All-new Honda Jazz/Fit launched in Japan – full details

fit rs 01

We’ve seen the third generation 2014 Honda Jazz/Fit here before, but details were scarce and there were only a few pictures to go with them then. Now, the all-new compact car is ready to be launched in its home market, Japan, and with it Honda has released more details of its engine options, chassis qualities and interior features.

The new Jazz/Fit retains the design concept of the original model, but features a completely redesigned powertrain and body. Always a Jazz USP, the centre fuel tank layout is intact, but has now been refined for a significant reduction in weight and improved interior space.

Both the exterior and interior has been reworked around Honda’s new design concept, creatively called “Exciting H Design.” The new design identity, incorporating the “Solid Wing Face” makes its debut on this model, and will be applied in stages to other Honda models around the world.

It eschews much of its predecessors’ styling traits. The basic shape is still recognisable as a Jazz/Fit but it has taken a much more aggressive approach, both at the front and rear. The sides too possess dramatic lines and deep creases to appear more sophisticated than before.

There’s a stark departure on the inside too. Simplification is the chosen direction here, with most dashboard buttons replaced by touch-based controls. There’s a large touchscreen panel that sits flush on the dashboard where the audio controls used to be, with an intuitive smartphone-like interface. The air-con controls are all new as well, now using touch pads.

At the bottom of the all-Earth Dreams Technology-equipped range sits a new 1.3 litre Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine. No power figures are available yet, but Honda claims a “very high output” for this motor. It achieves class-leading fuel economy of 26.0 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle, rivalling that of previous Honda hybrids.

fit hybrid 03

Next up is a brand new 1.5 litre direct-injection DOHC i-VTEC engine that offers a 10% higher output than before. The current Honda Jazz 1.5 has 120 PS, so that makes 132 PS. There are three transmission options: five-speed manual (1.3), six-speed manual (1.5, only with the RS package) or EDT CVT (all variants, with optional paddle shifters).

The range-topping Fit Hybrid features a new, one-motor Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive) system matched to a 1.5 litre Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine. Fuel economy is off the charts, rated at 36.4 km per litre – the highest of any vehicle in Japan bar plug-in hybrid models.

A new electric servo braking system increases regeneration efficiency to the lithium-ion battery, while a fully electric compressor reduces engine load. These and other additions allow the new model to offer a significant 35% improvement in fuel efficiency over the previous IMA hybrid system.

fit hybrid 05

It has three driving modes: EV Drive, Hybrid Drive and Engine Drive, which are selected automatically based on conditions. The hybrid performs off-the-line starts in full EV mode, Honda says. The hybrid powertrain is matched to a new seven-speed dual-clutch transmission (DCT), which can be specified with paddle shifters.

Not forgetting safety, the 2014 Honda Jazz/Fit features Honda’s G-Force Control Technology (G-CON) and Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure. The active safety front includes VSA, Hill-Start Assist, Emergency Stop Signal (ESS) and City-Brake Active, accompanied by side curtains and front seat i-side airbags with staged inflation.

Available on the new model is a rotating front passenger seat – a feature that is likely to stay within Japan. It retains the basic design and comfort of the standard passenger seat, but the rotating chair has a lower cushion with a smooth front edge for easier entry and egress.

In Japan, the 2014 Honda Fit range starts at ¥1,265,000 (RM41,600) for the base 13G model sans any equipment packages, and tops out at ¥1,930,000 (RM63,500) for the top-spec Hybrid S Package. There are 11 colours to choose from, of which five are new, with two model-exclusive options – Vivid Sky Blue Pearl for the Hybrid and RS-only Sunset Orange II.

So, what do you think of the new Jazz/Fit and Honda’s new design direction? No one can blame them for not trying hard enough this time, that’s for certain. Voice your opinions in the comments section below.

Honda Fit 1.3/1.5

Honda Fit Hybrid

Honda Fit RS

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• toya mat amin on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:38 pm

menarik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawi on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Now, this car will take 2 years before coming to Malaysia. All because Syed Mokhtar has just CKD the old Jazz. Just for one individual, we all have to suffer waiting for 2 whole years. What a disgrace. Why are we so worthless in Malaysia that we get cars so late? By time we get it, new model comes out. Civic good example!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 47
    • kadajawi on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Hey, name yourself kadajawa or whatever. This name is taken already.

But yes, I also don’t understand why they started CKDing the outgoing one when the new one was just to start production. Unless they can easily transition to the new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Hey, name yourself kadajawe or whatever. This name is taken already.
        My name is so common?

Still have many old spare parts in worldwide, so they dump here and keep running the production on old model.

• Matpuvantan on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Not bcoz of 1 person but thousands of people working to CKD the Jazz here. The workers n their families.. all races, north Malaysia, east, west, south..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 25
      • If you CKD the new model now the workers still gets paid, you know?

It’s only that they want to maximize profit margin that they decided to CKD a last gen car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Matpuvantan on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:49 pm

they got the agreement to ckd the old jazz n they grab it. the main point is –>> not bcoz ONE person but thousands of people working to CKD the Jazz here. The workers n their families.. all races, north Malaysia, east, west, south..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
          • amokio on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:02 am

LoL…you talked nonsense and someone warned you, and again you talk the same thing…Pathetic…

• I wonder why our new Accord doesn’t have the new i-DCT. LOL :)

• tiadaid on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:33 pm

How certain are you that it’s Syed Mokhtar’s fault – what if it’s done because of the Japanese insisted on CKD the old model to finish up stock?

You can never tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • MrDDR on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Why blame Syed Mokhtar? He dont have majority share in Honda Malaysia. He have no word in it. Ask Honda Japan who control Honda Malaysia. You dare? Or just because he own Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Hopefully the price is still RM36K….(in Langkawi lah)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • jawajawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:11 pm

since our fuel is cheap, income tax is cheap, property is cheap, food price and everything else is cheap, it only makes sense we pay sky high for car.
      right? rightttttttt….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:13 pm

If it is priced at RM36K in Lankawi, do you have any ‘jalan’ to smuggle one back to main land and ‘kau-tim’ some guys in JPJ to have it register in mainland?

• Low Budget on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:22 pm

The irony is average Japanese monthly income are many times more than Malaysians and yet they pay less than half of the Malaysian price. I know some one will say, “Look, our petrol is way way cheaper than Japan-mah”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • MrDDR on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:31 pm

36k? Dreaming. Now they revise to 55k. All people who make booking asked to bought 55k or take back deposit.

• I own a Honda even tho’ I am not a Honda fan. This Jazz does look good. I like it! Can’t wait to see the Technical Specification.

• Wilfred on Nov 06, 2013 at 2:16 pm

If you okay with Japanese characters…
      http://www.honda.co.jp/Fit/?from=topbanner

• A Malaysian on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Thank you BN! Terima kasih BN!
    For bringing us this “cheap” car to Bolehland!

P/S: vehicle excise tax remains same, but petrol price increasaed, where’s the money gone to?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 23
    • Contango on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:02 pm

It is going into crony pockets. Infact, the cronies are buying more Ferraris, Porsches and Bentleys while you eat your chap fun of 2 vege and 1 meat. While you are scared to put one more meat, the crony and policitian is eating in Contango restaurant in Majestic Hotel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 12
      • jawajawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:21 pm

how much is their salary a month?
        ever wondered? the info is widely available if you google.

go google MP’s salary. minister’s salary. even PM and TPM salary. it’s available.
        say if you make RM10k a month, how long must save to buy an RM3 million car?

• Kelly on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Diamond cincin lahhhhhh…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Humble Mumble on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Steering wheel control only available on the RS variant?

• neemfa on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Honda is on the roll.. exciting models are coming with new tech.. so its up to Honda Malaysia to ruin the specs or not..

• It looks good on certain colour, really yearn for that 1.5 RS model.

• Anonymous on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:10 pm

63.5k for range topping hybrid… come here become 93.5k.

• antaras on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Not liking the rear yet. Maybe it’ll grow as time goes by. For now, am really digging the hybrid spec. Fuel price will only get more expensive, time to look for alternatives.

• kadajawi on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Actually looks quite nice, especially the rear lights. Reminds me of Volvo…

Interior and specs also not too bad. Sadly by the time it arrives in Malaysia thieves will surely have ripped out all the safety features and have replaced it with a fancy HU and a bodykit… cause those things are more important. Better to die pretty and sounding good than being alive but not so pretty…

• kadajawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Actually Proton should rebadge it too…name it Proton Keroncong

Current Jazz CKD now RM74K, so Proton Keroncong should be around RM55K…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Peter on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:16 pm

This’ll remain an ‘Earth Dream’ in Malaysia

• Nice honda fit, like suzuki swift it is about 2 years when we received the new version because ckd, hope honda malaysia can make it less than a year.

Imagine CKD this model, with 132hp for 1.5 liter, that would be awesome…….

• If the tax exemption is still around next year & the Jazz hybrid is imported from Japan by HM, then I think u can start telling your families & friends who are intending to buy an A or B segment car next year, to place their bookings for a Jazz hybrid & forget about the other competitors. The CBU Jazz hybrid will trounce all other cars in or near its segment !!!

• mason on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:26 pm

wow,the orange colour fit RS is nice…..

• Suzuki on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Small car trying to become big car.
    But at least a bit better than Sirion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • thepolygon on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:35 pm

What? It’s RM63,500 for the new top-spec Hybrid S Package. And how much are we paying for our Jazz Hybrid now? Hope this thing comes in without tax.

• Datuk on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:37 pm

the RS version with 6speed manual look interesting!

• Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Direct injection magic!

But seeing Korean cars left out direct injection engine when it reaches our shores, I’m not so optimistic :(

Otherwise another warm hatch for us.

• HonduaFit on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Ho ho, air cond vents galore! Cool…

• Look at that boot space!

• Hukaka on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:01 pm

the color looks like toy car!
    the design are too future.
    maybe i am getting older and this car are looking
    future era.
    but the spec are good.

• I want one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • very attractive indeed, but get ready to be very disappointed when it comes to our CKD version…….never hold my hope too high after what they’ve done when they CKD the Jazz Hybrid.

• totti on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:22 pm

I like it. more muscular compared to the existing model.

Honda, please bring in the CKD and follow the existing price and fight with new Toyota vios/nissan almera.

But need to be reminded to improve your sound insulation from the tyre roll. I have tested your existing Jazz and feel uncomfortable with the sound intrusion especially from back wheel.

I will book one and dispose off my nissan latio sport.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • leonardo austin on Sep 05, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Not nice.Wait for the future gen model after this crappy gen jazz.The honda designer for this model should be executed straightaway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
    • Executed? Is Malaysia turning into North Korea all of the sudden?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • current one more macho.. but interior this one better…

• frenzyaustin on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Wow! Surprisingy no one here say “LELR!!! IT’S A HENDER, IT’S SHERTZ” stuff like that.
    Exterior might be unacceptable to certain people, but I’m ok with it. Interior left some space to be improved. Fit RS is really a good car and compare directly at SSS. Fit Hybrid is the one really shine. Class leading FC with DCT and good performance.

• jasonx on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:30 pm

rear looks like avanza’s rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 57
  • Denaihati on Sep 05, 2013 at 4:45 pm

good looking front and rear view. more interesting 132PS with 1.5l engine, waiting for try drive this car.

• dangdot on Sep 05, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Wait another 5 years more to be available in Bolehland, until the current jazz decay

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 0
  • macam adik beradik dengan suprima plak aku tengok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 89
  • ahmadjohnson on Sep 05, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I hope Honda Malaysia to consider bringing Honda Fit RS (6-speed manual) in the future.

• Ricky Yang on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Kenapalah Proton tak boleh buat kereta cantik mcm ni!!! Pls la Proton…ambil designer yg world class mcm Kia!!! Kalau kekalkan designer yg ada skrg…Proton sampai bila2pun akan ketinggalan!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Humble Mumble on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:48 am

Pretty is one thing. Built quality should come first from Proton! Looks can come later.

• Petrol Mahal on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Incredible rear legroom for car of its size.

• Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:06 am

I sat in the prev gen Jazz (both 1st and 2nd gen) and the interior space is amazing… Almost C-segment like space in a B-segment package… Can’t believe its the same (size) class with Fiesta, Polo and Myvi… Though it does look like egg, compared to this sleeker, more handsome (for my taste) 3rd gen….

• Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:00 am

Fit RS looks like a good competitor to Suzuki Swift Sport… Fit Hybrid is nice too, more efficient than old Fit Hybrid…. Fit 1.3/1.5 is more powerful and efficient too than before….Honda has been really moving forward these days… Design could be better though but actually not bad at all… Fit RS for me one day (if it ever comes here), stick-shift and three pedals yeah…. :)

• Polo Saga on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:02 am

Kind of like it, esp. with Mugen bodykit on. Can’t wait for launching in Malaysia, want to buy one!

• wesley wk on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:17 am

I definitely want that gear knob in the new accord!

• I bet the one that will come to msia is the greyish interior with dial button for aircond. So shit!!I want one with jaguar style of gear knob!!

• razor on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Walao this car seriously looks like SHIT. I own the 2nd gen model.much nicer than this garbage new model.Very ugly interior.Who gives a damn about touchscreen!!? .Exterior looks like a dead shitbox car.anyway still lightyears ahead of the forever useless washing machine myvi:)HOnda designers must be sleeping.civic already a flop in usa, now this car.WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • leejay on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Yes bro,u are absolutely right.this “NEW” model makes me love and appreciate my old model(2nd gen) one much more.I drive it all the time. its been a few years now.excellent car.of course la myvi like shit.haha quality cannot compare with honda.MYVI is the ultimate SHIT car in our ASEAN region.bloody hell,when i was in UK, not a single shit myvi in sight.All my close friends there who loves cars dun even know what the hell is a myvi.seriously, perodua must stop producing SHIT cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
  • what? on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Quality??? Join the “Kiss My Axx” Club!!! Handling and ride of Myvi is totally like shit… like my son’s toy car!!! Regret buying this car for wifey and I am so happy to get rid off it finally last month. Stupid, no more Perodua cars from now onwards!
    Also, you see how many Perodua cars kena accidents and overturned… uncountable!
    Lastly, price is definitely not cheap and value-for-money. Most M’sians have been conned!At least this car is better than myvi.hahaha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:52 am

Many of MyVi quality issues can easily be fixed at home.

Its the tidak apa attitude of the workers in the plant that makes the car crappy

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 372 Thumb down 333
  • stone cold on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Interior looks boring.Steering wheel looks like some strange design.not sporty or cool.exterior a bit weird.Hideous looking front grille and face.Very Sad CAR,Haiz better buy 2nd gen one.What the hell happened honda?the designer for this model must have been sleeping all the time in design department or just bloody lazy:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 16
    • leonardo austin on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:24 pm

U are right bro stone cold.Stupid Honda designers .Must have been sleeping all the time or just lazy Ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • apexg2 on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:22 am

LED headlamp..hoho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • As long as the spec doesn’t disappointing (which Honda Malaysia always does), I’ll definitely buy this car when it comes to Malaysia.

• leonardo austin on Sep 14, 2013 at 12:19 am

The real deal bro stone cold.the H=hideous honda shit design language.

• Myvi is the most suitable car for those just started the career. You have space, cost saving etc. Also as second car to go to market, for those already established.

• ahmad on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:17 pm

honda. manual transmission bring in malaysia

• Randy jazz on Mar 22, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Nk tggu model ni kuar baru aku sambar

• maybe this July 2014

• elwintan on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:04 pm

no RS in Malaysia abit sad…
    if got i sure ready to get 1, Orange !