise the Moody ratings on the country will continue to diminish and the currency will continue to slide, resulting in even more subsidy. No one is forcing you to drive a car, nobody is stopping you from getting a better paying job in Singapore or the US (if you are really that good). The freaking income tax rate is damned bloody high and the policy of giving a fish everyday to subsidy seekers should be stopped

• You missed my point (well it wasn’t clear anyway). Subsidy is by no means a long term strategy, eventually (now or later) it should be REVISED, REDUCED, STOPPED. But putting the burden on our shoulders to surmount the nation’s deficit while the rich can remain more extravagant and our leaders can continue spending our money lavishly & never even having to admit it.. To believe in that move as a citizen? That’s real naive. I’d rather say stupid too.

• alldisc on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:16 am

this time increase because to create the distance after many rakyat realised kena tipu already (how come 97 is cheaper than 95?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:21 pm

What?!
      Malaysian is hoping for Euro 5 diesel, Ron98 clean petrol but going step backward offering us lower quality petrol. WTF is happening??
      I doubting Conti’s latest Turbo Direct Injection will work in Malaysia due to 3rd world country fuel quality?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 20
    • hellhole on Sep 06, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Obviously barang naik la. As long as you are skilled enough to start selling your services to a global audience rather then hope for Malaysian employers to give you better salary, there is no reason why you should be remain with a low salary

• but the root of the problem is CORRUPTION and inability the of leaders.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 238 Thumb down 13
    • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:37 am

Something all the pro-govt idiots are ignoring. Like all these savings by govt will actually benefit the country? They saved 4.4billion the last time, what happened with that?

• jaka durjana on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:27 am

plus the disability of voters to think out of their pockets !

• KepalaPening on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Then it makes even less sense.

The govt will save on subsidy money only if they reduce the subsidy and the world-market price is stable

if the price of petrol in the world-market goes up which indirectly increases the price of RON97 , then the govt did not gain anything from the increase of RON 95 to RM2.10 at all !

The govt should have called it “maintaining subsidy levels” instead of “subsidy reduction” . This is considered poor Public Relations as they are angering the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 15
    • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:39 am

The problem here is the prices in the global market are on a downtrend. So what “maintaining subsidy levels” here are we talking about?

• Lemonguy on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Sigh…oil producer country but their citizens have to use low grade petrol…. Sad to say that such a full of resources country manage by wrong ppl….sob sob sob…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 7
    • Wei !! Sudah kasih Psy and BR1M, masa itu you ambil, sekarang cakap lain pula…CIS….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 57
      • Hadi75 on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:48 am

You think Psy and BRIM can feed you the whole year ke????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • wuhoo.... on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:49 am

*faint…pls dont tell me if u layak to get BR1M from the gov , u wont apply / take it?

• Oil man on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:32 pm

My car can feed 95…but immediately felt difficult to reach optimum speed even after long run. Another problem, my engine check light will started to show its colour. When i pump back 97 then everything will turn back to normal, car move smooth and most importance the engine check light dissapeared. Maybe with 92, technically my car will behave more worse than it was now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • frenzyaustin on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:27 pm

What car you drive?

• What car you drive? My ActiveHybrid 3, which is essentially a 335i, recommended a RON 95. Try both, 97 and 95. Not much of a different tbh.

The car can take RON 91-98 fyi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • How long did you try each fuel? 1 day?

Yes the car can take RON91 to 98, but taking 91 will reduce overall end power because it needs to compensate the knocking effect (early combustion) of ron91. Your power will have much more high end power 3.5krpm+ because the fuel can tahan a higher air to fuel ratio.

• Yeah, I’m aware off the engine knocking effect of the lower octane fuels.

FYI, I alternate the fuels for one week use. And like I said, not much of a different between 95 and 97. There is a different on power output, but not that noticeable unless you really looking for it.

• I think it’s not noticeable because you are driving a hybrid. Which basically means the low end power lost due to knocking is compensated by the electric motor, and hence it’s not much noticeable. Another reason might be the fact that your car’s engine is big in nature, it can pull no matter which can of fuel it uses. I think if you were to put the test on a 1.0L ecoboost ford or the polo, there should be some difference in acceleration (sluggishness but still the car will work la).

So let’s say we go down a level to ron92, what will happen?

• alldisc on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:28 pm

knocking will takes place at high speed, when engine temp and combustion temp is high.

for a 3,000cc car at 110kmh engine speed is about 1,500-1,700rpm.

at that speed, no pre-ignition will happen. very minimum.

• time to recover BR1M money disbursed earlier kaw kaw..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
  • Arcee on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Guys, try going diesel. With each price increase, the effect on u wont be much. I am using a diesel sedan. City drive with 80% jam returns minimum 600km with 55L of fuel. Outstation returns min 800km for d same amount of fuel. If i drive sedately, i can reach 1100km. These are not manufacturer’s claims but actual mileage for d last 3 years. I now refuel once every 10 days. Diesel cars today are more sophisticated than before. With d added torque (above 400nm), it is definitely more fun to drive. My only grouse is tat our Government is not willing to introduce euro 4 diesel yet

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Problem is there lack of diesel choice under 100K.
      Only way to go is Hybrid, but do you think G will good enough extend tax redemption which due this year end?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Arcee on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:45 pm

True & i can think of only 1 circa rm100k. However, if our diesel is Euro 4 or better, i am sure our options will be more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • All the diesel benefits will not be happening when you realize all petrol stations around you run out of quota selling you the wonderful diesel!

• Arcee on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:40 am

There are plenty of options that our Government can go but if the subsidy does remain, with the type of mileage you get, you will survive. Have no problems getting diesel in PJ/KL for the last 3 years. Even during month end.

If our government chooses to remove the subsidy, then all the diesel hoarding will not happen. Of course, this should come with the reduction of car taxes for the RAKYAT to benefit.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:43 am

Problems may start surfacing after 3 years and you will need to service your diesel injectors regularly to avoid engine failure.

• Arcee on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:18 am

My PDF is removed by manufacturer. Many friends with similar car have reached beyond 160,000km without problems. Some touching 200,000 km soon. Still going strong. I believe the manufacturer retune d car to suit our euro 2 diesel. So its been a good 3 1/2 years so far

• living hell… oi boleh tukar org dlm kerajaan tak?~!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Hadi75 on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:50 am

Caaannnnn….but needs to wait until PRU14 la…

• wuhoo.... on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:52 am

by that time, the same old shitty promises frm GE13 will be heard again and again….and again… Janji hanya tinggal janji….janjilah sangat~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Hadi75 on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:49 pm

What to do…..GE13 already past..so need to wait 5 more years la…..47% macai voted them…now those 47% cannot bising la…..

• Chris on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:21 pm

RON92 and 95 for us in the future? What? Are we going to have Pertamax and Pertamax Plus like in Indonesia?

• BeemerFreak on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Damn our gov is raising the price of fuel without considering the quality of fuel. While others are paying market, they are paying for at least euro 4 grade or above,

Dear Paul, any idea what has become of the plan to introduce Euro 4M petrol and diesel?

• Denaihati on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:39 pm

think for alternative transport. also i hope hybrid price car more cheaper. introducing more electric car with reasonable price and so on…

• amokio on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Hybrid cars cheaper, and at the same time,they will announce electric rates higher…

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:46 am

Good point, something else here that EV fanatics forget is that EV cars do not have long range and takes a long time to charge without the right charging station. The Leaf for example is a nice concept but not practical without heavy subsidies, which our govt is trying to avoid?

• Arcee on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:35 am

Think diesel hybrid

• Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:41 am

Must find way to switch to bicycle. Capati powered.

• If only cars could be powered by promises by political parties, our cars would have infinite power. Capati power!

• Brainless Gov!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:13 am

It sounds like a cover up when people discovered that RON95 actually cost more at RM 2.73 (RM 2.10 + RM0.63 subsidized) than RON97 at RM 2.70, now they jack the latter up to RM 2.85…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
  • inderaloka on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:15 am

Hahaha!!! 1Malaysia padan muka!!! Pangkahlah BN lagi! I Love PM! Hahaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
  • MrPoppyplants on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:41 am

Nice government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • OMG RON 97 to 95 then maybe 92 in the future? U kidding me.? Please dont make this happen.

• jacksonkua on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:40 am

PRU 13 give an opportunity to us for “decide and change”,

Today, we still have opportunity to raise our comment HERE,

But not to the extend where we can “decide and change”….

5 years down everyone will forgotten and being attracted by RM500…AGAIN….

This cycle will never end as long as we are still sleeping!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
    • uncertain buyer on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:32 am

your comment must be “print screen” and put on everyone walls on FB in 5 years when GE is coming! to remind the rakyat

• Sorchai on Sep 05, 2013 at 5:08 am

I should have kept my mouth shut.

I was just kidding two days ago that with the new “Unlimited Possibilities” petrol may go up the next day after 20 sen for RON95.

• Green on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:16 am

Can do this::

1. Intro Ron 92 at ULU area..
    can consider replace Ron97 with Ron92, only at rural area…

2. While for city.
    – Ron95 and Ron 97 is important..
    – Ron 92 should be launched too.
    -Ron 92 at another lower price, same subsidy value… but it have to be lead FREE!

Probably like that:
    1. Ron 92 = RM1.75
    2. Ron 95 = RM2.10
    3. Ron 97 = RM2.85

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:12 am

Hope they do it like Taiwan. 92/95/98.

92 basic subsidized petrol, just to keep your motor running;

95 for everyone, with quality additives for fuel save/clean engine/whatever, controlled pricing with some subsidy (unless they remove car tax, then they can go without subsidy);

98+ “Premium” petrol, for high end cars only, let Petrol companies go all out. Oxygenated race fuel anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • mastermind on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:14 pm

at border area RON92 at rural area ron98 in all town use RON88 better…enough ready….

RURAL peninsular SABAH SARAWAK RON 98 RM1.50 RON88 in town area 2.50….hahaha…..
      what pr supporter will thinking….blaming again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 52
  • it is better to jack up the petrol to RM5 per litre…lets all people walks only…no cars being sold, no toll collection, no tax revenue…no AAES collection…let them think…we shall make ONE DAY without car driving …all walks and stop from doing anything…see how powerful people are !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Joe Radzif on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:08 am

Terima kasih kepada pengundi BN…

Dulu orang troll sebab RON95+Subsidi lagi mahal dari RON97. So sudah adjust, dah tak leh troll…

FTG!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Well.. another example of our incompetent government. Now is the time to korek bak money as much as they can. they realized they wont be in power for long..

• munkay on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:13 am

whow they are definitely raising the bar for RON95 to follow!

• Another political agenda.. They are planning to introduce RON 92. C’mon who the hell will use RON 92 nowadays? Therefore, ppl will either pump back RON 95 or RON 97. In the end, Government is laughing and collecting money while all rakyat suffer due to high fuel price. And dont even bother to hope for lower car price. Anything in regards of lowering cost from the G, listen, syok sendiri awhile then continue with life as it will never come true.

• Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:05 am

Wrong. A lot of people around the world still uses RON92, even in 1st world country. Even our neighbours uses RON92.

A lot of cars and (Honda) bikes made in Thailand actually uses RON91 and above (eg. CBR250R) because that’s what they use, and it’s exported to the whole world.

That said, octane rating is one thing, quality of petrol is another. I want Germany quality petrol, but alas we’re just another 3rd world country, or, “newly industrialized country” according to Wikipedia.

• Who uses RON 92 nowadays? Believe it or not in the USA, Australia and New Zealand RON 91-92 is “regular” fuel for them, not many would opt for the costlier RON 95 or 98…heck japan “regular” fuel is RON 90 and most of our car imports are from Japan..

most cars in Malaysia can accept RON 92 (i’m saying most here, not all) but as usual, the Malaysian mentality is when it’s low grade, it’s not good even in situations where it doesn’t make any difference…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • The imported cars are RON92 unleaded or leaded? The rumored new fuel is 92 leaded..

• true true on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:10 am

I have been hearing car price reduction since 1998. Still waiting for it to happen. And its ridiculous that we pay higher price for a Proton in malaysia than if we were to buy it in uk or Australia.

• Guys, C’mon. Even when i first got my F10. The SA told me Thailand ppl is pumping RON91. Ok, i agreed. But heck. Other countries’ RON 91-92 is better than our own RON 95. I think we need at least RON 97 to beat their quality. Its not RON, Its the quality of the petrol. So yeah. Imagine how good can our “godly” RON 92 can be..

• how you measure the fuel quality? have you tested RON91 in Thailand?

• Big Deal on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:19 am

Japan uses sulphur-free RON90.

• motorhead on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:50 am

Sekarang puas hati? Inilah akibat bising2 RON95 lebih mahal & bla bla… Banyak sangat tukang analisis politik dalam negara ni. Padan muka.. Puas hati la kamu sekarang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Puas hati, sebab telah membuktikan BN yang kamu sembah tu such a crap!

• akula on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:02 am

better maintain RON 95 and RON 97 for petrol, but for diesel introduce 1 more grade EURO 4++ for new high end engine and current EURO 2 for industrial- cheapo truck bus, fisherman boat ect

• Murano on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:07 am

Gov mentioned we can submit complaint if food and beverage increase. Today bought mihun mee increase 20sen, drinks increase 10sen. Do you guys think i should file a complaint against the kopi shop?

• wuhoo.... on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:58 am

complaint pun apa gunanya…will thy take action or treat it as KIV?? :)

• jaka durjana on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:05 am

KIV ? Are you kidding ! It’s like complaining to your parents. They do not even bother.

• Tau ceti on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:25 am

Malaysia is backwards nation:

Moving into smaller house
    driving smaller cars
    Now RON92!

• I guess you can call Japan a backwards nation as well…since they have to stay in smaller house in the city and love driving K cars (maybe add Europe in the list as well since they seems to love small hatchbacks)

And also the US, NZ and Australia should fit your list as backwards nations since their “regular” fuel is RON 91-92…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • wuhoo.... on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:56 am

but u must see their fuel quality…euro 4? or like us?? euro2M??… :)

• Whatever on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:25 am

Yeah except that their fuel quality for RON91-92 is higher than even our RON 95. Fuel quality is not all about the octane level alone, the quality and types of additives also is very important. We call the oil before the addition of additives as ‘base fuel’. In Malaysia this is almost the same for all operators (shell,petronas, esso) but what differentiates them is the exclusive additives unique to each of the company.

Get your knowledge enhanced first man before making such a dull and misleading feedback.

• It’s funny that the RON arguement now goes into fuel quality….those Euro standards are emission standards, where the refineries need to refine their products to ensure lower tailpipe emission (CO2, Sulphur etc)….

it’s all in the refining process and created to help save the environment from polution and in the case of diesel fuel, it gets the added benefit of enhance efficiency and get better mileage but more costly to produce (with the low sulphur content) which is why diesel is more expensive than Petrol in the USA and Australia…

oh wait, what does it have to do with RON 92 again? emission standards are always revised to ensure lower emissions but when it comes to RON, it’s always been that way so which part of my statement is dull and misleading again? love to hear the feedback from a person with “enhanced knowledge” like you…

• Whatever on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Oh man which part do I mention about ‘fuel quality’ ? Do you think additives is just for the quality alone ? A high level of octane will give the car more power per liter but a good additives will help the oil burns more efficiently. Ever heard about only a small portion of the fuel being burnt will translates to energy ? Thus a RON91-92 with a good additives will give you power and efficiency as good if not better than a RON 95 with inferior additives. I just don’t want you to give a wrong idea of other countries RON91-92 are inferior than our RON95 just because of the octane level, that we should follow them by using RON91-92 as the base fuel.

I don’t want to get started on the level of technology and instruments on refineries and process as this is not a valid forum, although its part of my line of work.

• wuhoo.... on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:54 am

funny thing is..they are the one who phase our RON 92…hay…funny right? macam tarik tali only,,,

• Dun like price hike on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:46 am

I m wondering if RON92 introduce, sure ALL PROTON will stop at roadside.

Proton engine can’t even support RON92 and is a bad move to introduce back to RON92.

This case like our country going from Modern era to Prehistoric era.

Wondering when can v complete with other country.

Dun see any light for Wawasan 2020 to achieve.
    Sad

• gazillion on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:22 am

“Proton engine can’t even support RON92”

This. Source please or you are just a kiddo.

• TeRIma Kasiii u ucapkan pada mu….

• zainal abidin on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:50 am

WOW! RON92……Bring back my dad’s DATSUN 120Y and 160J SSS. The last time i remember using RON92 was in my HONDA NSR150RR refilling somewhere in PLUS AYER KEROH highway due to the better grade finished. The bike went from being able to top 185km/h down to a measly 160km/h.

• farizY on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:56 am

The rational behind this is because the government sudah kantoi!! Currently, ron95 minus the subsidy stands at RM2.73 per litre, while ron97 is cheaper at RM2.70 per litre, to cover malu, they increase the price by 15 cents. LOL! What a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Whatever on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:19 am

I think the fuel price increase cause is more on the poor performance of ringgit. This is scary indeed as if it continues all prices of goods and stuffs will also increase, including electronics. Nowadays at least some part if not all are imported. Malaysia seems to be going downhill these days, as the result of inefficient governance by the government.

• Inefficient and of coz Incompetent. they only know how to party, curse and dont tell me they practice Islam in a traditional way.

• heybadigol on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:29 am

Looking at this from an environmental view, I think there is a silver lining. This will push Malaysians to care/appreciate more for things that are scarce like petrol/diesel. Lets face it, fuel prices will be in the long term, going up as its a limited commodity. We are finishing them faster than we can create them. Eventually, its gonna be RM20/litre or some crazy figure. We need to reduce dependance on fuel and start looking at alternative resources. Hybrids are a good start, but even they still use petrol, albeit less than a petrol’d engine. Full electric cars to me dont quite work. Although they themselves are clean, the electricity needed to power them may not be obtained from a green/clean source. Some carmakers had dabbled with hydrogen engines, whose only emission is H20, but they are rather volatile. Considering that Malaysia is a hot tropical country, there does not seem enough effort done to obtain energy from mother nature herself, the sun. Think about it, its bloody free. No need to pay a single sen, and yet we are not exploiting this. Of course solar cell panles are ridiculously expensive at the moment, but thats because they are rare. If more people generate their own electricity at home via solar power (saw some add in the papers last week about them), it can provide clean energy source. This clean source can then be used to power electric cars or hybrid cars. Anyways, it’ll be ages before this happens, though I would be happy to be proven wrong.

• No matter hw we argue.. In the end we will still have to pump low quality petrol be it Ron 97 or V-power RON 98. How irony is that our crude oil is one of the best in the world and Petronas has recently uncovered a huge oil reserve. But of coz, ppl on top covered it so that only they will share the pie. And to compensate, we all are using imported desert grade crude oil. And when they have the technology, they wont even bother to improve diesel to Euro4M. At least we can all buy diesel car and its damn efficient compared to other FI engine.

• 16 Sep …all walks…no cars day..no motors day…silent day

Vote if you joins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Gua Punya Rasa on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:21 pm

No Cars Day. Lets do it!!!

• Gua Punya Rasa on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:26 pm

ok la, petrol, diesel price increase.. so now reduce car price!!! reduce roadtax!!! no need BRIM, create jobs! create businesses! ok tak?

• Hari Malaysia we make it hari bisu rakyat Malaysia for the objection of high rising cost. We wont be like some hooligans to create havoc. We will just make it a peaceful protest. if peaceful protest oso kena kantoi by polis, then this G is really hopeless to the max.

• Hadi75 on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Singapore diesel cost u S$1.67 per litre…..euro4 spec atleast…..if you compare 1 to 1 they are cheaper than our euro2m spec diesel….and if you fillup you’ll get 5% discount if cash or 10% if using card….my own experience filling up at shell there….

• Shawn on Sep 13, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Let’s add a little more salt to that. Earnings buck to buck when compared to here is a case of no contest.

• kemosabe on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Its not a matter of prices of goods going up. It will go up for sure.
    Its all about our affordability, which is directly related to our level of income.
    If level of income measures up to increase prices of goods, then no issue.
    Now with the current situation, the money in our pockets are getting smaller. Soon everyone will be on BR1M, which I think is an agenda at a very large scale to make everyone dependent on the gov in order to control the population.

• Unsatisfied Civilian on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:33 pm

they advertised own self on youtube front page maa..even on highway oso got..all that needs money.now they got back authorities, and poll still got 5 years to go…they must collect back money for sure..