Great Wall Wingle 5 Premium X debuts – from RM69k

GWM_Wingle5_Premium_X_launch_ 001

Remember the VW Golf Mk5-faced pickup truck, the Wingle 5? GWM’s local distributor, Green Oranges Sdn Bhd, has introduced a new variant of the Chinese-designed, last-gen Isuzu D-Max-based and Mitsubishi-engined truck, named the Great Wall Wingle 5 Premium X. Prices start at RM69,924 for the 4×2 model, rising up to RM80,499 for the 4×4 variant (both OTR, with insurance).

The Premium X is still based on the current Wingle 5, and not the newer and bold-faced Wingle 6 update we’ve seen at Auto Shanghai 2013. As the top of-the-range model, it gets a host of upgraded equipment, which includes a reverse sensor, alarm system, front nudge bar, sports bar over the rear deck and aluminium side step bars.

These model-specific add-ons sit on top of the standard Wingle 5’s base kit list. Dual airbags, ABS with EBD, leather seats, steering audio controls, height-adjustable headlamps and 16-inch alloy wheels are all in the mix.

Additionally, the vehicle you see here is fitted with a long list of Premium X-exclusive optional extras too, such as the black 16-inch wheels with all terrain tyres, aggressive off-road rear bumper, a pair of Hella spotlights and a reverse camera paired to an in-dash DVD player with GPS navigation. Unfortunately, prices for the optional items were not disclosed.

The Wingle 5 is powered by a 2.5 litre commonrail turbodiesel engine with 107 hp and 300 Nm of torque, the latter produced from 1,800 to 2,400 rpm. Only a five-speed manual transmission is offered, but you can, however, choose from either 4×2 or 4×4 variants. Shift on the fly is available on the latter.

Great Wall’s standard warranty package covers the first three years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first. Also available is the Great Wall Haval H5 SUV, which is now offered with a low 1% interest rate until September 30. Both models are locally assembled at Green Oranges’ own plant in Gurun, Kedah.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• panadoll on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:36 pm

pickup truck with SISSY face… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • Aerro on Sep 07, 2013 at 7:48 am

Trying very hard to become ‘American’ huh…so sad lah China truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • woww. looks solid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • enough with these china trucks..introduce your great wall c30,c50,c20 please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • dannytk on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:59 pm

2.5 for this low power ,

for the price is not worth to buy this china car.

i rather get a new low spec ranger or even worst 2nd hand japanese pickup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
  • powershot on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:27 pm

test drove the wingle 5 a while back. was not impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Chris on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Not too sure about the truck.. but that’s some badass wheels :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • the fighter on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:49 pm

nice mod, but the 80k price reach ranger xl model..

• Guan Yin Ma on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Now I appreciate proton after I saw these china made car ………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
    • And which great proton pick up truck are u referring to ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • maybe he is referring to the Hummer

• LaDent on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:43 am

Butthurt aa when someone is grateful for Proton?
        This GWM’s Wiggle is what I call the real Protong.

• Denaihati on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:44 pm

height is lower than most standard 4×4 truck. more interesting loan with 1% interest rate only.

• Lanjiou on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:40 pm

if this car last more than 5 years, I cut my lanjiou

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 32
    • yaaaaaaaa on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:00 pm

OK, leave your detail and address. I will settle the legal things for you.

My roadside stray dog is hungry for your lanjiao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • albag on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:07 pm

the only thing i like about this truck… the wheels are pretty awesome!!!

• Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Steering looks like ripoff from Toyota Innova…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • lol 107HP from a 2.5……joke ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:45 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 395
  • this is rojak….engine from Mit….chasis from Isu….steering from T…like thos farmer in China who make lambo from excavator …ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Actually the China company usually did survey on japanese market on their parts which 1 best then they took the best & combine make 1. Like the van, hiace body with isuzu diesel engine from a 3 tonnes lorry. Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Hawk5 on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Hmmm, nice rims & tyres, that’s about it….

• why they don’t wanna change the rims to 17″ or 18″ since they are optional items already?? it’d look so much better!! those 16″ are too simply too small.

• And when is our great Malaysian car company going to make 4×4 and export to chins?? That also need a wawasan 2020 ?

• Aniki on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:09 pm

2.5 litre with 107HP!?!? Diesel Drainer…

• torquealot on Sep 08, 2013 at 11:55 am

Aiya…seems like so many ignoramus here. Last generation Toyota Hilux 2.5 L(before VNT engine) was making less than 107hp and 300Nm. So much for so called automobile enthusiast here…..

• why big headlamps? smaller is better to resemble chinese small eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • torquealot on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:01 am

Errr….lots of Malay also got small beady eyes. BTW, if that’s the logic, all Caucasian should only drive white colored car and all Negroid should drive black colored car.

• Wan Malaysia on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:10 am

Like why would you want this over a…one-year old used Ranger or Triton?

• angry bird on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

my 7 years old Mazda BT50 is much more power full than this.. haiyaa.. and for 80K, better buy a triton or 2×4 2013 Dmax or 2.2 Ranger or 2.2 BT50.. you only waste money if you buy this…

• ah lee on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:04 pm

i have used this wingle 5 truck for almost 2 years now, still good. for off-road it is comparable with hilux, bt50, dmax and ranger. the only issue is the part is not widely available if you need to change anything.

• Sapphire on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:49 am

i drive Wingle 5 for a year and a half now. on a regular basis, i drive my Wingle to muddy terrains, 70 degrees hill climbing up and down, on road, off road, flood, river, You name it. so far i’m so satisfied with the performance and it’s worth every penny.

These pick ups are based on mixed Isuzu models with a few tweaks on the body work. it uses old Isuzu pick up engine, Dmax gearbox, Mitsubishi’s turbo unit and Bosch ECU. the HP is actually 109, not 107.

The Wingles are sold all-over the world. despite bad comments from the ‘skeptics’ (who doesn’t even have any experience with the Wingles) this trucks are proven worthy by the owners all over the globe.

jmho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • interested on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:56 am

yo, can i get feedback as to how the truck is now? im thinking of taking over a 2012 used model with 24k milage, is there anything i should know about it?

• Areti on Sep 09, 2015 at 6:14 pm

In my country Kiribati this car looks pretty good but there is no parts to replace with. Can you help me to find a trustfully supplier for the parts?