Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 and RXH spotted in Malaysia

peugeot-508-hybrid4-rxh-jpj-7

Our regular ‘JPJ correspondent’ Anol Alias has certainly been hard at work – having served up photos of the local spec Mitsubishi Attrage earlier today, he has now very kindly presented us with shots of the Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 sedan and 508 HYbrid4 RXH estate.

The D-segmenters are the third and fourth HYbrid4 cars to be sighted in Malaysia, after the Citroen DS5 HYbrid4 and Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4. It seems then, that the possibility of the PSA Group’s HYbrid4 tech coming to Malaysia is becoming more and more real.

All the abovementioned HYbrid4 models see the coming together of a 2.0 HDi FAP diesel engine, an electric motor and four-wheel drive for a total output of 200 hp and 450 Nm. A start-stop system is standard, and they can be driven on 100% electricity alone (ZEV mode), too.

peugeot-508-hybrid4-rxh-jpj-4

On the 508 HYbrid4 sedan, the system yields a combined fuel economy of 3.6 litres per 100 km (27.8 km/l) and CO2 emissions of 95 g/km. Corresponding figures for its RXH estate counterpart are 4.1 litres per 100 km (24.4 km/l) and 99 g/km. Compared to the regular 508 SW, the RXH is an Audi Allroad-style wagon with raised suspension and tougher looks. Click here for more pics of the RXH.

Back in April 2011, we reported that Nasim was exploring the possibility of bringing in the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 to Malaysia, and that Peugeot was then conducting tests in France with our Euro 2M spec diesel.

“So far the tests have yielded positive results, but there are still more tests to be done. Once we can conclude that the 3008 HYbrid 4 will have no problems running on Euro 2 diesel, we will look into launching it in Malaysia,” Naza boss SM Nasarudin was then quoted as saying.

Fast forward, and with so many HYbrid4-powered models being tested in Malaysia, it shouldn’t be long before the first diesel-hybrid car is launched here. Their impressive fuel economy would be a perfect counter to rising fuel prices, and if the government’s tax incentive for hybrid cars is extended from the current end-2013 dateline, we could be looking at good deals for these high-spec cars.

Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 sedan

Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 RXH estate

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dewaSemut on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Wow… really like the 508 estate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Gua Punya Rasa on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:33 pm

nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Definitely in the radar for my next car, hybrid diesel

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
  • gavin on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:53 pm

diesel + electric = diesel electric locomotive,

• nighttrain on Sep 06, 2013 at 6:05 pm

They actually named the engine 2.0 HDi FAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Whoaaa. Check the torque guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Aaron on Sep 06, 2013 at 6:10 pm

If there is ever a diesel sedan for below RM100K definitely it will sell like hot cake in bolehland, since the price of unleaded petrol hiked so high over here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano on Sep 06, 2013 at 6:26 pm

The 508 GT was an absolute joy on wheels, with a very decent price. I cannot imagine how much more joy this hybrid one can bring us. Hurry up Nasim!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 228
    • jackinthebox on Sep 07, 2013 at 4:08 am

what a dense tosser.

of course this car got no resale value – it’s gonna be priceless with the relatively low fuel consumption in the long run!

And if the car stalled in the middle of the road, of course you can’t sell it, you try to fix it. how you can be so sure it cannot be resold even though this particular model is not on sale yet?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
      • High resale value also maybe 5%-10% higher only. How about you waste your money on extra fuel & maintenance? Toyota hilux kd engines suffer injector problem always. 1 set of 4 cost RM12K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • oilworker on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:35 pm

dont get your hopes too high… remember the 3008 diesel hybrid? that have been ages ago but still no news from Naza….

• Denaihati on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:59 pm

“can be driven on 100% electricity alone” does it means 100% save fuel…very nice.

• tikus on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Bring it on Nazim !!

• Arun 12B on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:35 pm

love it.. gona be the most fuel efficient car so far.

• Arun 12B on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:19 am

Peugeot have special filter for diesel cars even bmw diesel cars dont have it. so no prob using diesel car here. also its alredy test euro 2 wit tis cars n it can be used. just go for tis cars. this is the most fuel efficient cars ever til nw wit 3.6 litres per 100 km. even BMW 320 diesel 4.5 litres per 100 km. Caltex n Petron availabe wit bio diesel which is really better diesel.

• ALL diesel passenger cars sold in Europe have a exhaust filter. New SCANIA, Volvo, MAM and Mercedes lorries have a filter too and reach EURO6 regulations.

So what ‘special’ filter are you talking about?

• Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 572
    • Shame on u! on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:50 am

Copy and edit other reader comment:
      Shame Loo, u again bull shitting? And now try to say Peugeot car same as Korean which car price drop 60% after 1 year, so can u tell us where can get 1 year old K5 & 508 in RM60k, sportage & 3008 in RM55k?
      This kind of question been asking for so many times and u even not able to feedback?
      Come on, i think most of the buyer willing to pay u another 5k-10k as commission! Is an easy money than u become a toyota salesman.
      Again: 讲就天下无敌,做就无能为力! Phuiii!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 278 Thumb down 1
    • actual proof please to back up your statement.

• fourwheeler on Sep 07, 2013 at 10:19 am

… most of the diesel cars nowadays got a special filter …for water filtering function. not just engines for conti, from jap and korean oredi using it.

• Jilbaber on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:48 am

does the engine have ‘tak tak’ sound like diesel engine in lorry when idle…i don’t like that ‘tak tak’ sound, Peugeot please make it go away..

• Critique on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:44 pm

The 508 lineup over here is already looking attractive! These additions will make it even better!!

Get the pricing right, it’ll even trump the CT200h.

Cheers :)