2013 Toyota Vios – Spot & Snap reveals the Grade E

2013_Toyota_Vios_Malaysia_ 001

We caught a view of the 2013 Toyota Vios out in the open today in Petaling Jaya, where the car was making a scheduled stop at its designated hotspot, as part of the Vios Spot & Snap Cruisers programme.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report

Our man Hafriz was in Uptown earlier in the afternoon, and snapped photos of the Grade E variant of the car. He didn’t manage to get a look at the interior though, as only exterior shots were allowed by the people running the ‘preview’.

The new Vios is set to be officially launched in Malaysia next month. The order books opened in mid-August for the car, with estimated pricing revealed, and earlier, we pretty much ran through the impending arrival’s specifications and equipment list from a brochure, so the car is very much a known entity.

The chance to view the Vios goes on – until September 22, the car will be showing up at hotspots around Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor Bahru. You can check Toyota Malaysia’s Facebook page for the date, time and location as to when the Vios will be nearest to you, and if you’re diligent enough to take a pix of it and upload it to your Facebook timeline, seems there’s a gift in store for doing that.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• first on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 162
    • Bye bye Suprima and Kimchi! Vios is coming!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 516 Thumb down 497
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 321
      • new vios looking good :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 92
      • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:29 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 202
      • _xXx_ on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:47 am

cannot understand why MT version is always under J spec. UMWT, u think manual buyers can’t afford to pay for the smlj sportivo? wake up laa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • You want to buy one? Call me, I have high discount for proton basher like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
        • alldisc on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:12 pm

they make cars, according to demand based on history.

do you know previously there were altis and camry manual as well? but when demand is very low (something like 1 in every 1,000 units), umw decided not to offer manual anymore.

similarly the same goes to honda, or vw, or merc and almost all car brands in malaysia.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 243
    • OMG…Nice design…but ugly spec…With lame man thinking, still will sell like hot cake…I think the sales can beat suprima / even Preve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Kimchis are long gone oledi in the new car market. So happen to still have some residue sorhai around that makes my kimchi used car business do well

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 487 Thumb down 456
      • medic on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:53 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 178
  • SadekSegaraga on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 145
    • Aerro on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:00 am

Bye bye Proton…nobody gonna buy Suprima with 9.1L / 100km fuel mileage anymore…RM80K bagus beli Vios lah…HA HA HA!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 49

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 236
        • alldisc on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 384
          • Keep that for proton management. People just want to get more value for their money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
          • ViosJay on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:41 pm

mcm la vios international rated.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 5
          • you retard man? everybody knows toyota offer better safety & equipment internationally except for malaysia that is…like what they do internationally than go away from this country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 45
          • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 195
          • frggle on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:48 am

Is not always your way of driving, sometimes it’s other’s that makes the mistake and fatally hit you.

• AliBaba on Sep 08, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Retards,
            Toyota Int specs & Toyota Malaysia specs lots of differences, its not d same.u must lives in jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • You mean anyone with right mind actually consider that suprima? siao a lu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • peyno on Sep 08, 2013 at 7:54 am

Why only proton??? this car will kill ALmera, City as well, but why you only mention proton??? u butthurt??
        prrrthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Almera, city are at same level. Only proton yang tak malu thinking they are in the competition. Using a so called c-segment to fight with b-segment. And the best part sales is still losing to smaller cars despite selling at cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
          • if proton sells cheap you complain, if expensive also complain, all proton’s doing is wrong, sigh.

what car you drive? i think you have a car that sips fuel like hybrid, can ferry 10 people, fast as aventador.

oh and you get it free! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
          • Of course we are complaining. We are subsidising this ailing company. This company should just die. Die please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
          • Peyno on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:06 am

If those car same level.. Means vios will kill city n almera.. Those are same level with liw spec n lees safety features.. Prffthh
            Proton never compare suprima with thise low class asean car.. How come 6 airbags car to be compared with max 2 airbags n no esc??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Yea so high class yet so little sales. People are willing to forgo that 6 airbags because it is Proton. You understand? It’s all because Proton, the brand name. Anything that Proton touches turns into rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • The truth on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:30 pm

It is the GOVERNMENT POLICY make the car so expensive, not UMW/Toyota.

For those who complain car expensive, blame the government.
            For those who complain outdated spcs, look at Proton engines and so called Lotus handling bla bla bla. So many patterns and yet so fuel hungry and poor durability. Outdated specs give you durability, free of hasle and also good resale value. Rolex mechanism also outdated, but it is still expensive, simple fact: IT IS RELIABLE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Suprima fuel consume only 9.1L/100km for combine city and highway. For consistent highway driving is 6.8L/100Km. Still worth to buy Suprima due to big cabin compare to Vios.

• I need a Samsung Galaxy Gear to capture the interior shot without alerting the staffs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 13
  • Good looking car, at last an attractive Vios to see. I believ this car will give likes of Proton, Nissan and the rest a real run for their money. Toyota will be hard to beat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 98
    • drrif on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:25 pm

hate admitting this, but actually it goes to the top of the class on looks. shame camry is so boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 33
  • Chris on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Okay, I’m neither Vios’ nor City’s fan, but:

1. This gives me the feeling it’s trying to catch up to City’s sportier looks but still not quite there.

2. Proton’s designer might actually be doing a better job than we give them credit for because we’re very picky and always complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 88
    • Yup have to agree with you…in term of design proton is heading in the right direction…only that as a complete package a lot of improvemen need to be considered…such as built quality etc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • oilworker on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:44 pm

why does the front and back looked markedly different? Its like having 2 totally separate teams designing the car and dont talk to each other at all. the front is great, the back? well back to dugong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
  • Hiroshi on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:44 pm

daebak!!! nice exterior but dinosaur gear & engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
  • chandra on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:48 pm

that rear looks only for my dad bro.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
  • ionlaw on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Is it just me or toyota designer was in fact inspired by CATFISH for car front…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 37
  • hmm..it doesnt look “small” even beside the nissan teana…toyota hv got the design rite this time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • TurboMax on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:13 pm

…and so it begins………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Kalun on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:13 pm

You don’t need that campaign though.
    I think Mirian/Limbangian/KKian will win this because they saw these type of vios from Brunei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • jeremy on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:17 pm

School teachers nationwide rejoice!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Polo Saga on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Where the hell is the projector lens? Been stolen by UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
  • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Man, pity the Forte and Elantra owners.

Many C-Segment kimchi owners trading in the cabbages for a B-Segment real car that does not attract embaressment when seen in public

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 932 Thumb down 685
    • dugong on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 244
      • Golder on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:41 am

Noooo. Vios is already same with Golf GTI standard. TRD is same with Golf R. Woowwww.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 104
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:34 am

Can’t compare Reliable and Durable Japs with sui kwan Euros

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 866 Thumb down 737
        • To be honest & I am not rude or mean to hurting anyone, survey vios before discover that the shock absorber are really easily spoil. Especially the back. Even my uncle who drive slowly & careful also face the same problem. Problem solve if change to aftermarket shock absorbers. Second, ‘crank’ sound when start engine also 1 problem. These problem turn me away from vios & bought mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 53
    • Vader on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 188

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 190
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:13 pm

I encourage more sorhais to buy new kimchis, coz these fellas make my biz grow faster in the used cabbage market

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 692 Thumb down 630
      • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:46 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 214
    • LHang on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 215
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:18 pm

The truth hurts, especially for sorhais that are stuck with a rotten cabbage

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 366 Thumb down 261
  • Keris Jawa on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Now this will get all the aunties and uncles so excited beyond words!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 102
  • kington on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Quite like the looks. Disappointed with the same drivetrain but it’s one of those cars you can use day in day out with no fuss.

There will be people disliking this, some will but it’s really just a plain and simple car, over priced of course thanks to our pricing structure imposed jointly by the government and selected stakeholders in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • should have been equipped with stability control, as in the case of honda city. Just too bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:29 pm

new vios really beautiful and also very sporty look. suitable for young people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 52
    • Until they noticed that Vios just went through plastic surgery only, still same old stuff under the bone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • I’d rather get powerful engine under hood rather than empry specs T badge car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 106
  • it is a fairly good looking car, with lousy spec and expensive price.
    i really hate this car, coz it is going to top the sale in this segment, and prove to the world that malaysian car buyer are brainless.
    really speechless.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 156 Thumb down 157
  • mengmeng on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Saw this alot in Thailand.
    More than 85% is japanese car here (i current in thailand).
    So syiok they use camry as taxi, and they not look like using as luxry car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:36 am

In BKK, most Taxis are Corollas.

In Taipei, most Taxis and Wish and Corolla and Camry

How come kimchis and sui kwan euros are not used?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 526 Thumb down 472
      • Vader on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 177
      • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Only in Shanghai, most cabs are VW, you obviously is only a frog in a well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 619 Thumb down 421
      • Suzuki on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Because kimchi quality good for few months but not for few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Kimchis good for a few weeks or months only.

I have so many ppl asking to sell off in less than 6 months of ownership

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 371 Thumb down 282
      • Pororo on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 263
  • D.I.Y on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:46 pm

the same engine use in Vios more than 10years! WTH?! 10year many thing can be happen, government keep rising the price but why Malaysia toyota still remain the in same stage? what’s wrong?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
  • Just me on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:08 pm

It is true that old engine and 4 speeder is a turn off for this car, especially most other maker use 5 or 6 speeder gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • TongHoi on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:14 pm

anyway will not on my list if want to get a car because for me safety stuff is my main concern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • sompua on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:16 pm

vios and city are for those who cannot afford T & H global car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Preve better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 68
  • retard on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Design ok la, proton should copy and paste the design to replace the aging blm like China did to their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • haha..this new vios (kunun) got vacuum cleaner face. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Kimchi owners will have the hailat face when they sell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 530 Thumb down 353
  • NISSpengAN on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Still can’t beat my mighty Nissan Almera!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 47
  • still…very ugly,skin deep

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 4
  • Alson Pang on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:42 am

The technology gap between Vios and Corolla is far far away…. but the price between vios and corolla not far….
    -Fan of Toyota GT86

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 15
  • Toyota on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 294
  • Kuinosan on Sep 07, 2013 at 2:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 318
    • Kiichiro Toyoda on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:54 am

I am back from the grave due to all these bad comments.
      Regards, Kiichiro Toyoda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • With car prices being so high in M’sia, you can’t really blame some people putting RV on top of everything else so as to minimise losses incurred when they want to eventually trade-in their ride.

But when a car is being produced for 11 years and went through 3 generations with the same basic mechanical and safety features yet with ever-increasing price, you really have to think how greedy is UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:09 pm

its the government lah.. PNB owns majority share of UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
    • It’s wayy pass thinking how greedy UMW is. Now’s the time to think how hard they’ll fall.

• sorry laa vios … basic expensive car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • alahai on Sep 07, 2013 at 9:42 am

Saga FLX SE’s rim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • bluebird on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:14 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 273
    • WaJib on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:47 am

Wat car u drive then? Sounds like u so proud..

• bluebird on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I drive Honda City 2009, downpayment 8000, 7 year loan, monthly 1186, still have 3 years to pay
        In Malaysia you can only buy 2 cars – either Vios or City, that’s it.
        Others CMI (can’t make it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • Johnny on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:14 pm

My Preve = fullpayment by cash!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:59 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 139
  • Gavin on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:59 am

can already picture the duk chak duk chak duk chak , image of the driver

• mamamia on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:18 pm

expensive car with basic features…kah3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Keris Jawa on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Even the Japs don’t sell these in their country! That says a lot about this car. At least the Europeans make cars for themselves first and then sell it to the rest of the world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 12

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 147
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Please go ahead and buy the Cerato brand new.

I would love the look on your face 12 months later when you trade it in.

Kia’s command 10% less than Hyundai in the used car trade. If you still insist on being a sorhai, at least be a smarter sorhai and buy the Elantra

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 750 Thumb down 461
      • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 1:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 155
  • (Meeting between Toyota product development manager for Asean region and his team of product designers): “After the new Vios is out, time to give the Hilux and Fortuner another round of facelift. Nothing fancy, just enough to make it looks a bit different. Oh, changing any mechanical part and adding any equipment is a big no-no because uh, you know to keep prices ahem, down.

And, this time the day offs after finishing this assignment is only 2 months. Don’t give me that look. You guys enjoyed enough holidays already for the Vios project, didn’t you?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • bawakereta on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Suprima design lagi cun dari vios. front grill copy paste mitsu lancer lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • This car no VSC, max 4 star rating in ASEAN NCAP.
    Toyota, u think Malaysian is sorhai?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 390 Thumb down 571
    • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 11:26 am

Ha Ha, I see so many kimchi owners within this blog that are already panicky about the RV of the rotten cabbage.

Well, all I can say is Terima Kasih, coz you will have the ultimate Hailat feeling when you sell the Korean Car. And I will be financially happier

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1012 Thumb down 719
  • Kuinosan on Sep 07, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 463
    • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:23 pm

I encourage you to buy another few kimchis then. Make sure that its brand new.

Just waiting for the time u beg me to buy. I will have my 4th Hulux by then.

If you do not know the synonym of Hilux, as a Conto speaking Malaysia. They will laugh at you like no tomorrow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1250 Thumb down 745
      • Kuinosan on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 309
  • PROUD on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Time to sell my old Vios and upgrade to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
  • only drive continental on Sep 07, 2013 at 9:11 pm

my E Class is much better than this jap econobox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Tengku suprima mahaleel on Sep 07, 2013 at 9:14 pm

I cannot concentrate on managing badminton with all these comment on proton . We design cars because we think we are the best and customer should follow us to our standard not like cheap vios 2 air bag mass . Malaysia must learn from us from on how car should be…and ordinary man opinion with out degree in automotive is not acceptable. ..thats why vios is better than the rest…and my gen 2 already jadi hantu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • bottom line it’s a vios, meaning it will sell like happy meals with minion toys. i just want vios drivers to stop driving like crazy f**kers if that’s not too much to ask.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • All the Ah Bsngs aleady ready their cheque books, or maybe even cash advance from their credit cards to book tis car, which, in their mind, is BMW to them, they drive like F1 racers on the road but most people laugh when see these Ah Bengs showing off on the road

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 3
  • and a shape only Ah Bengs could love…without bodykit Ah Beng think they driving BMW, with bodykit they think they driving Porsche..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
  • sompua on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:26 pm

vios is designed specifically for third world countries, that’s how the japs value your (vios owner)worth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Blackmore on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Let’s face the fact. Vios is all times favourite in Malaysia leaving Korean cars behind. The figure doesnt lie no matter how much we argue. Bitter to swallow. Generally Toyota engine n gear box are highly durable and last long enough even 10 years unlike other brands. Go n ask any workshops in general. Not to forget their high resale value. Only Honda city could give vios a run , the rest i see no way. So this is why toyota leads in most countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 367 Thumb down 166
  • Don’t just condemn old this and old that.
    Proton’s campro engine isn’t new anyway!

• Nice car with good rv. Just booked yesterday. Sam loo I think you are never wrong with Toyota. I follow you. Sorry no kimchi or dim sum for me. Potong can be ignored without discussions. Thanks Toyota.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 133 Thumb down 188
    • angbeng on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:19 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 298
    • Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 1:11 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 326
      • peyno on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:04 am

poor ah beng buy UMW toyota products… rich ah beng buy Real Global Toyota Alphard, estima, lexus from NAZA showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Smart fellas buy Alphard/Estimas.

Sorhais will buy Starex

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 431 Thumb down 301
    • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Actually, a 2012 Elantra is now trading in for RM55k. I can sell u one at RM60k.

Mileage less than 25,000kms. very dai mai

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 566 Thumb down 295
      • riodr on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 200

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 268

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 133
  • peyno on Sep 08, 2013 at 7:52 am

How many airbag?? got ESC ?? Safety rating???
    nowadays ppl talk about SAFETY.. safety first RV later..
    we love our life n beloved’s life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • peyno on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:02 am

when this car launched n ppl go to showroom n asking about safety features and rating…can’t wait how sam loo and UMW salesman answer this

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 341 Thumb down 368
  • Maserati(Official) on Sep 08, 2013 at 9:47 am

Saw the car in flesh 2 days back.Damn it looks really good in real life.Much better than in pictures!

This car is so gonna destroy Cerato and Elantra. Yeayea,different category but so what when the Vios drives way better than those 2 Korean junk.

The way i see it, I can foresee that Korean cars will have big discounts soon .

I have driven both the Elantra and the new Cerato and both give me a worst driving feeling than a Proton. I am serious! Even the Preve feels way better than those Korean crap. So I dont see how in the world the Koreans are going to topple the Japanese.

The koreans have a long long long way to go if they are to catchup with the Japs. Not only in loading up their car with kit because any TDH can do that.Its about the refinement and the driving pleasure that counts.

At the moment,the Koreans have none of the above.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8115 Thumb down 2883
    • Sam Loo on Sep 08, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Used kimchis are coming into my yard and I have instructed my team to lower the trade in by 15%.

Really pity kimchi owners, but what to do. They have been told that the RV of their cabbages will be hailat, and yet they still buy.

Dai Sei lor, but I am happy, coz their silliness makes my biz grow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8115 Thumb down 2914
    • 666devil on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:29 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 236
    • Leong on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:24 am

Its true,If you talk about ride and handling proton with the help of lotus handles better than not only korean but japanese too.

• FD2R_4EVER on Sep 08, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 208
  • norman on Sep 08, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Another candidate for indonesia taxis
    The reason why ppl keep on buying Toyotas cause of their past history.Beside the reliable engine I dont see anything fancy about the cars.Im dealing with cars and motorcycle parts for a living.Wanna full quality jdm cars then go for Corolla axio/allion, Honda Civic 2.0 jdm and you will notice the fittings and workmanship is totally diff

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Sep 08, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 316 Thumb down 513
    • Maserati(Official) on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:47 am

Hi Hyundai/Kia salesman,

Your point is well taken.

The ‘unbiasness’ of your comment really shows how twisted your mind is. The fact that Korean car has the worst resales value is well documented in Malaysia and throughout the world. In fact, a used rubbish truck have better resale value than any Korean car that comes out.

Fact.

I know depressing sales figure of korean cars is hitting u hard to make such desperate statement, but keep in mind most malaysians are still smart and they know what are the brands to look out for, like the Vios, who offers the best technology, safety and resales value in its class.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1465 Thumb down 401
      • Kuinosan on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 417

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 234 Thumb down 464
    • Kuinosan on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 175
      • Hello.:) I agree, toyota is really a durable car. Topseller here in the Philippines with it being a very good family car. Is also very good selling in canada and us, says a family member from there. Honda is second. Plus parts are always available, with good prices. Hyundai and kia are also rising stars here. Very affordable. Here there are more variants of the vios though. Peace, guys. :)

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2013 at 5:48 pm

U mean you deliberately click like/dislike multiple time to give a fake rating?

That goes to show how dishonest Korean Car owners are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 52
  • Fahmi on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:36 am

DISCLAIMER : No dugongs are harmed in the production of this product…

• Fahmiyahya on Sep 09, 2013 at 7:37 am

Smart people will choose this vios, because,
    1. 1.5cc engine only
    2. Save fuel
    3. Low maintenance
    4. City use car
    5. Great resale value
    6. 15inch rim (cheaper tyre)
    7. Old engine (easy to maintain)
    Plz dont compare with cerato or suprima.. Those car can’t beat these item i just said..

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 157 Thumb down 127
    • alldisc on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:57 pm

strong after sales network counts too.

• Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:22 pm

While I see that majority of Malaysians are still smart, it is good to know that there are still sorhais out there that wants to throw away their hard earned money on a new kimchi.

Good for me though. But would encourage more to buy used cabbage, coz they are at an all time low price now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 732 Thumb down 613
  • taboogen on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 315
  • 666devil on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:26 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 235
  • ayamxxx on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:19 am

Suprima Ass better than this thrifty toyota vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • haidir on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:24 am

my preferences for buying car are(every body is differ)
    1. price
    2. after sale service (IMOHO, say no to proton)
    3. RSV
    4. others

• kimseng on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 314
    • 666devil on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 192
  • kimseng on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:12 am

Hello Fahmiyahya there is no 1.5cc car on planet earth. It is 1.5 Litre or 1,500 cc (cubic centimetre). Looks like you are a Toyota saleman with little technical knowledge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kimseng2 on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:16 am

Hello Fahmiyahya, there is no 1.5cc car on planet earth. It is 1.5 litre or 1,500 cc (cubic centimeter).

• totti on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Kimseng, What so good about 5/6 speeder when most of the time driving around Town?

Those people buying T.Vios is for:-
    1) Bullet proof Engine and gear box. (easily can last up to 300,000km)
    2) Plenty of spare part.
    3) cheap OEM/half cut spare part.
    4) best resale value.
    5) less maintanance.(no need to go to service center)

The look of this vios is better than Camry/Prius and also the Nissan Teana parked beside him.

With selling price below RM 79K, Almera/Honda Jazz/city/proton preve/suprima/kia family will be in big troble.

This “baby lion king” will be top again.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 192 Thumb down 147
    • keris lawak on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:24 pm

from which angle it looks like baby lion king? more like arowana fish..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 120
    • Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:28 pm

This baby sushi will still look great after 10 years.

Those rotten cabbages will look cacat after 6 months.

And the looks on the rotten cabbage owners will look so hailat that their mother also cannot recognise them when they sell these 3rd grade cars off to the car yard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2215 Thumb down 1364
  • Kuinosan on Sep 09, 2013 at 8:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 779 Thumb down 1399
    • Keris Jawa on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 229
    • Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2013 at 7:50 am

Love the look on your face when you trade in the rotten cabbage.

Make sure you take a photo of before and after (after you shout hailat), then post it on facebook

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2206 Thumb down 1318
    • Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Those who still insist of buying kimchi brand new, I would encourage you and all your family and friends to buy more.

I need the volume of sorhais to grow my business. When my business grows, UMW will also be happy as they are supplying Hilux for me to display at the most visable areas in my car yard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2269 Thumb down 1154
  • majamal on Sep 10, 2013 at 12:20 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 322
  • The truth on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1060 Thumb down 1709
  • The truth on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:21 pm

I also wonder why ppl compare Preve with Vios. Preve is the top of Proton home made model and Vios is the cheapest model in Toyota.

By comparing it, it is already insult on Proton. Why Proton fans still so proud?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 35
    • peyno on Sep 10, 2013 at 8:11 pm

bro.. proton comparing preve/suprima with 308t, fiesta, mazda 3… nobody cares about vios, ..only vios fans comparing preve with thier vios..
      how come 6 airbags,CVT, ESC, Multilink sus car to be compared with 4AT, 2 airbags no no ESC car??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 27
  • Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:49 pm

What a day, just finished my day at the car yard.

I must say that Sonata is still a better cabbage than K5.

Typically, a 1 year old (plus minus 3months) Sonata fetches RM70k trade in, I can make a net of RM9k-RM11k per unit after expenses.

For K5, even if i approve a trade in price of RM65k, I can’t even get rid of it within 2 weeks. Also net profit less than RM2k.

I will only accept 1 year old K5 for RM50k now. Dem Hailat car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2386 Thumb down 1325
  • MaserratiScukS on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 553
    • maserratiShameLoo on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 322
  • no name on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Adooyaiiii… i’m still confusing to buy either a new Toyota Vios 1.5G or Honda City E+.. Why all comments are negative rather than positive… Ayooooo…

• sarah on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:33 am

You’d have to be a diehard Toyota fan to choose this new Vios over Almera when it is clearly overpriced compared to the latter, with it’s old engine and absence of VSC. RV, spare part availability and maintenance are also not an issue since both are Japanese. I’d rather wait for the new City before deciding which to buy.

As for Cerato, it has a nice design and specs but alas it’s Korean and where I live (East Msia), it’s a big no no to buy one.

For Malaysian Preve and Suprima fans, be realistic! No one’s going to choose either car over Almera, Vios or City because quality is a major issue with most Malaysian cars. What’s the point of having a car with a lot of features at a bargain price if you’re going to go in and out of the workshop frequently?

People choosing cars in this segment or bracket are ‘price sensitive’ so quality is a major concern rather than features. We want peace of mind when we’re on the road and not worry about whether the power window will work when it rains or whether the central locking will work when we’re stuck in traffic in case some opportunistic “peragut” on motorbike is thinking about opening our car door to rob us while we wait for the traffic light to turn green.

Quality should be our main concern and not whether the car is cheap, has 6 speed, has turbo engine, has paddle shift, has multilink suspension bar, has RDL, has panoramic sunroof etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • goose on Sep 22, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Quality of proton is different all together these days. That’s power window prob has already become history, lol

• anggut on Sep 22, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Finally! A vios that looks good!